Old 5th December 2019, 20:38   #5281

Re: Tata Hexa : Official Review

Originally Posted by TROOPER View Post
So we are decided on the Hexa XT 4X2 6 seat : Harrier XZ with more of an inclination towards the Hexa.

Any idea on the discounts in Mumbai and the waiting period too?

We wish to bring home our new ride by 10 Jan 2020 if everything goes smoothly.
Congratulations mate. If you don't mind getting a Hexa from an older lot then August 2018 manufactured Hexas are available in the plant with a 3 lakh discount. All of them are XT 6 seaters. Also some April 2019 manufactured ones are available for 1.5 lakh discount. This is factory discount so you can squeeze more from the dealer end.

If you want one from the fresh lot then whatever discount is applicable in that month is all you will get.
ram87pune is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 5th December 2019, 20:42   #5282

Originally Posted by digitalnirvana View Post
However TASS has identified an issue during the first servicing last week with the rack & pinion and have quoted 29k for replacement.

I'm waiting for a full checkup and estimates from them. Will keep updating on the Aria thread.
AMC is available for out of warranty cars too. But considering it's age, the AMC itself would be priced for over 23k for an year. Also, parts such as the steering systems are not covered in it.

PS: Please inquire about the Recon facility for this part. If the part is covered, you would be paying approximately 60% or so of the price of the new one, for a reconditioned part, in lieu of your "broken" part.
dkamath is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th December 2019, 20:54   #5283

Originally Posted by ram87pune View Post
Congratulations mate. If you don't mind getting a Hexa from an older lot then August 2018 manufactured Hexas are available in the plant with a 3 lakh discount. All of them are XT 6 seaters. Also some April 2019 manufactured ones are available for 1.5 lakh discount. This is factory discount so you can squeeze more from the dealer end.

2018 models are strict no-no.

April-July 2019 models could be possible if we could know what conditions the cars are stored in at the factory. Not to forget the torrential monsoons of this year.
TROOPER is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th December 2019, 21:08   #5284

Originally Posted by dkamath View Post
PS: Please inquire about the Recon facility for this part. If the part is covered, you would be paying approximately 60% or so of the price of the new one, for a reconditioned part, in lieu of your "broken" part.
Thanks for letting me know. So reconditioned is refurbished, yes? I'll check with TASS.
Old 5th December 2019, 22:29   #5285

2018 models are strict no-no.

April-July 2019 models could be possible if we could know what conditions the cars are stored in at the factory. Not to forget the torrential monsoons of this year.
Agree. Instead of going for 2018 model, better to buy a used one with 7 lakh discount.
Old 6th December 2019, 00:00   #5286

Originally Posted by pseudo_coder View Post
Agree. Instead of going for 2018 model, better to buy a used one with 7 lakh discount.
What about the wear and tear on the run in model as against a factory version that is still virgin and comes with standard warranty? If you are still paying 8 -9 lakhs better to invest 3 lakh more and have peace of mind if you plan to keep the car more than 5 years.
haisaikat is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 6th December 2019, 00:22   #5287

Originally Posted by haisaikat View Post
What about the wear and tear on the run in model as against a factory version that is still virgin and comes with standard warranty? If you are still paying 8 -9 lakhs better to invest 3 lakh more and have peace of mind if you plan to keep the car more than 5 years.
Well we are not in favor for a pre worshiped car as of now. Also we plan on retaining our current purchase for long (min 8 yrs), and with all the fiasco around BS4 and BS6 and with rumors of compulsory scrapping of 15 year and older vehicles, it would be better to get a fresh piece.
TROOPER is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 6th December 2019, 06:05   #5288

Not an expert on the topic, but I had read in one thread here that 'a car in use stays in better condition than the one which is parked for several months'.

PS: The prices are higher. XT on road is about 21 lakh, which will be 18 lakh for 2018 model. 2018 used one, with 20-30k odo, should be available for 13 lakh.

Last edited by pseudo_coder : 6th December 2019 at 06:07.
Old 6th December 2019, 07:42   #5289

Completely agree. My sources tell me that the cars have been parked under a shade in the yard so they are not that exposed to the elements. Plus if Trooper wants to keep the car for 8 years then it's better to go for a fresh piece and get the extended warranty too which means he at least has a peace of mind for 5 years.

So in that case I think saving 4-5 lakhs on a used one does not make much sense.
ram87pune is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 6th December 2019, 14:37   #5290

A very good news for existing as well as prospective Hexa owners is that it will continue in BS6 avatar as @ram87pune mentioned in his earlier posts. This was confirmed by Mr Mayank Pareek in an interview to Motor Octane, where he says that Hexa will be repositioned but not discontinued as it's just a 3 year old model.
Watch from 6:16 in the video.

Last edited by damodar : 6th December 2019 at 14:59.
damodar is online now   (11) Thanks
Old 6th December 2019, 15:50   #5291

Originally Posted by Reinhard View Post
Please see if you can post a picture. That way members can have a look & advise better. Some surface rust around corners over paint are quite common due to water accumulation. They can simply get wiped off with a rag & WD40. Can even be ignored as harmless. Only deep rust on exposed parts / paint chipped areas should be addressed in most cases. So it totally depends on the severity & location of your rusting issue.
The rust issue was in the engine bay area.
Paid a visit yesterday to the service center and they did some touch up work on the exposed metal at the base of the left A pillar. (second pic)
The first pic is of the washers which are rusted. Couldn't get a better pic. They will replace both washers in the next service.
Tata Hexa : Official Review-20191206_153725.jpg  

Tata Hexa : Official Review-20191206_153814.jpg  

ghostforce is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 6th December 2019, 19:57   #5292

So we visited Tata Motors Wasan showroom today, inquiring about Hexa XT 4x2 6 Seater

Here's what they're offering for a freshly baked Hexa
50,000 Cash Discount
75,000 Exchange Bonus (knew there was a 50,000 bonus, the extra 25,000 was a surprise)
15,000 Corporate Discount

Now where we were taken aback was with the evaluation of our 2010 December Swift Dzire Vxi with 44500 km on the clock, with tyres changed at 25,000 Km and battery replaced in Jan 2017, still under warranty.

They offered 150,000! Our car insurance is due and the IDV given by ICICI Lombard is 152,000

Most similarly aged and specd dzires are being sold for 1.9 to 2.6 lac online. Cars24 online evaluation gave a 1.7 to 1.9 offer.

Also zero dep insurance offered is 75,000

Fellow Bhpians, please guide on these 2 fronts, insurance and our Dzire's resale value

Last edited by TROOPER : 6th December 2019 at 20:10.
TROOPER is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 6th December 2019, 20:35   #5293

Fellow Bhpians, please guide on these 2 fronts, insurance and our Dzire's resale value
The way I see, you are getting 150000 + 75000 = 225000 for your Dzire, which is a fair price. If you are able to sell it outside for anything more than 2.25L then you should forgo the exchange offer.

For insurance, you should get better quotes outside. If you have no-claim bonus on your Dzire's insurance, please transfer it to the Hexa.

PS: My father's friend exchanged his 6 yr/30k kms run Dzire ZXi for 3.2L when he got a new car. It was very well maintained and looked like a new piece.

Last edited by aah78 : 6th December 2019 at 22:30. Reason: Quote trimmed.
ashis89 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 6th December 2019, 22:17   #5294

In these desperate times, some dealers are offering exchange bonus even when there is no exchange. We should just have a car, and they somehow show it as exchanged. See if your dealer does that. Also, dealers tend to negotiate on the price of the old car. Try.
pseudo_coder is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th December 2019, 23:16   #5295

In these desperate times, some dealers are offering exchange bonus even when there is no exchange. We should just have a car, and they somehow show it as exchanged. See if your dealer does that. Also, dealers tend to negotiate on the price of the old car. Try.
Considering its a fresh piece, I doubt they will be inclined to do such adjustments.

We plan to wait out for the next couple of days and watch how much they too are inclined to make the sale. There are another 2 dealerships we need to check out.

Last edited by TROOPER : 6th December 2019 at 23:24.