![]() | #8566 |
Newbie Join Date: Sep 2013 Location: Chennai
| ![]() Guys, I am looking at buying a used Ford Ikon Flairfrom a known contact. It's a 2008 petrol model and has 19k on the odometer. The owner is from TVS, and he has been using his company services to maintain it. Hence it looks pretty new and well maintained. Despite everything, the owner admits that it returns only 8-9km mileage per litre. He was asking around 2.2 lakhs for it, but is ready to sell if off for 2 lakhs after negotiation. All said and done, I thought the price was pretty okay. I have looked at used Santros and Altos for prices around 2.4 lakhs in Chennai and I thought this was a pretty good deal. What do you think? |
![]() |
|
![]() | #8567 |
BANNED | ![]() Can some one please tell me from which year (month of that year ), Laura started coming with CRDI engine. Did Jetta also come with CRDI around same time? A friend is looking for a used Laura/Jetta and asked me this question because he only wants to buy the 140 bhp CRDi engined one. |
![]() |
![]() | #8568 | |
Senior - BHPian ![]() Join Date: Jan 2010 Location: Bangalore
| ![]() Quote:
| |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #8569 |
BHPian Join Date: Aug 2013 Location: New Delhi
| ![]() Hi everyone, I am looking to replace my existing 2007 Zen Estillo Vxi and buy a used CNG/ Diesel hatchback with a budget of around 2.5-3 Lakhs. The Estillo is serving me fine but my daily running now is around 110 kms and the petrol costs of nearly 12-13K/month is killing me. I don't want to install CNG on the Estillo as it has already done 93K kms. I was looking for options and found that I can easily get used Swift, Hyundai Accent / i10, Chevy Beat, Wagon R (petrol with CNG fitted) in this price range. I am particularity interested in the Beat as I have found some Petrol LT models in my price range. For diesel, I found a few 2008-2009 Swift Vdi , Fiat Punto on OLX for around 3 lakhs. Any suggestions on this? Any other cars I can consider? Last edited by Abh1nav : 25th November 2013 at 12:08. |
![]() |
![]() | #8570 | |
Senior - BHPian ![]() Join Date: Jan 2010 Location: NCR
| ![]() Quote:
Since your running is 110 kms a day, I would recommend get a sedan, preferably something like old Dzire, or older variants of City, & get dual cylinder CNG setup, which would definitely reduce the number of visits to the CNG stations to half. Otherwise, expand your budget & get a Figo Diesel base variant, which should serve you well. | |
![]() |
![]() | #8571 | |
Senior - BHPian ![]() | ![]() Quote:
If you are looking purely for saving fuel costs, I will suggest to by a good petrol sedan & install a CNG kit of your choice. The reason is increasing diesel prices & distinct possibility of de-regulation of diesel prices in near future. There are quite a good petrol sedans like SX4 & Swift Dzire available in used car market. A word of caution, do not go for a car in which CNG kit is already installed. Buy a petrol only car & get a good CNG kit installed. Thanks, | |
![]() |
![]() | #8572 | |
Senior - BHPian ![]() Join Date: Feb 2012 Location: Dwarka, Delhi
| ![]() Quote:
| |
![]() |
![]() | #8573 | |
BHPian Join Date: Jul 2007 Location: Hyderabad
| ![]() Quote:
| |
![]() |
![]() | #8574 | |
Newbie Join Date: Apr 2012 Location: Kottayam,Kerala
| ![]() Quote:
| |
![]() |
![]() | #8575 | |
BHPian ![]() Join Date: Sep 2012 Location: Delhi
| ![]() Quote:
I used the Petrol Accent for five years till August last year. Sold it off at 60k on the ODO. The main areas of service after 50K were the front and rear shockers , belts and minor items. Typical service cost after every 7k-9k was around 4000(excluding the items mentioned above). Please avoid the Hyundai Service centers . Their service costs are atrocious ![]() Regarding the diesel Viva, one of my close relatives owns one for the last 10+ years. Still going strong at 1.5L kms. Not heard of too high service costs from him. Will check and pm you. The engine is Peugeot sourced ( I think?) and is pretty basic which in other terms means easy repairs and diagnoses. Hope this helps!! | |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #8576 | |
Senior - BHPian Join Date: Nov 2007 Location: Bangalore
| ![]() Quote:
![]() | |
![]() |
|
![]() | #8577 |
BANNED Join Date: Jun 2009 Location: Swindon, UK
| ![]()
Actually it is a Detroit Diesel motor and it's not at all basic. It's a modern CRDI engine. The Peugeot unit you are talking was used on the Accent DLS. It's the same engine from the 309 and also used on the Esteem D, Zen D and the Premier Rio. |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #8578 |
BHPian ![]() Join Date: May 2009 Location: Anjuna, Goa
| ![]() What should be the price for a 2009 Fabia 1.4 PD Diesel Elegance model with Sun Roof in Goa, pretty good condition, done 70k kms. Consider that Fabia has phased out and PD engines were shelved long back. Also what should be the expected mileage on highways? Also these were selling at close to 8 L or more back then w/o much discounts. Last edited by s_pphilip : 26th November 2013 at 04:38. |
![]() |
![]() | #8579 | |
BHPian Join Date: Aug 2010 Location: Bangalore
| ![]() Quote:
PD engines are robust and give good efficiency of 20kms/ltr + on highways so you should be happy for the next 1L kms or more if you take good care of it. | |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #8580 | |
Senior - BHPian ![]() | ![]() Quote:
Rs. 3 lacs will be a good price for 2009 Skoda Fabia 1.4 PD Diesel Elegance. As the ODO reading is on higher side (70,000 kms) get the car throughly checked & I feel the second tyre change will be due soon. I will also suggest to search for some used 2008 / 2009 Maruti Swift Diesel cars. Thanks, | |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() |