Old 22nd July 2012, 18:16   #976

re: The FIAT 1100/Premier Padmini Technical Information thread

Originally Posted by manishalive View Post
Which is a good tyre option for fiat
5.20-14 MRF legend (with or without whitewall inserts).
or 165/80-14 of the Swift that I can get from my swift.
Dude, You are asking the question while you already knew the answer. Untill you can find a 5.20-14 in a usable condition, please go for it. Swift's tyres will suit the rim, but they are little wider (165 mm = 6.5 inch approximately. Hence you might have to put in some extra effort for steering and lose some fuel economy marginally.
-Ilango
ilangop is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd July 2012, 18:27   #977

Originally Posted by ilangop View Post
Dude, You are asking the question while you already knew the answer. Untill you can find a 5.20-14 in a usable condition, please go for it. Swift's tyres will suit the rim, but they are little wider (165 mm = 6.5 inch approximately. Hence you might have to put in some extra effort for steering and lose some fuel economy marginally.
-Ilango
Are, I put it wrongly. Let me put it correctly, I got a brand new swift, so can get tyres of her and get upgrades for her. Secondly 5.20-14 black wall MRF legend are also available. So out of two which should be a better choice for the Fiat??
Old 23rd July 2012, 10:51   #978

Originally Posted by manishalive View Post
I got a brand new swift, so can get tyres of her and get upgrades for her. Secondly 5.20-14 black wall MRF legend are also available. So out of two which should be a better choice for the Fiat??
If your Fiat is going to have limited usage or mostly being used in the city, go for the MRF 5.20-14 as the steering will be easier. If your going to use the Fiat for long trips / highway runs, opt for the Swift's radials. Our NE had radials. When we purchased the Viceroy that came with nylons, I swapped them as we usually go for long trips in the Viceroy.

Regards and Keep Revving,

Rahul Waghmare.
Scarlet_Rider is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd July 2012, 16:09   #979

Originally Posted by Scarlet_Rider View Post
If your Fiat is going to have limited usage or mostly being used in the city, go for the MRF 5.20-14 as the steering will be easier. If your going to use the Fiat for long trips / highway runs, opt for the Swift's radials. Our NE had radials. When we purchased the Viceroy that came with nylons, I swapped them as we usually go for long trips in the Viceroy.

Regards and Keep Revving,

Rahul Waghmare.
Rahul,

Cool, that solves my Dilema. Now will go for Bias tyres and get whitewall inserts from Vintage essentials .
Old 7th August 2012, 06:34   #980

Hello

I am looking for some rear lights , bases and plastic lenses and number plate lights

Are they still available new ? Are there reproductions and if so what is the quality ?

Are there any I should stay away from that are poor quality ?

Thanks for your advise

Beaulieu
Old 10th August 2012, 10:27   #981

Originally Posted by beaulieu View Post
Hello

I am looking for some rear lights , bases and plastic lenses and number plate lights

Are they still available new ? Are there reproductions and if so what is the quality ?

Are there any I should stay away from that are poor quality ?

Thanks for your advise

Beaulieu
For us to help you, kindly give more details of the car in need of parts or some pics of it at least..
Old 20th August 2012, 09:26   #982

I need help in locating the reverse light actuation switch on gearbox. The car in question is a column shift S1. Fiatians please do help me in this regard.
Old 20th August 2012, 11:00   #983

Originally Posted by samsag12 View Post
I need help in locating the reverse light actuation switch on gearbox. The car in question is a column shift S1. Fiatians please do help me in this regard.
Bro, sit on the driver side seat and remove the carpet over the Propeller shaft tunnel towards the driver side. You should see a round rubber flap about 10 cms dia. Remove the cap to access the switch and the wires. Lastly I worked on a Premier Padmini somewhere around the year 2000. Lets see if my memory proves right.
-Ilango
ilangop is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 25th September 2012, 16:07   #984

This is the picture of the Crankcase breather pipe as was available in on 1954 - 1962 fiats. In the later fiats there was a just a simple pipe.

I would like to know what was the use of the circular part on the breather pipe, just an structural element or was a filter screen sort of.

The FIAT 1100/Premier Padmini Technical Information thread-crankcase-breather-pipe.jpg
manishalive is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 18th October 2012, 22:49   #985

Some technical information about the Premier Padmini for enthusiasts here. This is from Auto India of July 1997.

The FIAT 1100/Premier Padmini Technical Information thread-picture-063.jpg

The FIAT 1100/Premier Padmini Technical Information thread-picture-064.jpg
anjan_c2007 is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 26th December 2012, 11:39   #986

Off late i have been experiencing some problem related to electronics in my S1 & would be grateful if someone can help/guide me in this regard. The problem is whenever i try to operate the windshield washer spray, the park light of car gets on, meter light flashes & the fuel needle flickers.
I have checked the fuse box & all seem fine there, i suspect fault in either Combination switch or spray motor but would like to know if there's anything else to look for before doing anything on the same.
Old 26th December 2012, 13:47   #987

Originally Posted by samsag12 View Post
Off late i have been experiencing some problem related to electronics in my S1 & would be grateful if someone can help/guide me in this regard. The problem is whenever i try to operate the windshield washer spray, the park light of car gets on, meter light flashes & the fuel needle flickers.
I have checked the fuse box & all seem fine there, i suspect fault in either Combination switch or spray motor but would like to know if there's anything else to look for before doing anything on the same.
Simple. Check the ground wire for the park lamp & meter bulbs. I am not sure if the wiper water switch is close to ground or close to 12V. If it is close to ground, the motor always receives +12V as soon as you key on. The switch provides the ground and vice versa.
Does the fuel needle flick in synch with the hazard warning lights also. If so, it is only that the +ve line is not proper. Either a loose contact or rusted lugs.
ilangop is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 31st December 2012, 10:41   #988

Which multigrade oil has to be used for Fiat 137D/1.38D?

It has done 1.3L km, engine recently serviced(not rebore, only rings and decarbonization work)
Old 31st December 2012, 17:44   #989

I'm planning on having copies made of my Deluxe Emblem for my 1962 Fiat WBF-1, in the event that I have an accident as I use my car on a daily basis. Also copies of the Deluxe front fender side lights.

These were ordered in from Italy by the original owner and to my knowledge are the only original Deluxe trims in India.

Would any one be interested in purchasing a set?
If so, please let me know and once I know the cost i'll contact you.
The FIAT 1100/Premier Padmini Technical Information thread-dsc02924.jpg  

The FIAT 1100/Premier Padmini Technical Information thread-img_0279.jpg  

The FIAT 1100/Premier Padmini Technical Information thread-dsc02923.jpg  

The FIAT 1100/Premier Padmini Technical Information thread-img_0097.jpg  

The FIAT 1100/Premier Padmini Technical Information thread-img_5627.jpg  

The FIAT 1100/Premier Padmini Technical Information thread-11d_te12k_3_2.jpg  

john a milne is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th January 2013, 12:12   #990

Originally Posted by DHABHAR.BEHRAM View Post
There is a humming sound from the rear differential(crown) in my 137D. This is when i take the foot off the accelerator in 4th gear in a downward slope.

What could be the problem? I checked oil and it was in level.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com