Team-BHP > Vintage Cars & Classics in India

Old 22nd March 2008, 15:41   #361

Like Real Estate prices, prices of Vintage & Classic cars have gone thru the roof, thanx to the publicity thru media of all the Vintage/Classic events.The other day a guy called me to say that he has a 1948 chrysler windsor without body & some items missing. He wanted 3 lacs ONLY!!
Old 22nd March 2008, 16:10   #362

Vauxhall from the 50's. Had posted pics of this car in another thread. The owner has now decided to sell it but I dont think it will go for the price he is expecting. Expected price is 1 lakh, Negotiable.
Classic Cars available for purchase-image016mq5.jpg  

Classic Cars available for purchase-image017ku0.jpg  

Classic Cars available for purchase-image018sv2.jpg  

Old 22nd March 2008, 16:16   #363

Originally Posted by egangsta View Post
Vauxhall from the 50's. Had posted pics of this car in another thread. The owner has now decided to sell it but I dont think it will go for the price he is expecting. Expected price is 1 lakh, Negotiable.
You could offer 30K for that Maxx..
Old 22nd March 2008, 16:18   #364

Price Crash Imminent

Originally Posted by C.S.ANANTH View Post
Like Real Estate prices, prices of Vintage & Classic cars have gone thru the roof, thanx to the publicity thru media of all the Vintage/Classic events.The other day a guy called me to say that he has a 1948 chrysler windsor without body & some items missing. He wanted 3 lacs ONLY!!

Ananth , you are absolutely right!!.
first the STOCK prices Skyrocketed, the Real ESTATE prices BOOMED, then ART Auctions prices became the talk of the nation ,and finally it was the turn of Classic cars and BIKE prices to burst the ROOF,
But now it seems the CYCLE has reversed. STOCK prices have PLUMMETED , real estate has started COOLING, Art and CLASSIC CARS will follow,
So prospective buyers,Be patient , Wait, watch and then only buy,
it is only a matter of time for these LUDICROUS prices to come crashing!!! as the saying goes" IF WINTER comes ,can SPRING be far behind"???
Old 24th March 2008, 11:31   #365

Im sorry, Ajay.
You can't relate classic/vintage cars to real estate and stock market.
PS: Do you own a vintage? Or have u dealt in them?
Old 24th March 2008, 12:11   #366

I only said that like real estate & stocks the car prcs have gone thru the roof.I kwas not relating these two. What I meant was that like real estate & stocks, Vintage/Classic cars are getting over priced
Old 24th March 2008, 12:39   #367

Originally Posted by V-16 View Post
Not to forget the guy Ishan and me checked out for a beat up 55 Millicento requiring a heap full of restoration. The dingbat wanted 9 lacs for it
What to say.. its his car!!
Oye Gogi bhai. He must have said 9 laats. What a Moron.
Old 24th March 2008, 13:05   #368

Originally Posted by GTA View Post
Oye Gogi bhai. He must have said 9 laats. What a Moron.
No no, if he had said that, we would have given them to him! 9 each from Me & Gogi!!
Old 24th March 2008, 18:08   #369

Originally Posted by ajay99 View Post
But now it seems the CYCLE has reversed. STOCK prices have PLUMMETED , real estate has started COOLING, Art and CLASSIC CARS will follow,
So prospective buyers,Be patient , Wait, watch and then only buy,
it is only a matter of time for these LUDICROUS prices to come crashing!!! as the saying goes" IF WINTER comes ,can SPRING be far behind"???
Maybe so.....but by then would there be enough classics left to buy, cheap or otherwise?
Old 25th March 2008, 13:44   #370

CLASSIC Car prices

Originally Posted by nitrous View Post
Im sorry, Ajay.
You can't relate classic/vintage cars to real estate and stock market.
PS: Do you own a vintage? Or have u dealt in them?
whether I own a vintage/classic car is not of much relevance to the topic discussed.
What I was trying to say is some general economic principles and principles of 'physics' like whatever goes up too high too soon will come down ,to attain stability/equilibrium.
Also if you go thro' the history of vintage car prices in the WEST, it can be seen there are several points of time(period) when the prices of vintage/classic cars have crashed( eg; in the late70's(oil crisis) and in 87/88 following the WALL STREET collapse).
for your kind info I have the experience of having dealt with Classic cars
from your statement you seem to be unhappy at the prospect of a crash in vintage car prices!!!!
Old 26th March 2008, 20:25   #371

A 70s (from the looks of it) Merc. 200D currently for sale, owned by the same gent here who owns the yellow Herald & super 10. The regn. is a Coimbatore one, he's gone there to get the NOC at present.

'looks in decent condition, havent looked under the hood as yet though.

I'm afraid I dont remember exactly how much he'd quoted for it and dont want to put wrong figures here but it is above 1 lac.
Classic Cars available for purchase-img_0457.jpg  

Classic Cars available for purchase-img_0460.jpg  

Classic Cars available for purchase-img_0458.jpg  

Classic Cars available for purchase-img_0456.jpg  

Classic Cars available for purchase-img_0459.jpg  

Old 26th March 2008, 21:23   #372

I am interested in the Merc. Can you please give me his contact No?
Old 26th March 2008, 21:38   #373

i think rear right hand side light is fixed upside down
Old 26th March 2008, 21:44   #374

Originally Posted by manikjeet View Post
i think rear right hand side light is fixed upside down
Looks more like a left side unit fitted to the right, turned about.
Old 26th March 2008, 22:50   #375

Originally Posted by C.S.ANANTH View Post
I am interested in the Merc. Can you please give me his contact No?
Certainly. However there were a couple of others who had asked about the car earlier. So 'want to sound fair to all.

Could you please wait until I find out the exact price from him this time & post it here?

Last edited by Stanher : 26th March 2008 at 22:53.