Team-BHP > 4x4 & Off-Roading > 4x4 Vehicles

Old 27th October 2010, 10:20   #301

The 2.5 T Tata

Does anyone have any idea about the 2.5 tonne tata 4wd trucks available in army auctions?

How much would one cost?
How much is the life left/ kms done already?
Has anyone done any restoration on one of those?
How practical is the idea to take an army disposal one and convert it into an overlander; Unimog style?

thanks to all and best of regards

R
Old 27th October 2010, 12:04   #302

@saintsinner,

i meant taxes of around 30k. you got it na.
Old 27th October 2010, 12:11   #303

Originally Posted by dyer_made View Post
Does anyone have any idea about the 2.5 tonne tata 4wd trucks available in army auctions?

How much would one cost?
How much is the life left/ kms done already?
Has anyone done any restoration on one of those?
How practical is the idea to take an army disposal one and convert it into an overlander; Unimog style?

thanks to all and best of regards

R
I was planning on a Tatra or a Kraz. but the unavailability of parts is where i got stuck. most of the army trucks just get cut down and parts are sold off, the rest is sent to the melting plant.

I am not sure if it is possible to have a truck with a private regn. number.
Old 27th October 2010, 17:36   #304

parts and number

Originally Posted by saintsinner View Post
I was planning on a Tatra or a Kraz. but the unavailability of parts is where i got stuck. most of the army trucks just get cut down and parts are sold off, the rest is sent to the melting plant.

I am not sure if it is possible to have a truck with a private regn. number.

Are you sure that parts are a problem? With Tata having such a big presence here and similar trucks available in the open market I would have thought that parts would be the least of the problems!

However you do have a valid point about the private registration. That should be a problem. But I remember a Swaraj Mazda T3500 converted into a campervan (with extended body) available for sale in Goa a year back. It was registered as a personal vehicle. So I am sure that something could be done about that. (This is India afterall).

India camper motorhome
Old 28th October 2010, 03:02   #305

i wasn't looking at Tata. It was looking for a Tatra or a Kraz. Tatra is Czech & Kraz is from Ukraine. both have massive 12 cylinder diesel drinking engine and parts need to be imported.

Tata/Ashok Leyland/Swaraj Mazda etc should not be a problem. I think camper's can have a private registration.

Any one in transport business, please elaborate
Old 28th October 2010, 15:47   #306

Originally Posted by saintsinner View Post
i wasn't looking at Tata. It was looking for a Tatra or a Kraz. Tatra is Czech & Kraz is from Ukraine. both have massive 12 cylinder diesel drinking engine and parts need to be imported.

Tata/Ashok Leyland/Swaraj Mazda etc should not be a problem. I think camper's can have a private registration.

Any one in transport business, please elaborate
Why dont you have a look at the UAZ , i saw one for auction in the list that has been put up on the previous page

Old 29th October 2010, 23:22   #307

auction of Excise ceased vehicle in Bikaneer

Auction of Excise ceased vehicle in Bikaneer. Might interest someone.
The list came in a local daily here.

These are vehicle ceased by Excise Department for booze running. The whole list contains about 50 vehicle inducing three wheelers, Jeeps and LCV and HCV.

What is interesting are couple of boleros. And i am sure they are 4x4 as most Booze runner opt for them.

Jeeps/Gypsy's: All through Army Auctions: What, When, Where, How?-bikaner.jpg
Old 30th October 2010, 20:50   #308

OT- Noticed something very strange in the newspaper clipping, hence could not resist from posting. The engine no. mentioned in the penultimate row (0302AB0300N) actually happens to be the Engine Part no. Part numbers ending with N means Nasik. Wonder how they managed to find this out?

Mods- please delete if found inappropriate.

Spike
Old 13th November 2010, 14:06   #309

Military Jeep in Chennai

Planning to buy a military auctioned jeep in Chennai. I could understand that buying a single jeep in auction is not possible, so does anyone know any proper guys who buys auctioned lot and sells them in single in Chennai.

Also my purpose is to use it mainly for jungle safari, mainly highland area. Could you guys please suggest which model should I go for, and an approx price if i go for a 95 model one.

Note From Team-BHP Support - Before creating a new thread, Kindly use the search option to look for similar thread.

Last edited by Amartya : 14th November 2010 at 03:48. Reason: Merged thread with an pre-existing thread
Old 14th November 2010, 14:54   #310

@saint:

There is a chap in Avadi who pick up army lots. He has a huge yard that contains just about everything sold by the Army in Avadi. He has started quoting high prices due to the interest in jeeps, but you can negotiate. Last time I was there, he was quoting 1.5 lakhs (not sure if it includes registration or not). You won't get any 95 from the army. Avadi is currently auctioning 99/00 models. There is a 2WD ex-govt 540 in Chennai quoting 1.2 lakhs. I have seen it and it is in decent condition. You can try to get it for 1 lakhs and spend 30K converting it to 4WD. This vehicle already has a fiberglass hard top, bucket seats, etc. PM me for details.

For 95 model you shouldn't pay more than 80 to 90k.
Old 23rd November 2010, 10:31   #311

Delhi Police auctions announced

hi guys,
the delhi police auctions have been announced. the only sad part is that the lots are huge. only very few, a couple, of lots have 3-4 gypsys. the others are all around 8-10 gypsys in one lot. are there any gypsy lovers who are interesting in coming together and picking up a lot collectively? in case, there are a sizeable number of people, we can think of bidding in the auction.
please do let me know, and i'll find out more details. the auction is slated for december 2 and most of the gypsys can be inspected at rajpur road
thanks

Last edited by driving always! : 23rd November 2010 at 10:35.
Old 23rd November 2010, 12:29   #312

count me in . pm me your number
Old 23rd November 2010, 13:51   #313

Originally Posted by docfreak View Post
count me in . pm me your number
hi doc, have just pm-ed you my contact number. but, we're going to need a lot more people to try and get us some gypsys through these auctions. let's talk and see what we can do.
Old 23rd November 2010, 23:31   #314

As far as i know Kraz and Tatra have never been auctioned. I have seen '78 imports still doing duty.

most common were shkatiman, nissan 1 tonner and tata 713.

You can register your truck as private vehcile, atleast in Rajasthan as 'FA' and 'UA' firm registration and private utility. Their registration cost is much higher.
Old 24th November 2010, 10:54   #315

Good news for Chennai and Bangalore guys!
There is auction happening in Chennai (Avadi) on 08/12/2010, there are MM 550 Jeeps, Gypsys.

Vehicles - Total Quantity - Vehicles in a lot - Location

MM 550 xd -30 -3 - Chennai

Gypsy 413 King - 23 - 3 - Chennai

Gypsy 410 - 36 - 5 - Chennai

Gypsy 410 - 1 - 1 - Goa

Sanjay

Last edited by 4x4army : 24th November 2010 at 10:58. Reason: font problem

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com