Old 23rd October 2013, 21:34   #601

Originally Posted by akshay1234 View Post
What I meant is if you are on an incline then shifting to 2nd at 10, 3rd at 30, 4th at 40 is certainly going to lug the engine. Also if you need to accelerate, say from a signal, then by shifting that early you are going to end up using more throttle since the engine isn't entirely in the turbo zone which is the most efficient. If the acceleration required is little, or if you are in moving traffic going at a relatively constant speed then I agree completely with the suggested gearchanges you have made above. My only point is that I don't think its right to generalize like that. Gear changes depend on far too many factors.
Agreed Akshay. Surely depends on traffic conditions and lots of other factors.
adi_petrolhead is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th October 2013, 16:22   #602

re: Skoda Laura: Problems & solutions thread

Took delivery of my Laura yesterday in Bangalore, it was raining here, so the windshield started fogging up, no adjustment with the AC helped, have to get it checked.

Got rid of the Goodyears, changed the tyres to Michelin primary, Thanks to Tbhp member Nikhilb (Madhus Tyre Care)

Think this car requires a lot of changing gears in traffic, i had to drive in 2nd or 1st? probably have to get use to it.

Leather upholstery a must, fabric already getting stained, have to negotiate with Stanley guys.
Old 25th October 2013, 16:40   #603

Congrats on the car Chetan!

The windshield fogging, is a very common thing in the Laura. You would see a lot of us (self included) complaining about it. Apparently, there's an easy fix. Your dealer should be able to do that for you.
The clutch may come across as hard, cause it is!

Good luck with the Stanleys. Do post an initial ownership review
Swanand Inamdar is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 28th October 2013, 17:06   #604

For windshield fogging, the work-around I do in my Laura LnK is to ON the recirculation, foot vent and body vent switches. But then AC goes into the manual mode though. This is done only during early morning or evening/night times. During day, I normally don't face the fogging issue -might be due to the warmth outside.
Safeer is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 28th October 2013, 17:49   #605

Hey guys,

I think there is a problem in my cars AC. My car is 5 years old now with 40,000kms on the odo.

The AC compressor gets switched on only after 5 mins of running the car, after that it works fine. Got it checked, and he says I might have to change my unit which would cost about a lakh.

Kindly advise, what could be the problem.
Old 28th October 2013, 19:22   #606

Originally Posted by Safeer View Post
For windshield fogging, the work-around I do in my Laura LnK is to ON the recirculation, foot vent and body vent switches. But then AC goes into the manual mode though. This is done only during early morning or evening/night times. During day, I normally don't face the fogging issue -might be due to the warmth outside.
Tell your after sales about the issue, the next time you go there. Its a quick fix, and a known problem for the Laura. You can leave your ac on auto after they fix it.
Akshay1234 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 28th October 2013, 19:34   #607

Folks,

One of my friend is looking at purchase of a 2010 Laura TSi Ambiente MT with about 60K+ on the ODO. He is getting a good price for the car but the car is out of warranty. He is particularly worried about the things that usually fails in a 3 year+ old Laura.

I am aware of issues with the AC compressor, is there any other issue that Laura owners can help me with so that I can keep my friend aware and prepared before decides to buy the car.
Old 29th October 2013, 08:59   #608

Originally Posted by anachronix View Post
Folks, One of my friend is looking at purchase of a 2010 Laura TSi Ambiente MT with about 60K+ on the ODO. He is getting a good price for the car but the car is out of warranty. He is particularly worried about the things that usually fails in a 3 year+ old Laura. I am aware of issues with the AC compressor, is there any other issue that Laura owners can help me with so that I can keep my friend aware and prepared before decides to buy the car.
Hi, my Laura had to go for AC repairs and replacement twice in its two year warranty period. Also 60k on the odo means it would need new tyres as well. I say your friend must keep a budget of an extra Rs. 1 Lakh, reserve it for the Laura. 60K in a TSI also calls for a timing belt replacement if I am not wrong. Santosh can comment here? AC replacement can cost up to Rs. 85000!!! Just check the AC when you go for a test drive, you will notice if after five - ten minutes in to the drive if its not effective. Also, the AC can be repaired by a trustworthy independent AC mechanic as well. Thats what I did finally when the AC conked up for the third effing time. Cost me 10k and the AC worked like new! Hope it helps, a good price for 60k out of warranty Laura TSI should be nothing more than Rs. 8.5 lacs.
adi_petrolhead is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th October 2013, 09:12   #609

Folks,

One of my friend is looking at purchase of a 2010 Laura TSi Ambiente MT with about 60K+ on the ODO. He is getting a good price for the car but the car is out of warranty. He is particularly worried about the things that usually fails in a 3 year+ old Laura.

I am aware of issues with the AC compressor, is there any other issue that Laura owners can help me with so that I can keep my friend aware and prepared before decides to buy the car.
Hey... I've bought a used TSI - MT which had done approx 45,000 Kms as per its service history...
My learnings:
Walk to the nearest service centre as they will be glad to do the following things for approx 500 bucks (senator motors - Mumbai did)
1) Get the service history of the car as per skoda - India records as the records are centralised - they will gladly give you a print out.
2) Get a scan done on the car - shows any flaws that may be masked by ever present "Indian jugaad"
3) Get the under body checked by them - they will give you a printed report.

In my case I learnt that my car had gotten a windshield replaced under insurance and the front bumper was painted by skoda in separate months.

Just by doing this is bargained and got a 2 years and 1 month old TSI - MT for 8 Lakhs.
Old 29th October 2013, 13:47   #610

Folks,

@Anachronix: My car has done ~70,000 kms till now, and the AC problem hasn't cropped up at all. Touch-wood!
Yes, I had to change my clutch plates and variety of things associated with it, but that was due to the driving style (load on clutch, riding the clutch in heavy traffic, etc.)

The timing belt needs to be changed around 80,000 kms or thereabouts. If this is not done on the car your friend is buying, ask him to get it done.

AFAIK, the TSI MT didn't have many issues to write home about. Its a wonderful car, and if your friend deems it fit, ask him to go for it!

You could PM SantoshBhat for more info. He's one happy customer of the MT TSI
Old 29th October 2013, 15:12   #611

Errr, the TSI has a chain cam engine so no belt chains required
Old 29th October 2013, 15:25   #612

Folks,

TSi MT - excellent choice, please congratulate your friend on his decision . Mine is running fine, it's been 3.5 years now. I am not sure if the AC compressor will fail or not, but it's weak - that's for sure. Turbo is one part to take care of, but it's hard to check if previous owner has abused it. As @anu has mentioned below, it will be a good idea to check the service records, underbody. Remove the oil dip-stick and check for any oil fumes. There should not be any.

Originally Posted by Swanand Inamdar View Post
The timing belt needs to be changed around 80,000 kms or thereabouts. If this is not done on the car your friend is buying, ask him to get it done.

AFAIK, the TSI MT didn't have many issues to write home about. Its a wonderful car, and if your friend deems it fit, ask him to go for it!

You could PM SantoshBhat for more info. He's one happy customer of the MT TSI
Swanand, timing belt? Pashankar is taking you for a ride?

Originally Posted by ajmat View Post
Errr, the TSI has a chain cam engine so no belt chains required
I thought so. BTW, I asked you on other thread if TSi uses plastic water pump ot steel. may be you missed my post. Do you know?

Originally Posted by anu_zip View Post
Hey... I've bought a used TSI - MT which had done approx 45,000 Kms as per its service history...
My learnings:
Walk to the nearest service centre as they will be glad to do the following things for approx 500 bucks (senator motors - Mumbai did)
1) Get the service history of the car as per skoda - India records as the records are centralised - they will gladly give you a print out.
2) Get a scan done on the car - shows any flaws that may be masked by ever present "Indian jugaad"
3) Get the under body checked by them - they will give you a printed report.

In my case I learnt that my car had gotten a windshield replaced under insurance and the front bumper was painted by skoda in separate months.

Just by doing this is bargained and got a 2 years and 1 month old TSI - MT for 8 Lakhs.
. I did the same when I bought the Tucson second hand - 5 years ago.
Old 29th October 2013, 15:37   #613

I thought so. BTW, I asked you on other thread if TSi uses plastic water pump ot steel. may be you missed my post. Do you know?

Sorry, I missed that, the most accurate statement that I can say is "I hope so!"

Last edited by ajmat : 29th October 2013 at 15:39.
Old 29th October 2013, 15:37   #614

Thanks guys. We are trying to get the service history of the car through a friend in Skoda. I see uniform response about the AC and I am glad the independent garages can fix it for a lesser cost. The tyres are new in the car, so that shouldnt be a worry as well.

Originally Posted by adi_petrolhead View Post
Hi, my Laura had to go for AC repairs and replacement twice in its two year warranty period.
Originally Posted by anu_zip View Post
Originally Posted by Swanand Inamdar View Post
@Anachronix: My car has done ~70,000 kms till now, and the AC problem hasn't cropped up at all. Touch-wood!
Originally Posted by anandpadhye View Post
TSi MT - excellent choice, please congratulate your friend on his decision .
Old 29th October 2013, 16:04   #615

Originally Posted by anandpadhye View Post

Swanand, timing belt? Pashankar is taking you for a ride?
No Anand, my timing belt has NOT been replaced. During the clutch replace incident, they changed the clutch plates, pressure plates, and the flywheel.

I'm saying the timing belt (in the TDI) needs to be changed around 80,000 or thereabouts.

EDIT:Sorry, should've clarified before. My car is a MT TDI, not a TSI.

Last edited by Swanand Inamdar : 29th October 2013 at 16:08. Reason: Added text

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com