Old 18th July 2017, 13:08   #1066

re: Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs

Originally Posted by amit1agrawal View Post
The price of top end variant should be close to 20 on-road else it's going to be a sales dud. How many would plonk close to 3 million INR for a car which cannot seat more than 4 comfortably.
Off topic, but I don't know how people are able to afford such expensive cars. Somehow I am not comfortable with car EMI anything beyond 20k
In Bombay the Creta retails for close to 20 on road for the top end manual, so I would expect this to be around 25L OTR (20L ex-showroom) - the sweet spot between the Tucson & Creta segments.
Anything more, and the car will be facing immense competition from the Tiguan, Tucson, and the upcoming new CR-V Diesel (should be launched around the same time as the Compass Diesel AT from what I remember).

As for 3 million INR on a 4 seater - have you sat in any of the Germans with their tall transmission tunnel?

I won't comment on the affordability, but in my family the more expensive cars are typically used for that much longer as well, and the more mass market vehicles are replaced more often (rattles, ageing, etc.)
lamborghini is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 18th July 2017, 13:22   #1067

Originally Posted by GKR9900 View Post
They said that they are already aware of the prices with the top end diesel 4WD at 27 lakhs on-road. Top end 2WD would retail about 1 lakh cheaper. The chap seemed pretty sure of these prices. If this really is the price, I feel Jeep is being a bit too optimistic here about the projected sales volume!
That sounds quite in the vicinity of what I expect for the top variant of 4x4 diesel. 27 lakhs on-road Kerala should translate to around 22 lakhs ex-showroom.
vb-saan is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 18th July 2017, 13:39   #1068

The price of top end variant should be close to 20 on-road else it's going to be a sales dud.

Really !!! - 20 on road for the top end !! - amazed at this - With the road tax at 18% for this category - in Karnataka - the ex showroom for the top end compass should be 17 - and If we are to factor in insurance and other incidentals - it would have to be at least 16.5 !!!
Old 18th July 2017, 13:42   #1069

Originally Posted by vb-san View Post
That sounds quite in the vicinity of what I expect for the top variant of 4x4 diesel. 27 lakhs on-road Kerala should translate to around 22 lakhs ex-showroom.
If 4x4 is priced at 22 lakhs ex-showroom, I believe the 4x2 version would cost around 20-21 lakhs. Since Tucson is already proving to be sales dud at 21 lakhs ex-showroom price (manual 4x2), I am not sure what Jeep might be planning to prove here.
Old 18th July 2017, 16:11   #1070

I said close to 20 and not exactly 20. Also in the context of dealer quoting it close to 30 what I meant was 20, give or take ~10%.

I agree 16.5 ex-showroom for top end will be really aggressive pricing but I think that is what Jeep needs as it's not an established brand in India and being part of FCA family does not help. IMO, it should be in the range of 16.5 - 18 L ex-showroom for top end. Number of unit sold is important as of now, money/profit can come later. Many people in India buy with herd mentality and hence when Jeep Compass will be commonly seen it will bring in more numbers later on. Jeep can gradually increase the price. New consumers will not mind it and existing owner will be happy as resale value will increase.

Originally Posted by PM - B View Post
Really !!! - 20 on road for the top end !! - amazed at this - With the road tax at 18% for this category - in Karnataka - the ex showroom for the top end compass should be 17 - and If we are to factor in insurance and other incidentals - it would have to be at least 16.5 !!!
Old 18th July 2017, 17:46   #1071

It would be sensible if JEEP launches at sub 20L ex-showroom for its highest variant. Also keeping in mind that Diesel Auto is not expected to be present at launch, meaning it would be priced still higher. It's better to suffer an initial loss (if at all) per unit rather than launching at an optimistic price and then giving discounts resulting in a loss of brand value which would hurt its future launches as well.

Renegade is due in next 2 years? By then Jeep could effect 10-15% increase in sticker price making way for Renegade to slot under Compass.
octane_100 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 18th July 2017, 18:15   #1072

If the Tucson can retail at a price of 18L - 22L ex showroom, the Compass can easily do a 15L - 20L ex showroom, or even a 14-19L.
Old 18th July 2017, 18:21   #1073

Ah! Jeep is still making us discuss the pricing for months now. I'm bored.

So here are some accessories (Tastefully done ones IMO) from Ali Express. Good thing about being an international model is the wide variety of accessories available in the market.

Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs-img_20170717_144811.jpg

Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs-img_20170717_144825.jpg

Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs-img_20170717_144842.jpg

Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs-img_20170717_144853.jpg

Above accessories looked nice, assuming they price it right. If not, the below one is all that I would end up ordering. Note the missing sunroof. -

Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs-_3-1.jpg

PS - I'm not mentioning any links as I don't have any personal experience to endorse the vendors, and there are multiple vendors for all of the above. Use your own discretion.

Last edited by CrAzY dRiVeR : 18th July 2017 at 18:33.
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   (15) Thanks
Old 18th July 2017, 19:03   #1074

Hereby sharing the message received from the sales executive of a local Jeep showroom! No separate mention of 2WD and 4WD though.

☆Diesel:-

★Sport - 19.75 lac
★Longtitude - 22 lac
★Longtitude (O)- 23.5 lac
★Limited - 25 lac
★Limited (O) -26 lac

☆ Petrol :-

★Sport - 17.5 lac
★Limited AT - 23.5

Prices are on road price ( approximate)

Last edited by GKR9900 : 18th July 2017 at 19:04.
GKR9900 is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 18th July 2017, 19:46   #1075

Hereby sharing the message received from the sales executive of a local Jeep showroom! No separate mention of 2WD and 4WD though.
These are in-line with the quotes given to me by a person working with FCA, he said expect 18 to 25 lakhs but I did not know they were Pre-GST Quotes or Post-GST.

If this is the real pricing what FCA is thinking, they have stabbed on their own feet. For the same amount one can opt for 7 seaters with AWD.
amrutmhatre90 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 18th July 2017, 19:56   #1076

Which is approximately 14.5L to 21L ex showroom. Pretty decent. But sad that the AT is priced out of my budget. I may have to recheck after a year.
Old 18th July 2017, 21:12   #1077

Limited AT - 23.5
Thanks for the share and I must say that the estimated prices are disappointing to say the least. I believe the pricing works out to be marginally less than Tucson but then the Compass 4x2 is slightly smaller than Tucson as well.

I now hope that I don't lose too much money when I cancel my booking for Limited Petrol AT.
Old 18th July 2017, 22:32   #1078

Jeep is still having us debate on the pricing. Way to go Jeep!
Originally Posted by abhi1881 View Post
I would be the first one to cancel my booking. Anything more than 22L for 4WD, am out of picture
Originally Posted by damager21 View Post
If this pricing is true then this is ridiculous pricing by FCA and a sure shot failed product in the offing.
Originally Posted by amrutmhatre90 View Post
If this is the real pricing what FCA is thinking, they have stabbed on their own feet.
Originally Posted by vb-san View Post
Originally Posted by civic-sense View Post
Which is approximately 14.5L to 21L ex showroom. Pretty decent. But sad that the AT is priced out of my budget. I may have to recheck after a year.
The pricing is more or less along expected lines. That doesn't mean I'm happy about it though. Jeep should've contained the top end 4WD at 24-25L max. Jeep seem to have missed the plot here. I don't really see the point in delaying price release if this was going to be the sticker price. All those talks about local manufacturing, relentless ads, back to back previews...all these were building up the hype that Jeep had something spectacularly mouth-watering for us. Now that I think about it, they could've just launched the Compass with all the bells and whistles and pitch it up against the Tucson. Tucson on road prices in Kerala are 28L for GL AT and almost 30L for GLS AT, according to Carwale. Now the top specs of both these cars aren't 'top specs' in the truest sense,with Tucson lacking AWD and Compass diesel lacking AT. With a much better spread of trim levels than the Hyundai, Compass is trying to garner sales from multiple segments here. But they should've remembered that the default choice for a 25L vehicle in an average Indian household is the Crysta. I was hoping that Jeep would undercut the Crysta, if they were serious about the volumes. Get some cars out there, let the country know about the Compass and slowly increase the prices. All said, I don't think the Compass will be a sales dud, but it won't be setting the charts on fire either.
Originally Posted by ece2k2 View Post
Thanks for the share and I must say that the estimated prices are disappointing to say the least. I believe the pricing works out to be marginally less than Tucson but then the Compass 4x2 is slightly smaller than Tucson as well.

I now hope that I don't lose too much money when I cancel my booking for Limited Petrol AT.
You're welcome mate. The booking amount is completely refundable AFAIK. That's what they said.

Originally Posted by PM - B View Post
Not sure if we can take the above at face value - No offense to anybody.
We need to take this with a pinch of salt. FCA has closely guarded the secret so it's highly unlikely that the dealer would be aware of it. Sometimes dealers know more than the company itself
@PM-B None taken buddy And I really wish that you guys are proved right!

Last edited by suhaas307 : 19th July 2017 at 12:00. Reason: Trimming quoted post for improved readability. Thanks
Old 19th July 2017, 11:15   #1079

When Jeep is still keeping the price secret, I wonder why we have to consider prices randomly thrown about and comment whether they are too high or correctly priced and lose sleep. Let's wait for the official price release.

Jeep is certainly making a lot of noise. I am regularly hearing advertisements in FM radio. Last weekend they had mentioned display at Forum Mall and the coming weekend, the display is at Escape Avenue Mall. Let me try and get a good look.
thesilentone is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 19th July 2017, 11:28   #1080

The prices are not announced, the debate is going based on Auto magazine predictions and sales guys predictions. I would take all predictions with a pinch of salt and consider only what FCA announces. For sure there will people who would be very happy with the pricing and a few very unhappy about it. For all this, just a few days left.

@FCA, your game is on, play it well.

Last edited by nkrishnap : 19th July 2017 at 11:54.
nkrishnap is offline   (3) Thanks