Team-BHP > Road Safety
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 29th November 2023, 18:39   #39376
Senior - BHPian

Re: Accidents in India | Pics & Videos

Great sharing in the interest of learning. To add, we need to specifically treat school buses (bright yellow for a reason) with extra levels of caution, safe distance and also right of way. Mindful of rogue drivers piloting school buses too but we are not to judge that.
GeeTee TSI is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th November 2023, 19:03   #39377
BHPian

Quote:
Originally Posted by TorqueyTechie View Post
Today I was a bad driver resulting in an accident that left me with a badged-up bonnet and a bruished ego.
On November 26th (Sunday), I found myself as a less-than-stellar driver, culminating in an accident that left my heart shattered. The mishap resulted in damage to the driver-side ORVM and cast a shadow over my day with a swan-like face of remorse.

Accidents in India | Pics & Videos-1-copy.jpg

My children’s attend Table Tennis class on weekends, and since it's conveniently close, I usually opt for a two-wheeler. However, with the onset of winter in the northern part of the country, the cold led me to choose the warmth of the Hycross.

I was navigating within the confines of the society compound, driving cautiously and well within the speed limit. Just as I was about to exit, approximately 100 meters before, an MG Hector was parked parallel to another car, leaving barely enough space for one car to pass through comfortably.

In hindsight, I should have slowed down even more, but I attempted to maneuver through, hoping I could make it. Then came the unmistakable sound – – the first blemish on my Hycross after precisely 164 days.