Old 6th August 2014, 13:20   #346

Re: SCOOP Pics! Next-gen 2014 Hyundai i20 spotted testing in India

Originally Posted by RSR View Post
Thank you!

Isn't there an Asta(O) with 6 airbags as before? If not, then it's a very sad development.

What about the rear discs on the diesel variants with ABS?

And finally, how many airbags (if any) & ABS on the lower variants?

I see that you haven't (yet) posted the brochure on your site. Any plans of doing so, or did your source request you to refrain from doing so?
There is no Asta(O) this time and no rear disc brakes too. The thing is (my thinking) that actual customers for these top end versions are less and to reduce the unnecessary inventory and expenses involved in making another variant, manufacturers tend to remove such versions from new models. My thinking. As it is, there are 5 versions for the new i20, 5 each for petrol and diesel.

Sorry, I cant reveal the number of airbags on the lower versions. Cant do the same for ABS (version wise) but can tell that the entry level Era wont have it.

Yes, we haven't put up the brochure yet. Respecting Hyundai's efforts here - this is a world premier and the company (Indian and international arms) have really worked hard to develop this new model and keep it a secret. Please accept my apologies here.
BunnyPunia is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 6th August 2014, 13:22   #347

I am not drooling over the exteriors one bit , i think they have gone wrong in a few places there but the interiors are fantastic and a head turner. They look really nice , very fancy and very very techy and i think many are going to fall in love with what is going to be on offer. Look like they are from a few segments above subject to personally getting a touch and feel for the build quality.
Old 6th August 2014, 13:26   #348
RSR

Originally Posted by BunnyPunia View Post
Yes, we haven't put up the brochure yet. Respecting Hyundai's efforts here - this is a world premier and the company (Indian and international arms) have really worked hard to develop this new model and keep it a secret. Please accept my apologies here.
Hey, no need to apologise!

I perfectly understand that you cannot leak the brochure and endanger the career/livelihood of your generous source.

Thank you very much for the info you've provided so far!

This is enough for now. The rest of the information is anyway going to become available on the 11th.
RSR is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 6th August 2014, 13:51   #349

Anybody else think the face is a straight lift from the Hyundai Veloster? Also are the current i20 and the newer one going to co-exist? Or will this model replace the current one?

16" wheels sounds good. Hope they continue the current trend of giving good ride quality in the new i20 as well. They have also massively improved steering feel in the 2014 models (Elantra/Kia Soul) with variable modes available in them (Comfort/Normal/Sport).

Will it be made available in the new i20?
Old 6th August 2014, 14:33   #350

Guys remember that the outgoing i20 when got its facelift, people did not like it a bit seeing its pictures. But in flesh it looked very good. Something similar might happen with this I20. I am sure on the road it will be very good looking car.
Old 6th August 2014, 18:04   #351

I have two questions regarding the elite i20
1. What purpose does the steering control buttons on the right serve?
2. What about the build quality of the panels? How it is? Is it like polo because polo is a benchmark on that front
Old 6th August 2014, 19:29   #352

My first post on this forum! Thanks to the moderators for approving my membership and a big hello to fellow bhpians.

I have booked the older i20 - got tempted by the discounts - but have constantly been in two minds ever since the official launch date was announced.

I'm getting the i20 Asta 1.2 for 7.31 OTR (I've opted for 0 depreciation insurance and extended warranty) - with goodies thrown in like free holiday package + teflon coating + under-body coating + art-leather seat covers. Does it make sense to go ahead and take this car? Or should I wait for the new one - even if that costs significantly higher and will probably have a month-odd waiting period too?
I really liked the older model though - except for a sluggish 2nd gear - loved the interiors and the balanced ride. Don't know how much better the new car will be given that its the same engine but the car looks bigger/heavier.
Old 6th August 2014, 20:51   #353

Originally Posted by smukherjee View Post
Or should I wait for the new one - even if that costs significantly higher and will probably have a month-odd waiting period too?
IMHO, you should await the launch of the new car. It will fetch you more $$$ in comparison to the previous generation model when you will sell it off.

Older model will look kinda out of place once our roads will be flooded with New generation Polos, EVOs & Xcents.
Think about THAT feeling "Arre yaar, kaash maine thode paise deke naya model kharida hota !"
MunnabhaiMBBS is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th August 2014, 22:43   #354

More new pics of the Elite i20. LED tail lamps and leather wrapped steering wheel look nice. In fact the more I see this car everyday, I have started liking the looks.

Initial few pics I believe were kind of misleading as the car looked seriously disproportionate.

This one in white with fog lamp switched ON, so far looks the best!

SCOOP Pics! 2014 Hyundai i20 spotted testing in India *UPDATE* Now launched @ 4.89L-spied2015hyundaielitei20frontquarter1024x768.jpg
SCOOP Pics! 2014 Hyundai i20 spotted testing in India *UPDATE* Now launched @ 4.89L-2015hyundaielitei20astataillightglowpattern1024x768.jpg
SCOOP Pics! 2014 Hyundai i20 spotted testing in India *UPDATE* Now launched @ 4.89L-spied2015hyundaielitei20gear11024x768.jpg
SCOOP Pics! 2014 Hyundai i20 spotted testing in India *UPDATE* Now launched @ 4.89L-spied2015hyundaielitei20lightcontrol768x1024.jpg
SCOOP Pics! 2014 Hyundai i20 spotted testing in India *UPDATE* Now launched @ 4.89L-spied2015hyundaielitei20musicsystem11024x768.jpg
SCOOP Pics! 2014 Hyundai i20 spotted testing in India *UPDATE* Now launched @ 4.89L-spied2015hyundaielitei20steering1024x768.jpg
SCOOP Pics! 2014 Hyundai i20 spotted testing in India *UPDATE* Now launched @ 4.89L-spied2015hyundaielitei20wingmirror1024x768.jpg

Surprisingly Hyundai seems to have cut down on some of the features and variants. Lack of Automatic variant is a shame. Also, cutting down on curtain air bags, sunroof and rear disc break is surprising. In fact I would have expected Hyundai to include a 5" touchscreen which seems to be missing as well.

Suddenly, Honda will be feeling more confident about Jazz. Super spacious hatch with City interiors and Polo matching price point would just be enough to pull the crowd.

Pics source: IAB

Last edited by damager21 : 6th August 2014 at 22:52.
damager21 is offline   (11) Thanks
Old 6th August 2014, 23:29   #355

Originally Posted by damager21 View Post
This one in white with fog lamp switched ON, so far looks the best!

Attachment 1271344
Attachment 1271345
Correct me if I am wrong but this looks like a Silver!
silentscreamers is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th August 2014, 08:41   #356

Originally Posted by sunilsoft View Post
I have two questions regarding the elite i20
1. What purpose does the steering control buttons on the right serve?
2. What about the build quality of the panels? How it is? Is it like polo because polo is a benchmark on that front
1. I believe it will be to change the settings in MID.
2. Build quality of Hyundai has always been good, but cannot match the levels of the european rivals.

Originally Posted by smukherjee View Post
I have booked the older i20 - got tempted by the discounts - but have constantly been in two minds ever since the official launch date was announced.
I would advice you to go with the new i20 as in the longer run, I think you wont regret going for the new model
_raVan_ is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 7th August 2014, 11:34   #357
PPS

Some info on the variants & features from http://www.motortrend.in/autonews/07...#axzz39g9wh3Zz

There are four variants on offer, Era, Magna, Sportz, Sportz (o) and Asta. There are 7 colour options also.

Era

It will be the base variant and comes with a black grille, central locking, smart pedal, wheel covers, 2-tone beige and black interior, blue interior illumination, gear shift, low fuel indicator, front power windows, manual air-con, power steering, clutch footrest and power outlet.

Magna

The next in line variant, apart from all the features in the Era, has features like headlamp escort funtion, keyless entry (foldable key), front grille with chrome, body coloured outside door mirrors and handles, rear parcel tray, sunglass holder, front arm-rest, 2 Din integrated radio+ MP3 player, 1 gb internal memory, front and rear speakers, tweeters, Aux and USB ports, Bluetooth, steering controls, front and rear power windows, rear ac vents, cooled glovebox, electrically adjustable outside mirror.

Sportz

Along with the above mentioned features the Sportz variant adds driver airbags, ABS, parking sensors, rear camera, fog lamps, impact sensing auto door unlock, electrochromic inside rear view mirror, rear defogger, turn indicators on outside mirrors, leather gear knob, leather wrapped steering wheel, height adjustable drivers seat, CD player, automatic air-con, tilt and telescopic steering, electric auto folding outside mirrors.

Sportz (O)

Along with the above features this variant has clutch lock, smart key, chrome outside door handles, diamond cut alloys, push button start/stop.

Asta

The top-end trim, along with the above mentioned features has passenger airbag, auto headlamps, steering position reminder, service reminder, parking sensor display, auto unlock funxtion, 60:40 split rear seat, adjustable rear headrest, rear wiper and washer and 2nd power outlet.
PPS is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 7th August 2014, 12:08   #358

Originally Posted by PPS View Post
Some info on the variants & features from http://www.motortrend.in/autonews/07...#axzz39g9wh3Zz
Based on this information, I can deduce two things:
a) Diamond cut alloys will be the 16 inchers and it will be offered on Sportz (O) and Asta
b) The previous iGen i20 is already so loaded to the brim with features that the new variant offers just a new body with rear ac vents, new tyres and a service reminder MID?

Last edited by _raVan_ : 7th August 2014 at 12:10.
_raVan_ is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th August 2014, 12:16   #359

Autocar says the Elite I20 will be priced at a premium to the current car. I am expecting it will be 50K or so higher than the Xcent which seems right given that it will have better features and better quality. This will also give an idea about how Honda will position/price the Jazz

Here is the link from Autocar
http://www.autocarindia.com/auto-news/hyundai-elite-i20-may-command-premium-pricing-389740.aspx

----------- the excerpt ----------------
Hyundai is all set for the global launch of the Hyundai Elite i20 on August 11th in New Delhi. Autocar was the first to reveal the all-new hatchback and since then spy pictures have flooded the internet. However, the price of the Hyundai Elite i20 has been kept a closely guarded secret but it’s likely that the company will price it at a premium. The ‘Elite’ pre-fix given to the new i20 may suggest that the new car is to be sold alongside the older one, just like in the case of the i10 and Grand i10. However, Hyundai sources have confirmed that the current i20 will be discontinued altogether after the Elite goes on sale next week.

The rationale for giving the rather unimaginative ‘Elite’ moniker to the new i20 is to position it as a more upmarket hatch than before. With a longer wheelbase, a bigger boot, lots of features and more spacious interiors, the Elite i20 is expected to be a class better for which Hyundai is confident it can charge customers a premium, with prices for the fully loaded versions crossing Rs. 8 lakh

It’s clear that Hyundai plans to put the Elite i20 head on against new launches like the refreshed Polo and the new Punto Evo, as well as the segment king, the Maruti Swift. However, the main competition for the Hyundai Elite i20 is expected next March in the shape of the new Honda Jazz
-----

Last edited by adimicra : 7th August 2014 at 12:35.
adimicra is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 7th August 2014, 12:16   #360

Originally Posted by suhaas307 View Post
All that beige on the dashboard is going to make life hell for the driver on sunny days. While the lighter colour is pleasing to the eye and breaks the monotony, it's certainly going to hinder vision.
It is a strange trend with newer cars, having light colors on the dash and make rest of the interiors black! Should be the other way.
Guna is offline   (1) Thanks