Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 20th November 2013, 09:45   #3061
BHPian

Re: Which GPS Navigator to buy?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dushmish View Post
Hey BeingCynical!

I have been using MapMyIndia for over 4 years and can vouch for the build quality and maps. It has never let me down.
But does any MapMyIndia navigator give the Junction View/ Lane suggestion as Tomtom or Garmin do?

Sorry for this bloop of a question, but I am not aware of any.

Last edited by BeingCynical : 20th November 2013 at 09:48.
Old 20th November 2013, 11:18   #3062
Distinguished - BHPian

Have been using Map My India for about close to one year. Have done some outstation trips and I can tell you that it is fairly accurate. Most roads are marked fine. The only drawback is the build quality. It feels like a cheap Chinese phone when held in hand. Also the touch-screen is not as responsive as one would have liked, esp. while dragging the maps. These two points are simply unacceptable when the device costs about 12K! For 12K, one can get a good quality Andriod phone or tablet which is much better in terms of build quality...and has in-built GPS too. The only issue would be that the Google Maps need 3G or egde connection which may not be available in remote areas where the GPS can be a life saver.

Battery back up is not that great, but when in the car, it is seldom a worry. Have no problems regarding locking up with GPS satellites.
Old 20th November 2013, 11:24   #3063
Senior - BHPian

Quote:
Originally Posted by smartindboy View Post
why not go for a smartphone under 10K, it could serve as a backup phone. You could use offline maps like Sygic (Android) or Nokia HERE.
Can you elaborate on that please? I have samsung galxy Tab 2. I guess Sygic is free at least for android.

Do you have personal experience on the use? I mean its performance vis-a-vis a proper Navigation device.