Old 26th May 2020, 12:59   #2491

Re: The Coronavirus Thread

Originally Posted by MSC View Post
Hello all.
I am due to receive my Hyundai Venue somewhere around 28 or 29 May..
Tell them to park it under sun by about 2pm and you straighway pick it up by about 5 pm. Sanitize the key before taking over. Indian summer sun would cook even a DUM biriyani in car by that time and poor corona cannot survive it.
aadya is online now   (5) Thanks
Old 26th May 2020, 15:02   #2492

Apparently, a staggering 88% of cases are asymptotic in TN. Don't know whether this is behind the low death rates in the state.
jpcoolguy is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 27th May 2020, 02:07   #2493

Originally Posted by karan0009 View Post
11 million tests in 10 days .Is it practically possible ?
Well, they have almost done it.

Wuhan performed 6.5 million coronavirus tests in just 9 days, state media reports

From May 15 to May 23, swab test samples were collected from more than nine million residents, China's state-broadcaster CCTV reported, accounting for more than 80% of the city's total population of 11 million.
The speed and scope of Wuhan's testing campaign -- hailed as a "10-day battle" by local authorities -- appears to have equaled or eclipsed the testing ability of many countries, including that of the United States.
On Friday alone, Wuhan conducted 1.47 million tests, according to CCTV.
jpcoolguy is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 27th May 2020, 07:44   #2494

Originally Posted by aadya View Post
Tell them to park it under sun by about 2pm and you straighway pick it up by about 5 pm. Sanitize the key before taking over. Indian summer sun would cook even a DUM biriyani in car by that time and poor corona cannot survive it.
Spray an alcohol based sanitiser on a key and then use it to start the car? Just saw this viral video. Possibly fake but I’m not going to experiment just in case.
hserus is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 27th May 2020, 09:04   #2495

Hello all.
I am due to receive my Hyundai Venue somewhere around 28 or 29 May.
Congratulations for your new car.

Can knowledgeable people please guide.
Sharing a thread link for the same.

Originally Posted by aadya View Post
Tell them to park it under sun by about 2pm and you straighway pick it up by about 5 pm. Sanitize the key before taking over.
Sanitizing the key is good idea but the Sun may do more harm than good to the vehicle.

Originally Posted by hserus View Post
Spray an alcohol based sanitiser on a key and then use it to start the car? Just saw this viral video.
Yes, this video is indeed fake but an alcohol based sanitizer can cause fire nevertheless.
There is a thread on Corona proofing your car. Do go through it, it's informative. Sharing my post from there.
Corona proofing your car (Corona-proofing your car).
BoneCollector is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 27th May 2020, 09:18   #2496

Originally Posted by vharihar View Post
I plan to drive solo from Blore to Mumbai, and stay there for 2 nights, and return to Blore with my super senior citizen parents, who are finding it hard to manage there on their own (My dad is aged 80+ and blind, my mom is aged 75+; both diabetics). Questions:
For interstate travelers coming to Blore, is the list of quarantine hotels put up somewhere on the internet?

I heard that senior citizens and one attendant are exempt hotel quarantine. I also heard that if my temporary travel out of Karnataka and back into Karnataka is less than 5 days long and I have a recent doc certificate, then I too am exempt from quarantine. So I'm guessing that all 3 of us may be exempt from quarantine. But just in case that's not so, I'd like to take a look at the list of hotels.

Last edited by ampere : 29th May 2020 at 07:34. Reason: Trimmed quoted post
Old 27th May 2020, 09:36   #2497

Japan had corona cases under control till early April 2020 with daily 50 odd new cases. It spiked to 600s in mid-April and state of emergency was declared for Tokyo and six other regions — later expanding it to cover the entire nation.

Businesses and schools were urged to shut and people were asked to remain home, but Japan’s lockdown was far softer than in other parts of the world and there was no punishment for those flouting the rules.

The cases have fallen to 30s, 40s - Japan PM Shinzo Abe lifts Coronavirus emergency
The Prime Minister also warned that people would have to adapt to a “new normal” and continue to avoid the “three Cs” — closed spaces, crowded places and close contact.

“If we lower our guard, the infection will spread very rapidly… we need to be vigilant,”
From the PMO, Japan:

The Coronavirus Thread-pmojapan.png
msdivy is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 27th May 2020, 19:35   #2498

Originally Posted by hserus View Post
Spray an alcohol based sanitiser on a key and then use it to start the car? Just saw this viral video. Possibly fake but I’m not going to experiment just in case.
Plainly, it is a set-up, scripted, filmed stunt. But that does not invalidate the point it is making. Alcohol and its vapour is highly inflammable.

I don't see any harm in sanitising the keys as long as it is done in a well ventilated place, certainly not in a closed car. The time to do it would probably be at home, at the end of the day.

Another point of view is that only you are touching those keys. So sanitise your hands, after you have been out and about touching all other things, before putting your hand in your pocket for the keys, opening and entering the car. This way, the keys, gear, steering wheel, etc are going to remain uncontaminated anyway.
Thad E Ginathom is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 28th May 2020, 09:30   #2499

Originally Posted by karan0009 View Post
China to test ENTIRE POPULATION of Wuhan for Covid-19 after disease reemerges.

11 million tests in 10 days .Is it practically possible ?
Originally Posted by jpcoolguy View Post

The below article provides some good insights on the following topics,

When and why did mass testing kick off?
How did they test millions so quickly?
What is the logic of testing everyone?

Link: https://www.abc.net.au/news/2020-05-...-days/12283202
kiku007 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 28th May 2020, 10:02   #2500

India continues to be in a catch 22 situation. Even inspite of the heat the Virus is still spreading and the numbers are not getting controlled. In terms of Currently active case numbers (last column in below table), India is now at number 5, just marginally behind France, which will get surpassed by tomorrow and we will be at number 4.
The Coronavirus Thread-active.jpg

Considering India's Population the current numbers may not look so large, but the potential for the spread in India is really high because of population and high density of people. I hope that they do find a viable cure soon so that at least fewer people will die when affected by covid. For most cities, it is not a matter of "If" but probably "When" because there are so many asymptomatic people who are spreading it without even being aware that they are also carriers. Anyway, India needs to accept it and move ahead of the lockdowns as they are causing tremendous damage to livelihoods and increasing suffering.
Behemoth is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 28th May 2020, 10:47   #2501

I attended a webinar by a senior health expert yesterday and he mentioned that good thing is that the number of critical cases and fatalities is pretty low by our population levels. People should not unduly worry about the situation and avoid Covid-phobia. Other infectious diseases kill far more people on a year-round basis.

Also, it now seems that each state in India is seeing its own peaks and fluctuations. Maharashtra saw a peak of 3000+ cases a few days ago, it is now declining to 2000-2100. Pune is seeing a net positive result (no of daily corona positive is less than discharged for the first time). The % of recovered is also exceeding 50% in Pune. Whatever be the faults of the administration , it appears that Maharashtra numbers are more accurately reflecting the real situation.
Those states where the numbers were not reported correctly for whatever reason are now seeing upward trends.
I somehow sense that social distancing, and personal hygiene. more than full lockdown is a better answer. At least people can move about freely, without having to live in cramped conditions day-in day out. Lack of movement and lack of exposure to sunlight and fresh air has reduced immunity of a lot of people. Some of the cases will crop up as a result of that.
fhdowntheline is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 28th May 2020, 11:00   #2502

Originally Posted by fhdowntheline View Post

Also, it now seems that each state in India is seeing its own peaks and fluctuations. Maharashtra saw a peak of 3000+ cases a few days ago, it is now declining to 2000-2100. Pune is seeing a net positive result (no of daily corona positive is less than discharged for the first time).
1043 cases in Karnataka are from people coming from Maharastra. There are also cases from Gujarat. Could be the reason of rise in Kerala cases too.

If only people follow the rules and not sneak in through illegal means, it could be controlled. There are people sneaking in from TN side too. So people's behaviour is causing more issues.
Old 28th May 2020, 11:14   #2503

Originally Posted by srishiva View Post
1043 cases in Karnataka are from people coming from Maharastra.
Cases in Mandya and Hassan district are mostly from those who have entered from Maharashtra and these are people who were either employed or related to the bakery industries in Mumbai/Pune regions.

These migrants or returnees to be precise have only come back to their base now fearing for their lives due to the pandemic or also because of mounting loses due to shutting down of the 2 big cities of Mumbai and Pune and unable to foresee a good future in coming days.

Case is similar for Udupi region too, where lot of them have returned from Maharashtra where the region still rules the Hotel Industry.

If only people follow the rules and not sneak in through illegal means, it could be controlled. There are people sneaking in from TN side too. So people's behaviour is causing more issues.
It is not so easy even if one manages to sneak in. Public is vigilant not only in urban areas but in rural places too. Any such arrival of person or public is always seen with a lot of doubt and cases are getting reported on daily basis to the authorities who diligently reach your place and escort you to the respective IQ center.

At least now, most of the cases (barring Bangalore to some extent) reported from elsewhere in Karnataka are from those who are returning to their bases like how most from Bangalore have gone back to UP, BR, WB and NE states in the past few weeks.
paragsachania is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 28th May 2020, 11:25   #2504
AZT

Loss of smell a covid sign to watch out for

A study used symptoms of around 824,000 users of a mobile app to conclude that loss of smell and taste was quite prevalent among those who tested positive for coronavirus.
Researcher Cristina Menni and others examined symptoms reported by users of a mobile app in the US and the UK. Though 2.6 million users reported having symptoms, only around 824,000 identified specific ones. Of these, 18,401 said they had got tested for covid-19, and 7,178 were found positive. The researchers found that around 65 percent of those who turned positive had reported loss of smell and taste, but this was only around 20 percent for those who tested negative.
The authors said it is important to look at combinations of symptoms such as loss of smell along with fatigue, cough and loss of appetite. Using such combinations reported by positive cases on the app, they predicted that 17.4 percent of those who identified symptoms but did not get tested could also be infected. This means 5.4 percent of the app responders were likely to be infected as opposed to only 0.3 percent who actually tested positive.
Read More: https://www.livemint.com/science/new...636582764.html
Old 28th May 2020, 12:20   #2505

There is practically zero chance to know about exact information. I am being paranoid but when safety of loved ones is concerned, I don't want to take even 0.001% risk.
If I am not wrong, corona doesn't has lifespan more than 5 or 6 days on various articles, so literally there is very remote chance of car being infected.
Correct.

Buy the Tjori spray sanitizer which I use:
https://www.tjori.com/p/sanitiser-spray-500-ml/88508/

I also did a jugaad with a colin head on Savlon hand-rub solution. That is a second choice but it needs like 5 pumps to start spraying unlike Tjori which is ready

EDIT: As others have said - please take delivery in the late afternoon afte the car has been in the sun the full day. Trust nature At70C, the virus is inactivated in 5 min. At 50 plus interior temperatures that atleast North india is seeing, a couple of hours should be okay.

Other than that spray and chill (and give 5 min for the spray to evaporate). Don't overthink it - all the pieces around covid surviving 5-6 days may be true, but when you do a multiple knockout punch (heat + spray) will ensure that whatever minute amounts of virus that may still survive would have next to zero chances of causing an infection.

Last edited by phamilyman : 28th May 2020 at 12:43.
phamilyman is offline   (1) Thanks