Old 2nd March 2025, 20:17   #3331

Re: 2023 Kia Seltos Facelift Review

Originally Posted by GTlists_3131 View Post
I had previously expressd my evergrowing furstrations with my 2024 April Manufactured, May bought Kia Seltos GTX+ 1.5L DCT.

Previously encountered issues -

I have an update regarding this, I got the car back from KIA ASC 3 days ago, they had the car with them for close to a week. They told me they worked on the engine acutator, compressor and tensioner ( I think).

They aren't sure as to what caused the issue but the sound has ceased now. I was told to drive the car around for two weeks and take it back to them if the sound recurs.

But today evening I got an engine check light and an engine management system error, the 4th time now all within the first 10,000 km. Attaching the images of the latest error.

This has been super troubling and I've lost a lot of trust in KIA.

Can anyone guide me in what way I need to proceed from here? Do I involve KIA India into this now, the car has been to the service centre more than 7-8 times since purchase. I want a final resolution from them, I do not want to keep worrying about what or when something could go wrong next.
2023 Kia Seltos Facelift Review-img_3878.jpg  

2023 Kia Seltos Facelift Review-img_3879.jpg  

2023 Kia Seltos Facelift Review-img_3880.jpg  

Last edited by Chetan_Rao : 6th March 2025 at 16:26. Reason: Trimmed quote.
GTlists_3131 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 3rd March 2025, 10:44   #3332

Originally Posted by bharathdonti View Post
I’ve driven approximately 4,000 km since replacing the headlights. While I don’t have a precise way to measure it, based on my experience, I’m convinced that the new headlights provide significantly better throw compared to the factory-fitted ones.
Now that your new headlights are 2 months old, did you noticed any yellowing in the DRL's again like some other members have faced?
Old 3rd March 2025, 15:00   #3333

Originally Posted by MalnadMansha View Post
Has anybody faced similar issue here? Are O2 sensors prone to fail within months? Is that the only cause or there maybe any other underlying issue?
Has this issue been sorted? I've been facing the same issue from the very first day of ownership. Engine check light came on the very first day, ASC dismissed it as loose connection and cleared the errors.
Came back again during the first service was told it was because of the O2 sensor and was cleaned.

The issue came back agin at 8000km and 9000km respectively all was attributed to a loose connection.

Post this I noticed a weird sound from the engine (rattling) during low RPM. Kia ASC had the car with them for 6 days and told me they lubricated several parts and the sound wasn't there anymore.

Got the check engine light yesterday within 4 days of delivery from ASC.
Went to the ASC today and the response was pathetic. I clearly explained how this has been a recurring issue.

The engine check light turned off when they were checking the car. They cleared the codes in the history (O2 Sensor), noted them down and asked me to continue driving as usual and come back if the problem recurs.

On demanding an explanation, they offered to send an email through their CRM email Id that the vehicle is under observation and that the issue has been noted.
The irony is within 30 min on my way back home, the engine check light came on again.

Had to force them to open a Job card today, they told me they'd take the vehicle into inventory and open the job card tomorrow.
Old 3rd March 2025, 22:30   #3334

Infractions: 0/2 (12)

Originally Posted by GTlists_3131 View Post
Has this issue been sorted? I've been facing the same issue from the very first day of ownership.
Hello GTlists_3131, did the ASC actually scan the car for the engine light the first time and every time after that? If they did, was there an active code or just a history code? I've had random check engine lights come on 3-4 times in my 1.5 TGDI Seltos iMT. The code is always the same—it's intermittent and goes away on its own. I haven’t noticed any performance issues yet.

Last edited by Axe77 : 5th March 2025 at 19:03. Reason: Trimming quoted post.
Old 3rd March 2025, 22:59   #3335

Infractions: 0/2 (12)

Originally Posted by bharathdonti View Post
I’ve driven approximately 4,000 km since replacing the headlights. While I don’t have a precise way to measure it, based on my experience, I’m convinced that the new headlights provide significantly better throw compared to the factory-fitted ones.

Ever since I noticed the issue of DRLs turning yellow, I can’t help but focus on them whenever I see a facelifted Seltos. And I’m not exaggerating when I say that 8 out of 10 Seltos have their DRLs turned Yellow!

I hope KIA addresses this issue sooner rather than later.
bharathdonti, I totally get what you mean! My experience was pretty similar—after replacement of headlights under warranty, the difference was huge. The improvement is really significant, and it makes you realize how much of a safety hazard those factory-fitted defective headlights lights were. Low visibility because of manufacturing defects in all front lights is just not okay in new cars.

The DRL thing—I’m the same way! Ever since I noticed it, I can’t unsee it. 8 out of 10 Drls are yellowed in new Kia Seltos 2023! KIA seriously needs to do something about this soon. It’s pretty clear visible evidence of new lights failing in real-world conditions. I’ve found the best place to see this happening—KIA ASC. You’ll see new cars with failing lights across multiple makes and models there. My Seltos hasn’t been fixed till date, either, even after 8 months now. The moisture condensation is still happening severely in both fog lamp assemblies, just like before, even after they were replaced under warranty. After-sale service quality with Kia India is a joke, and this recurring issue makes the fog lamps completely useless, again leading to low visibility on road and safety hazard. It’s so frustrating.

Last edited by @ppy.tbhp : 3rd March 2025 at 23:02.
Old 5th March 2025, 11:45   #3336

5 Months, 8500 kms and 2nd Service Updates

2023 Kia Seltos Facelift Review-20250305_100935.jpg

Our Seltos has completed 8500 kms in under 5 months and the ownership experience has been brilliant so far. Since we have a ~2000 km work trip coming up, we decided to get the 2nd service done before completing 10k kms. Here are a few observations:

The car feels better with each drive. As I have mentioned it in my earlier posts, the D AT combo wasn’t our first choice mainly due to the toned-down nature of the BS6 Ph2 engine, but after these many months and kms, it feels like a very balanced package offering performance, efficiency and reliability. The initial torque delivery is perfect for all driving conditions and the TC gearbox is ever so smooth with no lag or jerkiness. It’s an equally capable car on open roads – pulls cleanly and the mid-range is very addictive in the Manual and Sport modes. The engine becomes vocal and starts losing steam post 4k RPM though, so there is no point in pushing it further. That’s the only time you wish the engine had more to offer – something our 1st gen Creta 1.6 D AT had. The car is holding up well with no rattles or squeaks, that’s another checkbox ticked. The plastic and other trims feel solid, a welcome change from our 2nd gen Creta which just doesn’t feel that well-built.

The service:

The service experience was decent. Booked an early appointment and we were attended to immediately upon arrival. Had no major issues to report, the job card was opened instantly, and the regular service was completed within an hour. The cleaning took another one hour or so. While I’m usually not happy with the SC’s cleaning effort, I thought they did a pretty good job this time and I would rate them 9 out of 10 for the overall work.

The engine oil grade:

2023 Kia Seltos Facelift Review-20250304_105749.jpg

Discussion with a senior technician:

Spoke with one of the senior technicians regarding BS6 diesel traits (DPF and oil dilution). Interestingly, he didn’t sound too concerned with oil dilution, mentioning that it’s a common phenomenon with BS6 diesels and as long as the oil doesn't go above the "B" level, there is no need to worry about it.

2023 Kia Seltos Facelift Review-screenshot_20250130_212205_drive.jpg

Going forward though, we want to change the engine oil every 5k kms keeping oil dilution in mind, however, he advised against it (I think we would still want to change it early for our mental peace).

Regarding DPF, the technician sounded confident that the phase 2 diesels with urea injection are well calibrated to manage potential DPF clogging and unless the car is driven only in city traffic for a long time, they don’t see many DPF issues anymore. I think it’s a good sign. With our driving pattern, which is 60:40 highway-city, we are confident keeping DPF clogging at bay. We also checked the soot mass level which showed 71%. The technician stated the passive regeneration happens only when the level goes above 100% and continues to bring it down to 0% (as long as the car is being driven continuously at the required RPMs). Never knew this. Any comments on this from our expert members will be highly appreciated.

We just love the sage green interior theme and almost everyone who has sat in the car has admired it too.

2023 Kia Seltos Facelift Review-20250305_100825.jpg

2023 Kia Seltos Facelift Review-20250305_101121.jpg

However, it's not a perfect car either as it comes with its own share of issues like less compliant ride quality due to a stiff suspension setup, and not super comfortable seats. That said, we are happy with the car overall and do look forward to driving it next.

Ending with a few random clicks:
2023 Kia Seltos Facelift Review-20250222_072142.jpg  

2023 Kia Seltos Facelift Review-20250111_155134.jpg  

2023 Kia Seltos Facelift Review-20250126_065601.jpg  

2023 Kia Seltos Facelift Review-20250224_072809.jpg  

Col Mehta is offline   (23) Thanks
Old 5th March 2025, 18:51   #3337

Originally Posted by Col Mehta View Post

Going forward though, we want to change the engine oil every 5k kms keeping oil dilution in mind, however, he advised against it (I think we would still want to change it early for our mental peace).
I completely agree with your perspective. After covering around 33,000 km, I believe I will start changing the engine oil every 5,000 km for peace of mind. Additionally, once the warranty period is over, I definitely want to switch to thicker oils. Although I haven't researched which oil to use yet, I will begin looking into it as the time approaches.
bharathdonti is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th March 2025, 19:02   #3338

Originally Posted by BhayanaV View Post
Now that your new headlights are 2 months old, did you noticed any yellowing in the DRL's again like some other members have faced?
They seem to be holding well so far

2023 Kia Seltos Facelift Review-pxl_20250305_132517142.night.jpg
bharathdonti is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 6th March 2025, 10:59   #3339

Hi guys! So I am trying to buy my first car, and the recently released Seltos HTE(O) base variant with NA Petrol seems quite appealing and within my budget. With 11.13 L Ex. Shw. price, the dealer has said that he can do it 11.69 L on-road with BH RTO, minus the accessories. I didn't even want the accessories bar a couple of must-haves, which I will purchase on the date of delivery. So far, so good.

Then I checked the prices of Carens, and to my surprise, the Premium (O) variant with NA Petrol is 11.39 L Ex. Shw. and the dealer is making that available under 12 L on-road as well. So now my confusion is which one should I go for.

Both are Petrol & Manual. One is 7-seater while the other 6-seater. My major requirements were Rear Camera, Infotainment, 6 airbags. Both cars fulfill those. I have a family of 5, with many guests and relatives regularly staying here.

Seltos
I had heard some concerning things about the ride quality, suspension and seat comfort. The dealer didn't have HTE(O) for Test Drive, so I had to check out HTX+. It was okay, the parents definitely weren't impressed with the backseat. The ride comfort was also just okay.
I don't quite like the design and looks of it. Having booked the Honda Elevate earlier (which I had to cancel due to dealership issues), it seems like a step down. Elevate is just beautiful and unique, I think.

The specs of HTE(O) are showed in the picture.

Name:  HTE O specs.png
Views: 138
Size:  55.0 KB

It is surprisingly very well loaded for a base variant. It has Rear Parking Camera and an Infotainment System with Speakers. And all variants have TPMS!

Carens
The space inside is good for 3rd row, but not good enough for the 2nd row, which my parents used in the Test Drive. Again, did not drive the Premium (O) variant, but the Prestige+.

Name:  Premium O Specs.png
Views: 142
Size:  179.7 KB

Again, surprisingly well loaded. The MID is LCD, which is a bit lower in quality. Had choose the Premium (O) for Rear Camera and Infotainment + Speakers.

My Misses
1. The biggest miss for me in both these variants is Electrically Foldable ORVMs. My hometown is a place where if I want to take the car near my home, the width is only enough if the ORVMs are folded. So, if I have to do that manually everytime, it would be annoying.

2. UV-cut Glasses. The brochure doesn't say anything about it, and the dealer has said that he will confirm. If both the variants don't get UV-cut glasses, it would be an issue.

My Queries
1. Are there any other cars offering similar value in this price range that I can/should look at?
I had booked Elevate V MT Apex Edition, but it was costing 13.3 L on-road. Both these are much cheaper options. Although I loved the Elevate, the way it looked and the way it drove. It was love at first drive. But is there any other option which is good enough to compete with these Kia twins. Max budget is 13 L on-road.

2. Which of these two should I go for?
The drives for both of these were similar for me. I had a bit easier time controlling and handling Seltos because I am not very habitual of driving larger cars. But the difference wasn't enough to discard Carens. Family like the seating slightly better in Carens, but its boot space is lower than Seltos (barring folding 3rd row seats). Carens has more seats, but Seltos has a better sense of space. The tyres are 16 inch for both. Other specs are similar too.
My drive would be in city:highway in 70:30 ratio. Wife would be driving it primarily.

Can you guys help in choosing a better option or one of these two?
Old 6th March 2025, 11:21   #3340

Originally Posted by TheAnalogist View Post
Both are Petrol & Manual. One is 7-seater while the other 6-seater. My major requirements were Rear Camera, Infotainment, 6 airbags. Both cars fulfill those. I have a family of 5, with many guests and relatives regularly staying here.

2. Which of these two should I go for?
The drives for both of these were similar for me. I had a bit easier time controlling and handling Seltos because I am not very habitual of driving larger cars. But the difference wasn't enough to discard Carens. Family like the seating slightly better in Carens, but its boot space is lower than Seltos (barring folding 3rd row seats). Carens has more seats, but Seltos has a better sense of space. The tyres are 16 inch for both. Other specs are similar too.
My drive would be in city:highway in 70:30 ratio. Wife would be driving it primarily.

For a family of 5 and few guests visiting you regularly, I would go with Carens. It is a more spacious 5 seater with boot space which can convert into 7 seater when needed. However if only 5 (including 4 adults) would travel in the car at all times then Seltos would be easier to pilot due to its size. In my opinion, a 5th adult would be more comfortable in the Carens (even with last row folded) than the Seltos.

Do test drive both with your full family and then take a call.
ashis89 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 6th March 2025, 11:52   #3341

Infractions: 0/2 (19)

The Carens would be the better choice for the added flexibility, else if 5 seats are enough, the HTK 1.0 Turbo 6 MT variant of the Syros or even up to HTK Plus can be considered, provided you don't loathe the looks of the car.

Another option for a car would be the Zeta MT variant of the XL6 which has offers over 60k bringing the price down to 13 lakhs.

There are further options like the Citreon Aircross (available in 5 and 7-seater layouts), and Citroen Basalt with over 1.75 lakh discounts so you can get a car with the required features within your budget, but they aren't popular.

If you are ok with sedans, the top-end Maruti Ciaz Alpha MT costs only 13 lakhs OTR and gets huge discounts too.

Last edited by bijims : 6th March 2025 at 12:00.
bijims is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 6th March 2025, 12:20   #3342

Originally Posted by ashis89 View Post
However if only 5 (including 4 adults) would travel in the car at all times then Seltos would be easier to pilot due to its size.
Yup, all the reasons are pointing towards Carens except this one. And because my wife would be driving, and although she has driven an Ertiga most of her life, she doesn't want the hassle of the larger vehicle. I will try to convince her. Thanks for that!
TheAnalogist is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th March 2025, 12:38   #3343

the HTK 1.0 Turbo 6 MT variant of the Syros or even up to HTK Plus can be considered, provided you don't loathe the looks of the car
Actually, I originally went to the showroom for Syros. I got the quote for the HTK+ Petrol Manual, which was 12.79 L on-road. I love the looks of the car. In person, it looked stunning. And the seating inside was just wow! There is so much space! The second sliding row, with a flat rear, is genius, in my opinion.

Then I tested it, and it just wasn't a good experience. The backseat, although comfortable, did not hold passengers on bad roads. My parents were sliding from one side to the other on a moderately bad road. On the same road, on Honda Elevate, my parents were in place without any support. Since this purchase would be primarily for my parents and newborn, I couldn't finalize it. The dealer told me about new Seltos base variants, and here I am.

There are further options like the Citreon Aircross (available in 5 and 7-seater layouts), and Citroen Basalt
I test-drove the Basalt, and the backseat ride was the best for my parents. But the Rear Camera is only available in the top variant. And that is going close to 13 L on-road.

Thanks. I guess Seltos/Carens is the best choice.

Last edited by navin : 6th March 2025 at 12:40. Reason: typos
Old 6th March 2025, 14:10   #3344

I have a family of 5, with many guests and relatives regularly staying here.

Carens is the better option for you, just for the flexibility it offers without being too big than the Seltos to drive.
Knightrider is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 6th March 2025, 15:07   #3345

Carens it should be. My brother has one, same variant and we find it VFM for the features it offers.

For UV glasses, you can opt for RTO approved sun films that should do the job for you.

Last edited by Chetan_Rao : 6th March 2025 at 17:32. Reason: Typos