Old 14th May 2010, 15:54   #181

Hey Sam let us know the expression on the face of the receptionist at Autobhan when you asked her for your Superb, I am sure she must be wondering this chap in shorts and chappals asking for a Superb.
Old 14th May 2010, 16:03   #182

Yeti wearing a shorts and an AC-DC T-shirt breaking a coconut in front of a SKoda Superb; wah!
Old 14th May 2010, 16:17   #183

Originally Posted by navin View Post
Why did they not provide headlight washers to begin with?

My 5 year old Octy has them!

The Superb DOES have headlight washers

Originally Posted by Sahil View Post
I guess they don't keep that constant. Both our white & silver Superbs have body colored headlamp washer lids.
I'm guessing that its the first batch of superbs that had the body coloured washer lids. My superb is december '09, sams would be atleast march '10. Both our cars have metallic lids, while if I remember correctly both your superbs are before that.

I dont think it would be the petrol/diesel difference (like the spoiler), because we all have petrols.

Last edited by holysmoke : 14th May 2010 at 16:20.
Old 14th May 2010, 17:12   #184

And so begins the much promised review

Before I begin my review, I'd like to state for the record -

I too am enjoying this thread very much. And I'm unaffected by the Skoda A.S.S. jokes. All I know is that I got much more car than what I paid for and I am enjoying it every single day.

Secondly - please don't ask me for a detailed and techie type review, I cannot do it. I don't know about these things and I don't care about those things.

Now to the car.

True to myself, let me review the Audio System first.

A decent head unit that has a massive touchscreen and is linked to the in-car display. The display shows a massive Skoda type welcome thing and also the AC temperature and more.

Overall I'm guessing it would not be prudent to knock this out in favour of anything.
The catalogue says that there are 10 speakers in the car. I'm able to see 6.5" 2-way components in the front and rear. Which technically amounts to 8 speakers. Perhaps concealed subs? I dunno.

The sound is really excellent. Surpassed my expectation by far. Strangely, there is no USB input on the HU, instead there is an SD card reader in the front. Stupid.

The iPod fits in the convenience box under the drivers left arm. There is an aux in there.

Overall I'd give them some points for effort. If I wasn't in the audio business, I might even have been rather pleased with the audio system.
Sam Kapasi is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th May 2010, 17:23   #185

Originally Posted by Sam Kapasi View Post
The catalogue says that there are 10 speakers in the car. I'm able to see 6.5" 2-way components in the front and rear. Which technically amounts to 8 speakers. Perhaps concealed subs? I dunno.
And these 10 speakers are all powered by the HU alone? That's impressive.
Old 14th May 2010, 17:24   #186

Hi I'm here to pick up my car.
(Go on, ask me what car it is. Go on lady, ask me.)
What car is it Sir? (YES!)
It's a Superb. Ignore my grin.
Excellent stuff.You really articulate your feelings really well.

You should have taken one pic of that lady's expression too
Old 14th May 2010, 17:30   #187

Overall I'd give them some points for effort. If I wasn't in the audio business, I might even have been rather pleased with the audio system.
Are you thinking about changing the system?

Last edited by holysmoke : 14th May 2010 at 17:31.
Old 14th May 2010, 18:27   #188

Strolled into the Autobahn showroom went up to the lady and said it.

Got my free briefing, my free chocolates, my free Ganesha idol and my free coconut.
ROTFL-ing after reading this and watching the photo of Superb with you breaking coconut wearing a chappal

FYI Sam - My car also has an umbrella. Not an OEM, but an aftermarket fitment
ha ha nice one smartcat!

i am simply loving this thread
Old 14th May 2010, 18:29   #189

Secondly - please don't ask me for a detailed and techie type review, I cannot do it. I don't know about these things and I don't care about those things.
We don't expect a detailed techie type of review from you Sam. For that, we can join some Automobile forum and read some car review threads.

From you, we want more of these ...

Keep going Sam, we are loving it.
Old 14th May 2010, 18:52   #190

Originally Posted by toiingg View Post
We don't expect a detailed techie type of review from you Sam. For that, we can join some Automobile forum and read some car review threads.

From you, we want more of these ...

Keep going Sam, we are loving it.

seems you are high on "SAMRUS". Buddy, this is an automotive forum!

Sam, you better post something quick or next we will have people with 'withdrawal symptoms'.

BTW 'toiingg' very appropriate sounding handle too!

EDIT Sam, trust you will update your garage now. Landrover & Superb double treat.

Last edited by khoj : 14th May 2010 at 18:59.
Old 14th May 2010, 19:50   #191
lsp

Sam,
Is there any car whose stock audio has impressed you??

If I wasn't in the audio business, I might even have been rather pleased with the audio system.
Good going we are all glued to the thread.
Write on!!
Old 14th May 2010, 20:14   #192

Really difficult to read your ownership report with addition of minimum 3-4 pages on every login and still it ain't complete. The sales lady conversation was as always humorous. As was the coconut snap.
How is Akbar (now we all remember his name) finding it to drive? You would obviously be indulging yourself in all the creature comforts provided.
Old 14th May 2010, 21:03   #193

Copy Cat

Hi Sam,

Why is this idiot laughing all by himself?
May be mad..
Why can't he go to sleep like all of us..
Must be mad..!
Hmm... I agree

I have read your YETI BLOGS (Braut, Amby Valley..) so it was natural that I had to read your (my first) SUPERB live posts.

When I spotted your thread at the airport lounge & I knew I had to read it through. Having just below twenty minutes before boarding, I printed all pages in PDF & saved as soft copies on my LT.
Voila now I could read them at leisure.

Boarding pass-check,
Smile & welcome,
Walk down aisle,
where the heck is my seat?
Oh thank god I asked for seat near emergecy exit door. spacious legroom. No one to disturb for their HEAVENLY trips.

Pulled out my LT as soonest the seatbelt lights went out &..

Sir, what would you like to drink?
[i]ME(Smiling): your blood, can't you see am busy. Well I'll have a drink...
I smile

Back to reading your blog & time flew by.

..Paisa Vasool. I chuckled

Why is this idiot laughing all by himself?
May be mad..
Why can't he go to sleep like all of us..
Must be mad..!
Hmm... I agree

Sam that's a 20 lakh upwards worth of umbrella. I remember pulling something similar from RR-Phantom once.

Keep coming.
I hope you post some interior pictures & also some with smiling Jenny. Why have you neglected THE ONE till now!?! Only a glimpse of her checking the bum of car.
Jenny if you are reading. Take him to task.

With warm regards,
Vijay

Last edited by Rehaan : 22nd May 2010 at 16:29. Reason: Removing comment. Please keep the comments appropriate for our varied reader base. Thanks.
Old 14th May 2010, 21:06   #194
//M

Fantastic write-up as always. The Skoda Superb is an awesome machine and many Congratulations for your new ride.
Loved that paisa vasool line for the umbrella !!
Old 14th May 2010, 22:20   #195

Originally Posted by Utopian View Post
How is Akbar (now we all remember his name) finding it to drive?
You can see his glee for yourself

The YetiŽ writes a car story - (and review of Skoda Superb)-dsc_6826_l.jpg

Last edited by Rehaan : 22nd May 2010 at 16:29. Reason: Quoted post edited.

Copyright Š2000 - 2024, Team-BHP.com