Team-BHP > Road Safety
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 10th October 2023, 12:48   #39136
Distinguished - BHPian

Re: Accidents in India | Pics & Videos

Quote:
Originally Posted by dust-n-bones View Post
Accident inside college campus leaves 2 students in critical condition.

A professor mistakenly hit the accelerator instead of the brake pedal while parking.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thad E Ginathom View Post
I have sometimes reflected that even experienced drivers make mistakes. For instance, selecting the wrong gear. Even forward/reverse confusion. But we have to realise and correct instantly.

I find accelerator/brake confusion hard to believe.

My wife committed this mistake right at the time when we approached a 'T' junction. She was learning to drive our newly acquired used AT-equipped car in 2018 and she panicked upon arriving at a major road junction and slammed the accelerator instead of the brake. I am a crappy teacher and was at the front passenger seat; I babbled for a moment about what she had done but I managed to pull back the emergency brake's handle. The car's torque converter transmission hadn't yet conveyed the engine's rotations to the wheels thankfully and my wife understood what had just happened and pressed the brake pedal.

She did that...and a few more major mistakes as well, such as hitting another car on a twisty road.

But thankfully, she's good behind the wheel now. It was her panic that made her do all of those things. She always had the ability to drive well, but the situations that came up on the road would bring out a lot of panic in her.
locusjag is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 10th October 2023, 21:22   #39137

A brand new Tata Nexon Ev toppled post-collision with a divider along Vizag Beach Road.
Attached Thumbnails
Accidents in India | Pics & Videos-snapchat1634024378.jpg  

KrishnaMohan is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 10th October 2023, 22:21   #39138
BHPian