Old 6th January 2011, 23:04   #511

Re: Fiat Linea T-Jet : Test Drive & Review

Adimicra.. I went for a T-Jet from MJD since I was not able to get a car with the same dynamics as the Linea MJD. Throw Linea at speeds more than 140 in some daring corners.. or sway lanes at speeds above 120 when a buffalo from nowhere jumps from the divider on your lane.. You will know what a Linea is capable of.

I recollect one of the instances, where I was going on the right most lane (Chennai to Yercaud) at speeds above 120 and suddenly from nowhere a Buffalo jumps into my lane and it was six in the morning where a motorist in his TVS 50 is busily brushing his teeth while driving (he must be doing 20-30) in the left lane.. i had to switch.. rather do a panic sway from the right most lane to the middle and partially to the left lane and had to jump back to the right lane to avoid the lazy man in his two wheeler and trust me Linea did this without a sweat. I simply cannot imaging any other car in sub 10 lakhs which can do this.. It still gives me jitters when I think about the incident..

I did contemplate almost all the cars and none came close to Linea except the Cedia.. So i settled for T-Jet. Its not that i am trying to say T-Jet is the greatest of the lot.. but it definitely stands apart in driving dynamics (perfect Steering with excellent handling and balanced ride) which no other car offers in that segment.

Sathya

Last edited by Sathya_sc : 6th January 2011 at 23:10.
Old 6th January 2011, 23:36   #512

Originally Posted by Sathya_sc View Post
Adimicra.. I went for a T-Jet from MJD since I was not able to get a car with the same dynamics as the Linea MJD. Throw Linea at speeds more than 140 in some daring corners.. or sway lanes at speeds above 120 when a buffalo from nowhere jumps from the divider on your lane.. You will know what a Linea is capable of.

I recollect one of the instances, where I was going on the right most lane (Chennai to Yercaud) at speeds above 120 and suddenly from nowhere a Buffalo jumps into my lane and it was six in the morning where a motorist in his TVS 50 is busily brushing his teeth while driving (he must be doing 20-30) in the left lane.. i had to switch.. rather do a panic sway from the right most lane to the middle and partially to the left lane and had to jump back to the right lane to avoid the lazy man in his two wheeler and trust me Linea did this without a sweat. I simply cannot imaging any other car in sub 10 lakhs which can do this.. It still gives me jitters when I think about the incident..

I did contemplate almost all the cars and none came close to Linea except the Cedia.. So i settled for T-Jet. Its not that i am trying to say T-Jet is the greatest of the lot.. but it definitely stands apart in driving dynamics (perfect Steering with excellent handling and balanced ride) which no other car offers in that segment.

Sathya
I am great admirer of Linea and Punto's handling capabilities though my experience with these cars is limited. But I have had the chance to throw these cars in corners around 120+ and the chasis,suspension and steering response was awesome and gave me so much confidence.

The only car I think which has very good driving dynamics (south of 10 lacs) is the Fiesta - great handling with great power and an absolute joy to drive.

That's why I was surprised to hear those words from @speedpujari.
I have driven the normal Palio (not the GTX) and I don't belive the Palio handles better than Linea and/or Punto.

Anyway, Your experience definitely clears my doubt.
Old 19th January 2011, 04:32   #513

My Uno is getting a kid sister soon.I have decided to name her as Linea Tjet.
No more plasticky discussions, Have lived with FIAT's for decades, it will be a FIAT again. Testing on sunday. Will get back to tbhp after the TD
Wonderful review GTO, liked the line "there is more to life than kpl".and told the missus about the "one less dinner" and she agreed to it.
Arun
Old 21st January 2011, 10:35   #514

Anyone can comment on sales figures of the t-jet? Here in Delhi/ NCR, its disastrous to say the least. I have seen only ONE CAR on the road.
Old 21st January 2011, 13:45   #515

Originally Posted by sidindica View Post
Anyone can comment on sales figures of the t-jet? Here in Delhi/ NCR, its disastrous to say the least. I have seen only ONE CAR on the road.
Yes, I can comment.

- FIAT cars will never sell in Volumes in India even though their products are by far best in class.

- T-Jet is proved to be a wonderful product in terms of Mileage, Plastics fit and finish, performance, handling and what not!

- ONLY those who know/realize, how good the JET is, are buying.

- FIATs need to improve marketing to see a increase in Sales.

- FIATs re-sale value is not-so-good.

GTO started this wonderful thread for Test Drive and Review of T-Jet. IF WE DEBATE MORE, THIS WILL BE JUST ANOTHER USELESS THREAD. So lets spare this thread for Reviews and not SALES FIGURES.
funkykar is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st January 2011, 20:40   #516

Originally Posted by funkykar View Post
GTO started this wonderful thread for Test Drive and Review of T-Jet. IF WE DEBATE MORE, THIS WILL BE JUST ANOTHER USELESS THREAD. So lets spare this thread for Reviews and not SALES FIGURES.
I totally agree with funkykar. My dream car is the T-Jet Plus in Multijet 1.6 avatar & I closely follow this thread. Any mention of the of the poor sales figures dis-heartens me. So better leave the discussion on sales numbers to some other thread. By the way, can someone please guide me to the thread where-in I can find the monthly figures of various models
Old 21st January 2011, 21:23   #517

^^ There is one Sky Blue TJet I have seen that belongs to my colleague- other than that haven't sen enough of these beauties on the road. Considering how common the Linea is in Pune, that is strange indeed!
Old 22nd January 2011, 10:43   #518

Originally Posted by noopster View Post
^^ There is one Sky Blue TJet I have seen that belongs to my colleague- other than that haven't sen enough of these beauties on the road. Considering how common the Linea is in Pune, that is strange indeed!
I guess its a lot to do with the monthly rise in petrol prices. I was seriously considering the Tjet to replace my Ikon, but with petrol rumored to touch 70+ in a month a two I had to seriously rethink if a performance sedan is what i should invest in. Any way nothing to take away from the Tjet, I think its easily the best car in its segment period.
Old 22nd January 2011, 21:23   #519

Was checking out T-Jet in one of the 2 dealers in Trivadrum. The SA said they y haven't sold any t-jet till now. He said that the other dealer has sold one. Doesn't look promising.
Old 22nd January 2011, 22:45   #520

saw first T Jet in calicut soo long after launch.seems the vehicle doesnt find favour with aam junta.The current issue of overdrive featuring budget enthusiast cars has only a lukewarm review of t jet compared to fiesta s and cedia.They even went to extent of saying fiat steerings are bit dull on feedback! May be the heavish feel put them off but its one of the the best out there with regards to accuracy, especially around the dead centre position.

Last edited by aditya116 : 22nd January 2011 at 22:56.
Old 22nd January 2011, 23:54   #521
//M

In my last trip to Mumbai-Goa, trust me or not I saw more than 10 T-Jets for sure, with 3 T-Jets in Lonavala itself. Mumbai has its fair share of T-Jet Lineas and Goa is as classy as it gets, where people love their classic VW's, Ford Fusions, Tata Xenon's and Fiats.
Old 23rd January 2011, 00:05   #522

The steep petrol price hike in the last couple of months is also contributing to the low sales of petrol cars, especially in Chennai.
Old 25th January 2011, 01:16   #523

Originally Posted by Sathya_sc View Post

Sathya
My experience with MJD is also similar. On Chennai /Trichy and Chennai/ Krishnagiri /Coimbatore high ways, I had frequently done upto 170 km. at empty stretches. The Dharmapuri by pass is an ideal stretch to speed up. Even at that speed the car instils confidence.
Once when I was doing about 140 kph, on Chennai /Trichy road, I had to crash on brakes to avoid sudden crossing of cows. Well the braking and control was superb.
May consider changing over to T Jet but for the lack of resale value and the upward spiralling petrol prices. In any case I happy with MJD.
Old 26th January 2011, 11:01   #524

Amazing breaking performance of my Linea

The ABS and breaking efficiency of my Linea got tested yesterday. But am praying to GOD I never face this again.
Route : Trichy - Madurai expressway (home to office – so I know this road upside down).
Speed of my Linea : 90 to 100. Don’t know why I was driving slow yesterday even if I was getting late for office when my regular speed in this route is 110+. Just thanking GOD.
The truck in front : Moving on the left lane at an estimated speed of 40 to50.
Started overtaking the truck from the right lane and then – when I have already crossed the truck by 1/3rd through, it started changing lane to the right sharply obviously without noticing that I was so close. On the right is the road divider and on the left to front are the rear truck wheels!! First time in my life experienced what death can be!! Reflex action made me slam the brakes to the full and nerves ready for the crash. Holding the steering wheel tight so that it does not steer out of control. In my mind, I decided, let it crash, but at least it should not get out of control and hit the people standing on the divider (it was close to a bus stop and people waiting to cross the road – glimpsed those frightened faces). The car just screeched for a sec or two & kept sliding over the road for a few mtrs and came to a standstill without wavering for a cm on the right or left. Had it moved even an inch on the right or left, either side of the car would have gone. No extra stress felt on my hands on the wheel. Was still not sure if my left front was scrapped by the rear of the truck. Could’nt believe it was so close! I never had so many feelings and thoughts in those 2 secs. (Crisis does make man more efficient).
Immediately took up speed, stopped the truck and gave a good piece of my mind. Seems the helper was driving the truck with eyes fully red!! India will never change.
Could’nt believe that there was’nt a single scratch on my darling. Kept on checking so many times. Except the burnt smell of rubber from the tires there was nothing unusual. Relaxed for a few mins and then continued to office. Checked the car again once reached office and thanked God.
Upon reflection, was really pleased with the breaking performance of my Linea. 90 to ZERO in 2 secs and 10mtrs and right on track without any pressure on the steering wheel? Obviously did’nt have a stopwatch and measuring tape ready otherwise could have applied for some records maybe…. But that’s not important….Just want to say Thankyou Linea, Thankyou FIAT and now heading for a temple.

Note from the Team-BHP Support Team: Post Edited. Smilie usage is restricted to two per post on Team-BHP. Please refrain from using excessive smilies. Also proof check your post before submitting to ensure it's properly formatted (and all tags are removed if typed in an external word processor).

We advise you to read the Announcements and Board Rules section before proceeding any further.

Last edited by .anshuman : 26th January 2011 at 11:22. Reason: See note in the post.
Old 26th January 2011, 11:57   #525

Some time back, we had discussions in this forum about the Linea going to be available in dualogic (clutch-less) transmission. When I enquired at the Linea showroom last week, the salesman didn't have a clue (He was asking "what is dualogic?"). Any hints on the likely launch of dualogic?

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com