Team-BHP > Travelogues > Route / Travel Queries

Old 26th February 2018, 10:43   #421

Re: Tirumala / Tirupati Seegradarshanam query

Thank you.

I was under the impression that the rule of visiting other temples after SKH only applies if you take any of the special pooja's/seva's. I would not be taking any, and would just be doing a regular darsan. Can you check if this rule is still applicable? I would like to stick to SKH first and then TPTI. Else, I would have to leave TPTI to SKH on sunday afternoon for a Sunday evening darsan at SKH, which would make my travel plans to Cochin a mess, as I was planning to start the drive back from TPTI to cochin on Sunday afternoon to reach Monday morning. With SKH pushed back, it would make it Monday evening, effectively forcing me to take a leave.

If this is indeed the scenario and if the rule of SKH after TPTI still applies, then I may have to drop SKH all together this time around and make a better plan for a later time.

Which may be better, now that I think about it.

Also, how do we book for SED at SKH?
Old 26th February 2018, 16:29   #422

Originally Posted by govigov View Post
Thank you.

I was under the impression that the rule of visiting other temples after SKH only applies if you take any of the special pooja's/seva's.

Also, how do we book for SED at SKH?
The restrictions are just traveling advisory, but some unique features of SKH are
  • Kalahasti temple has a Vayu lingam(one of the Pancha bhoota lingam in India), once you inhale the air inside the temple, you are advised not to visit any other temples. This is the only temple which remains open during a Solar and Lunar eclipse.
  • SKH is also known as Dakshina Kashi, it is believed that you are relieved of your negative energy if you take a bath in the Swarna Mukhi river.
  • There is no need for any special poojas, just a darshan of the Lingam and Lord Subramanya is enough to free you from the influence of negative energy.
Since you traveling all the way from Cochin, I suggest you spend a good amount of time in SKH, there is a small temple atop the hill where Kannappa got the blessings of Lord Shiva, you can visit this place too. I strongly advise taking a guide with you to make the best use of your visit. There are ticket counters available for SED inside the temple, no need for online booking.

Last edited by deehunk : 26th February 2018 at 16:38.
deehunk is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 8th March 2018, 09:57   #423

Bangaloreans!

Guys, off this Sunday to TTD (ETD 0500 from Hebbal) for a Special Entry Darshan (SED) at 1400. Hoping to reach early and be allowed in at 1300 depending on the Sunday rush.

Plan A is to come back the same evening, but will take a call only after we descend down again. Plan B is to stay overnight and leave at 0400 on Monday; hoping to get back directly to work post-lunch. I know it's strenuous but cannot plan otherwise due to other commitments.

Planning to take the normal KR Puram - Nangali - Chittoor route. Apart from road widening, are there any other recent developments on this route? Thanks in advance!
Old 8th March 2018, 11:14   #424

Originally Posted by itwasntme View Post
Bangaloreans!
Guys, off this Sunday to TTD (ETD 0500 from Hebbal) for a Special Entry Darshan (SED) at 1400. ......
Planning to take the normal KR Puram - Nangali - Chittoor route. Apart from road widening, are there any other recent developments on this route? Thanks in advance!
I did this route in first week of February. No new development other than lane widening in AP side.
If you haven't travelled this route after August-2017, then watch out for new speed-breakers between KA-AP border and Palamner. Each has 3 sharp-bumps which brings most truckers to a crawl and many idiots try their overtaking maneuver (and barge into oncoming lane) just at these locations oblivious to the presence of speed-breakers.
Have a safe trip and great darshan
srvm is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th March 2018, 11:43   #425

Originally Posted by CivicheadUAE View Post
Hello. I live in Abu Dhabi and I have purchased online tickets for SED Rs.300 for March 2018. Since I do not have an AADHAAR Card, I punched in my Passport Number while booking the ticket. Now, I am told that I have to carry my original Passport to the Darshan. I wouldn't like to risk carrying my original passport as it has my UAE Residence Visa and other valid visas as if it gets lost/ damaged I will be in a mess. I do possess a valid Indian DL & Indian Voters Card (I wasnt allowed to punch in the alternate card details) and UAE Emirates ID Card (Equivalent of AADHAAR here in UAE). The name is spelt the same in all these cards.

Would it be a problem while checking in for the darshan, will they send me back due to non possession of the passport? I am coming to India specially for this darshan and wouldnt like to be left disappointed

your feedback would be highly appreciated
Since you are very specific about the darshan, I would strongly suggest that you take the document with which you booked the darshan. You can carry your passport inside a small sling bag or a hip bag which is allowed to be taken inside the temple for the darshan.
Old 9th March 2018, 11:52   #426

Hi All - finally after a long time, got an appointment to visit Lord Venky on 12th March Below are my queries:

1. I will be going via KSRTC bus from BLR, we will reach Tirupati around 5am. My special entry slot is at 1:00pm and reporting point is ATC car parking area. How to reach this area? We will be using APSRTC bus to reach Tirumala.

2. I am planning to shave my head. May i know the process for the same? Any precautions or advice. Also will there be any place nearby to take a quick shower?

3. My wife & my kid will be accompanying me. I am aware that we shouldnt carry anything with us for the darshan. However my kid is 3 yrs old. Can we carry some basic food items for him - water, biscuits, etc? Also can we carry purse for gents and handbags for ladies?

4. We will be staying in Fortune Kences hotel. Depending on the duration of darshan , i am planning to visit Tiruchanur Padmavathi temple and SKH. Any pointers on public transport to visit these places.

Any other pointers or advice. Thanks in advance!!
Old 9th March 2018, 12:05   #427

Originally Posted by sairamboko View Post
Finally after a long time, got an appointment to visit Lord Venky on 12th March Below are my queries:
1. - You can take TTD Free bus thats keeps plying around Tirumala. The other option would be to take Jeep to reach Rs 300/- darshan queue. They usually charge Rs 30/- per head.

2. To get your head tonsured, you would have to walk past Vijaya Bank counter that's after Vaikunatam queue complex. Yes, there are bathrooms with hot water at this site. You would need to get a token, wait for your turn and then get your head tonsured. Please carry a plastic bag with spare clothes.

3. Yes, you are allowed to carry your wallets. Ladies can carry handbag with small water bottle and biscuits[/b].

4. I would advise not to combine Kalahasti visit with this trip. That needs to be separately. To commute within Tirupati, please use Jeeps.

Last edited by ampere : 14th March 2018 at 07:16. Reason: Trimmed quoted post
Prodigy07 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th March 2018, 12:20   #428

Originally Posted by Prodigy07 View Post
You can take TTD Free bus thats keeps plying around Tirumala. The other option would be to take Jeep to reach Rs 300/- darshan queue. They usually charge Rs 30/- per head.

Thanks a lot!! Will there be any lockers to deposit our mobile phones/ bags near reporting area?

Edit: Will E-aadhar print outs be accepted for ID proof?

Last edited by ampere : 14th March 2018 at 07:16. Reason: Trimmed quoted post
Old 9th March 2018, 13:49   #429

Thanks a lot!! Will there be any lockers to deposit our mobile phones/ bags near reporting area?

Edit: Will E-aadhar print outs be accepted for ID proof?
There are lockers available for safe-keeping of luggage, mobile phones etc. near CRO Office (based on Refundable caution deposit).
See this link

Also, there is facility to deposit locked luggages in ATC Parking area (reporting place for seegradarshan). But collection of luggages after darsan is at not at same place. Luggage can be obtained in Luggage Center (not far from Ram Bagicha Guest house). This will also be clearly mentioned in the luggage deposit slip.

You can get tonsuring done at many places in Tirumala. Most guest houses (Sapthagiri, Ram Bagicha, SVGH etc) have Tonsuring facilities inside them as well. And it is not mandatory that you need to stay in that Guest house to utilize this facility.

There are showers and separate bathing areas for men and women around the Temple tank (Srivari Pushkarini). Ideally, get your tonsuring done first, take bath in the temple tank, have darsan of Sri Varahaswamy (this shrine is right next to Pushkarini) and then go for darsan of Lord Balaji.

And yes, you can carry wallets, ladies handbag with you during darsan. No electronic gadgets, no sharp items. Biscuits for kids is definitely allowed. Water bottle is a bit of hit or miss. I have seen them allow sometimes but throw it away some other times. If you have a kid, they usually allow (do mention to them that the water is for your kid).

Last edited by srvm : 9th March 2018 at 13:56.
srvm is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th March 2018, 14:59   #430

Any other pointers or advice. Thanks in advance!!
I did a very similar trip in Jan this year. Others have given very sane advice. My 2 cents -

* When I went there on 30-Jan, all restaurants except Sarangi were shut down. Some tender issue with TTD. With a kid, I suspect that this could be a problem for you. So kindly find out the situation, and stock accordingly.

* There are a lot of jeeps/cabs running in Tirumala. They will try exploit you with false stories about the distance being very far and the bus dropping you far way from your destination, etc! I used the free bus (slightly crowded, but manageable), or walked using Google Maps. Again, with a kid you'll have to take your own call.

* You can get a bus to SKH from Tirupati bus stop. It will drop you about 1 km away from the temple. You can then take an auto, or walk (check out in Google maps).
shifu is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th March 2018, 11:34   #431

Bangaloreans!

Guys, off this Sunday to TTD (ETD 0500 from Hebbal) for a Special Entry Darshan (SED) at 1400. Hoping to reach early and be allowed in at 1300 depending on the Sunday rush.

Plan A is to come back the same evening, but will take a call only after we descend down again. Plan B is to stay overnight and leave at 0400 on Monday; hoping to get back directly to work post-lunch. I know it's strenuous but cannot plan otherwise due to other commitments.

Returned from a peaceful drive (third time for us) from Tirumala on Sunday. Left at 0530 and took KR Puram - Hoskote - Mulbagal - Chittor route. Excellent drive till Nangali toll, except that the road markings are quite faded now and tough to see in the dark.

Was very lucky at the Kolar McDonalds where the police interceptor was just setting up shop as I zoomed by. 10 minutes later and I'd have been stopped :-)

ICICI FASTag worked brilliantly at all 3 tolls and I saved around 20 minutes each way. Messages came mostly immediately or within 1 hour.
Some distance after Nangali, there are major roadworks which are sometimes marked with many reflective boards and cones/drums and sometimes totally left unattended. Noted that there were multiple narrow stretches where it was better to be patient and not get irritated by the car carrier in front of you. Lot of unmarked rumblers and speedbreakers - be careful.

Was impressed by the scale of the roadworks as they are building a truly wide concretized road + radically improving the alignment as well.

Road gets much better after the roadworks, although it is a high speed 2 or 3 laner which is undivided with the centre lane marking being purely advisory in nature. Watch out for the immense Volvos and the suicidal Altos/Xylos etc.
Saw a bunch of wrecked cars and also the aftermath of this accident. Lot of senior cops on the road and they had removed the bus and were removing the Xylo. Looked like it had hit the bus and then wrapped itself around a bunch of trees. Sobering sight indeed.
https://m.timesofindia.com/city/amar...w/63256145.cms

Reached Tirupati Pai Viceroy at 0930 and freshened up before heading up for our Special Entry Darshan (SED) at 1300. Was quite crowded and hot but we spent a lovely 2 minutes totally staionary right in front of the Lord (we always take the right-most or second from right queue for the best view), and were out by 1530. Sat down to pray and experience the 'vibrations' for 30 minutes.
Back down by 1700 (4 minutes early as per toll gate!), freshened up again at the hotel, tanked up petrol and left at 1745.

Return was painful due to the high beam menace and my Octavia's useless Bi-X headlights. Please drive carefully and with total concentration. Seeing the Nangali tollgate was a blessing :-) Reached back by 2300 after being held up at KR Puram for 10 minutes.

Overall, an excellent trip! However, from next time, we will stay overnight AND ensure we drive only during the day.

My random takeaways for the SED (which may not hold good for the more escorted pujas/visits):

The pathways/roads are already quite hot for our urban pampered soles (not souls) especially for ladies or children who like pedicuring and/or unused to walking barefoot. Be prepared for some fire-walking. Walk whenever possible on the white painted surfaces and wet carpets as they are there for this very purpose. Consider carrying some foot cream/blister medicines for later use.

There are buggies for transport. Please research on the various forums. You may not need it for elderly folk when you are going in, but if they stand for 4/5 hours, they WILL need it on the way back!

Keep a tight hold on children when walking on the roads at Tirumala. Simply too many vehicles all trying to attain moksha in the holy place.

Drive sedately both going up and especially when coming down. The road is deceptively good but the gradient is steep.

Avoid carrying irrelevant stuff in your vehicle as it just makes the checking at the Sapthagiri Checkpost more onerous. Definitely no petrol/diesel cans or lubricants as they may confiscate it on the spot. I ruthlessly emptied my car and also left back a bag at the hotel.

Carry a small book with you if you want to while away the time while standing/waiting. Remember, no electronics!

Instead of making us wait endlessly in the initial queue, they housed us till the last minutes in the containment areas. Net net, we actually stood for a relatively limited time.

The Laddu collection areas a very slippery and greasy. Be careful. If I understand correctly, the pre-booked laddus are given from the first floor and not ground.

During entry scanning time, we were held up for 15 minutes by a couple of large tour groups whose organizers were unaware that the specified names on each group booking (10/15 unsure) must be physically present in one group for scanning and entry. As a result, they were scrambling to place names with faces and get them to come in front past already irritable other pilgrims! Wasn't a happy start though I marvel at the patience we Indians show at Tirumala.
itwasntme is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 12th March 2018, 13:40   #432

Returned from a peaceful drive (third time for us) from Tirumala on Sunday. Left at 0530 and took KR Puram - Hoskote - Mulbagal - Chittor route. Excellent drive till Nangali toll, except that the road markings are quite faded now and tough to see in the dark.
32 of us are planning to visit Tirupati and then climb the hills on 30,31 March and 1 April dates. We are planning to take Bangalore-Vellore-Chittor-Tirupati route. Any advantage you see taking this route instead of the usual one you have mentioned? Views please.

PS : Going in 6 cars.
Old 12th March 2018, 23:38   #433

Originally Posted by autospeaker View Post
32 of us are planning to visit Tirupati and then climb the hills on 30,31 March and 1 April dates. We are planning to take Bangalore-Vellore-Chittor-Tirupati route. Any advantage you see taking this route instead of the usual one you have mentioned? Views please.

PS : Going in 6 cars.
Wow, that's a big number and good number of cars.

If you are driving in day time, IMO you can very well take regular route instead of taking a long detour via Vellore to reach chittoor. I assume you don't have a better reason to go via Hosur/Krishnagiri and just want to avoid road construction after Nangli in 2L roads?

Drive Safe and All the best for your darshan!

-Ravi
ravib is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 13th March 2018, 11:03   #434

Originally Posted by ravib View Post
Wow, that's a big number and good number of cars.
I assume you don't have a better reason to go via Hosur/Krishnagiri and just want to avoid road construction after Nangli in 2L roads?
Yeah. It will be a good trip
And you are right. The detour is only to avoid the troublesome 2L road after Karnataka. Our plan is to ascend the hills on the same day, once we reach Tirupati and hence trying to be as energetic as possible.
Another reason is, all of us stay close to PES college entrance of NICE. So, just enter NICE and the roads are good till Vellore. But the extra distance comes to around 70 Kms. We would anyway need about 1.5 hours to reach Hoskote, from Banashankari 3rd stage!

Last edited by autospeaker : 13th March 2018 at 11:05. Reason: Typo correction
Old 13th March 2018, 11:14   #435

Hi All - I am back from my Tirupati trip.

Here is my experience.

Started on 11th March night, KSRTC a/c sleeper bus. Departed at 11 PM sharp and reached 4:45 AM sharp !

I stayed in Fortune Kences hotel because it's near to bus stand and railway station. Started at 6:30 AM on 12th March, reached Tiruchanur temple and had a great darshan. Since it's Monday there was a special Pooja - Ashtathala pada pooja. We sat in front of the deity for 15 mins and had a great experience. After that we came back to hotel and had a sumptuous breakfast. We started around 10 AM and reached Tirumala by 11 AM via APSRTC bus. The bus stopped near Ram bagicha bus stop. From here Kalyana Katha is near and I got my head tonsured. The facilities are really good here.

After this I went to Seegara Darshan queue around 12:15 noon. My reporting time was 1 PM. The queue was really less compared to regular queues. We deposited the luggage at the start of the Seegara Darshan queue. There were many coffee and tea counters for everyone. We had a good darshan of Balaji. We were out in an hour. Collected the laddus and came back to hotel. Since the darshan got over sooner than expected, we were able to catch the 6:05 pm sapthagiri express to Chennai. I am really happy with the way entire things went.

Thank you bhpians for your guidance earlier.

Last edited by ampere : 14th March 2018 at 07:23. Reason: fixed typos and formatted for readability