Old 16th March 2021, 17:31   #226

Re: Maruti XL6 : Official Review

Originally Posted by sierrabravo98 View Post
6.) Not needed. Standard Warranty is enough for MSIL vehicles.
I read this and wanted to respond that you have missed this wonderful thread on Extended Warranty but then Shashi aptly replied.

Originally Posted by Leoshashi View Post
I respectfully disagree. Look at the number of issues and warranty claims cars like S Cross, Baleno, Dzire etc had. Steering, suspension etc all have been replaced and they are expensive(steering column costs ~50k). I am already staring at my first warranty claim of dicky struts which seem to have gone weak within 8 months of use. 5 year is a long time and I expect something or the other to fail, at least on the suspension side by then. Cars today are complex and one should always take maximum possible warranty.
Consider my case too. Extended Warranty is what helped me replace my steering rack. Incidentally, this remains my only and first every Warranty claim from owning both cars from the Maruti stable.

Maruti or not, extended warranty is a MUST for all the cars.

Last edited by paragsachania : 16th March 2021 at 17:37.
paragsachania is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 16th March 2021, 18:31   #227

7. Avoid: Choose your own accessories.
Shashi, Thank you so much for your quick and prompt response. Before that, I really wanted to thank you for the detailed review of your XL6. I am sure, many happy souls are here benefited from that thread and post just like me. It has a wealth of info. Thanks a lot again.
On the accessories, here is the break-up Nexa RM has given me. I was surprised to see they are charging for god idol and perfumes these days which were freebies in earlier days. From the list, I was interested in Floor mats and Body cover only. I am curious about what type of floor mats they provide and will that perfectly fit the entire floor.

Maruti XL6 : Official Review-access.jpg
Old 16th March 2021, 18:53   #228

Originally Posted by SharathScorp View Post
suggestion here on which all items to be negotiated:
1. Ex Show room: 11,61,189/-
2. TCS: 8,709/-
3. Road Tax: 2,20,760/-
4. Reg. Charges:1,811/-
All of the above are non negotiable

5. Insurance (1yr OD/3 yrs TP): 40,657/-
I have been getting quotes of 27K for Alpha MT (Bumper to bumper 1 year + 3 years TP), which would mean ~30K for the Alpha AT. Do note that the salesperson will make sweeping statements like "Maruthi insurance all India cashless and there will be 5k difference with quotes from other insurance providers" OR "Maruthi insurance has hassle free claim procedure and no FIR complaint copy for minor things". I asked them does hassle free imply that insurance surveyor will not need to give approval for repair AND does it also mean that apart from "maruti insurance" all other insurance claims are not provided cashless settlement?
He did a quiet U turn and said he will match the quote that I share.

6. Extended Warranty: 19,741/- (what is normal warranty and what is extended?)
No brainer given the SHVS components and other issues pointed out by Shashi & Parag previously. Please do take this right when you purchase, else it tends to get more expensive with every passing year. With extended warranty, you will have peace of mind for 5 years/100K kms.

7. Std Accessories: 10,448/-
Politely decline as these are just standard PVC floor mats, idol, perfume, mud flaps etc. Order the Elegant cord floor mats OR any other 3D mats for the car. Idol, perfume etc. you can again get them yourself.

8. My Nexa Program: 885/- (What is this program? any details will be helpful)
This is their so called membership program. You should have details about this in the booklet provided when you booked the car.

9. Fastag: 600/-
Decline and get your own would be my suggestion.
10: Suzuki Connect: 9,999/- (What is this feature?)
Avoid as this is a very rudimentary telematics solutions by Suzuki. More details here.

Additional Points:
  • [1.] Do keep checking with them on delivery every 3-4 days else they will assume you are ok to wait.
    [2.] Dont pay 100% before delivery. Hold off 40-50K for the day of delivery so that you have some leaverage, in case its needed.
    [3.] Tell them repeatedly that you want to do a PDI before the car is registered.
    [4.] If you are going for a loan, the salesperson will try and get you to sign up for the same with Maruti. Do check all terms before you agree. Example: HDFC is offering me 7.60% ROI but the salesperson mentioned that BOB was offering 7.15% ROI. Only when I questioned did he mention that the BOB was floating ROI where as the one that I was offered was Fixed. Now he wants me to go with HDFC but through Maruti, and I'm using that as leverage to get faster delivery. Win - Win

I am already staring at my first warranty claim of dicky struts which seem to have gone weak within 8 months of use.
Looks like a common issue as MadTiger also was talking about this when I spoke to him.

Last edited by procrj : 16th March 2021 at 18:56.
procrj is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 16th March 2021, 19:03   #229

Originally Posted by procrj View Post
No brainer given the SHVS components and other issues pointed out by Shashi & Parag previously.
Not just SHVS procrj. I would say even when it comes to the most basic mechanicals and electrical components, where the failure rates in a Maruti will be extremely low when you compare the sheer volumes they sell, it makes sense to go for the extended Warranty.

In my case, I had never even imagined that a steering rack will start causing a noise and eventually require replacement - With or without abuse is secondary but what matters is that this component was duly replaced as it was covered under the extended warranty. The synchronizer ring issue in my case occurred after my extended warranty period had expired at 97,000 Km and I spent almost 20K to get that fixed (with an all new clutch set too). But I know many owners who have got this issue within the extended warranty period and availed this FOC.

There is this immense peace of mind for a meagre sum you pay that takes care of such needs.

Last edited by paragsachania : 16th March 2021 at 19:07.
paragsachania is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 16th March 2021, 19:33   #230

Shashi, Thank you so much for your quick and prompt response. Before that, I really wanted to thank you for the detailed review of your XL6. I am sure, many happy souls are here benefited from that thread and post just like me. It has a wealth of info. Thanks a lot again.
Glad you liked it.

From the list, I was interested in Floor mats and Body cover only. I am curious about what type of floor mats they provide and will that perfectly fit the entire floor.
This is what they will provide for Rs. 2,590: Link

IMO, get number plate frame too(Rs. 499). There is a Tyvek body cover also in the offering, you may get that if they have in stock. Link for part number: Link

Looks like a common issue as MadTiger also was talking about this when I spoke to him.
Congrats on your XL6, that's quite a surprise purchase after the Tank. Eagerly waiting for your ownership review and wishing you many happy miles with it.

Struts are weak, no doubt about that. But it's condition has somehow improved a lot after I cleaned the part that slides inside the cylinder. There was dust and greasy stuff accumulated on it which was worsening the lift action. I still have around 400km to go before 3rd service, will take a decision accordingly.

Shashi
Leoshashi is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 16th March 2021, 19:36   #231

Extended warranty should be taken as another insurance. Pray that you don't need to make a claim. And when you do, you don't have to worry about the bill.

No brainer given the SHVS components and other issues pointed out by Shashi & Parag previously.....Looks like a common issue as MadTiger also was talking about this when I spoke to him.
Originally Posted by paragsachania View Post
Not just SHVS procrj. I would say even when it comes to the most basic mechanicals and electrical components, where the failure rates in a Maruti will be extremely low when you compare the sheer volumes they sell, it makes sense to go for the extended Warranty.
+1.

In case of Maruti, few components seem to be a weak link in most of their new models. Components such as steering rack, suspension, brake calipers and few interior trims as well.

Congratulations for the new XL6, RJ. That's a nice surprise!

Sorry for going off topic.

Last edited by ashis89 : 16th March 2021 at 19:40.
ashis89 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 16th March 2021, 19:54   #232

Congrats on your XL6, that's quite a surprise purchase after the Tank. Eagerly waiting for your ownership review and wishing you many happy miles with it.
Thanks Shashi. Your thread and inputs definetly helped with the purchase decision

Originally Posted by ashis89 View Post
Congratulations for the new XL6, RJ. That's a nice surprise!
Thanks ashis! Its just been a crazy month, need to update my TUV ownership thread.
procrj is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 16th March 2021, 22:54   #233

I respectfully disagree. Look at the number of issues and warranty claims cars like S Cross, Baleno, Dzire etc had. Steering, suspension etc all have been replaced and they are expensive(steering column costs ~50k). I am already staring at my first warranty claim of dicky struts which seem to have gone weak within 8 months of use. 5 year is a long time and I expect something or the other to fail, at least on the suspension side by then. Cars today are complex and one should always take maximum possible warranty.
Honestly speaking, I totally concur with your line of reasoning. When buying a 14 lac vehicle, if an extra 20,000 buys you complete peace of mind for 5 years, then it is indeed a no-brainer to go for it.

It is just that thus far, I was clinging to this outdated notion that Japanese vehicles are more or less indestructible mechanically. This notion was further buttressed by the experiences I had while growing up. My father had a SX4 from 2009-2014. The car never required anything other than oil changes. And that car did most of its life running on the totally atrocious roads of Bihar-Jharkhand (back then, I hope they have improved now) and only had dashboard rattles to show for it. We had a similar experience with our 2015 City VTEC as well.

That being said, the experience you and Parag possess is something on another level. Heck, I am going to ask my father to purchase an extended warranty package for the XL6 he uses(12 months old, 14k kms now). This is especially considering the reports of deteriorating quality in Maruti Suzuki cars on the forum. About the struts, I think that issue is limited to some batches. If anything, in my experience, they are bit too strong considering the light tailgate. Hope you get it sorted out quickly.

Originally Posted by paragsachania View Post
I read this and wanted to respond that you have missed this wonderful thread on Extended Warranty but then Shashi aptly replied.

Consider my case too. Extended Warranty is what helped me replace my steering rack. Incidentally, this remains my only and first every Warranty claim from owning both cars from the Maruti stable.

Maruti or not, extended warranty is a MUST for all the cars.
Yes, your reasoning is impeccable. Your experience further corroborates it. And yes, I totally missed that thread. I don't think I even had internet access back in 2006. This is why I love this forum. The wealth of experience I can gain here is invaluable.

@procrj: Welcome to the XL6 club. Wishing you lakhs of happy kilometres ahead

Last edited by sierrabravo98 : 16th March 2021 at 22:58. Reason: Forgot to add some stuff.
sierrabravo98 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 8th April 2021, 20:21   #234

Thank you, everyone, here for helping me with the pre-purchase queries and decision-making. Special mention for RJ and Shashi. RJ has really been patient and helpful with me bearing my never-ending questions!

I got my Alpha AT delivered in Bangalore. Haven't driven much so far, being in the midst of a busy week and all the scare around!

Here is a pic was taken during PDI. Planning to post an Initial ownership review sometime soon. Thanks again!

Maruti XL6 : Official Review-xl6.jpg
SharathScorp is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 8th April 2021, 21:37   #235

Thank you, everyone, here for helping me with the pre-purchase queries and decision-making. Special mention for RJ and Shashi. RJ has really been patient and helpful with me bearing my never-ending questions!

I got my Alpha AT delivered in Bangalore. Haven't driven much so far, being in the midst of a busy week and all the scare around!

Here is a pic was taken during PDI. Planning to post an Initial ownership review sometime soon. Thanks again!

Attachment 2142350
Congratulations on the new purchase and welcome to the Club . If I may, a few pointers on the behaviour of the AT (you will figure these out by your own in a while).

1.) If possible, always keep your speed above 55-57 kmph so that the transmission shifts into 4th/OD gear. After that, do not let the speeds go below 53kmph (on a flat surface of course) as the gearbox will again shift to 3rd. Believe it or not but the 45-55kmph zone is one of the least fuel efficient zone of the vehicle due to this (and the difference in FE is very palpable in Delhi NCR with 50kmph being the rigorously enforced speed limit).

2.) 100kmph comes in at relatively low 2500 rpm and is the most relaxed cruising speed for the vehicle. FE should be in the 17.xx - 19.xx range at this speed depending on the load/traffic/AC combo.

3.) Completely slam the accelerator if you need some power for a quick overtake. The transmission does not understand part throttle inputs in such scenarios. Pedal to the metal instantly guarantees a downshift of a gear (or two).

4.) Liberally use 2/L while descending in ghats/hills as they offer excellent engine braking. Keep in mind that the gearbox will not immediately shift to 2nd or 1st gear (even if you have slotted the gear selector into that mode) in every scenario. It will hold out until it the rpm differential is not more than 1500-2000 between the current and the desired gear. So you should plan your shifts accordingly.

5.) Watch out for torque surges (inherent to TC gearbox) at crawling speeds if you touch the accelerator pedal even with a little more pressure than required.
sierrabravo98 is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 8th April 2021, 23:06   #236

Originally Posted by sierrabravo98 View Post
Congratulations on the new purchase and welcome to the Club . If I may, a few pointers on the behaviour of the AT (you will figure these out by your own in a while).
Thanks a bunch, sierrabravo98! Thats a wealth of information from your pointers thanks so much for sharing them. I will keep them in my mind.
Old 11th April 2021, 20:38   #237

One of the very first reported XL6 CNG on social media:

Maruti XL6 : Official Review-172106518_141986774596049_7528059521834415151_n.jpg

Maruti XL6 : Official Review-172226228_141986781262715_6326378089573908_n.jpg

Maruti XL6 : Official Review-171427110_141986787929381_7790388218279599441_n.jpg

Maruti XL6 : Official Review-171257871_141986784596048_515716395875470553_n.jpg

Maruti XL6 : Official Review-171257872_141986791262714_637265076073071767_n.jpg

Maruti XL6 : Official Review-171480064_141986794596047_3600610552542178177_n.jpg
Leoshashi is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 12th April 2021, 09:36   #238

The CNG tank takes away the storage/boot space completely effectively making it a 5 seater in case there is luggage to carry. Still not a bad option in the segment.

Adds to the options for the buyer.
nkrishnap is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th April 2021, 09:51   #239

Originally Posted by nkrishnap View Post
The CNG tank takes away the storage/boot space completely effectively making it a 5 seater in case there is luggage to carry. Still not a bad option in the segment.

Adds to the options for the buyer.
Most Yellow board Ertigas in Mumbai are CNG and all of them have roof carrier mounted on top and they happily manage intercity and intra city runs. This is for the first Gen Ertiga that has lesser space for the 3rs row occupants and even a smaller boot anyway.

Those who want to buy the CNG variant will certainly go for it with a thought of carrier to meet their baggage space needs. This holds good even for CNG and LPG WagonRs that I have come across.
paragsachania is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th April 2021, 17:54   #240

How do you get access to the spare tyre, which is now sitting under the CNG cylinder?

have they changed the location for the spare in CNG models?
dadu is offline   (1) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com