Old 30th April 2014, 20:54   #826
gemi_kk

re: 2010 Maruti Alto K10 : Review

Originally Posted by hothatchaway View Post
Can somebody recommend aftermarket headlamps for the K10, all owners would agree that the stock is pathetic.
Originally Posted by saket77 View Post
Since the car is in warranty, I would recommend you go with Philips Xtreme vision which promises to offer substantial extra light over the stock bulbs.
No. These are NOT MGP. You need to procure it from accessories shop and they'll install it for you free of cost.
Maruti made some agreements with Phillips. * Magic * And now the Phillips Xtreme Night Vision are MGP.
The regular phillips package with MGP printed on the top & and MGP Logo are the differentiating factors from the regular Xtreme vision package. You can check it with your nearest service centre. Cost is 600+ Bucks for each piece. And forgot to mention, Include tax. And cost to change bulbs is 450/- @ sai service.

Last edited by gemi_kk : 30th April 2014 at 20:58.
  (2) Thanks
Old 30th April 2014, 23:17   #827

Originally Posted by vsathyap View Post

While getting this replacement done, the SA said that I need to give the car in for the 20K routine service. I had the vehicle serviced @ around 12K in August 2013 and I felt I better wait 1 year or 10000KM (as per manual) before I give it to service. So, I insisted that its not due until 22000km or Aug2014.

any reason why you waited for 12k for the 2nd service?

Originally Posted by gemi_kk View Post
Maruti made some agreements with Phillips. * Magic * And now the Phillips Xtreme Night Vision are MGP.
The regular phillips package with MGP printed on the top & and MGP Logo are the differentiating factors from the regular Xtreme vision package. You can check it with your nearest service centre. Cost is 600+ Bucks for each piece. And forgot to mention, Include tax. And cost to change bulbs is 450/- @ sai service.
Fabulous - so am back to stock again btw I purchased this and got it done for much cheaper outside inr 900 bucks for the pair
Old 11th May 2014, 09:22   #828

We recently picked up an Alto K10. Need some help.

1) Intend to upgrade the horns to Skoda type (Roots Wind tone - Have it on my Swift and I love it ). Does it require an additional relay and wiring?

2) Intend to get remote locking installed. Which one to opt for? Autocop or Nippon?

3) Need a very basic ICE setup - HU which has Aux/USB support and basic speakers. Any suggestions?

Any reliable shops in North Bangalore (RT Nagar/Rajajinagar) area?

Thanks a ton in advance.
Old 27th May 2014, 10:46   #829

Maruti to introducea 4th member to the Alto family - AMT could be a variant.

The new car will be based on the original Alto's body but will get the more powerful K10 engine. The original Maruti Suzuki Alto, now on sale in India for 14 years will see a return to a 4-cylinder engine after almost a decade. The K10 engine, a 4-cylinder, 16 valve motor is good for 68PS of peak power at 6200rpm and 90Nm of peak torque at 3500rpm. The engine is mated to the same 5-speed gearbox that does duty in most Maruti products although we suspect this new model will also get the AMT gearbox that has recently been introduced in the Celerio
This new version of the Alto is also expected to get a few facelifted exterior details like updated headlamps, tail lamps and an updated interior
http://auto.economictimes.indiatimes...model/35625926
volkman10 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 27th May 2014, 11:18   #830

Wasn't there some news previously stating that Alto was being phased out for the new 1000cc in Alto800's body? Are they still keeping the old one? I think ET news are better with a pinch of salt.
Old 1st June 2014, 11:39   #831

2015 Alto is spied again,inside the Gurgaon factory Premises .Speculations are it could be powered by diesel engine and may get AMT transmission for Petrol with minor face lift .

2010 Maruti Alto K10 : Review-alto80020153.jpg

2010 Maruti Alto K10 : Review-alto80020151.jpg

http://blog.gaadiwaadi.com/2014/05/m...015-spied.html

Last edited by volkman10 : 1st June 2014 at 11:43.
volkman10 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 1st June 2014, 11:58   #832
RSR

Thanks for the update, volkman10. An Alto AMT would immediately become the least expensive car with an "automatic" gear shift in the country. Since they already have the Celerio AMT, they could plonk the AMT into the Alto800 to avoid cannibalisation.

http://auto.economictimes.indiatimes...model/35625926

The original Maruti Suzuki Alto, now on sale in India for 14 years will see a return to a 4-cylinder engine after almost a decade. The K10 engine, a 4-cylinder, 16 valve motor is good for 68PS of peak power at 6200rpm and 90Nm of peak torque at 3500rpm.
I seriously hope newspapers use the services of specialist editors worth their salt to correct such statements by their clueless journalists. When did the K10 become a 4-cylinder, 16-valve engine?

Last edited by RSR : 1st June 2014 at 12:03.
Old 4th July 2014, 22:08   #833

After using the K10 for 36 months and 17000 kms in Chennai and Delhi NCR region,here are some observations
1. Usage- have done one long drive Chennai-Goa-Chennai with 5 on-board. The car is strictly made for 2 medium-sized humans and 2 laptop bags.Anything or anybody more is an overkill. Its strictly made for a quick dash to the mall for a late-night movie or to drop someone to the bus-stand.
2. Fuel Efficiency- drive between 70-80 without AC on a nice straight road ( say ECR) or Sardar Patel road on sunday morning and you will get 17-18.With AC in normal traffic it comes down to 14 and in CBD traffic in peak hours, FE with AC in crawling mode would be around 11.My maternal uncle bought it instead of i10 and within 6 months complained to MUL regional office about pathetic FE( around 12 in Calcutta traffic) and after a bit of wishy-washy excuses, MUL engineers tested the car and proclaimed engine to be perfect and demonstrated stonking FE by driving the car around Salt Lake city on a sunday morning utilising all the tricks of hyper-milling, early shifting and no AC.Can we do it otherwise ? Not sure. I cant surely. Some of the other members have also been unable to extract anywhere more than 12 kmpl.
3.Build quality- Wifey is convinced the panels are made of recycled dalda and pepsi cans.Flimsy,super-thin and just sounds hollow and plasticky when tapped with finger-nails.Plastics are okay, the doors rattle.
4.Drivability- great if you an experienced driver and can adapt to the notchy cable operated clutch in a jiffy. The 3rd gear pull can shame most C segment cars. Newbie drivers will stall the car initially. Low-end torque is zero. Once RPM drops below 2000 RPM, the only options are downshift,AC OFF and praying hard for the RPM to pick up.
Final word- will I buy one again? NEVER. In fact I am planning to send my car back to Chennai to be sold off to Khivraj Truevalue and will never again buy any car from Maruti Suzuki stable. I value my life more than notional fuel efficiency(13-14 in daily traffic is at par with most others), ease of service( most cars have 10000 kms or once a year service intervals) and except Skoda( maybe) no other brand is really behind the curve in terms of ASS and parts availability.
Sorry if I rambled a bit.
Yamahead is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 4th July 2014, 23:39   #834

I drove my alto for nine years from '04-'13 and never in Mumbai did I get more than 11.5 kmpl in my lxi , that is the main reason I shifted to diesel . Good car but even though it is a cramped car with an under powered engine the FE still is below average .
Switched to amaze diesel now getting constantly 19-20 kmpl in city and 25 km mpl on highways.
anky is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th July 2014, 11:19   #835

Even my K10 gives between 9 and 11 with AC in heavy stop and go traffic in Delhi. On relatively open roads it increases to 15. I made a trip once to Ambala and it gave 19+ with AC.

Within city my Honda City gives better average. The USP of K10 is its small size and acceleration. Very few can beat this beast in short sprints, and none can beat the small size while parking in tight places.

Yes it is ideally a two seater built to tackle and park in congested urban areas.
Aroy is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th July 2014, 22:21   #836

Originally Posted by Aroy View Post
Even my K10 gives between 9 and 11 with AC in heavy stop and go traffic in Delhi. On relatively open roads it increases to 15. I made a trip once to Ambala and it gave 19+ with AC.

Within city my Honda City gives better average. The USP of K10 is its small size and acceleration. Very few can beat this beast in short sprints, and none can beat the small size while parking in tight places.

Yes it is ideally a two seater built to tackle and park in congested urban areas.
- I so want to make my parents and my relatives read this thread,esp your comment. Like all good bengalis,my folks back in Calcutta think Maruti is the greatest car company in the world and have 2 MUL manufactured tin-cans parked outside the house. My mom feels Marutis deliver stonking FE though she has never calculated the FE and keeps on lecturing me on the relative merits of always buying these unsafe tin-cans. One remains speechless at such bits.
Old 8th July 2014, 10:58   #837

Originally Posted by Yamahead View Post
- I so want to make my parents and my relatives read this thread,esp your comment. Like all good bengalis,my folks back in Calcutta think Maruti is the greatest car company in the world and have 2 MUL manufactured tin-cans parked outside the house. My mom feels Marutis deliver stonking FE though she has never calculated the FE and keeps on lecturing me on the relative merits of always buying these unsafe tin-cans. One remains speechless at such bits.
You get what you pay for. The Alto K10, is excellent for congested city driving and a breeze to park. The total cost is less than you would spend on repairs of a Honda City if some one rear ends it at a traffic light (Some one did that with my son's Baleno, five years ago and the bill was over 2 lacs then). Heck, the insurance of more than 40K for a City is more than I have spent in maintenance - routine + spares in four years. It is so low key, that I doubt any one will steal it. So if you want a set of wheels for a single person (or max 2) to drive in the city, this is it. If you want status and safety then go for European cars, but beware they are extremely expensive to maintain.
Old 14th July 2014, 22:40   #838

"You get what you pay for. The Alto K10, is excellent for congested city driving and a breeze to park. The total cost is less than you would spend on repairs of a Honda City if some one rear ends it at a traffic light"-
Totally agree sir. But I drive from Patparganj to Sec 49, Gurgaon every day and me being a rather large man ( 178 cms, 200 lbs+), fitting into and sitting on the plastic and 1 inch thin foam seat is liberally ruining my lower back. My right shoulder hurts,my knee hurts and the lower back seem to be disintegrating. And all this for a grand mileage of 13 with intermittent AC, to mention nothing about the jerks,general lack of insulation and continuous fear of being pushed off the road by BPO/ KPO cabs.
Its fine as a 2nd car ( as is the case with you I understand) and I will probably shift to a new diesel Micra or pick up a low-mileage used Linea from Calcutta and sell off the Alto back in Chennai. Its being a trouble-free journey with this car but I will much rather live longer and healthier than richer.

Last edited by Yamahead : 14th July 2014 at 22:41. Reason: Spelling mistake
Old 15th July 2014, 18:06   #839

Originally Posted by Yamahead View Post
"You get what you pay for. The Alto K10, is excellent for congested city driving and a breeze to park. The total cost is less than you would spend on repairs of a Honda City if some one rear ends it at a traffic light"-
Totally agree sir. But I drive from Patparganj to Sec 49, Gurgaon every day and me being a rather large man ( 178 cms, 200 lbs+), fitting into and sitting on the plastic and 1 inch thin foam seat is liberally ruining my lower back. My right shoulder hurts,my knee hurts and the lower back seem to be disintegrating. And all this for a grand mileage of 13 with intermittent AC, to mention nothing about the jerks,general lack of insulation and continuous fear of being pushed off the road by BPO/ KPO cabs.
Its fine as a 2nd car ( as is the case with you I understand) and I will probably shift to a new diesel Micra or pick up a low-mileage used Linea from Calcutta and sell off the Alto back in Chennai. Its being a trouble-free journey with this car but I will much rather live longer and healthier than richer.
For longer commutes in city, K10 is not the car. It is either for open roads or for short distance drive to congested places. Get a diesel car preferably one that is heavy, that will ease the road undulations. If you want ease of driving opt for one with automatic transmission.
Old 17th July 2014, 09:32   #840

some of the previous comments here have left me speechless, are folks paying sub 4 lakhs and expecting luxurious sedans??!!

Come on guys, nobody put a gun to your head to get you to buy this 'tin can' as one has eloquently put it. Re FE, I regularly get 15+ in Bangy traffic - the trick is to upshift early and resist the urge to floor the pedal, which is difficult to do considering the revv happy gem of an engine. I would expect knowledgeable members on this august forum to know that small petrol engines do not take kindly to ultra short drives and very heavy b2b traffic with FE improving only when the engine reaches its optimum temp.

Safety and build quality - nothing much to say here except thats pretty much par for the course for small cars in india. Even C1/C2 segment cars sport abysmal build quality, so just trashing the K10 is being pretentious in my opinion

Any talk of comfort, underthigh support etc etc are just delusional in my opinion, didnt we do a TD before plonking our money??!!

Agree with Aroy completely on his points, this car is almost all about the engine and its performance with acceptable dynamics. I have driven it to Goa and all over Kerala from Bangy (with very limited human cargo of course) and it has done the job adequately. I was of course under no illusion wrt comfort etc and it helps to align ones expectations with the cash one has parted with.

Otherwise, one of course has the option to pay 30 big ones and get the E class and from its cocooned interiors denounce the Alto and its ilk

Rant over!
hothatchaway is offline   (6) Thanks