Team-BHP > 4x4 & Off-Roading > 4x4 Technical

Old 24th June 2014, 10:49   #1546

Yokohama India Introduces MT+ Off Road Tyres

With the popularity of off-roading increasing in India, Yokohama has added "Mud-Terrain (M/T+)" Tyres to its range of Geolandar series off road tyres.

These tyres are a step ahead of the previous generation Mud Terrain Tyres by Yokohama in terms of toughness and performance. The design includes new dual protection bars to deflect lateral impacts and provide puncture protection while negotiating rough terrains. The tread pattern have stepped central grooves to improve grip levels and larger shoulder buttresses for greater durability and tougher looks.

The MT+ Tyres will be available in two sizes - 31X10.50R15 and 33X12.50R15 in India.

Yokohama India invested Rs. 300 Crores to set up its new manufacturing unit at Bahadurgarh, Haryana where it manufactures Yokohama Earth-1 Tyres and S Drive Tyres for passenger cars.

Link to news article

Last edited by S2!!! : 24th June 2014 at 10:55.
S2!!! is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 6th July 2014, 14:28   #1547

re: The Offroad Rims & Tyres Thread

Hi Guys.
I wanted to ask if there are any tried and trusted options for purchasing used MT Tyres for my Thar. I am on the stock size 16" Rim with Yokohama 265/65R/16 currently on. They're practically new so I don't think exchanging them would be a good idea. Kurla might be an option to explore, but would be great to have a lead, if anyone here has tried a vendor before.
Old 21st July 2014, 04:59   #1548

@vipinmishra it all depends on what tyres you are looking for, as in brand wise.

If maxxis, then gobind tyres is your best bet. Both khar and lamington road branches will assist you for the same.

If you looking at other brands Pawan Anand from Jeep tyres is a good option.

Are you looking at changing from 16" wheels to alloys maybe 15"? In that case you might have more options, else maxxis bighorns are your best bet.
obaidhakim is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st July 2014, 16:47   #1549

Originally Posted by vipinmishra View Post
Kurla might be an option to explore, but would be great to have a lead, if anyone here has tried a vendor before.
Vipin Ji,
Suggest you to stick to 245/75/16 Maxxis Bighorn 764. They are just perfect for Thar

Shubhendra
Shubhendra is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 21st July 2014, 17:04   #1550

Thanks for your replies @obaidhakim and Shubhendra Ji.
I was looking at options to procure "Used" MT Tyres as its a prerequisite for participating in the adventure tourer segment of the RFC.
But I've got that figured out now.
Old 23rd July 2014, 18:38   #1551

Dear all,

Please suggest from where can I source 8/8.5j alloys for my MM540.
Looking for a deep dish kind of design.

Arun.
Old 25th July 2014, 09:43   #1552

I would like to buy a set (5) of heavy duty steel wheels. This is for my Nissan 1 ton with a pcd of 203.2 x 5. However the PCD is immaterial.
My only specification is that the wheel should be steel and 15" in diameter with a load rating of atleast 1 tonne.
Can anyone help?
Old 5th August 2014, 21:39   #1553

My friend is thinking of getting Falken AT Wild Peak 01 (255/65/16) for his Scorpio 4x4. Any reviews regarding the same?

Old 19th September 2014, 23:58   #1554

Gentlemen

Need sugestions for tyres for NGCS MM550, looking to source 16inch 8/10J 160 PCD/5 hole steel rims from Swastik Viji

Idea is to keep the total height(tyre + rim) as close to the original NDMS JKTyre height. Please suggest AT tyres. Few options I have checked, includes tyres ranging from 29" to 31"

1. 245/75/R16 JK Elanzo: Available between 5500-5900, not fresh manufacture(old stock). BD Sir had these on 0521.

2. Stock Size 235/70/R16 Yoko Geolanders ATS- Rs 6900 -
3. MRF Wanderer 265/70/R16: Not sure about price.
4. Yoko Geo ATS in 265/70/R16 size: around 10000.

Few tyres that had a good tread pattern:

5: Maxxis 771 AT: Does this come in 265/70/R16? The closest one I have seen is 255/65/R16.
6. Nexen Roadian AT/AT2: Not sure of availability.
GoodYear Wrangler AT: Available but expensive?

Also got a price of 10500 for Cooper Discoverer AT3 in 265/75 R16.

Please suggest as per NCR Market.

Special Thanks to RENEGADE(Mandeep) for always answering my jeep queries.

Manjeet
Old 24th September 2014, 15:14   #1555

Originally Posted by Manjeet_Singh View Post
Gentlemen

Idea is to keep the total height(tyre + rim) as close to the original NDMS JKTyre height. Please suggest AT tyres. Few options I have checked, includes tyres ranging from 29" to 31"
Continental Cross contact A/T are good AT tyres albeit with higher road noise but aggressive pattern and thick side walls. 235/70/16 retail for around 7500 to 8500 in Poona
Will not suggest Yokohama if you are planning to use Jeep for offroading, i have see enough Yokohamas giving up.
Maxxis AT looks like Bridgestone H/T 689, i am not sure how it will perform in slush but doesnt look promissing
Please compare tyre quality of Nexen with other tyres and you will cut this tyre off from list by yourself.

Shubhendra
Old 30th September 2014, 13:10   #1556

Offroad tyres for the new breed

The Renault Duster AWD has just been launched, and is generating a lot of interest. Search for "Dacia duster offroad" on youtube, and you'll be surprised to see how much rough stuff this car-based platform is capable of handling. To an extent, the ultra-low first gear will compensate for the lack of a low ratio. Just to prove its mettle, Ironman suspension of Australia also makes an offroad suspension kit for the Duster.

At the same time, the new Scorpio has been launched. The makers claim to have bettered the old one in every aspect, and 4wd models continue to be sold. As members like SS-Traveller and 1100D have proved, the 4wd holds its own in many difficult situation.

But what about tyres for the new breed? People who pay the premium for the 4wd/AWD models are not likely to do it just for brag value. They are going to drive the vehicle to difficult situations, where the toughness and grip of an AT tyre will be required.

The Duster uses 215/65 R16 tyres, the new Scorp uses 235/75 R17 tyres. As on date, not a single AT (or MT) tyre is sold in India in these sizes.

Would like to know the opinions of tyre pundits on this issue. Do we expect to see AT/MT tyres in these sizes being launched very soon?
Old 30th September 2014, 19:44   #1557

A couple of questions:

1. What would be the largest tyre size one can go with without having to upgrade axle shafts etc. on a gypsy? I've heard the stock axles can take only so much, and will give up due to excessive strains transmitted back due to a larger tyre.

Consider that all other issues like suspension/ lift, tyre fouling, re gearing transfer case, mounts have already been taken care of

2. Can one maintain (or lighten) from the weight of the stock gypsy rims, if one upgrades to alloys, to accomodate larger tyres?

Brgds
Ronnie
Old 6th November 2014, 01:07   #1558

I was hunting for goodyear wrangler at/sa 235/75-15 in the market which i had finalised for my Gypsy. They were proving to be a pain to find and almost all the places that confirmed on tele that they have it furnished wrangler rt/s to me.

Finally one chap has promised to procure them by tomorrow @ 6400 per piece and even showed me the same tread in 17 inch size (Fortuner) to confirm.

Now while tearing through his godown I managed to stumble across these chinese tires in 215/75-15 size (perfect for gypsy I am told by many) which have a very aggressive at/mt (as you may call it) pattern and are brilliantly priced.

The brand name is ODYKING and tires are of 2014 manufacturing with valid import and importer details pasted on them.

Does anyone has any experience of these tires or brand? I am attaching a few pics.

Vishwas

The Offroad Rims & Tyres Thread-img_20141105_195317422.jpg

The Offroad Rims & Tyres Thread-img_20141105_195304440.jpg
vishwaschettri is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 16th November 2014, 23:11   #1559

Finally decided to go with the chinese tires I found, mentioned in my post below. Some pics of my ride with new shoes and the labels on the tire itself.

The Offroad Rims & Tyres Thread-img_20141106_204341681.jpg

The Offroad Rims & Tyres Thread-img_20141106_204350057.jpg

The Offroad Rims & Tyres Thread-img_20141107_143844353.jpg

The Offroad Rims & Tyres Thread-img_20141107_143856547.jpg

Did some online research and found ODYKING to be an ok chinese tire manufacturer. They have a website up and running in english with no typo/grammar error which is impressive .

Tire I bought is listed on their website
http://www.odyking.com/pcr/&productI...013007547.html

My reason for buying these tires were
  1. Very cheap @ INR 3500 per tire
  2. Good aggressive A/T tread
  3. Perfect size for Gypsy. No touching anywhere
  4. Speed Rated
  5. ISI Marked
  6. 2014 February manufactured

I am not bothered about their life as I have a very limited running on my Gypsy. I have clocked 6000 kms in last two years so these shall serve me well.

Vishwas
vishwaschettri is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th November 2014, 23:31   #1560

Guys

I've just bought a MM540 and building it ground up. Right now it's undergoing body work followed by mechanical work. Searching for suitable tyre + rim upgrade. I want tyre which can enhance the look of the vehicle. Mostly it will be driven on road. Thanks.