Old 25th January 2025, 12:26   #3271

Re: 2023 Kia Seltos Facelift Review

Looks like Kia India has discontinued the Aurora Black Pearl paintwork from the Xline trim while increasing the price by ~6000 INR.

2023 Kia Seltos Facelift Review-screenshot_20250125_115847_chrome.jpg

2023 Kia Seltos Facelift Review-screenshot_20250125_120146_chrome.jpg

If true, this is another brain-dead decision from Kia India. The Seltos isn't doing great anymore and decisions like this will hurt it even more. I've been seeing quite a few black Xline lately in Delhi NCR which means this was doing good. Someone in our circle was interested in one and that's how we ended up checking on the website. Kia dealers have no clue, but according to them they were expecting the variant to continue for a longer period as it was well received. Just beyond me why Kia India would discontinue it when they need to be more aggressive and innovative by bringing in more options for consumers, not taking them away!

If the information on the website is correct, I only have one thing to say in Gavaskar's style: STUPID! STUPID!! STUPID!!!

Last edited by Col Mehta : 25th January 2025 at 12:32.
Col Mehta is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 25th January 2025, 14:50   #3272

Originally Posted by Col Mehta View Post
Looks like Kia India has discontinued the Aurora Black Pearl paintwork from the Xline trim while increasing the price by ~6000 INR.

If true, this is another brain-dead decision from Kia India. The Seltos isn't doing great anymore and decisions like this will hurt it even more.
Kia India never fails to surprise. Kia is the only company other than MG who kept on increasing prices last year while other manufacturers were giving discount even though dealers had stocks piled up.
I liked Aurora Black X-Line more than matte shade. XLine needs more colour options to compete with Creta N-Line sales. I never looked at XLine due to lack of colour options. If XLine was available in Red, Silver or White I would have bought one.

When I checked with dealership last week on new Seltos variants, the SA told HTX(O) is just renamed Gravity variant. It looks like Kia India is experimenting with new Seltos but nothing clicking as much after Creta facelift launch last year
kgt.v8 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 25th January 2025, 15:30   #3273

Originally Posted by kgt.v8 View Post
Kia India never fails to surprise. Kia is the only company other than MG who kept on increasing prices last year while other manufacturers were giving discount even though dealers had stocks piled up.
I liked Aurora Black X-Line more than matte shade. XLine needs more colour options to compete with Creta N-Line sales. I never looked at XLine due to lack of colour options. If XLine was available in Red, Silver or White I would have bought one.

When I checked with dealership last week on new Seltos variants, the SA told HTX(O) is just renamed Gravity variant. It looks like Kia India is experimenting with new Seltos but nothing clicking as much after Creta facelift launch last year
You're right.

It's just so disappointing and frustrating what Kia India is doing to a great product like the Seltos. It has so much potential to do better numbers, but Kia India, with hilariously astonishing level of foolishness and bad decisions, won't let that happen. No IVT on the top trim, ridiculous price increases and now lesser option on the Xline are just a few "ingenious" examples. Because of which, the Seltos has become only a shadow of what it could really be. They don't even have to look too far for hints, their sister company, Hyundai, does a far better job at offering right options to consumers which contributes to their success in India.
Col Mehta is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 26th January 2025, 11:34   #3274

One of the "quirks" of driving an all black car on Republic day in Delhi - you get flagged at a checkpoint . Honestly, I had anticipated it, so it didn't come as a surprise. Good thing the police officer was polite and respectful and didn't bother barring a couple of routine questions and inspection. Advised me to put an Army sticker on the windshield, couple of seconds later we both laughed at it before exchanging pleasantries and parting ways.
2023 Kia Seltos Facelift Review-screenshot_20250126_112721_gallery.jpg  

Col Mehta is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 26th January 2025, 16:30   #3275

You're right.

It's just so disappointing and frustrating what Kia India is doing to a great product like the Seltos. It has so much potential to do better numbers, but Kia India, with hilariously astonishing level of foolishness and bad decisions, won't let that happen. No IVT on the top trim, ridiculous price increases and now lesser option on the Xline are just a few "ingenious" examples. Because of which, the Seltos has become only a shadow of what it could really be. They don't even have to look too far for hints, their sister company, Hyundai, does a far better job at offering right options to consumers which contributes to their success in India.
Rather than bringing out a new product they should have invested in Seltos and Sonet, both of these cars have the potential of becoming the segment leaders.

Not sure how Syros is gonna help them, to be honest it looks like a badly shaped car, didnt expect such a design from KIA.
Mayank07 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 27th January 2025, 21:13   #3276

You're right.

Exactly Kia messed up big time. The think tanks should have done exactly what Hyundai did.

They should have kept the Tech-line variants
confined to diesel and naturally aspirated petrol engine only with htx+ instead of turbo petrol with less features,offered fully loaded, adas and 360 camera equipped na ivt or torque convertor diesel engines, while GT- Line should have been for the enthusiasts with DCT Turbo petrols only with 18 inch alloys in addition to features that htx+ offered. No diesel variants at all in GT-Line.

X-Line could have stayed as it is right now, an exclusive variant offering available for both turbo petrol and Diesel lovers. Would have been perfect.

Last edited by Mr Anderson : 27th January 2025 at 21:23.
Mr Anderson is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 28th January 2025, 13:24   #3277

Continuing from my previous update, the dealership agreed for a full PDI of HTX(o) ivt, which was previously Gravity edition, from 3rd party without any extra payment. Hence i got it done from Zekardo. They did a thorough PDI with the scanners and gauges and nothing major issue was noticed. I will be getting the delivery soon.

Just had few questions on accessories and the exterior body treatments to be done.

i am getting basic accessories like 3d floor mats, trunk mats, door guards, finger guard film and no. plate bracket. Opted out of chrome treatment on headlights and tail lights. Is there anything i should take apart from these?

Also, will there be any paint protection treatment requirement? Does anyone has any experience of getting the ceramic coating done by dealership as the price in the market are lower than what dealership is asking for.
Mayank07 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 28th January 2025, 14:52   #3278

Originally Posted by Mayank07 View Post
Also, will there be any paint protection treatment requirement? Does anyone has any experience of getting the ceramic coating done by dealership as the price in the market are lower than what dealership is asking for.
Congratulations on a successful PDI! Wishing you a smooth delivery and a great ownership experience ahead.

One piece of advice from my end

When it comes to ceramic coatings or PPF, I’d recommend avoiding dealership services for these. They often treat it as just an add-on and it’s not their area of expertise. It’s worth investing the time to research and find a reputable, specialised applicator. Check reviews, visit their shop to see recent work, and make sure they’re experienced in what they do. It’ll make a huge difference in the long run!

There’s a reason why quoted price is less than the market price.
Mariner_sky is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 28th January 2025, 15:09   #3279

Originally Posted by Mayank07 View Post
Continuing from my previous update, the dealership agreed for a full PDI of HTX(o) ivt, which was previously Gravity edition, from 3rd party without any extra payment. Hence i got it done from Zekardo. They did a thorough PDI with the scanners and gauges and nothing major issue was noticed. I will be getting the delivery soon.
Congratulations on finalizing your new car and getting the PDI done without any issues. Looking forward to reading your delivery and ownership experiences.

Just had few questions on accessories and the exterior body treatments to be done.

i am getting basic accessories like 3d floor mats, trunk mats, door guards, finger guard film and no. plate bracket. Opted out of chrome treatment on headlights and tail lights. Is there anything i should take apart from these?
Couple of additional accessories that I can recommend:

1. Tyre inflator.

2. Side garnish which is available at Kia dealers worth 1,116 INR. Does enhance the side looks of the car.

Not sure what colour you are going with. Wouldn't recommend any coating or PPF for lighter colours (white/silver) as they are easier to maintain with detailing once every six months. Plus, PPF on white will most likely turn yellow in a few years time. But if it's a black or other darker paint, PPF can be a good option if you are happy spending another lakh or so and having to replace it in about a five-year time.
Col Mehta is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 29th January 2025, 20:18   #3280

Faced following warning light when stopped in the signal couple of times with Seltos IVT in last 2 weeks. I had to shift to P couple of times to start the engine again. The key fob was in the pocket both the occasions. Anything to worry about ?

2023 Kia Seltos Facelift Review-kia_key.png

Last edited by KarthikK : 29th January 2025 at 20:19.
Old 30th January 2025, 05:59   #3281

Infractions: 0/2 (19)

Originally Posted by raghub View Post
Faced following warning light when stopped in the signal couple of times with Seltos IVT in last 2 weeks. I had to shift to P couple of times to start the engine again. The key fob was in the pocket both the occasions. Anything to worry about ?

Attachment 2720482
It might be that the batteries of the keyfob need replacement, so the car isn't identifying the key, change the batteries of the keyfob and it should go away.
bijims is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 3rd February 2025, 09:39   #3282

I have got damping done on my Seltos GTX+ and audio performance has improved significantly. Here is the detailed post (The Damping Material and Sound Deadener Thread) if anyone interested.

2023 Kia Seltos Facelift Review-20250202_115718.jpg

Last edited by Chetan_Rao : 13th February 2025 at 20:13. Reason: Punctuation.
sunilarkt is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 13th February 2025, 12:04   #3283

Is the HTK+ the only model offering Turbo IMT Engine-Gearbox combo? Can someone confirm?
Old 13th February 2025, 13:04   #3284

Have observed a strange issue in my Oct 2023 FL Seltos GTX+.

It happens only when the car is parked, front up, on an incline/ramp, even if not a steep one, but those moderate slopes outside a building. Do not face it when the car is parked on level surface. The issue is that when I try to move the gear from P to R, it does not move normally. I have to apply extra force and then it moves with a noticeable jerk, as if it was stuck. I have experienced this now for almost 8-9 times, so surely is not a one off case.

What can be the reason for this? Anyone else has experienced it? Since its not impacting the running of my car or the performance, I am not going to the service center just yet, but will raise it during the next service. But if the members think there might be some serious underlying issue, I will get it checked ASAP.

Kindly adivce. Thanks in advance.

Last edited by GTX+ : 13th February 2025 at 13:09.
Old 13th February 2025, 13:37   #3285

Originally Posted by GTX+ View Post
Have observed a strange issue in my Oct 2023 FL Seltos GTX+.

It happens only when the car is parked, front up, on an incline/ramp, even if not a steep one, but those moderate slopes outside a building. Do not face it when the car is parked on level surface. The issue is that when I try to move the gear from P to R, it does not move normally. I have to apply extra force and then it moves with a noticeable jerk, as if it was stuck. I have experienced this now for almost 8-9 times, so surely is not a one off case.
Same behavior in my IVT, seems it is normal when moved to P on a slope.