View Poll Results: Your Car of the Year 2016?
Datsun Redi-GO 6 0.24%
Tata Tiago 901 36.76%
Mahindra KUV100 13 0.53%
Volkswagen Ameo 40 1.63%
Mahindra e2o Plus 14 0.57%
Maruti Vitara Brezza 354 14.44%
Honda BR-V 14 0.57%
Isuzu D-Max V-Cross 91 3.71%
Hyundai Elantra 29 1.18%
Toyota Innova Crysta 195 7.96%
Hyundai Tucson 29 1.18%
Ford Endeavour 468 19.09%
Skoda Superb 97 3.96%
Toyota Fortuner 68 2.77%
Volkswagen Polo GTI 37 1.51%
BMW X1 24 0.98%
Honda Accord Hybrid 9 0.37%
Audi A4 6 0.24%
Jaguar XE 6 0.24%
Mercedes GLC-Class 8 0.33%
Jaguar XF 6 0.24%
Volvo S90 36 1.47%
Voters: 2451. You may not vote on this poll

Old 21st December 2016, 10:40   #271

re: Team-BHP Car of the Year, 2016. EDIT: It's the Tata Tiago!

This is a unique year in the sense that unlike past few years, there is hardly a car that comes out as a hands down winner. We have had cars like Figo and Creta which came and took the market by storm. Guess the voting pattern itself is sort of a reflection of that.

Coming to my vote, I voted for Ford Endeavour. And not by a big margin though . The reason of course was it's ability to punch above its weight. And that is pretty much all about it.

Last edited by Rehaan : 22nd December 2016 at 15:18. Reason: Endy > Endeavour. Avoid short forms please :)
New.Novice is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 21st December 2016, 11:52   #272

My vote is for the Brezza. I'm not a fan of Maruti cars but I love the way Brezza looks and it's priced well.

I could have bought one, if there was no waiting period :(

Last edited by noopster : 22nd December 2016 at 18:17. Reason: Please use proper capitalization and spelling
Old 21st December 2016, 12:46   #273

I voted for Ford Endeavour. True SUV, Great safety features, loaded with goodies. True value for money.
bison is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 21st December 2016, 16:37   #274

Tiago for me. Reasons:-

1) Good to see a successful product from Tata (an Indian company), after putting lot of efforts, time and money. Focus on quality is clearly visible.
2) Low on price and high on value. Has the potential to win customers trust for TML in passenger car market.
3) I often get to drive one.
Moto_Hill is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st December 2016, 17:25   #275

I voted for Ford Endeavour

Beautiful looking SUV in Indian market, I don't like the recent design style of any Toyota.
Road presence, ride and handing, everything is nice in Endeavour.
hiren959 is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd December 2016, 00:50   #276

I voted for Tiago.

I liked the Crysta, but not Toyota's market/business policy wrt pricing. ANYONE can instead go for the Endeavour at that price point & be assured of a "more car per car" feel. I expect a price correction by Toyota in the coming quarter.
WorkingGuru is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd December 2016, 13:22   #277

Guess this is the first time in history of Team BHP a 30+lac car getting so many votes(close to 20%). All the previous winners were from sub 10lac category and this time things looks no different. The only twist here is a 30+lac car in top 3. Really unFORTUNate that mass is blindly behind Fortuner.
PrideRed is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 22nd December 2016, 13:44   #278

Meanwhile, a group of auto journalists has voted for Brezza as the CoTY.

A consortium of 15 auto journalists declared Vitara Brezza the "Indian Car of the Year (ICOTY) 2017" among all the cars launched in 2016. It battled it out against the Hyundai Tucson and Toyota Innova Crysta.
http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/a...w/56113929.cms

Don't know the basis behind this, but get the sense of nepotism in the way the article is worded.
libranof1987 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 22nd December 2016, 14:24   #279

Ford Endeavour, for me.

Though the BMW X1 was a significantly improved version from its predecessor and S90 is pretty good as well, the Ford SUV is an absolute value for money & has changed the game/ taken it to a different level.

If the Endeavour had a German badge to it, it would have sold for twice the price !
KAUBMW7 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd December 2016, 15:17   #280

Originally Posted by theredliner View Post
This year none of the cars stand out IMO. So I will wait for a while before I vote. I'm leaning towards the Tiago as that is the best one among the cars of a common man (read <D segment).

A question to mods: If Abarth Punto was not included in 2015 poll since it was considered to be a new variant of an existing car, how did Polo GTI make it to the list?
The GTI is a totally new car because it is fully made abroad (hence new, but we can only speculate why it is on the list). The Abarth Punto was not on the list in 2015 because only its engine and seats were made abroad (hence new), and it was in the true sense, and unreservedly, a 'variant'.

I definitely would have voted for the GTI if it at least looked significantly less bland and costed no more than 16 lakh OTR. Sure, it is warp-speed fast and corners like a bee, but if I had 30 lakh to spend, I'd buy and vote for an Octavia 1.8 (23 lakh, MQB, also more practical) and customise it or wait for the VRS (31ish lakh?).

But these cars would not feature in this poll, because they would then be 'variants'.
nehaagg is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd December 2016, 17:30   #281

ICOTY award has gone the Vitara Brezza.

Strange, because TBHP COTY poll with 2311 votes puts the Brezza at a distant third place!
Old 22nd December 2016, 18:00   #282

Originally Posted by libranof1987 View Post
..but get the sense of nepotism in the way the article is worded.
Why do you think the THBP COTY poll was started at all ? This poll is by actual users. Not some small group of auto journo's who sit and decide which car should be the COTY
condor is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 22nd December 2016, 18:05   #283

Results from the past just for a reference-

ICOTY
2017 - Maruti Vitara Brezza
2016 - Hyundai Creta
2015 - Hyundai Elite i20
2014 - Hyundai i10 Grand
2013 - Renault Duster
2012 - Maruti Suzuki Swift
2011 - Ford Figo
2010 - Tata Nano

Team-bhp COTY
2016 - To be decided
2015 - Renault Kwid
2014 - Tata Zest
2013 - Ford Ecosport
2012 - Renault Duster
2011 - Mahindra XUV500
2010 - Ford Figo
2009 - Tata Nano
jetsetgo08 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd December 2016, 18:25   #284

Originally Posted by abhishek46 View Post
Strange, because TBHP COTY poll with 2311 votes puts the Brezza at a distant third place!
Absolutely normal IMO. The jury there is a group of auto experts (I won't question their expertise, but i am not bound to agree with them either) who take decisions after considering a thousand aspects. Here is a group of enthusiasts doing the same, enthusiasm has a small part called 'heart based decisions' in it. That part here makes the difference. One thing for sure, but the ICOTY and you aren't buying anything that will be close to your heart or you would love owning. Buy the TBHP-COTY and you would love every single kilometer spent on the road with the car.
VKumar is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 22nd December 2016, 21:20   #285

Voted for the Tata Tiago. Simply because it is one excellent piece of Engineering from a homegrown manufacturer. Got a chance to test drive it (the XT version). Loved the interiors and the stereo. They need a bit more refinement on the petrol engine though.
All in all an excellent comeback from Tata.