Old 6th February 2019, 16:51   #436

Re: The next-gen BMW 5-Series (G30). EDIT: Launched at Rs. 49.90 lakh

Originally Posted by np23 View Post
Also for out station trips, BMW gives some cans of additives to be added if getting refuelled from somewhere not so “perfect”
I was not aware of this. Will check it out tomorrow when I visit the BMW workshop for the oil service.

Thanks for pointing this.
Old 6th February 2019, 17:13   #437

Originally Posted by graaja View Post
I was not aware of this. Will check it out tomorrow when I visit the BMW workshop for the oil service.

Thanks for pointing this.
They usually keep 2-3 small tins in the boot during service its in the bills.
These are these ones[url="https://www.amazon.co.uk/BMW-83192183738-Original-fuel-additive/dp/B00KKJI67U[/URL]

Even whenever my 530D went for service there were always a couple of them in the boot.
np23 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th February 2019, 19:01   #438

I’m running 95 Octane on my 530i and haven’t tried any other fuel thus far.

Is there anyone who has experimented and has anything to share ?
Old 6th February 2019, 19:48   #439

Good to hear that BMW runs okay on 91 octane while cars like the vRS have trouble with reregular fuel. Does the display key in the 530i sport line support remote parking?
Old 6th February 2019, 20:53   #440

I run a mix of 99/97/91, no particular order but I try getting 99 whenever possible
Also for out station trips, BMW gives some cans of additives to be added if getting refuelled from somewhere not so “perfect”
I believe these acts more like injector cleaners then Octane boosters. I have used occasionally on the Diesels but could not find any difference or atleast hear anything differently

Originally Posted by Ravi_chd View Post
I’m running 95 Octane on my 530i and haven’t tried any other fuel thus far.
Where do you get 95 octane in Chandigarh? I think regular or premium is 91 only.
Turbanator is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th February 2019, 23:40   #441

I believe these acts more like injector cleaners then Octane boosters. I have used occasionally on the Diesels but could not find any difference or atleast hear anything differently

Where do you get 95 octane in Chandigarh? I think regular or premium is 91 only.
OK, I've used them in such a manner and they seem to do their job silently. Always gives me a sense of peace of mind when I have to fill up in a tier 2 city but I think you are correct.

I have not seen 95 in Delhi, used to get 93 till a couple of years ago, now to my best knowledge standard/Power/Speed are 91, Speed 97 and Power 99 are whats available, kindly correct me if wrong.
97 an 99 are priced very similarly and hence I prefer picking it whenever convenient, else 91 is significantly cheaper and does the job perfectly.
np23 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th February 2019, 13:32   #442

97 an 99 are priced very similarly and hence I prefer picking it whenever convenient, else 91 is significantly cheaper and does the job perfectly.
I suggest if they are available at your pump, a mix of 50-50 or 40-60 97/99 -91 does wonders for engine power, smoothness and fuel efficiency.
sandeep108 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th May 2019, 09:31   #443

OK, I've used them in such a manner and they seem to do their job silently. Always gives me a sense of peace of mind when I have to fill up in a tier 2 city but I think you are correct.

I have not seen 95 in Delhi, used to get 93 till a couple of years ago, now to my best knowledge standard/Power/Speed are 91, Speed 97 and Power 99 are whats available, kindly correct me if wrong.
That is correct, Speed 97 is available at Bharat Petroleum and for some odd reason if you ask any petrol pump operator they will say BP gives better Octane value. Also if you write on google maps " HP Petrol Pump Autocare Center" it will take you to the (HP Power 99) 99 OCTANE petrol pump in chanakyapuri, I just filled my X1 petrol BS6 car with this fuel, not much change since i am trying to drive on ECO PRO mode which eats up the power - But I expect better mileage for sure. Will keep you all posted on the same.
Old 7th May 2019, 10:54   #444

Originally Posted by maddylaw View Post
That is correct, Speed 97 is available at Bharat Petroleum and for some odd reason if you ask any petrol pump operator they will say BP gives better Octane value..

Slightly off topic. There is no such thing as better Octane value. Unless you can not trust that the octane number mentioned by the supplier is not correct I guess
Jeroen
Jeroen is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 19th May 2019, 21:23   #445

Fastest Diesel Car in India ?

E Tuners Stage 1 G30 530D
The next-gen BMW 5-Series (G30). EDIT: Launched at Rs. 49.90 lakh-img_20190519_212239.jpg

The next-gen BMW 5-Series (G30). EDIT: Launched at Rs. 49.90 lakh-img_20190519_212059.jpg

The next-gen BMW 5-Series (G30). EDIT: Launched at Rs. 49.90 lakh-img_20190519_212125.jpg

0-100 : 4.89 seconds
1/4 th mile : 13.31 seconds

https://www.instagram.com/p/BxpeHgtA...=11l9g6afzc7q5

Last edited by Dr.Naren : 19th May 2019 at 21:25.
Dr.Naren is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 19th May 2019, 21:38   #446

Originally Posted by Dr.Naren View Post
A couple of doubts.

1. In the first picture, on the top, 0-100km/h is shown as 5.20s, but in the table it is shown as 0-100(1ft) - 4.89s. What is the difference between these two numbers? What is 0-100(1ft)?
2. The slope is shown as -0.25%. This is actually a downward slope. Wouldn't this skew the 0-100 results?
Old 19th May 2019, 21:49   #447

1. In the first picture, on the top, 0-100km/h is shown as 5.20s, but in the table it is shown as 0-100(1ft) - 4.89s. What is the difference between these two numbers? What is 0-100(1ft)?
What is rollout, and when do you need to use it?

‘Rollout’ is the distance travelled by a vehicle before the timing lights on a drag strip are triggered. When running performance tests, such as a quarter mile test, this distance is typically 1 foot (12 inches).

GPS performance meters such as the Performance Box start counting time from the first sample in which speed over 0.8 km/h is detected. This means that this first foot of movement from the vehicle would be captured as part of the test, and more importantly, the time from this would be included in the final result.

How much difference does this foot of movement make?

Actually, quite a lot. In fact, it can affect the final run time by up to 0.3 of a second. For this reason, it is important to discount this first foot of movement from the final run time, to ensure that the run time captured by the GPS data logger is as close as possible to the official drag strip time.
Above information is from Racelogic. Dragy app shows 0-100 timings with / without one foot rollout.

https://racelogic.support/02VBOX_Mot...e_Foot_Rollout

2. The slope is shown as -0.25%. This is actually a downward slope. Wouldn't this skew the 0-100 results?
That's not significant. It's a valid run. If the slope is more than -1.0 percent, Dragy mentions it as invalid run.

Last edited by Dr.Naren : 19th May 2019 at 21:52.
Dr.Naren is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 19th May 2019, 22:04   #448

A couple of doubts.

1ft timing is with 1ft roll out.
Tarmac.terrorist is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th May 2019, 00:11   #449

Originally Posted by Dr.Naren View Post

E Tuners Stage 1 G30 530D
The car in that picture looks stunning. The G30 in the M-Sport trim hides its bulk very well compared to the F10 that looked rather flabby.

Last edited by petroguzzler : 20th May 2019 at 00:12.
petroguzzler is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th May 2019, 20:36   #450

Picked up a 530d in Jan. What a car!

Pros (just a few)
1. Blinding fast. Picks up speed like no other car I have driven. Power delivery is relentless

2. Gizmos - So many of them! I actually use remote parking a lot! Made life comfortable yesterday in a nasty tight parking in 1MG Road Mall in Bangalore.

3. Smooth - 530d thanks to its inline 6 is butter smooth

4. Adaptive suspension setting is uber comfortable

Cons:-

1. The boot space is terrible thanks to BMW packing a spare wheel behind. I am seriously thinking of checking with them if I can remove the whole setup and get a usable boot. A couple of bags and it is full (It is of course deep, but still not great)

2. Merc C250d that I used to have, had a lot of useful things like hooks in the boot. *VERY* useful for shopping. This doesn't have any

3. Very low ground clearance - Bangalore is extreme case for speed breakers and 530d is a victim. Scrapes a lot

4. L O N G - The car is huge. It hides it dimensions when it moves in open roads, but there is no escaping the size in slow traffic, tight turns, mall parking etc. Prefer to take my bikes / Global Ford Fiesta (2012) when required. The Ford Fiesta still sets benchmark for steering feel and accuracy.

I have mixed feelings about music system - It is reasonably good with a 16 speaker Harman Kardon system. But after listening to music in my wife's car in the US (Mazda 6 GTR with Bose Speakers) I think it is kind of a let down
sriramv.iyer is offline   (2) Thanks