Old 11th January 2021, 17:39   #14341

Re: The "USED" Car Price Check Thread

I am planning to sell my car as the itch for a new car has gotten out of hand.

Can you kindly advise what would be an ideal price to quote for my car, details below.

Make : Fiat
Model : Grande Punto
Month & Year : Nov 2011
Variant : Emotion Pack 90hp
Mileage : 82,8xx kms
Colour : Hip Hop Black
Ownership : Second Owner
City : Chennai
Condition: Fair- Needs some sprucing up (Needs a suspension rebuild within the next 10k kms/ Instrument cluster display has conked off/ two 1 rupee coin sized paint bubbles on LHS rear quarter panel that needs to be corrected)

Last edited by Shanksta : 11th January 2021 at 17:40.
Shanksta is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th January 2021, 17:56   #14342

Guys a Mahindra dealer is offering 1.85L for my 9 year old i20 which has run 68.44k kms. Do you think it's a good price. It has its 10 year tax due in May. Let me know what you guys think.
Old 12th January 2021, 19:18   #14343

Hi Guys

I am checking a used TATA SAFARI STORME 2016 VX 4X2 VARICOR MODEL. They are quoting 7.75 lakhs. What would be the right price for this car? Thanks in advance.

Two things that are bugging me in this case are

1) Ad is given by person A who says he bought the car just 15 days ago and now he wants to sell because it is too big for him. He mentions the first owner name properly and also sent me the insurance copy. Kind of a put off for me not dealing with the owner directly. Should i drop this.

2) In the insurance copy i see 3rd party insurance taken for 3 years. But there is no OWN DAMAGE insurance.

Could this be a flood affected vehicle or something like that? Why would someone not take OWN DAMAGE and take just the 3rd party ??

Dev
The "USED" Car Price Check Thread-screen-shot-20210112-7.04.57-pm.png  

The "USED" Car Price Check Thread-whatsapp-image-20210112-6.41.50-pm.jpeg  

The "USED" Car Price Check Thread-whatsapp-image-20210112-6.41.51-pm.jpeg  

The "USED" Car Price Check Thread-whatsapp-image-20210112-6.41.52-pm.jpeg  

Old 12th January 2021, 19:43   #14344

Originally Posted by irdevanand View Post
Could this be a flood affected vehicle or something like that? Why would someone not take OWN DAMAGE and take just the 3rd party ??
The policy was recently renewed (12 Dec 2020) with third party premium only. So it looks like the insurance was taken considering resale only.
Also, there is no mention of old policy number and NCB seems to be 0% as per screenshot shared. There are high chances that claim was made in last policy (or less likely, the owner was careless to get it renwed on time) So I would be very careful this vehicle. If you want to go ahead, get the vehicle throughly checked by good mechanic and make sure to check service/accidental history.

You can also ask for old policy and check with insurance company if any claims made under that policy.
Beelzebub is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 13th January 2021, 06:35   #14345

What would be a fair price for a 2016 model Corolla Altis GL petrol manual (2017 regd) with under 25k on the odo? The vehicle is in Kerala. Looks well maintained from the pictures. This is the pre facelift version of the 11th gen Corolla. The facelift came in 2017. Prices on OLX are all around the place, hence asking here.

Last edited by longhorn : 13th January 2021 at 06:57.
Old 13th January 2021, 11:55   #14346

Originally Posted by Pancham View Post
Guys a Mahindra dealer is offering 1.85L for my 9 year old i20 which has run 68.44k kms.
Petrol or Diesel?

Just for reference, last week my friend's 2011 March i20 Sportz Diesel which had done 1.42L kms was sold for 2.30L through OLX in Kerala where dealers were offering around 2L only.
Old 13th January 2021, 12:15   #14347

Originally Posted by irdevanand View Post
Hi Guys
Dev
Most probably a Constructive Total Loss (Likely flood damage) vehicle repaired for resale. When the Insurance company declares a vehicle as Total Loss based on Net of Salvage, the salvage buyer purchases the vehicle and the comprehensive Insurance stands cancelled. Ask for the previous Insurance Copy and check for claims.
Holyghost is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 13th January 2021, 17:02   #14348

Friends, a quick ask from my family friends. What is the ideal buying price for 2017 august model jeep compass price today?
Diesel manual, longitude variant, ran 35,000 kms and bangalore registered car.
Decently maintained but interiors are soiled little bit because of white leather.

Please help.
Old 13th January 2021, 18:28   #14349

Originally Posted by northstar* View Post
Petrol or Diesel?

Just for reference, last week my friend's 2011 March i20 Sportz Diesel which had done 1.42L kms was sold for 2.30L through OLX in Kerala where dealers were offering around 2L only.

This is a petrol Asta variant in Kolkata.
Old 13th January 2021, 22:19   #14350

what can be a good purchase price for a 2019 Skoda Kodiaq L&K about 10000km run in Pune? Warranty valid till 2025 and BSI till 2023. The quote is 37lkh
Old 14th January 2021, 19:59   #14351

What can be a good price for a BMW X1 Sept. 2017 driven 35000kms. The BMW dealer is offering 1 year warranty and an option to buy the BSI(INR 1.3Lacs for 3 years) for peace of mind ownership.

The Quote is INR 23Lacs.

I am going to see the car tomorrow. I was worried about the tyres being worn out and brake pad condition as well. Anything else I should look out for? Price?

Last edited by RJ2285 : 14th January 2021 at 20:02.
RJ2285 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th January 2021, 12:46   #14352

Friends, I am looking for an automatic SUV with 3 row and contemplating on Pajero Sport-4X2. Is it worth buying? what would be the good price for a 2015 Pajero with 80K KMs on Odo? I have seen some cars in OLX with the prices ranging from 13-15 L , which seems to be a bit expensive considering Mitsubishi has ceased operations in India.
Old 15th January 2021, 13:13   #14353

Hi All, a friend is being quoted 28 lacs for a 2018 CLA Class (Petrol) in Mumbai.

Is it a reasonable ask for a discontinued model? The service history is proper and no insurance claims and has run only 11,000 km. He is tempted to go for it because it's in his preferred colour (Red).
Shreyas_H is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th January 2021, 17:48   #14354

I'm looking for a safe - Diesel car particularly for Highway usage.
Prefer Sedan/CSUV/SUV

Budget is between 3 to 3.5 lakhs.

Can you kindly advise what would be an ideal price to quote for this car, details below.

Saw the below car with a dealer..

Make : VW
Model : Vento
Variant : Comfortline
Mileage : 69,000 kms
Colour : Black
Ownership : Third Owner
Condition: Fair - Need Battery and Tyre replacement immediately and a general service.
Few Dents/scratches.

Dealer is asking price 2.6 Lakhs with 2% commission.
Old 15th January 2021, 19:22   #14355

Originally Posted by ash22 View Post
Make : VW
Model : Vento
Variant : Comfortline
Mileage : 69,000 kms
Colour : Black
Ownership : Third Owner
Condition: Fair - Need Battery and Tyre replacement immediately and a general service.
Few Dents/scratches.
1. 3 owners in 9 years is a lot for a vehicle that has done only 69000 kms for a diesel. While the price seems lucrative, it's not going to be cheap to maintain.

2. You are going to be the 4th owner which means you would technically be the last and might have to scrap it at some point in time.

3. Has the speedometer been clocked? Quite possible because you are picking it from a dealer. Check service history. 2015 was the year of the flood. Was it a flooded car?

Too many variables here. My suggestion would be to up your budget a little and look for a car with a first owner. Name in RC book and person handing over the car should match.
discoverwild is offline   (3) Thanks