Old 21st July 2022, 23:28   #571

Re: Mahindra Scorpio-N Review

Originally Posted by Arinmech View Post
Product or service value creates perception and perception creates "Brand Value", not the other way around during initial days. Pricing a 22-23 lakhs worth ScorpioN 30 lakhs will most probably backfire, let's see while booking starts.
~ 23L will get you the existing Scorpio S11 Diesel MT in Bangalore.

This thing with added kit, the AT, 4WD etc should cost 4-5 lakhs more - there you have it.
Kosfactor is online now   (6) Thanks
Old 21st July 2022, 23:31   #572

Originally Posted by iTNerd View Post
4WD available only in MT trim.

//And if the ban on BS4 do comes into effect in Delhi, it won't matter much to me as I stay in NCR Noida and I don't commute much in Delhi. I would start worrying if the ban for BS4 is enforced on NCR by NGT.
I think your perception about the likely applicability of this proposed is not quite correct. Per various news reports it will be applicable in entire NCR. Though i am in the same boat as you, as i am based out of Greater Noida.

Please check the attached url for more info.

https://www.cartoq.com/delhi-ncr-bs4...r-control/amp/
theZULU is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 21st July 2022, 23:32   #573

Off goes my dream of a practical 4WD AT SUV at a sensible price. Mahindra is just trying to be too ambitious with the pricing.
Jaisalmeriya is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st July 2022, 23:37   #574

I hope now that all prices have been revealed, Mahindra finally releases lower variant interior/exterior images (if not actual cars at dealerships).

I have a Z4 diesel AT in the cart and would want to see what I'm actually getting before putting down the booking amount!

Last edited by naru80 : 21st July 2022 at 23:38.
naru80 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 21st July 2022, 23:46   #575
HTC

Originally Posted by Samba View Post
What am I missing here?

The pricing-

ScorpioN Z4 MT 2WD- 13.99L
ScorpioN Z4 MT 4wd- 16.44L
The difference is Rs- 2.45L

ScorpioN Z8 MT 2wd- 17.49L
ScorpioN Z8 MT 4wd- 19.94L
The price difference is Rs 2.45L

Now the Z4 2wd come with a 130 BHP engine, but the Z4 4wd comes with a 172 BHP engine, whereas the Z8 2wd &4wd both comes with a 172 BHP engine.

So the price of a 130 BHP engine and a 172 BHp engine are same?

The engine specsfrom Mahindra Website. 97 kW = 130 BHP, 128.6 kW = 172 BHP
Attachment 2337086

Attachment 2337087
@Samba,
That's a clever catch.

If indeed, the Mahindra pricing team had overlooked this detail, then it's a face palm situation for them if they read your post.

But, what I feel is that, 2.45L premium in Z4 is for 4wd(basic)+powerful engine. In Z8, 2.45L premium is for 4WD+4explore modes,MLD,BLD (which is absent in Z4).

But still, pricing is a bummer IMHO. For honest tax paying citizens, buying new cars is double whammy these days. Wish Mahindra had announced the prices during launch to avoid so much disappointment amongst prospective buyers. I see lot of booking cancellations may happen as there are many rough edges with the first iteration of Scorpio N ( 3rd row luggage space etc) at this price point.

Let's wait and watch.
HTC is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 21st July 2022, 23:48   #576

Originally Posted by Kosfactor View Post
~ 23L will get you the existing Scorpio S11 Diesel MT in Bangalore.

This thing with added kit, the AT, 4WD etc should cost 4-5 lakhs more - there you have it.
"Overpriced" is a pretty common phenomenon in today's automotive market in general while you think of actual worth or value of a car. Whenever I read a price declaration of Toyota, VW, Skoda and take it as an inflation indicator, I get a serious headache thinking about my post retirement finance plan! It is such an indigestible exponential curve. Mahindra is a recent addition to the list.
Arinmech is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 22nd July 2022, 00:43   #577

M&M has updated a set of 25 official accessories for the Scorpio N in their m2all portal. A couple of interesting ones -

Roof carrier - ₹21,500
Mahindra Scorpio-N Review-screenshot_20220722_003048.jpg

17" Alloys - ₹16,340 (pricier than the Thar's 18"!)
Mahindra Scorpio-N Review-screenshot_20220722_003337.jpg

There are a few 3D/ 7D/ carpet mats, scuff plates, vehicle covers, sunshades and rain visors. Remains be seen if there will be 4x4 specific accessories (like the Bushrangers for Thar) for Big Daddy too!
ph03n!x is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 22nd July 2022, 00:46   #578

4x4 aside, if we consider Z6 D AT with that sweet 2.2litre mHawk churning out 400nm at 16.99 L is still 1.06 L cheaper than creta SX D AT. That being said I will go for Z4 petrol MT if I have to, because in NCR "kya pata kal ho na ho" !
Rapidholic is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 22nd July 2022, 01:17   #579

I don't think there will be much cross shopping between XUV700 awd and ScorpioN 4wd, just as there is barely any cross shopping with the mercedes GLS and G-wagon. One is basically a monocoque meant for city / highway use while the other is a body on frame meant for all terrains. One of them is designed to be efficient and spacious and cutting edge (for the budget) while the other is designed to be rough and tough and keep running for ages with abuse. One is meant to drive fast and handle well over curves while the other is meant to drive fast over broken roads that will damage the other.

The ScorpioN is basically for the people who thought the Thar was too impractical for their daily use or couldn't keep 2 cars. It gets most contemporary features while also seating more. No one is going to use an AWD with no low range gearbox or locking differentials for any sort of serious offroad use. At most it will help for better traction in the rain or dirt roads.

I do wish Mahindra provided the 185 ps/ 450nm diesel tune for the 4wd at least. The added torque could really help in off-roading situations. They could have just provided the petrol variant in a lower state of tune if they wanted to emphasise that the ScorpioN was a step below in their lineup that badly.

Last edited by Cresterk : 22nd July 2022 at 01:20.
Cresterk is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 22nd July 2022, 05:40   #580

I fail to understand this -

Z4 4WD does not comes with Rear Lockers or Brake Locking Diff but still gets the 2.4L price hike
Z8 comes with both Mechanical Locking Diff or rear locker and Brake Locking Diff, it also gets the same price hike.

Automatic is also a lot expensive when compared with Thar and I am presuming that Thar/XUV700 and Next Gen Scorpio; all come with Aisin 3rd Gen Auto Gearbox.
Old 22nd July 2022, 07:19   #581

Originally Posted by swunkjyn View Post
I fail to understand this -

Z4 4WD does not comes with Rear Lockers or Brake Locking Diff but still gets the 2.4L price hike
Z8 comes with both Mechanical Locking Diff or rear locker and Brake Locking Diff, it also gets the same price hike.

Automatic is also a lot expensive when compared with Thar and I am presuming that Thar/XUV700 and Next Gen Scorpio; all come with Aisin 3rd Gen Auto Gearbox.
Z4 2WD comes with the 130 BHP engine whereas the 4WD comes with the 172 BHP one.

The Z8 comes with the 172 BHP engine in both 2WD and 4WD and hence comes with rear lockers and BLD to justify the price difference.
discoverwild is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 22nd July 2022, 07:46   #582

Infractions: 0/3 (13)

Originally Posted by discoverwild View Post
Z4 2WD comes with the 130 BHP engine whereas the 4WD comes with the 172 BHP one.

The Z8 comes with the 172 BHP engine in both 2WD and 4WD and hence comes with rear lockers and BLD to justify the price difference.
I am placing the spec sheet here again. It shows the engine options and all on a variant wise basis.
Since this is their official release I am hoping that the information is correct as contained herein.
Mahindra Scorpio-N Review-940aa29d2a2b41749fbc845b00d015cd.jpeg  

Mahindra Scorpio-N Review-6cc9289576144d2db71659bf9fdbd21e.jpeg  

Mahindra Scorpio-N Review-5fade0201ef6453d98eb1e495b720ae8.jpeg  

shankar.balan is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 22nd July 2022, 07:51   #583

I feel that it's a general trend that car prices ought to go up owing to increased costs of production, material cost rise, fall in value of rupee, more features, etc. Also, it's more of a seller's market now, where all car manufacturers are gradually increasing their prices.

The prices of the Scorpio-N are in-line with the market conditions is all i have to say, whether one feels it's worth it or not is subjective.
itsmeparvathy9 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd July 2022, 08:19   #584

Originally Posted by acquillew View Post
4WD is available with only manual Z4.
So then the only MT 4WD is z4. The above trims are all 4WD AT.
Old 22nd July 2022, 08:19   #585

Originally Posted by itsmeparvathy9 View Post
I feel that it's a general trend that car prices ought to go up owing to increased costs of production, material cost rise, fall in value of rupee, more features, etc. Also, it's more of a seller's market now, where all car manufacturers are gradually increasing their prices.
OT : We the buyers have to accept and get to grips with the fact that car prices would continue to go north, just like fuel prices. The reasons are manifold. All the more reason to hold onto good, solid and reliable cars of last generation. One can even think about spending a bomb to spruce it up too.

Many of them can still give the modern cars a run for it's money. The present day feature list may be the only area they lack. Rest of the core fundamentals are largely as good as a modern car.

With ScorpioN, isn't that the only option for people who're looking for a true blue SUV with 4*4 capabilities in that price bracket. The next best option sits at 50 lakhs+. Tata must be rueful now that they didn't consider 4*4 hardware for the Safari. It has sort of given M&M a free run with Big Daddy's pricing. And of course these are "introductory" pricing, so immediate price hikes are certainly on the anvil.

Last edited by Bibendum90949 : 22nd July 2022 at 08:28.
Bibendum90949 is offline   (18) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com