Old 8th January 2018, 20:18   #1171

re: Emigrating to a Foreign Land!

While we are talking licenses, starting later this month TSA will only allow licenses from the states that comply to real ID act (not the states listed in the picture).

Wondering if it was one of these states that accepted Indian DL.

Emigrating to a Foreign Land!-img20180106wa0003.jpg
Old 5th February 2018, 19:09   #1172

In the year 2017, a total of 7,000 High Net Worth Individuals (HNWI) found it beneficial to move abroad, reports The Hindu.

7,000 ultra- rich Indians shifted overseas in 2017. In 2016, the figure stood at 6,000, while in 2015, as many as 4,000 millionaires shifted base...

Indian HNWIs moved to the U.S., the UAE, Canada, Australia and New Zealand.

India is home to 3,30,400 HNWIs (individuals with $1 million or more in net assets).
Old 5th February 2018, 19:14   #1173

Originally Posted by vivekiny2k View Post
Wondering if it was one of these states that accepted Indian DL.

Attachment 1714101
New Jersey. Where you literally flash Indian DL, and get an American DL.
Old 5th February 2018, 19:31   #1174

Originally Posted by JMaruru View Post
New Jersey. Where you literally flash Indian DL, and get an American DL.
It was not the case 25 years ago.

I told the NJ DMV lady that I had an India DL. She gave a very sharp look and said "I know how they issue driving licenses in India... So, you have to take road test in here."
Old 5th February 2018, 21:49   #1175

Originally Posted by Samurai View Post
It was not the case 25 years ago.

I told the NJ DMV lady that I had an India DL. She gave a very sharp look and said "I know how they issue driving licenses in India... So, you have to take road test in here."
These days most of the DMVs are manned by PIOs in NJ.
Few years back, when I happened to be at Brunswick DMV, the entire staff was of Indian Origin.
Old 5th February 2018, 21:59   #1176

India's move to Plastic / magnetic tape Driver's License is according to global norm's. I realized it when faced to prove my age at one of the Casino in Ontario. I gave him my Indian DL. That Security gentleman had a small booklet (size of Readers Digest) having details of Driver's Licenses issued across the world. It had details of what to find where on the card. He matched it with the photo sample, and I happily moved forward.
Old 5th February 2018, 22:20   #1177

Originally Posted by 14000rpm View Post
Now I've migrated to US for good and my Indian license is in Finland and will stay there. I reckon the US license will be ok to drive in India when I do visit. If I drive i.e.
My reply comes late, so don't know whether it'll help you but the US driver license is not valid in India unless it is accompanied by an International Driving Permit, as issued by AAA.
Old 5th February 2018, 22:40   #1178

Originally Posted by aah78 View Post
My reply comes late, so don't know whether it'll help you but the US driver license is not valid in India unless it is accompanied by an International Driving Permit, as issued by AAA.
Information is always useful whenever one gets it.
noted. I don't foresee a trip shortly though and moreover I may not even drive in India whenever I visit i.e.
Old 11th February 2018, 17:58   #1179

Originally Posted by dailydriver View Post
In the year 2017, a total of 7,000 High Net Worth Individuals (HNWI) found it beneficial to move abroad, reports The Hindu.
Unrelated question if somebody would be good enough to explain... why do Indians write 330400 as 3,30,400 when the rest of the world would write 330,400?

Am I right in thinking it's because you have the concept of 100000 = 1 crore, which we don't have in the west?
Old 11th February 2018, 18:18   #1180

Originally Posted by Rob UK View Post
Unrelated question if somebody would be good enough to explain... why do Indians write 330400 as 3,30,400 when the rest of the world would write 330,400?

Am I right in thinking it's because you have the concept of 100000 = 1 crore, which we don't have in the west?
Before crore there was the lakh ( pronounced lac ) . A lakh is 100000. A crore is 100 lakhs.
Old 11th February 2018, 18:51   #1181

Originally Posted by m8002? View Post
A lakh is 100000. A crore is 100 lakhs.
1 followed by 5 zeroes is indeed one lakh and not one crore. As for the difference in usage of separators / commas, this entry in Wikipedia explains it rather well.

The Indian numbering system is used in India as well as in Bangladesh and Nepal. The terms lakh or lac (100,000 or 1,00,000 in the Indian system) and crore (10,000,000 or 1,00,00,000 in the Indian system) are used in Indian English to express large numbers. For example, in India 150,000 rupees becomes 1.5 lakh rupees, written as ₹1,50,000 or INR 1,50,000, while 30,000,000 (thirty million) rupees becomes 3 crore rupees, written as ₹3,00,00,000 with commas at the thousand, lakh, and crore levels, and 1,000,000,000 (one billion) rupees (one hundred crore rupees or one arab अरब ) is written ₹1,00,00,00,000

Use of separators

The Indian numbering system uses separators differently from the international norm; in such numbers of at least one lakh (one hundred thousand), a comma divides every two rather than every three digits to the left of the last three...
This reply in Quora is a good read too.

@Rob UK, am curious to know whether young Englishmen too aspire to emigrate to a foreign land in search of better prospects and future. Even today, landing an overseas job is looked upon as a major achievement in our society.

Last edited by dailydriver : 11th February 2018 at 19:04.
Old 12th February 2018, 04:27   #1182

Originally Posted by dailydriver View Post
@Rob UK, am curious to know whether young Englishmen too aspire to emigrate to a foreign land in search of better prospects and future. Even today, landing an overseas job is looked upon as a major achievement in our society.
I'm currently based in Australia, and i've noticed that the desire to go to overseas is not necessarily an Indian thing. Even in developed countries, people like to go work overseas more for the added work exposure, chance to travel and discover new places and the opportunity to move away from familiar surroundings. As they say, the grass is always greener on the other side.
Old 13th February 2018, 02:51   #1183

Originally Posted by benbsb29 View Post
I'm currently based in Australia, and i've noticed that the desire to go to overseas is not necessarily an Indian thing. Even in developed countries, people like to go work overseas more for the added work exposure, chance to travel and discover new places and the opportunity to move away from familiar surroundings. As they say, the grass is always greener on the other side.
Brits like the lifestyle in Aus with the far warmer weather. I have a couple of friends in Sydney who grew up here. Aussies and Brits are very culturally alike which helps.

The US is relatively unpopular amongst young British people compared to Indians - Brits tend to move there due to relationships or internal promotion within a company operating on both sides of the pond. The lack of public healthcare and pathetic holiday entitlement are big disincentives to us. Interesting to note, a couple of my British Indian friends appear more settled and happy here than siblings who went to the US.

Brits like travel and will enjoy working overseas temporarily as part of that or as something they do for a limited period when young. There are few wealth advantages for most in relocating so I suspect we have a tendency to come back more.

A lot of Brits like to move overseas when they are older to somewhere with warmer weather & a slower pace of life. France & Spain are especially popular, but we actually have a popular TV series here where famous old people 60+ try out living in India!
Old 13th February 2018, 04:33   #1184

Brits like the lifestyle in Aus with the far warmer weather. I have a couple of friends in Sydney who grew up here. Aussies and Brits are very culturally alike which helps.

The US is relatively unpopular amongst young British people compared to Indians - Brits tend to move there due to relationships or internal promotion within a company operating on both sides of the pond. The lack of public healthcare and pathetic holiday entitlement are big disincentives to us. Interesting to note, a couple of my British Indian friends appear more settled and happy here than siblings who went to the US.

Brits like travel and will enjoy working overseas temporarily as part of that or as something they do for a limited period when young. There are few wealth advantages for most in relocating so I suspect we have a tendency to come back more.

A lot of Brits like to move overseas when they are older to somewhere with warmer weather & a slower pace of life. France & Spain are especially popular, but we actually have a popular TV series here where famous old people 60+ try out living in India!
I completely agree with what you've said, and is inline with what i have observed too. Among Australians, i have also noticed Japan as a popular choice to take up work. I dont know the reason for the same as yet, but it does seem to be a trend.
Old 1st March 2018, 17:12   #1185

Originally Posted by basilmabraham View Post
Congrats Jacob for the Canadian PR. Great to see outcome received in less than a month. I had got my Australia PR in 90 days flat in 2015. All the best with the move and settlement.
Hey basil, I followed your advice and sought a transfer from my firm which was agreed to, by God's utmost grace- I'm now moving out on 16 March to Toronto. Thanks much mate.

Last edited by jacobvarughese : 1st March 2018 at 17:18.