Team-BHP > Modifications & Accessories

Search this Thread
Old 18th March 2013, 15:22   #7036
BHPian

Re: Auto Lighting thread : Post all queries about automobile lighting here

Gents,
Absolute newbie on modifications of the car, so please advise on worthiness of below :

http://shopping.rediff.com/product/rediff-privileges/Car-Head-Light-Bulb-Conversion-Kit-H4-To-Hid-000k/11452205/storeid-6966?sc_cid=more_gv500_nonrediff_140313|store

it also says " If your car is not listed above, please confirm whether your car has H4 bulbs or not, if your car has H4 bulbs this product will fit in your car".

Can anyone confirm if Ertiga has H4 bulbs ?
Old 18th March 2013, 15:39   #7037
Senior - BHPian

Quote:
Originally Posted by sharninder View Post
Hi Guys,

I've looked at a few HID kits (with projectors) and from what I could gather, the cheaper chinese kits mostly come with their own bulbs. Are these proprietary bulbs and will replacing them be a hassle later on?

The other option is to get a genuine philips kit (without projectors). This comes to around 9k INR and get it fitted with an aftermarket projector. Is this possible? Which projectors do you suggest? Is Morimoto (US) any good?
The second option is very much possible.
HID : Philips or Morimoto.
Projector : Morimoto Mini or Hella E55.
I think this should give much better quality output than the Chinese.
Old 18th March 2013, 18:24   #7038
BHPian

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sommos View Post
The second option is very much possible.
HID : Philips or Morimoto.
Projector : Morimoto Mini or Hella E55.
I think this should give much better quality output than the Chinese.
I just did some maths and it looks like this setup is going to cost a bit more than I'm willing to put right now.

The morimoto's will cost around 12k and the philips bulbs/ballast are being sold at Reliance Autozone for 9500 (I confirmed that today). So, this will easily be around 30k.