Old 3rd August 2010, 11:25   #2086

BBlost & Silverwood, I just initiated the list. Lets keep populating it.

@bblost: I kind of like the Special Haleem at 555. As being a resident of Vijay Nagar Colony, i've been all around the place trying out Haleem's. I like the special haleem at 555. Kesari Haleem on Road No. 1, Banjara Hills.

@Silverwood: I always doubt the quality of Bombay Hotel, i feel that it's kind of mixed and is not 100% Pure Mutton, that's the reason, I always avoid it.

Listing down a couple of outlets, who serve amazing Haleem.
1. Shah Ghouse, Shah Ali Banda, Char Minar
2. Sarvi, Banjara Hills
3. Sarvi, Mehdipatnam
4. Shahdaab, Madina X Roads, Madina, Charminar
5. Bahar, Hyderguda
6. Pista House, Shah Ali Banda, Charminar (I would suggest this outlet as compared to Take Away located all over the city)
7. Paradise, Secunderabad (Like this albeit, the innumerable amount of bones that somehow make their way into Haleem. I would call it HADDIeem - HADDI means Bone)
8. New Gold Shahi Haleem, Azampura
9. Hotel Sohail, Saidabad Road, Malakpet
10. Bawarchi, RTC X Roads
11. Astoria, RTC X Roads
12. Niagara, Chaderghat
13. Alpha Hotel, Opposite Secunderabad Station
14. Nizam Club, Saifabad/Lakdi Ka Pul
15. Fateh Maidan Club, L. B. Stadium, Nampally
16. Cafe 555, Masab Tank
17. Hotel Nayaab, Madina, Charminar
18. Bombay Hotel, Ranigunj
Old 3rd August 2010, 11:29   #2087

Nikhil, how can you forget " Hyline" Bakery, Gunfoundry?

They serve one of the best haleem in the city. Perfectly grounded and smooth meat with not too strong masala flavour which totally tingle your taste buds.

But, the fact remains their quantity is becoming smaller as each year passes.
Old 3rd August 2010, 11:36   #2088

Listing down a couple of outlets, who serve amazing Haleem.
1. Shah Ghouse, Shah Ali Banda, Char Minar
2. Sarvi, Banjara Hills
3. Sarvi, Mehdipatnam
4. Shahdaab, Madina X Roads, Madina, Charminar
5. Bahar, Hyderguda
6. Pista House, Shah Ali Banda, Charminar (I would suggest this outlet as compared to Take Away located all over the city)
7. Paradise, Secunderabad (Like this albeit, the innumerable amount of bones that somehow make their way into Haleem. I would call it HADDIeem - HADDI means Bone)
8. New Gold Shahi Haleem, Azampura
9. Hotel Sohail, Saidabad Road, Malakpet
10. Bawarchi, RTC X Roads
11. Astoria, RTC X Roads
12. Niagara, Chaderghat
13. Alpha Hotel, Opposite Secunderabad Station
14. Nizam Club, Saifabad/Lakdi Ka Pul
15. Fateh Maidan Club, L. B. Stadium, Nampally
16. Cafe 555, Masab Tank
17. Hotel Nayaab, Madina, Charminar
18. Bombay Hotel, Ranigunj19. Hyline Bakery, Gunfoundry
19. Hyline Bakery, Gunfoundry
Old 3rd August 2010, 16:26   #2089

Ok, here is a Q I have. What is the difference between haleem, harrees and khichada (not kichdi)?

Last year Pulsar & I rated the Shahdaab haleem the best followed by Shah Ghouse and the others trailing.

There is fierce competion between the various eateries to serve the best haleem in the season. Soon we will see who is the best this year.

Old 3rd August 2010, 16:39   #2090

Ravvs, I will eloborate about Haleem, Harees & Khichada in detail soon.
Old 3rd August 2010, 16:47   #2091

I think

Haleem-Mutton
Harees - Chicken
Khicda - Beef

I could be wrong as well.

Old 3rd August 2010, 16:48   #2092

Originally Posted by Ravveendrra View Post
Ok, here is a Q I have. What is the difference between haleem, harrees and khichada (not kichdi)?

Last year Pulsar & I rated the Shahdaab haleem the best followed by Shah Ghouse and the others trailing.

There is fierce competion between the various eateries to serve the best haleem in the season. Soon we will see who is the best this year.

Haleem and Harees and more or less the same, But khichada (Bohri delicacy) is a a concoction of daal, meat and vegetables.The wheat used in Khichda is not as fine as Harees and the entire mixture is not beaten.In Khichda you will find pieces of mutton.

One more variant of this type of food is Hareesa.(Kashmiri Cuisine)

Last edited by SILVERWOOD : 3rd August 2010 at 16:54. Reason: Comments
Old 3rd August 2010, 16:50   #2093

Originally Posted by MileCruncher View Post
I could be wrong as well.

Yes Ani Bhai, very much.
Old 3rd August 2010, 17:31   #2094

Considering the detailed discussion, I am already counting the days to spooning the first haleem

Lets call for a Haleem meet next week!
Old 3rd August 2010, 17:45   #2095

I wish I had read this thread a little earlier. I was in Hydrabad in the month of June to attend to a relative undergoing treatment at Asian Institute of Gastroenteroly. Having got fed up of hospital food I thought of giving a try to famour hyderabadi biryani.

This was my first visit to the town and I was taking instructions from a friend of mine who had stayed their for a couple of years. I was on phone with him while giving directions to the auto wala. This friend eventually wanted me to go to a mall which has this big Life Style outlet on the groud floor, somewhee near Lakdi ka Pul I guess.

Having reached their, the auto wala said pointing to a club in the adjecent building and I quote "Sir, ye club main kya mast Cabra hota tha na, ye naya CM aake band kara diya. Aap faltu yahan tak aaya, pehla ponchte na" .

But then the restaurent, I guess the name was some Haveli, where I was directed to did serve some amazing Biryani. Totally worth the ordeal
Old 4th August 2010, 11:30   #2096

Originally Posted by New.Novice View Post

This friend eventually wanted me to go to a mall which has this big Life Style outlet on the groud floor, somewhee near Lakdi ka Pul I guess.

Having reached their, the auto wala said pointing to a club in the adjecent building and I quote "Sir, ye club main kya mast Cabra hota tha na, ye naya CM aake band kara diya. Aap faltu yahan tak aaya, pehla ponchte na"
Thats Begumpet Area, not Lakdi ka Pul and the mast Cabra club is Country Cub.
Old 4th August 2010, 12:04   #2097

Had dinner at Sholay last night with family and a couple of pals to celebrate by wife's birthday. I must say the food was amazing and so were the refreshments---they had an offer of 3rd round free for every 2 rounds.

Everybody liked the ambience and the food---both veg and non-veg. Items that deserve a special mention are the non-veg platter, veg manhuria dry, tomato soup, mutton biryani, butter naans and dal makhni. What we really liked was also the whopping 20% discount over food items for team-bhp members.
Old 4th August 2010, 12:45   #2098

Originally Posted by vnabhi View Post
Everybody liked the ambience and the food---both veg and non-veg. Items that deserve a special mention are the non-veg platter, veg manhuria dry, tomato soup, mutton biryani, butter naans and dal makhni. What we really liked was also the whopping 20% discount over food items for team-bhp members.
You missed ordering the trademark dish, Bathinda De Kukkad.
Please try Chicken Tikka Masala when you visit Sholay next time.
Old 4th August 2010, 12:51   #2099

Originally Posted by SILVERWOOD View Post
You missed ordering the trademark dish, Bathinda De Kukkad.
Please try Chicken Tikka Masala when you visit Sholay next time.
Yep, those two items were on my list, but we were already bloating with what we'd already had. We also packed some stuff that we could not finish.

Will give those a shot in the next visit. The only pain is driving on the Begumpet stretch. Last night we went there via Necklace Road, which was a good 4 kms longer.
Old 4th August 2010, 13:08   #2100

Note from Team BHP Support.

A reminder of rule #11
Team-BHP - Announcements in Forum : Announcements

11. Team-BHP maintains a strong stand against drinking and driving. Posts that don't abide by this view, or containing ANY alcohol content (in text or pictures, directly or indirectly) will not be entertained on the forum. This rule affects all posts from 1st Jan 2009 onwards.