Old 28th October 2020, 23:17   #2011

Re: Jeep Compass : Official Review

Originally Posted by ChoosetoCruze View Post
Use this thread as a guide - https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/buyin...ring-date.html (ARTICLE: Buying a New car with an Older manufacturing date)

Personally, it shouldn’t matter if you get ALL fluids changed before delivery. Or use that to get a bigger discount & then use the money saved to change ALL fluids yourself.

Don’t buy a FCA product if you intend to keep the vehicle for a long (10yrs +) time.
Any specific reason mate. FCA products are usually long lasting. The number of Palios and older Fiats on road in impeccable condition are testimony to the fact that they are pretty well made products.

Into 78th month of ownership and not a single issue till date. I have followed only the service manual and service intervals as suggested by manufacturer. I am not a fanboy and would not hesitate to buy car from another manufacturer if it suits my need. We have Skodas, Renaults, Fords, Hyundais, Honda and Marutis in our extended family. We were Maruti loyalists for over 2 decades. With each passing year my car surprises me as well as my family members that it still feels the same as it had the day I bought it. In this time period it has clocked 103 K KMS in about less than 6 years. Hardly anything on the odo post Covid.

I was a little skeptical when I bought a Fiat in 2014 as not a single soul said anything good about Fiats except for Fiat owners. It still puts a smile everytime I take the wheel. It has everything I would ever need except for a touch screen which is purely required for maps. Yeah there are lot of new fancy features but except for may be the TPMS and cruise control nothing excites me.

Service support has been extremely competent and so has been spare parts supply. I still don't understand the negativity about few brands and it mostly comes from non owners.

Would I buy a Fiat again? It is a big yes but unfortunately there is nothing else except a Compass and Hexa which excites me. The space Compass offers for the price is just not bang for buck and misses few essential features which is a given in the price range.

Waiting to see what they do with Hexa BS6 though I am not a big MUV fan but as a product I found it extremely competent and the ride quality is just wow.

Post COVID need to decide what car next. But the Punto stays with me till eternity

Last edited by nibedk : 28th October 2020 at 23:19. Reason: Correction and addition
nibedk is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 29th October 2020, 00:13   #2012

Thanks Bharatbits and Somsapple for sharing your experiences.
I am sorely tempted to take the plunge and get all fluids and filters replaced before delivery.

However, what makes me suspicious is that the dealer is insisting on full payment before he can get the car to the dealership from the factory where it is supposedly safely warehoused. I will not even be able to do a PDI till I have paid the full amount. This looks (and smells - mixed metaphor I know) like a red flag to me.
Old 29th October 2020, 00:47   #2013

Originally Posted by Mustang Sammy View Post
Thanks Bharatbits and Somsapple for sharing your experiences.
I am sorely tempted to take the plunge and get all fluids and filters replaced before delivery.

However, what makes me suspicious is that the dealer is insisting on full payment before he can get the car to the dealership from the factory where it is supposedly safely warehoused. I will not even be able to do a PDI till I have paid the full amount. This looks (and smells - mixed metaphor I know) like a red flag to me.
There is absolutely no reason to pay full before you see the car. Don't fall for this trap. No dealer worth his salt asks for full payment. Booking amount is enough for them to get the vehicle shipped.
Traveler is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th October 2020, 11:58   #2014

Thanks. Changing all fluids before starting to use the vehicle is an inauspicious start, especially for a 1.6L discount.
Fiat products are not known to be super reliable, but the Compass certainly looks, feels and drives like a well-built vehicle.
Some of the members here have encouraging anecdotes about the longevity of their old Fiats as well.
The 1.6 lakh discount on the Longitude variants of the compass is standard now. It is not as if they have their stock yards overflowing with unsold Longitude's but it is more of a move to match the pricing of the top end diesel/turbo petrol creta and seltos.
So even if you book one there is a good probability you would get a recently manufactured car.
Baddychat is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 29th October 2020, 14:38   #2015

Originally Posted by Baddychat View Post
The 1.6 lakh discount on the Longitude variants of the compass is standard now. It is not as if they have their stock yards overflowing with unsold Longitude's but it is more of a move to match the pricing of the top end diesel/turbo petrol creta and seltos.
So even if you book one there is a good probability you would get a recently manufactured car.
Thanks Baddychat.
The dealer in Pune (Sky Moto) is engaging in some underhanded tactics, claiming that he can only offer the discount on old inventory. This is in addition to demanding full payment before dispatching the vehicle from the factory.
Leaves a bad taste in the mouth.
Old 29th October 2020, 17:33   #2016

Thanks Baddychat.
The dealer in Pune (Sky Moto) is engaging in some underhanded tactics, claiming that he can only offer the discount on old inventory. This is in addition to demanding full payment before dispatching the vehicle from the factory.
Leaves a bad taste in the mouth.
Old inventory would be okay to some in certain scenarios. But the fact that he is demanding full payment before PDI is unacceptable. A down payment to the tune of 25-50 k should be acceptable.
IMO you should walk away from the deal if this is the condition that the dealer is making. You can write to FCA as well. Most Jeep salesmen have this attitude that they sell the most premium car that money can buy. A little pressure where you talk to the showroom sales manager or higher should fix your problem.
Baddychat is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 30th October 2020, 15:31   #2017

The discounts are being advertised on television adverts as well to the extent of 1.5 lacs, in your case if your getting 1.6 or more that's isnt an exclusive deal by this particular dealer in your city.
He might say he has old inventory and hence the discounted pricing etc, but don't pay up in full as already suggested, alternatively you can head to another dealer and score the same deal or even a better one.
TRANSAM is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd November 2020, 21:28   #2018

I am contemplating Jeep Compass Diesel Sports model. But need your expert opinions on the following:

1. Servicing and maintenance cost / cost of ownership
2. Parts availability
3. Service network

thanks in advance..
Old 4th November 2020, 12:58   #2019

Hello Guys,

Need suggestions for Tyre replacements for my jeep compass, original Firestones 225/60R17
Old 4th November 2020, 16:22   #2020

Originally Posted by Satin76 View Post
Hello Guys,

Need suggestions for Tyre replacements for my jeep compass, original Firestones 225/60R17
My Jeep has gone through 2 changes in less than 13k km running. Few options that i have come across in my research-

1. Yokohama Earth1- Probably best suited to Indian conditions but more suited to sedans i feel. Made in India so availability not an issue. Have come across very few JC users on Earth1s. BHPian Arun Josie just changed his Firestones into Earth1s, will be good to follow his thread on that.

2. Yokohama Bluearth RV02- Silent and efficient...very good on highways and good roads, poor in rough roads and trails. My Bluearths than had run less than 7k kms were badly chipped in a few trails. They were also very soft and puncture prone, so changed to Wildpeaks last week.

3. Falken Wildpeak- OEM in Trailhawks. Only tread pattern in stock size that i feel is suited to mild offroading too. Comes with accident damage protection too. I have started using since last week, can share more updates over time on this. Issue is availability, given the import situation. If you get them, go for it.

4. Pirelli P4- Some members in Delhi NCR group are using it and have good things to say about it

5. Bridgestone Turanza T001- Good on roads and highways, poor on trails. Weak sidewall issues like the Firestones too and no damage protection plan, but still will be better than Firestones.

6. Firestone Destination LE- the worst of the bunch i guess. I had sidewall cuts within 4K kms, changed to Bluearths

If you are willing to upgrade to 235/60/17 then Michelin Primacy SUV and Cooper ATs can also be options. The Michelin is expensive but has good reviews from users. The Coopers are ATs so has its own advantages and disadvantages.

Last edited by achyutaghosh : 4th November 2020 at 16:24.
achyutaghosh is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 4th November 2020, 16:49   #2021

Guys...
I plan to buy a pre-owned 2017 Longitude(O) Diesel compass.

Do help me with these queries:

(1) Any issues that anyone has faced in this particular 2017 model? I came to know there has been some engine cease issues with a few compasses of this make
(2) What should be the ideal resale value for this machine as on today having done 30k kilometers in last 36 months or so.

Do you guys suggest i look for a preowned Harrier instead?
Old 6th November 2020, 08:42   #2022

help
Intend to dispose off my 11 yr old Jazz SMT. have been scouting for a Car/CSUV/SUV with Good ground clearance do to our amazing roads! a sedan on steroids would also have done

Have got a Pre owned and certified Jeep Compass 2019 1.4 Sport for 15.5L
it has sub 20000km on the Odo. is it a decent deal or is a Petrol Sport a Non-Starter!

with my Budget a new one may be out of the question, but with the prevailing discounts, is this steep? or is something fishy or is it a niggly purchse
Old 7th November 2020, 08:16   #2023

Originally Posted by Mickey1986 View Post

I am contemplating Jeep Compass Diesel Sports model. But need your expert opinions on the following:

1. Servicing and maintenance cost / cost of ownership
2. Parts availability
3. Service network

thanks in advance..
In my opinion, the maintenance cost is decent. My current ODO is at 53K and maintenance cost so far is 49K.

Jeep Compass : Official Review-maintenance.jpg

Regarding parts availability, I don't think this is an issue for now.

Service network, this depends on where you stay. Definitely little restricted when compared to other brands.

Originally Posted by achyutaghosh View Post
1. Yokohama Earth1- Probably best suited to Indian conditions but more suited to sedans i feel. Made in India so availability not an issue. Have come across very few JC users on Earth1s. BHPian Arun Josie just changed his Firestones into Earth1s, will be good to follow his thread on that.
Yes, availability wise this is easier to get. It’s a decent option and better than Firestone.

Originally Posted by SpeedFanatic View Post
Guys...
I plan to buy a pre-owned 2017 Longitude(O) Diesel compass.

Do help me with these queries:

(1) Any issues that anyone has faced in this particular 2017 model? I came to know there has been some engine cease issues with a few compasses of this make
(2) What should be the ideal resale value for this machine as on today having done 30k kilometers in last 36 months or so.
Clutch was one major issue in 2017 model. So, just make sure that it’s replaced under warranty. If not, consider the clutch replacement cost as well when you negotiate the price.

Do you guys suggest i look for a preowned Harrier instead?
Again initial batch had issues, which you will have to look out for.
arun_josie is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 7th November 2020, 09:36   #2024

Originally Posted by arun_josie View Post

Again initial batch had issues, which you will have to look out for.
Thanks for your inputs.

So this Harrier i am considering is a 2019 XZ top variant, done 20,000 kms. Asking price around 15 lacs. The 2017 Compass on the other hand i should be able to negotiate at 12 lacs.

Due to this Covid situation the vehicle usage will anyways be very restricted at my end for a year or so. Not being very rigid on going for an SUV, i am also getting inclined towards opting for a new Skoda rapid rider plus variant or may be one variant higher in around 10 lacs.

Which one looks a better proposition?
Old 7th November 2020, 13:17   #2025

Hi All! Inquired about the jeep discount @ PPS jeep, JP Nagar Bangalore. The sales executive said that the offer of 1.5 lacs discount is valid only for professionals from a few listed companies. Is that so? Any one buying the car can shed any light on this? Thanks!

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com