![]() | #286 |
BHPian Join Date: Jan 2015 Location: Ahmedabad
| ![]() So some of our manufacturers are caught up in a emission scandal and the others in a crash test failure. Safety should be paramount, I'd rather drive a detuned engine if the manufacturer would make the vehicle safer. I know the competition around these cars (Maruti, Mahindra etc) is fierce and cost cutting is needed but I don't mind if that cost cutting is in the lack of a sunroof or some features which hardly matter. We have a old gen Scorpio at home for only specific trips and seeing this I doubt it is leaving the house again. I really don't mind turning the key and not having start stop or opening my sunroof once in a year or even a less powerful engine if they can just make the car safer. |
![]() |
|
![]() | #287 | |
BHPian Join Date: Aug 2014 Location: DEL, SFO
| ![]() Quote:
| |
![]() |
![]() | #288 | |
BHPian Join Date: Mar 2015 Location: Lucknow
| ![]() Quote:
A car which overshadows Celario, creta, Brezza, EEco, Ciaz, Ertiga, and Eon in monthly sale, is bound to be path breaking. Mighty Alto also suffered badly with the induction of Kwid. In U.K. there has been a practice to give star ratings to the products for 'VALUE FOR MONEY'. a camera worth Rs. 200000 might get 1 star while another camera costing only Rs. 15000, might get 5 star, if its value for money is worth it. Kwid for its price is doing so many special things. Kwid was awarded 'Car of the Year' tag. Car of the year tag does not depend only on its NCAP test. I agree the car makers should do more to enhance the protective aspects of the cars and coform to the NCAP standards, for which I have always hoped that legislative intervention is the need of the hour. | |
![]() |
![]() | #289 |
Distinguished - BHPian ![]() ![]() | ![]() Putting out a cheap car in an EXTREMELY price prejudiced market is not path breaking. Its just business sense. And its fairly apparent why it is cheap now, isn't it. The only thing special about the Kwid in that respect is the looks. Its just offering more choice in an MS dominated segment. Good for the segment, but nothing to write home about. Anyhoo, lets wait for how the Indian NCAP shape up now. |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #290 | |
| ![]() Quote:
there are hoard of videos showing fatal accidents. normal cars can not meet the level ofg protection, provided by the racing cars, which despite traveling at very high speed, in the event of a crash, are able to save the drivers on most of the occasion. Some day the Law will mandate that all the cars should meet NCAP norms but till then self restraint and caution are the best insurance, a person can buy. | |
![]() |
![]() | #291 | |
BHPian ![]() | ![]() Quote:
Continue reading... Last edited by Rehaan : 24th May 2016 at 16:22. Reason: PM coming up regarding copy-pasted content... | |
![]() |
![]() | #292 | |
BHPian ![]() Join Date: Sep 2012 Location: Bombay
| ![]() Quote:
50$ per airbag as per above post. Assuming MSIL gives driver air bag as standard across all models all variants. MSIL sold 117045 cars in April'16 as per the "April 2016 : Indian Car Sales Figures & Analysis " thread on the forum. So 50$ * 117045 = 58,52,250 $ Convert this to INR at approx 65 INR per dollar and we are looking at 5852250 $ * 65 = INR 38,03,96,250 which is what like approx 39 crores. Add a few crores more for cost of labour + cost of misc. items like wires, etc. So we are looking at an approx cost of about 50 crores per month. Is this so much for MSIL to skip on the airbag ? I think this is peanuts for a company like MSIL and it is high time they take safety as a serious issue. Regards Dieseltuned Last edited by Gannu_1 : 19th May 2016 at 20:33. Reason: Fixing broken quote tags. | |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #293 |
BHPian Join Date: Oct 2009 Location: Chennai
| ![]() I am also wondering why competitors who offer safer cars are not pouncing on this. I am sure if a competitor starts highlighting this as part of their sales pitch, companies might react faster. Hope Fiat wakes up, voluntarily tests their cars and advertises the hell out of it. |
![]() |
|
![]() | #294 | ||
Senior - BHPian ![]() Join Date: Feb 2011 Location: SG
| ![]() Quote:
| ||
![]() |
![]() | #295 | ||
Distinguished - BHPian ![]() ![]() Join Date: Dec 2012 Location: Ranchi
| ![]() Quote:
Regards. | ||
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #296 |
BHPian Join Date: Oct 2009 Location: Chennai
| ![]() My larger point was about competition not using this, replace Fiat with Ford or VW whose cars were tested last time. Without getting into brands and going OT, the conclusion was purely based on the numbers Fiat is doing here (which makes any India specific modifications painful). Its definitely not based on the "tank feel", not going to do that as we all saw what happened to Scorpio. But yes, I will take my statement back and wait for the results. |
![]() |
![]() | #297 |
BHPian Join Date: Jan 2013 Location: Cochin
| ![]() Seeing all this going on, I do wish one thing, I hope the GNCAP takes up all vehicles that are available in India at least in a phased manner and test them. If not all, maybe the top 20 sellers which probably account for most of the cars sold in our country. That way we will know what is safe in its current avatar, allowing us (the ones that do care about safety above gadgets and trinkets) to make an informed decision on our future purchases. |
![]() |
![]() | #298 | |
| ![]() Quote:
Global NCAP had participated in Indian Automobile Safety Conference. I am attaching the link. http://www.globalncap.org/wp-content...7-May-2016.pdf It says that In India, 146000 persons lost their lives on road. out of 146000, 16.3 % were occupants of cars. this comes to around 65 deaths a day. these figures relate to 2015. Unfortunately, the quoted figures, as aired on a popular TV channel, are true. Let us hope that the recent NCAP results will awake the Automobile Industry. | |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #299 | |
BHPian ![]() Join Date: Feb 2016 Location: Pune
| ![]() Quote:
Forget spending additional 1 lakh or so for Airbags/ABS etc, Indians don't even buy helmets which cost around 2k. Bikes are way more dangerous than cars and if people don't value safety when riding bikes what is the chance they will do so when driving cars? Lets look at Kwid vs Alto. Both are priced very similarly and offer similar feature sets. Adding airbags/abs and making the car more impact resistant costs a lot of money. Suppose tomorrow Renault offered a new Kwid which scored 5 on these tests but is priced 1 lakh more than comparative Alto. In this scenario no way will Kwid continue to sell in these numbers. The only way anything will progress is if the Govt mandates safety and then all the manufacturers will have to adhere to these regulations. On their own, the manufactures will continue giving the market what it wants and for most part it is "Kitne ki hai?" and "Kitna detia hai?" ![]() Last edited by timuseravan : 19th May 2016 at 20:04. | |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #300 | |
Team-BHP Support ![]() ![]() | ![]() Quote:
There are 3 or 4 categories of LMVs - private cars (for private use) are one of them, I agree. But - 1) Autorickshaws (both transport & people carriers) 2) Share Taxis (Mahindra Jeeps, Tempo Trax, light Vans etc) 3) Tata Ace category of vehicles (both transport & people carriers) also belong to LMV category. The above vehicles are the only mode of transport in "Bharat" (rural India, I mean). They are packed with people most of the time and do lots of highway runs.This category of vehicles are the cause of most of the deaths in that 16.3%. As you know, many transport vehicles in this category double up as people carriers too. There are simply not enough people travelling in private cars to cause so many deaths (because private car ownership is so low in India) Last edited by SmartCat : 19th May 2016 at 20:26. | |
![]() | ![]() |