Old 17th July 2017, 07:21   #1051

Originally Posted by RavenAvi View Post
Just a heads up - birdies are tweeting that dealership training for the Jeep Compass has commenced from Thursday, 13th July, onwards at FCA's Ranjangaon plant.

Thank you mate.
I think it's happening in batches as Iam sure for some southern states the training for the mechanics and dealerships completed on 1July 2017.
They had rigorous training and exams as well.

Pradeep.
Old 17th July 2017, 11:38   #1052

re: Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs

Originally Posted by RavenAvi View Post
Just a heads up - birdies are tweeting that dealership training for the Jeep Compass has commenced from Thursday, 13th July, onwards at FCA's Ranjangaon plant.

Prices will be disclosed only by end-July.
Sometimes I feel TeamBHP knows a lot more but they will reveal it at the right time. Is a review of the Petrol powered compass also in the purview?

Last edited by GTO : 17th July 2017 at 22:32. Reason: Quoted post edited
aviraj is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th July 2017, 12:32   #1053

Just read this on this link that Jeep Compass limited (O) variant will come with Cruise Control. Any ideas?

http://www.financialexpress.com/auto...t-july/766276/
Old 17th July 2017, 14:35   #1054

Originally Posted by raaj.bhalla View Post
Just read this on this link that Jeep Compass limited (O) variant will come with Cruise Control. Any ideas?

http://www.financialexpress.com/auto...t-july/766276/
May be FCA has heard and read all the complaints on the lack of this feature. Cruise Control and sunroof addition will make it appeal to the larger audience.

Lets see what they come up finally on the launch date (price release).
nkrishnap is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th July 2017, 14:40   #1055

Originally Posted by nkrishnap View Post
May be FCA has heard and read all the complaints on the lack of this feature. Cruise Control and sunroof addition will make it appeal to the larger audience.
I think those dummy button slots on the steering wheel is the biggest eyesore. A plain jane steering wheel with no buttons is alright, but not this one.
vb-saan is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 17th July 2017, 15:03   #1056

I think the dummy button slots on steering wheel and ICE without navigation & limited Apple Carplay support are a let down for me in what is otherwise a well put together SUV.

This is what the steering wheel of Jeep Compass otherwise looks like.
Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs-jeep-compass-steering.jpg

If cruise control indeed becomes available, these are additional buttons which will appear instead of the current dummy ones. My sense is that Cruise control will be available only in the Auto variants.
Name:  Cruise Control.png
Views: 4515
Size:  95.2 KB

The following touchscreen available in global models should have been there
Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs-ice.jpg
damager21 is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 17th July 2017, 15:34   #1057

Sampangi Balaji takes the Jeep Compass through an off-roading patch at the FCA premises in Ranjangaon, Pune.

Video (gets interesting from around the 02:00 mark) -

Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs-20031913_1755618774466848_2734055682346595600_n.jpg

Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs-20032017_1755618804466845_7660179745731895952_n.jpg
RavenAvi is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 17th July 2017, 20:52   #1058

Received a call from Hyson Jeep, Thrissur. They asked me if my booking slot needs to be confirmed. I told that I'd be confirming only after a test drive and price release on July 31st. They said that they are already aware of the prices with the top end diesel 4WD at 27 lakhs on-road. Top end 2WD would retail about 1 lakh cheaper. The chap seemed pretty sure of these prices. If this really is the price, I feel Jeep is being a bit too optimistic here about the projected sales volume!

Last edited by GKR9900 : 17th July 2017 at 20:54.
GKR9900 is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 17th July 2017, 21:22   #1059

Originally Posted by GKR9900 View Post
If this really is the price, I feel Jeep is being a bit too optimistic here about the projected sales volume!
+1
and I would be the first one to cancel my booking. Anything more than 22L for 4WD, am out of picture, shall buy fortuner instead.

Last edited by abhi1881 : 17th July 2017 at 21:27.
Old 17th July 2017, 22:05   #1060

Received a call from Hyson Jeep, Thrissur. They asked me if my booking slot needs to be confirmed. I told that I'd be confirming only after a test drive and price release on July 31st. They said that they are already aware of the prices with the top end diesel 4WD at 27 lakhs on-road. Top end 2WD would retail about 1 lakh cheaper. The chap seemed pretty sure of these prices. If this really is the price, I feel Jeep is being a bit too optimistic here about the projected sales volume!
If this pricing is true then this is ridiculous pricing by FCA and a sure shot failed product in the offing. Consumers are better of buying Fortuner or Endeavor which offers better equipment with better service coverage.

Anything above 21lacs on-road is super premium for Compass.
Old 17th July 2017, 22:06   #1061

Meeting the Jeep Compass

Received another call from Jeep India today, a total of 4 calls in a span of 1 week! Boy, are they following up really hard!
Anyway they finally confirmed that the dealer in Bangalore will get in touch with me for the test drive, which can start within the next 1 week. But actual launch is still end July with prices being announced during launch.

I'm not in the market for a new car as yet, my 5 year old Skoda Rapid has done less than 45k and I don't feel like letting it go as of now. But if I were in the market today I would seriously look at the Jeep Compass provided it's priced well.

Last edited by motorworks : 17th July 2017 at 22:08.
motorworks is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th July 2017, 22:49   #1062

The chap seemed pretty sure of these prices!

Not sure if we can take the above at face value - No offense to anybody.

FCA has managed to keep everyone guessing about the prices and it seems to be relatively well guarded.

Everywhere the highlight has been on aiming to make the Compass a success on the basis of quality, safety, affordability.

The international prices are all in the range of around 20+ lakhs at least for the 4x4 limited .

Some senior BHPians who seem to have inside information have also given hope that the pricing will be aggressive!!

We have waited for so long - 13 more days to go - I am sure FCA will give us a nice surprise on this front.
PM - B is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 18th July 2017, 11:36   #1063

Never have I ever been so excited about a car being launched and lost the interest even before the pricing is revealed.

An indicative pricing goes a long way for potential buyers - and makes their wait worthwhile.

If the car is priced above or below the expected price - it's a very bitter disappointment for a potential buyer who has been waiting for a while.

I fail to understand what's holding them to atleast float the price range
Old 18th July 2017, 12:56   #1064

Originally Posted by samyakmodi View Post
If the car is priced above or below the expected price - it's a very bitter disappointment for a potential buyer who has been waiting for a while.
Having created so much hype, I hope Compass doesn't end up costing anywhere close to Tucson. If it is priced below the expected price, it is always going to be super successful and the potential buyers aren't going to be disappointed . Anything higher is going to make it an instant failure. All FCA needs to do is to just recreate the XUV500 strategy - introduce the car at a mouth watering price to ensure that a lot of cars gets on to the road quickly and then increase the prices slowly.

Last edited by ece2k2 : 18th July 2017 at 13:00.
ece2k2 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 18th July 2017, 12:57   #1065

We need to take this with a pinch of salt. FCA has closely guarded the secret so it's highly unlikely that the dealer would be aware of it. Sometimes dealers know more than the company itself
The price of top end variant should be close to 20 on-road else it's going to be a sales dud. How many would plonk close to 3 million INR for a car which cannot seat more than 4 comfortably.
Off topic, but I don't know how people are able to afford such expensive cars. Somehow I am not comfortable with car EMI anything beyond 20k