Team-BHP > Vintage Cars & Classics in India

Old 4th May 2008, 20:55   #1201

Originally Posted by ram View Post
What does OHV60 mean? Over Head Valve with 60 bhp?
Did the amby have 60 bhp?? .
But i still feel they were offered as original at some point of time.
Old 4th May 2008, 21:16   #1202
Ram

Originally Posted by JayD View Post
The OHV badges were original on the earliest ohv mk1's and not an accessory. they were almost similarly postioned like the fiat1100 badges in dukkars.

From my memory, i think they looked something like this.
@JayD, Is it perhaps possible, that you were thinking of this symmetric wing logo?

Ram
Old 4th May 2008, 21:36   #1203

@JayD, Is it perhaps possible, that you were thinking of this symmetric wing logo?

Ram

Nopes! i know the difference between a brand badge and a model plate! We were discussing about the OHV sticker here! where does the brand logo come into the picture??

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/attach...-2untitled.jpg
Old 4th May 2008, 22:55   #1204

I have been sketching cars since 1961 when I was four years old and I can't seem to remember a symmetric OHV badge like what you've drawn.

The axis of the car runs along the centre of the grille, the hood, dashboard, and centre line of the trunk-lid.

By convention, a symmetric wings badge would be located along this axis at the locations mentioned, and not on one or either sides.

Do tell us where this badge was mounted.
Ram Im positive I have seen these badges fitted to the boot in a position similar to the boot badge on dukkar Fiats. I have also heard of them being on the sides (fenders) as well.

Originally Posted by ajay99 View Post
karlos,jayD
Karlosdeville is right in the first place.
Just a few minutes ago i checked with a senior Hindusthan enthusiast .He confirms that there were 2 types of badges OHV60 and OHV with the assymetrical bar wings on both sides Theses were not factory ORIGINALS but after market accessories.
Also another info, the bumpers of 60,61,62 Mark1's were more squarish compared to the earlier ones.
Never seen an OHV60 badge. You are right about the bumpers. For the earliest ones they shared the Landmaster profile, more visible in the bumper guard fitting. It had a pointed "C" profile, while the later ones had a "D" profile, more squared off.
Old 4th May 2008, 23:24   #1205

Originally Posted by carbug View Post
pic of a dodge and a fiat probably of 1920s vintage lying in a shed owned by a "car collector" in hyd, these cars i am told have been in the same place for the last 10 years , the owner is quoting an obscene price for the dodge
The second car looks more like a Model A Ford rather than a Fiat.
Old 5th May 2008, 16:36   #1206

Originally Posted by JayD View Post
Nopes! i know the difference between a brand badge and a model plate! We were discussing about the OHV sticker here! where does the brand logo come into the picture??

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/attach...-2untitled.jpg
I know exactly what you mean. I have seen that OHV logo. Only i think that the wings were on one side of the letter V in the badge/monogram. Will try and get pics. I also saw this on some Mark-I ambis besides the late model Landmasters.

Reproduced below a para from this link Google Image Result for http://www.cybersteering.com/contest/test29.jpg

...."Succeeding the Hindusthan 14, it had more passenger room, more luggage space and a new BMC (Austin designed) 1489 cc "B-series" engine that developed a decent 50 bhp @4200 rpm and 78 lb ft of torque @ 2400 rpm. The advertisements of the time made a big deal of the new "Over Head Valve" OHV engine. There was a chrome badge consisting of the letters OHV in capitals with "wings" attached to the letter...." "V".

Last edited by V-16 : 5th May 2008 at 16:50. Reason: link courtesy
Old 5th May 2008, 21:33   #1207

Post Deleted by the Team-BHP Support : SMS / Slang is STRICTLY prohibited on this community. We would much appreciate your using full & proper english in posts, for the benefit of other forum users.

Please view our board rules carefully before proceeding any further.

Last edited by GTO : 6th May 2008 at 13:15.
Old 18th May 2008, 00:49   #1208

Here are some i clicked today.

Notice the original Itatian Guards on the Fiat. The same ones that are there on the HYD LHD Super Select. Also notice in the last picture, the Alluminium Patti on the Dashboard!!!! Superbly original.

Karloose, Is that Grille Original???
Rust In Pieces... Pics of Disintegrating Classic & Vintage Cars-dsc01913.jpg  

Rust In Pieces... Pics of Disintegrating Classic & Vintage Cars-dsc01914.jpg  

Rust In Pieces... Pics of Disintegrating Classic & Vintage Cars-dsc01917.jpg  

Rust In Pieces... Pics of Disintegrating Classic & Vintage Cars-dsc01918.jpg  

Rust In Pieces... Pics of Disintegrating Classic & Vintage Cars-dsc01920.jpg  

Rust In Pieces... Pics of Disintegrating Classic & Vintage Cars-dsc01922.jpg  

Rust In Pieces... Pics of Disintegrating Classic & Vintage Cars-dsc01923.jpg  

Rust In Pieces... Pics of Disintegrating Classic & Vintage Cars-dsc01924.jpg  

Rust In Pieces... Pics of Disintegrating Classic & Vintage Cars-dsc01926.jpg  

Old 18th May 2008, 10:18   #1209

Nice pics. Cy! The first car is a Plymouth convertible I presume?

And wow, another 'pEshal' fiat!! Gogi bhai, youve got company!

Btw, I somehow feel Ive seen a pic. of this car in another thread in this forum somewhere (I think in gogi's htread bout restoring his special?) The number sure rings a bell. Only that car was red with a black roof.
Anyways, this car should be restorable. 'hope someone over here is interested?!

Last edited by Stanher : 18th May 2008 at 10:20.
Old 18th May 2008, 13:19   #1210

Cyrus, night trip to Forjet Street kya ??
Old 18th May 2008, 13:42   #1211

Originally Posted by Cyrus43 View Post
Notice the original Itatian Guards on the Fiat. The same ones that are there on the HYD LHD Super Select. Also notice in the last picture, the Alluminium Patti on the Dashboard!!!! Superbly original.

Karloose, Is that Grille Original???
Thats one of the least original cars Ive seen in a long time. Been standing on the footpath for years together.

While it does appear to be a genuine special, all the trims and bumpers are local (of the thicker Italian design). About the only thing original are the front guards, they too are in bad shape with rubber missing. The front grille is from a Padmini and cut in half to be fitted in this pattern.

That aluminium trim on the dash you admire so much is from a taxi and stainless steel, they are available by the dozen. The steering wheel and meter too are from a Padmini. The cars body is so bad I'd say its beyond restoration.
Old 18th May 2008, 13:49   #1212

Originally Posted by Stanher View Post
Nice pics. Cy! The first car is a Plymouth convertible I presume?

And wow, another 'pEshal' fiat!! Gogi bhai, youve got company!

Btw, I somehow feel Ive seen a pic. of this car in another thread in this forum somewhere (I think in gogi's htread bout restoring his special?) The number sure rings a bell. Only that car was red with a black roof.
Anyways, this car should be restorable. 'hope someone over here is interested?!
Good memory Shyam. Its the pic of the same car I had put up. It was for sale then as is now (if not already sold) fro an exorbitant price.
Old 18th May 2008, 13:57   #1213

Originally Posted by V-16 View Post
Good memory Shyam. Its the pic of the same car I had put up. It was for sale then as is now (if not already sold) fro an exorbitant price.
Which essentially means its not for sale
Old 18th May 2008, 14:46   #1214
Ram

Originally Posted by karlosdeville View Post
The front grille is from a Padmini and cut in half to be fitted in this pattern.
No. Please be advised, there was indeed a stainless-steel grille with rectangular openings. Here is a picture with the same bumper overriders too.
[courtesy:nostalgiaclub.com]

Rust In Pieces... Pics of Disintegrating Classic & Vintage Cars-1965granluce.jpg

And this is what Cyrus found.

Rust In Pieces... Pics of Disintegrating Classic & Vintage Cars-1965granlucecyrus.jpg

Ram
Old 18th May 2008, 14:54   #1215

Originally Posted by V-16 View Post
Gogi, how much was he asking for the Fiat then ??