Old 11th November 2022, 10:13   #1126

Re: Will Toyota Legender come in Black colour?

Originally Posted by ragh_bhushan View Post
Brought home Furteela Ghonga 2.0 on 9/11 this year.
Congratulations. My first long trip too was to Goa

Originally Posted by ankit0070 View Post
I'm planning to buy a Toyota Legender in January 23 but I wanted it in Black.
Unfortunately, it is only white + black combination as of now.
prasanna_indaje is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th November 2022, 11:30   #1127

Re: 2021 Toyota Fortuner Legender & Facelift Review

Originally Posted by CEF_Beasts View Post
Hearty congratulations on Furteela Ghonga 2.0. This is just testimony to a great product that Toyota has built, leaving aside the stiff ride quality. For sure it has massive shoes to fill of the OG Furteela Ghonga. Wish you lakhs of happy kilometres!

10,000 kms in 2 months is really impressive, but then I remembered your 2016 Fortuner had done 1,00,000 kms if not more, in 2 years

Will wait for the ownership review

In the first picture, if I’m not mistaken, that is Lakozy Toyota Andheri, did you exchange the 2016 one for the latest one with them or did you sell it privately? And if I may ask what price did you get for it?
Thanks! FG1 also took 2 months to complete its first 10,000 kms and completed 1,00,000 kms in 2 years and 2 months.

Car was booked from Lakozy Andheri again as they gave me good discount. Sold the 2016 one privately in 2019 for a price of ~16L.

ragh_bhushan is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 12th November 2022, 09:48   #1128

Brought home Furteela Ghonga 2.0 on 9/11 this year. It will complete two months soon and has been driven about 10,000 kms so far. Coming from 2016 4x4 AT, here are my initial impressions
Hi ragh_bhushan, many congratulations and welcome to 2nd generation Fortuner ownership, like me. I moved from a 2013 4x4 MT to 2021 4x4 AT and it has been an amazing transition. Happy Motoring!!
getsurya is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 12th November 2022, 12:39   #1129

Brought home Furteela Ghonga 2.0 on 9/11 this year.
Congratulations! Please do another Leh or Spiti trip soon!
vredesbyrd is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 13th November 2022, 22:08   #1130

Originally Posted by getsurya View Post
Hi ragh_bhushan, many congratulations and welcome to 2nd generation Fortuner ownership, like me.
Thanks getsurya! You have done real nice mods on your truck some of which I intend to copy
  • Dechrome
  • OME Suspension upgrade
  • Rubber beading on bonnet
  • Amber lightbar
To name a few.

Originally Posted by vredesbyrd View Post
Congratulations! Please do another Leh or Spiti trip soon!
Thanks man! Hopefully soon enough!
ragh_bhushan is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 14th November 2022, 16:11   #1131

Congrats, This is currently the best body on frame SUV you can find in this price range, i got mine delivered in July this year, its a Diesel 4X4 varient.

I went on a long drive to Srinagar and Leh from Bangalore.
Initially i was worried about the function of DPF in higher altitude, i was keeping my fingers crossed at Zojila, Umling La and Kardung La pass but the DFP re-generation happend flawlessly everytime, the vehicle performed very well throughout my 9000KM drive. I even filled up DPF in middle of the night somewhere on the roadside shop with Tata DPF. My only disappointment was the headlight brightness and throw, it is good till 80 KM speed on highways, i wish there is some provision to upgrade lights without hampering warranty.
mukeshannamalai is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 14th November 2022, 17:44   #1132

Brought home Furteela Ghonga 2.0 on 9/11 this year. It will complete two months soon and has been driven about 10,000 kms so far.
Congratulations and wishing you many happy miles. The fortuner launched when I was still in school and it was always a dream car. Plan to own one soon too.
Auto_guy_101 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th November 2022, 19:40   #1133

Originally Posted by mukeshannamalai View Post
Initially i was worried about the function of DPF in higher altitude, i was keeping my fingers crossed at Zojila, Umling La and Kardung La pass but the DFP re-generation happend flawlessly everytime, the vehicle performed very well throughout my 9000KM drive
Congratulations - wishing you lacs of happy km on your Fortuner. Is it a 4x4 AT or 4x4 MT? Please do share some pictures of the Fortuner from your trip.

Great to know that you did not face any DPF-related issues at high altitudes, particularly Umling La. Did you take any specific precautions/follow any best practices?
Old 14th November 2022, 22:20   #1134

Originally Posted by mukeshannamalai View Post
I went on a long drive to Srinagar and Leh from Bangalore.
Initially i was worried about the function of DPF in higher altitude, i was keeping my fingers crossed at Zojila, Umling La and Kardung La pass but the DFP re-generation happend flawlessly everytime, the vehicle performed very well throughout my 9000KM drive. I even filled up DPF in middle of the night somewhere on the roadside shop with Tata DPF. My only disappointment was the headlight brightness and throw, it is good till 80 KM speed on highways, i wish there is some provision to upgrade lights without hampering warranty.
Thanks! This is indeed very assuring. How was DPF regeneration frequency in the high altitude areas and time taken for the process to complete? Did the BS6 engine feel under powered at high mountain passes?

I am also not too much bothered about AdBlue. Can get it easily at most fuel stations / car parts shop / road side stations (Spotted Tata DPF fluid dispensers every few kms on entire Agra Mumbai highway. I personally got it from Toyota Gwalior which was 10 minutes detour from highway. Was in and out in 15 minutes and good for at least 4-5,000 kms.

Regarding headlights, I found it to be ok till 100-120 kmph. Since I am a sedate driver, I guess I can live with it. Fortuners coming from the opposite side on high beam practically blinds the driver on undivided road so perhaps Toyota optimized the throw with safety for on coming traffic. Fog lamps is a different story altogether. Seems like only consideration here was aesthetics.

Originally Posted by Auto_guy_101 View Post
Congratulations and wishing you many happy miles. The fortuner launched when I was still in school and it was always a dream car. Plan to own one soon too.
Thank you! Wishing you the very best
ragh_bhushan is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th November 2022, 11:20   #1135

Thanks! This is indeed very assuring. How was DPF regeneration frequency in the high altitude areas and time taken for the process to complete? Did the BS6 engine feel under powered at high mountain passes?
Before the trip from Bangalore, I changed OEM Airfilter to BMC, honestly, I felt no loss of power in high altitudes, it was like driving on a normal road, I am unable to say if it is because of using the BMC air filter, on DPF regeneration, as soon as you see four bars the DPF regeneration starts like clockwork, the regeneration process varies between 200 and 400KM, sometimes it starts after 200 and sometimes it happens after 300+.
on AdBlue, it is not available in every gas station across so when you are driving to Leh, I suggest keeping a 5 Ltr can in stock.

On the headlight, I hear Legender has better light and throw, I wish to change it to Legender front facia for my Fortuner however it costs a whooping approx 3 Lacs from the dealer. I am not sure if it is worth so much, I am asking the Dealer if there is any other option to improve the headlight but the answer is no at this point in time, there are some accessory shops willing to change the fog lamp to something else but I am worried about Warranty.
mukeshannamalai is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 18th November 2022, 17:27   #1136

Attention all Fortuner Owners.

Please get this area shown in picture covered with some sort of steel wire mesh to avoid Rat entry into the AC intake duct. The rats chewed through the plastic grill cover and chewed the the AC filter.

It can be covered from outside and inside by removal of dashboard (not at all preferred). I wonder why manufacturers cannot provide a simple steel wire mesh when its a know thing that rats can chew plastic and enter into the ac/intake duct. At least some level of protecting AC duct.

Before and after images

//Rahul
2021 Toyota Fortuner Legender & Facelift Review-wa.jpeg  

2021 Toyota Fortuner Legender & Facelift Review-wa2.jpeg  

Last edited by Rahulk76 : 18th November 2022 at 17:42.
Rahulk76 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 19th November 2022, 06:34   #1137

Originally Posted by Rahulk76 View Post
Attention all Fortuner Owners.

Please get this area shown in picture covered with some sort of steel wire mesh to avoid Rat entry into the AC intake duct. The rats chewed through the plastic grill cover and chewed the the AC filter.

It can be covered from outside and inside by removal of dashboard (not at all preferred). I wonder why manufacturers cannot provide a simple steel wire mesh when its a know thing that rats can chew plastic and enter into the ac/intake duct. At least some level of protecting AC duct.

Before and after images

//Rahul
A very useful post. I remember having this done for my previous Fortuner. I will have to get this done for my new Fortuner too. Thank you Rahul.
Old 28th November 2022, 14:54   #1138

Childhood dream come true.
In my schooling days I was awestruck by the looks and dynamics of mighty Fortuner.
2015 got my first car — Hyundai elite i20, drove it for almost 7.5 years. Now was the time to upgrade in 2022.
I set my budget for XUV700 AX7L, booked in June 22, was waiting on, but my level of patience refused me to wait.
Went ahead after chasing my dream and hooked onto Fortuner AT 4x2.

Been a month & did 1200 kms on the beast.
2021 Toyota Fortuner Legender & Facelift Review-10d0820de8eb431eb9b41ef064ed6f19.jpeg  

2021 Toyota Fortuner Legender & Facelift Review-05f2ad097e7d4899a41195392d193ad0.jpeg  

manaljain is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 30th November 2022, 11:56   #1139

Hello Fellow BHPians,

Booked a 4x4 AT variant in diesel guise last week and expecting delivery mid Dec. It was definitely a shock to see the way on-road prices have soared over the last couple of years. This gets only worse with the "optional" accessories and insurance quotes provided by the dealer. Any suggestions on how i could wriggle out/negotiate for a better quote?

thanks.
Old 30th November 2022, 16:45   #1140

Originally Posted by Phoenix_Nemo View Post
Hello Fellow BHPians,

Booked a 4x4 AT variant in diesel guise last week and expecting delivery mid Dec. It was definitely a shock to see the way on-road prices have soared over the last couple of years. This gets only worse with the "optional" accessories and insurance quotes provided by the dealer. Any suggestions on how i could wriggle out/negotiate for a better quote?

thanks.
AFAIK, Toyota had stopped taking 4x4 AT bookings way back in September and surprised to know your dealer has committed mid-Dec delivery. Pls. verify the VIN number to check production month.

As regards the optional accessories, you're under no obligation to take either the accessories or the insurance from dealer. Go to Acko.com, get a comparative quote to what dealer is giving and negotiate with the dealer. He will most definitely match your quote or come close.