Old 16th May 2023, 18:10   #346

Re: Mahindra Thar 1.5L RWD Review

Originally Posted by b_ambat View Post
Don't understand what is happening with Thar RWD delivery. My friend who had booked on January 10th from a dealership in Kochi was informed on 22nd April that his Vehicle is ready at the factory to be billed, but till today the dealership has no idea, when the vehicle will be billed. Why does Mahindra hold the billing of a vehicle for 1 month, which is ready. Any clue, if this is a game being played by the dealer. The dealer already shared the vehicle details(Engine number/Chassis number) with him.
Pls contact customer care with the details shared by your dealer.
They can be of some help with relevant information.
Old 16th May 2023, 18:12   #347

Originally Posted by rajeevsulu View Post
My RWD DIESEL Thar is 40 days and 2500 kms old. I love mostly everything about the vehicle but i found the headlamps very bad. Si I upgraded to Maxxlinx bulbs. The bulb for the headlight is 150 watts and throws light at 4300 kelvin. Warm white light which works beautiful. The pair costs 7800 for the pair with a 2 year warranty. I changed the foglamp bulbs too with 110 watts bulbs of the same make. They cost 6200 with a 1 year warranty. Same warm white light which works effectively. I am a little old school and don't like the white light types. These are more to my liking. I have attached a few pictures.
The lights were done up at an accessories dealer called Car Pluz in Erode. I am also getting an audio upgrade, seat cover instal, films all around strictly for thermoregulation and finally suspension modifications. @shankar.balan linked me up with Arka bangalore. Rest of the upgrades will be done this week, whilst, suspension is being planned for 4 th week of May as I have to take the vehicle to Bengaluru and i am little tied up with my surgical cases till then. I shall post the upgrades in this thread.
I have also replaced the head lamps bulbs with 130 watts bulbs costing me 4100/- for the pair. Also replaced the fog lamp bulbs with 90 watt bulbs costing 2400/- for the pair.
uneet is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th May 2023, 13:15   #348

Originally Posted by uneet View Post
I have also replaced the head lamps bulbs with 130 watts bulbs costing me 4100/- for the pair. Also replaced the fog lamp bulbs with 90 watt bulbs costing 2400/- for the pair.
What bulbs are you using ?
Old 18th May 2023, 15:29   #349

Originally Posted by b_ambat View Post
The Variant is Black LX and the dealership is PPS. Any update on your AX Delivery.
AX is delayed endlessly, with no dispatches from the factory whatsoever.

Most of the KL dispatches are LX Blacks, so you should be getting delivery sooner.
LX D Blacks is the most desired variant in all of KL.
johannskaria is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 18th May 2023, 19:13   #350

Originally Posted by Urorobo View Post
What bulbs are you using ?
I got the LED bulbs installed of Glider company.
Old 23rd May 2023, 15:09   #351

1 lac Thars on the Road . RWD is a massive hit. Thar outsells all of Skoda siblings alone in monthly sales. Discounts on 4X4 variants further prove which variant is selling.

Gymny is nearing launch and it is another contender for my Garage. 2WD is what I would prefer for the Mrs if made available but I have to see how the road presence. In Europe it looked like a Toy or Miniature Jeep like it’s counterpart from Diahatsu .
Old 23rd May 2023, 15:29   #352

My RWD Diesel Thar is 55 days old. After reading extensively on the forum and with guidance from Tbhp members @shankar.balan and @ph03n!x, went with the suspension from Arka motorsports. AVO suspension is done in Coimbatore by Arka motorsports and linked up with Karna Kadur,two time national rallying champion. I got an appointment for 22 May ( yesterday), and three hours later drove out. The setting as of now is 11 in the front and 12 in the rear. It feels stiffer but the vehicle handles like a dream. The front does not dive anymore and the vehicle feels planted around corners. The Arka guys are amazing and phenomenally efficient. 14 cars were being prepped for the Arunachal pradesh rally this month end. Karna gave me a tour of the facility. These guys are the best tuners in the country and one can see why! The only disappointment was that Leelakrishnan was away in the UK and I could not meet him. There were three Thars getting their suspension worked on yesterday and i think they casually do 5 or more suspension jobs every week.
Mahindra Thar 1.5L RWD Review-img_20230522_155209_copy_3000x2250.jpg  

Mahindra Thar 1.5L RWD Review-img_20230522_155315_copy_3000x2250.jpg  

Mahindra Thar 1.5L RWD Review-img_20230523_092957.jpg  

Last edited by rajeevsulu : 23rd May 2023 at 15:30.
rajeevsulu is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 23rd May 2023, 18:32   #353

After consistent follow-up for 4 months and a mail escalation on the dealer for committing to a 4-month delivery timeline, I got a call today that they have allotted me a vehicle that will be delivered next week.

I'm just super pumped that my wait is finally over my D MT RWD

Been following all the threads on Thar and appreciate the posts from all the senior BHP-ians.Will post the pics of my Thar and my experience driving it soon
shank_revzilla is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 23rd May 2023, 21:48   #354

Originally Posted by Urorobo View Post
1 lac Thars on the Road . RWD is a massive hit. Thar outsells all of Skoda siblings alone in monthly sales. Discounts on 4X4 variants further prove which variant is selling.
I do not think they are selling many RWDs. My dealer says they are receiving only 8 RWDs every month. Few who booked RWD on first day have received 18 months as waiting period. So, I would guess Mahindra is narrowing the boundary between 4x4 and RWDs by offering extra discount and pushing people to go for the top variant.
Old 24th May 2023, 12:58   #355

I wanted to upgrade the audio setup in my RWD Thar. What is provided stock is just useless. I decided to retain the head unit alone. The following accessories, a medley of pillar pods, components, amplifier, coaxial speakers for the front and a subwoofer were planned. Also included was a DSP
The list
Stock Head unit
Maxxfit pillar pods designed for the Thar
Focal Auditor+ AP-4340 ST 4×95 Amplifier
Infinity Kappa Components
Polk 12 "subwoofer with box
Infinity primus coaxials for the front
Pioneer DEQ 5100A DSP
Harness for drawing out signal from head unit to amp and processor and then to speakers and woofer
Reverse assist camera
Seat cover upgrade to Korean leather in black.
The installation took 36 hours. Seat cover is stitched in house and draped over the seat
No wires were cut or spliced
I did not go for any sound dampening as it is of essentially no use.
I have the rear camera installed. I need to get the software update done at the showroom tomorrow.
All of the above including installation costs (labour) came to three thousand short of 1 lakh
The sound is well split, bass tight and can be tuned to individual requirements
I am very happy with the results.
Will post post installation pictures soon along with an audio clip
Mahindra Thar 1.5L RWD Review-img_20230524_113514.jpg  

Mahindra Thar 1.5L RWD Review-img_20230524_113456.jpg  

Mahindra Thar 1.5L RWD Review-img_20230524_113432.jpg  

Mahindra Thar 1.5L RWD Review-img_20230524_113411.jpg  

Mahindra Thar 1.5L RWD Review-img_20230524_113351.jpg  

rajeevsulu is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 24th May 2023, 16:00   #356

Originally Posted by snallagatla View Post
I do not think they are selling many RWDs. My dealer says they are receiving only 8 RWDs every month. Few who booked RWD on first day have received 18 months as waiting period. So, I would guess Mahindra is narrowing the boundary between 4x4 and RWDs by offering extra discount and pushing people to go for the top variant.
Not even a single RWD has been delivered at Pondicherry
Old 25th May 2023, 03:53   #357

I am posting pictures of the audio upgrade and that of the seat cover change here.
The audio results are very good.
Mahindra Thar 1.5L RWD Review-img_20230525_032002_copy_3000x2250.jpg  

Mahindra Thar 1.5L RWD Review-img_20230525_031950_copy_3000x2250.jpg  

Mahindra Thar 1.5L RWD Review-img20230524wa00161.jpg  

Mahindra Thar 1.5L RWD Review-img20230524wa0018.jpg  

Mahindra Thar 1.5L RWD Review-img20230524wa0020.jpg  

Mahindra Thar 1.5L RWD Review-img20230524wa0021.jpg  

Mahindra Thar 1.5L RWD Review-img20230524wa0022.jpg  

Mahindra Thar 1.5L RWD Review-img20230524wa0015.jpg  

rajeevsulu is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 27th May 2023, 23:35   #358

Knowing that Thar doesnt come with rear wiper setup, any particular feedback on driving in rains? How is the overall rear visibility when driving in rains?
Old 27th May 2023, 23:38   #359

Originally Posted by rajeevsulu View Post
My RWD Diesel Thar is 55 days old. After reading extensively on the forum and with guidance from Tbhp members @shankar.balan and @ph03n!x, went with the suspension from Arka motorsports.
How much did it cost? Most members in 4x4 thread mentioned in the range of INR1.1L.

Any difference in parts due to reduced weight of 4X2 version?
Old 27th May 2023, 23:56   #360

Originally Posted by geekyengineer View Post
How much did it cost? Most members in 4x4 thread mentioned in the range of INR1.1L.

Any difference in parts due to reduced weight of 4X2 version?
I got it at the old price of Inr. 1.1 lakh. Installation charges were waived off as well. I believe that is Inr. 5000.I was so happy when he mentioned old price, I never asked him the new price