Old 25th August 2022, 21:25   #1366

Re: Mahindra Scorpio-N Review

I haven't yet seen anyone talking about this; is anyone else planning to get a PPF covered on the Scorpio-N?

Basically, as I also have an XUV 700 booking (due for delivery in Aug 23 ), I was 100% sure about getting PPF done on the XUV 700.

However, since the Scorpio-N is going to be heavily offroad oriented, as compared to the XUV 700 and also in general, is the paint / finishing going to be any different? What I mean is, are there people out there who believe that getting PPF done on the Scorpio-N is less prioritized / less important as compared against the XUV 700, owing to its "rough" nature?

I am still inclining towards getting a good TPU PPF done for my Scorpio-N (Napoli Black), but I would like to know what others think about this.
Old 25th August 2022, 21:53   #1367

Has anyone seen the Grand Canyon (Euro type Orange) color? It has never been shown. Please someone show if have any pictures of the same.
Old 25th August 2022, 22:48   #1368

Originally Posted by Incinerated View Post
I haven't yet seen anyone talking about this; is anyone else planning to get a PPF covered on the Scorpio-N?

However, since the Scorpio-N is going to be heavily offroad oriented, as compared to the XUV 700 and also in general, is the paint / finishing going to be any different?

I am still inclining towards getting a good TPU PPF done for my Scorpio-N (Napoli Black), but I would like to know what others think about this.
I am definitely going to get it done on the Dazzling Silver that i have booked. On road or off-road, PPF is essential if you wish to protect the original paint. For that matter, I feel Scorpio-N should have it, being off-road oriented as well. There is no difference in the paint quality of the XUV and the N. Brotomotiv in Pune gave me a quote of 1.3L with Garware 5 yr warranty TPU PPF. I am also checking with a guy on YT called Nick Zeek who provides PPF roles in less than half the cost and you can get it done from a detailer in your area.

Originally Posted by purohitanuj View Post
Has anyone seen the Grand Canyon (Euro type Orange) color? It has never been shown. Please someone show if have any pictures of the same.
Like wise, no one has seen the Dazzling Silver as well. I have booked it on the sheer word of the SA that Silver in ScorpioN is going to be the same as Silver in XUV700. Anyways, i had not much choice, Black is banned at home, White was rejected, Green is not impressive, Red is absolute No-No, Gold is odd, Orange is still invisible so what remains is the Dazzling Silver.

Originally Posted by krinpit View Post
Any further update on this issue? Is this by Design or as someone attributed this to pre-production vehicles?
I did check the TD vehicle with the dealer in my ares on the second TD and asked him about this plastic part covering the speakers etc. and he quickly understood what i was asking to which he said that it was there in XUV TD vehicle as well. Let's have fingers crossed to see what comes in the Production Scorpio.
rahulya007 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 26th August 2022, 10:35   #1369

Originally Posted by krinpit View Post
Any further update on this issue? Is this by Design or as someone attributed this to pre-production vehicles?
Originally Posted by rahulya007 View Post
..I did check the TD vehicle with the dealer in my ares on the second TD and asked him about this plastic part covering the speakers etc. and he quickly understood what i was asking to which he said that it was there in XUV TD vehicle as well. Let's have fingers crossed to see what comes in the Production Scorpio.
My test drive car had the same issue. Please see the images below:
Mahindra Scorpio-N Review-img_6560.jpg
Mahindra Scorpio-N Review-img_6561.jpg
Mahindra Scorpio-N Review-img_6562.jpg
Old 26th August 2022, 11:23   #1370

The drain channels are on the extreme outer side of the sunroof and since we have not heard anyone complaining of a leak in a test drive yet, we can safely assume / wish there won't be any for production cars as well. Why Mahindra has not given a shield in N unlike the XUV is still a mystery. Does the sunroof have auto sensing for rain, post which it closes on it's own. I read there is a feature which senses and informs the driver to close the sunroof and the windows when wipers start. In a very careless event, I think this absence of shield will make an impact.

Originally Posted by Sheel View Post
Stock size is 255/60 R18. In India, I don’t spot any manufacturer with this size, but BF Goodrich does have this size Internationally.
All those currently visible are 265/60 R18 Tires from various brands and this size will increase the circumference as the radius goes up by 6mm thereby calling speedo calibration for accurate reading or rather speedo errors. Very soon, almost every brand will bring their 255 spec tires in market.

Also, Mahindra is providing A/S tires even for the 4x4 variants as seen on the TD vehicles whereas the lower trims (2WD) gets the Apollo Apterra HT2 which means Highway tread for obvious reasons.

If you check the difference in A/S and A/T, A/S are more silent and fuel efficient as compared to A/T, whereas A/T's are more load bearing and suitable if 50% of the drives are off-roads. Most of the 4x4 owners will surely upgrade their tires to some A/T specs post deliveries. A/T makes the 4x4 vehicle more capable to handle extreme situations but on the other hand, they have short life as compared to A/S. A/S are sufficient in case of casual off-roading and mild snow drives. Another important point is A/S tires are cheaper than A/T.

A/S tires are designed to cover a variety of normal driving conditions while A/T tires are designed more specifically to tackle heavy off-roading and extreme weather conditions.

Looks like Mahindra has thoughtfully given A/S tires as most of the vehicles in Urban areas will occasionally do off-roads and they will provide a better FE and better NVH levels as compared to A/T during majority of their drives.

There are people who have driven their A/T tires for 60-70K plus Kms without any issues as such but then this topic becomes subjective.
rahulya007 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 26th August 2022, 11:40   #1371

Does the sunroof have auto sensing for rain, post which it closes on it's own. I read there is a feature which senses and informs the driver to close the sunroof and the windows when wipers start. In a very careless event, I think this absence of shield will make an impact.
The Tata safari/harrier had this feature and it would auto close sunroof if the automatic wiper sensor detects rain.

I think Mahindra only provides warning and we need to close it ourselves. Perhaps because it doesn't have sunroof anti pinch function? I can't think of any other reason why it wouldnt close on its own.
Old 26th August 2022, 11:56   #1372

Attachment 2351036
What is that black lining that seems to have come off on the left hand side? I can see bare metal there. That is also pretty concerning!
Old 26th August 2022, 12:06   #1373

Originally Posted by MetalClank View Post
What is that black lining that seems to have come off on the left hand side? I can see bare metal there. That is also pretty concerning!
The advisor had no idea and I did not wanted to pull these up to investigate further. His face already looked sad after I asked him about this. He told me - Sir, yeh sab kisi ne nahi dekha aaj tak
purohitanuj is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 26th August 2022, 12:15   #1374

Yesterday I was watching this YouTube video and the person taking the TD of Scorpio N reported wheel spins multiple times. It seems Petrol variant is not suitable for bad/ broken road sections and has frequent wheel spin problem.

What could be the probable cause of this behaviour in petrol variant? Or it is a usual phenomenon?

Does it improve for the Diesel variant substantially or absent entirely? Considering this issue, whether prospective buyers should avoid Petrol variants for regular commutes on bad or broken roads/ kuchha / gravel roads?

YouTube video link:

RijuC is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th August 2022, 12:17   #1375

Originally Posted by MetalClank View Post
Most probably a wind deflector, pops up once the window opens up, falls down when the window closes.

Should be harmless.
Gaur is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th August 2022, 12:30   #1376

Originally Posted by RijuC View Post

What could be the probable cause of this behaviour in petrol variant? Or it is a usual phenomenon?

Does it improve for the Diesel variant substantially or absent entirely? Considering this issue, whether prospective buyers should avoid Petrol variants for regular commutes on bad or broken roads/ kuchha / gravel roads?
Genuine question. How is the type of fuel related to wheel spin?

Last edited by Rudra Sen : 26th August 2022 at 12:33. Reason: Quote content trimmed
rodeoz is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th August 2022, 12:35   #1377

Originally Posted by Cresterk View Post
The Tata safari/harrier had this feature and it would auto close sunroof if the automatic wiper sensor detects rain.

I think Mahindra only provides warning and we need to close it ourselves. Perhaps because it doesn't have sunroof anti pinch function? I can't think of any other reason why it wouldn't close on its own.
I read here it is Alexa enabled. Alexa gives a voice message about closing the windows and Sunroof and possibly also takes command to do it. Windows are anti pinch i guess not sure of the sunroof.

It seems Petrol variant is not suitable for bad/ broken road sections and has frequent wheel spin problem.

I think this has got to do with the power of the vehicle that wheel spin happens. Especially petrol as it doesn't have the slight turbo lag like the diesel and hence the wheel spin comes in owing to instant power delivery. Experts may want to correct me here..
rahulya007 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th August 2022, 13:18   #1378

Yesterday I was watching this YouTube video and the person taking the TD of Scorpio N reported wheel spins multiple times. It seems Petrol variant is not suitable for bad/ broken road sections and has frequent wheel spin problem.

YouTube video link:

https://Youtu.be/BAQUaaIiipo
This guy drives every test car like a maniac on city roads. Wheelspin is bound to happen if one just floors the accelerator, for the power that petrol offers. Press the throttle gently and there is no wheelspin. At least that's what I found in two limited Petrol vehicle test drives.

I am sure most who are going to own Petrol are definitely not going to drive like him all the time with the fantastic kmpl

Last edited by saurabh041086 : 26th August 2022 at 13:23.
saurabh041086 is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 26th August 2022, 13:37   #1379

Windows are anti pinch i guess not sure of the sunroof.
Shouldn't any window, with One-Touch capability, be provided with anti pinch functionality. Otherwise, wouldn't it be a safety hazard?

Kindly correct me if that's not true.

I could see that some of the new websites has mentioned that ScorpioN has an anti-pinch feature in sunroof, however I couldn't find any material to substantiate this claim.
Old 26th August 2022, 13:41   #1380

I don't understand what are they getting at!! Even my Polo 1.0 TSI has wheel spin issues ( due to my lead foot). That can happen even on a well paved road ( no direct connection with broken road/bad road - unless its wet). Rather I would consider it as a demonstration of torque . I have had the same experience with Thar as well ( provided you give enough throttle )
IntoTheStorm is offline   (1) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com