Old 15th August 2022, 22:42   #1216

Re: Mahindra Scorpio-N Review

Just to add to what you mentioned about unawareness, I had visited the dealership in Thane i guess on 4th or 5th day post launch with my son to show him the vehicle. While i was just watching the vehicle from sides, there came a couple (may be prospective customer) and the SA started telling them some technical aspects of the vehicle and they asked him what was so different in this vehicle and the XUV to which the SA responded as this is BOF while the XUV is monocoque, to which the customer was blank asking "wo kya hota hain" and the the SA got down to explain the difference. The SA seemed to be well acquainted with the couple as they seemed to be an existing customer, i guess.

No offences to anyone but such is the general information of most of the customers who select the vehicle based on features and not really on what's under the belly or it's capabilities.
rahulya007 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th August 2022, 22:52   #1217

Originally Posted by gaurav6464 View Post
I too have booked Z4 MT Diesel, the sales guy said its Fuel efficiency will be around 15~16Kmpl. With the detuned engine, you may expect that to be true. Z4 MT seems more value for money to me.
I agree. I checked the brochures so many times to be sure of what I was booking. I am a sedate driver so I rarely do a 0-100 runs.

Originally Posted by Dry Ice View Post
Sell it after a year if you don’t like it? Introductory price + long waiting periods may work in your favour here, and you may not lose much.
This never came to my mind. I totally agree the resale for initial 2-3 years would be higher.

Originally Posted by TheARUN View Post
With the detuned engine and the manual, you are giving yourself the best chance to get maximum fuel economy. I have watched many reviews on YouTube and not one mentioned a single digit fuel economy figure for Diesel.
Check GTO's review in this same thread, he got 11.
Originally Posted by krinpit View Post
Along with mileage, you need to plan for a increase in fuel prices over time as well. Its just not mileage. My personal view is that this vehicle is not really for folks who are sensitive to "cost/KM"
Actually I am so concerned about mileage as I have over 50 speed breakers in 30km daily run. Apart from electric or pure hybrid, I guess nothing will give any respectable mileage and none of them are currently in my budget of 15-16lakhs on road. I already have Santro for city runs which my wife uses during week days and Tata nexon EV if bought would also need to do highway duties.

Originally Posted by TheARUN View Post
Your fear about diesel vehicles having non existent resale value come 2032 might be valid. The silver lining is by then they would have invented a way to convert ICE vehicles to Electric
Again a valid point. Getting a Scorpio N with over 1 lakhs booking will surely tempt someone to provide a retrofitted electric motor 10 years down the line.

I have decided to keep it. It's pure heart overruling mind scenario.
sunnsood is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th August 2022, 00:03   #1218

So the Edit Variant option has now been removed from the Mahindra Booking portal for Scorpio N.
I have a Z8L 4X4 Auto booked. Now waiting for Mahindra to communicate delivery dates. Any idea when can we expect delivery dates communication from Mahindra?
acquillew is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 16th August 2022, 00:28   #1219

Originally Posted by acquillew View Post
Now waiting for Mahindra to communicate delivery dates. Any idea when can we expect delivery dates communication from Mahindra?
I believe the the dates would be communicated by mid/end of September.

I have given enough thoughts on colour and varient and finally decided upon Silver Z8L 4x4 Diesel varient, let us see when I get it.

Thanks for so many great thought that all of you shared.
Old 16th August 2022, 08:23   #1220

Originally Posted by Mophius View Post
End of September is from when first set of deliveries will start. The communication regarding deliveries will take prior to that.
rodeoz is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 16th August 2022, 08:32   #1221

Originally Posted by Mophius View Post
As per the plan laid out by Mahindra, the communication on deliveries will start in couple of weeks from 15th Aug. So, we should expect updates by end of Aug and deliveries will be starting from 26th Sep - targeting delivery of 20K vehicles by December.

The next few days will give us the reality of 25000 (or is it much more) bookings in introductory pricing.

Keeping fingers crossed now.
atluri_rkc is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 16th August 2022, 10:47   #1222

I took a test drive of Scorpio-N diesel AT last week and, to my liking, found the vehicle is in exactly at the mid-way between Alturas G4's luxury + road presence package and Thar's off-roading capabilities, a mix and match of capabilities and features, of course, few missing here and there. One thing I got very confused about is regarding its ground clearance. The dealer representative told me the ground clearance was 242mm which is almost equal to Alturas' GC, whereas most of the websites and reviews say the GC is 187 mm. Unfortunately, I did not have a measuring tape to exactly measure upfront. Is it that the unladen GC is 242mm and laden GC is 187 mm? Did anyone specifically measure? Sorry, I might not have followed every post of the entire thread yet. I would be glad if someone could give me some clue / reference in quick time as I am closing in on my selection parameters to choose my next model of car (have a Jeep Compass Trailhawk in mind as well).

P.S. - if I could manage time to visit the dealer once more, I would definitely do the measuring and share the info with a picture.

Last edited by Aditya : 16th August 2022 at 17:59. Reason: Corrected some typos. Please proof read the posts before submitting. Thanks!
d2krish is offline   (1) Thanks Received Infraction
Old 16th August 2022, 11:33   #1223

Originally Posted by d2krish View Post
. I would be glad if someone could give me some clue / reference in quick time as I am closing in my selection parameters to choose my next model of car (have Jeep compass trailhawk in mind as well).

Please have a look at this video.
alokk0912 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 16th August 2022, 13:05   #1224

As per Anish Shah, the CEO of M&M, current production capacity of Scorpio-N and XUV700 at Chakan (Pune) will be ramped up to double from now. This will take at least 5-7 months.

Till then, this would be the monthly production rate at Chakan:-
Scorpio-N - around 6,000 units/month
XUV700 - around 5,500 units/month

Meanwhile, the Thar sees a monthly production rate of around 3,000 units/month at Nashik. The upcoming Scorpio Classic is also expected to have the same monthly production rate initially when launched, which should go up to 5,000 units/month by the festive season ahead.
RavenAvi is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 16th August 2022, 13:50   #1225

Originally Posted by RavenAvi View Post
As per Anish Shah, the CEO of M&M, current production capacity of Scorpio-N and XUV700 at Chakan (Pune) will be ramped up to double from now. This will take at least 5-7 months.

Meanwhile, the Thar sees a monthly production rate of around 3,000 units/month at Nashik. The upcoming Scorpio Classic is also expected to have the same monthly production rate initially when launched, which should go up to 5,000 units/month by the festive season ahead.
Great news! Thanks for the update. Hopefully, all of us who are eagerly waiting for deliveries in the initial 25,000 bookings would get it by Diwali?

Or does the expected delivery dates seem later than that?

Booked variant under 25K booking:
Mahindra Scorpio-N
Z8
Diesel
4x4
AT
Incinerated is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th August 2022, 15:44   #1226

Originally Posted by Incinerated View Post
Great news! Thanks for the update. Hopefully, all of us who are eagerly waiting for deliveries in the initial 25,000 bookings would get it by Diwali?

Or does the expected delivery dates seem later than that?
Diwali would be too soon for all of 25K. At best, they will be able to deliver 7-8 K by diwali.
Old 16th August 2022, 15:51   #1227

Originally Posted by RavenAvi View Post

This is really good news on multiple fronts. Not just the waiting times will reduce, but it will also improve their marketshare, provide higher scales of economy, and indirectly put pressure on competition. Currently their marketshare is constrained by their production capacity, and not by demand.
ajayc123 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th August 2022, 16:19   #1228

Originally Posted by alokk0912 View Post
Diwali would be too soon for all of 25K. At best, they will be able to deliver 7-8 K by diwali.
Mahindra has already announced that they will be delivering 20K by December and so 7-8K is possible by Diwali.
Old 16th August 2022, 19:25   #1229

Just found this short Scorpio-N review video on Instagram. It seems like sometimes to worry about.
https://www.instagram.com/reel/ChPVm...d=MDJmNzVkMjY=

The speaker above is so close to the sunroof and uncovered. As per the reviewer it may get damaged with slightest of rain.

Whats your take on this...
gaurav6464 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 16th August 2022, 20:49   #1230

Originally Posted by gaurav6464 View Post
J
The speaker above is so close to the sunroof and uncovered. As per the reviewer it may get damaged with slightest of rain.

Whats your take on this...
My god These kind of negligence are very much bothering and makes me stay away from Indian brands. And for the same reason people blindly go for Toyota Innova Crysta/Fortuner.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com