Old 30th August 2005, 18:15   #856

Originally Posted by navin
ok ok is it Sam's JBL 50.4
.. Relax navin.. ur getting worked up... No, it isn't Samz... Has Sam started making amps for a living JK

Its a Clarion APA450 amp. Check the website:

http://www.clarion.com.sg/products/2...odel_no=APA450

I won't be able to afford the JBL 50.4 @ 9500/- [I wish I could] and I might go in for this amp, now or later, which I'm getting at around 6700/-...

N no, haven't got any specs mixed up...
Old 30th August 2005, 19:34   #857

thanks. i wont go for it either. the sony looks better on paper at 4K.
Old 30th August 2005, 19:36   #858

Originally Posted by k_ajay
Tell me if this spec commands your respect, i'll tell you what brand it is..... [I won't be surprised if you figure out the brand yourself ]
I did not. :-) see i dont know much. LOL. Seriously there is no way even for someone like Aseem, Sam or Vivek with much better RAMs to know all these specs leave alone poor old me.

Clarion does make decent HUs though.

Alpine is one brand that seem to make a decent HU, amp and speakers.

Harman makes some decent HUs under their Becker brand and make those to Infinity amps and speakers and you got a decent if expensive system.

Sam, what is the cost of the cheapest Becker HU? 40K?

Last edited by navin : 30th August 2005 at 19:38.
Old 30th August 2005, 19:40   #859

if the JBL 50.4 is 9500 what is the alpine 240 or 340. they might be better value than the clarion at 7K.
Old 30th August 2005, 19:44   #860

He is not going???? .... Oh man, I thot i'd ask him to get somethin for me.... Like a legged beauty or something....

Jokes apart, well, if hes not elsewhere, he'd be here, and thats good for all of us, innit??
Hey ya. went and Back from Goa today. Just got delivery of my sierra wireless card so guess what? I'll be here more often lol

It's terrible that i'm not going to Germany yaar. Gonna be in Delhi for the next week, leaving early morning tomorrow, but i'm here.
Old 30th August 2005, 19:49   #861

Originally Posted by zzzehar
hi Guys
Just want to know as to how dome shaped Pioneer TS 2150 sounds? and any Idea as to how much does it cost?

And also after how many posts do you become a BHPian from a Newbie?

The Pioneer TS2150 is quite bright. You have to like a lot of treble to like it.

50 posts to become a BHPian. And if you try to post too many together or spam, you end up with nothing, courtesy the moderators.
Old 30th August 2005, 23:22   #862

thanks. i wont go for it either. the sony looks better on paper at 4K.
So navin, you're saying that the Sony amp is better than the clarion amp for which i posted the specs??? [4 chnl amp]
Old 31st August 2005, 06:04   #863

All Equipment goes into my Scorpio

mama mia! what are you trying to do!

now listen to me *in my best Don Vito Corleone accent* driving any amp into 2 ohms make for a lot heat capeesh.

Better to use 2 $99 amps run into 4 ohms that 1 $200 amp running tribirdged or into 2 ohms.

Let see 2 JBL, 2 coax, 2 kenwood 6x9, JBL woofer, Pio Woofer....
you got 8 speakers and 8 channels of amplifer power (Audiobahn and Alpine) why not let each speaker have one channel of power.

run the comps and the 2 woofers (JBL and Pio) using the Audiobahn (assuming it is the bigger amp) and let the 6x9 and coax share the Alpine. each channel sees 4 ohms. Amps run cool and offer nicer sound.

BTW where are the 2 subs gonna sit?

Ciao!
Navin Thanks for the info.....I have thought about a design for the box and if I am able to explain it. It is as follows:

Width- 14"
Height-16"
Length-28"

There will be spacing at the bottom because I am considering to put the Woofs in inverted form, i.e. upside down.......so that the bass travels farther.....what do ya say/......and between this is the Amp. I have asked my cousin to get:

http://www.crutchfield.com/S-12WyYun...=037A4801T#Tab

Specs Below:

Details:

» 4-channel car amplifier
» 150 watts RMS x 4 at 4 ohms (4 x 350 watts RMS at 2 ohms)
» 700 watts RMS x 2 in bridged mode (4-ohm stable in bridged mode)
» illuminated name plate, interior circuit board illumination, and blue LED volt meter
» fan cooled
» variable high-pass filter (50-750 Hz at 18 dB/octave) and low-pass filter (50-120 Hz at 18 dB/octave)
» selectable bass boost (0/18 dB at 50 Hz)
» subsonic filter (20-50 Hz)
» unregulated MOSFET power supply
» Class AB design
» preamp inputs and outputs
» fuse rating: 40A x 2
» 4-gauge power and ground leads recommended — wiring and hardware not included with amplifier
» 23-3/16"W x 2-1/4"H x 12-3/4"D
» warranty: 1 year

<<All this Equipment goes into the boot of the Scorpio>>I want its ass to be SHAKIN

Last edited by moodswings : 31st August 2005 at 06:15. Reason: change
Old 31st August 2005, 09:23   #864

So navin, you're saying that the Sony amp is better than the clarion amp for which i posted the specs??? [4 chnl amp]
based on specs yes. assuming all other things are equal.

4K for the sony vs 7K for the clarion. i'd get the sony.
but at 7K maybe the alpine 240 or 340 might become available and either of them would be smoother than the sony. I have not heard teh clarion so i cant say about that for sure. going by reputation if i got an alpine amp and the clarion at 7K i would take the alpine. hope this clears things.
Old 31st August 2005, 09:29   #865

Originally Posted by moodswings
Width- 14"
Height-16"
Length-28"

There will be spacing at the bottom because I am considering to put the Woofs in inverted form, i.e. upside down.......so that the bass travels farther.....what do ya say/......and between this is the Amp. I have asked my cousin to get:

http://www.crutchfield.com/S-12WyYun...=037A4801T#Tab

<<All this Equipment goes into the boot of the Scorpio>>I want its ass to be SHAKIN
OUCH! OUCH! OUCH!

1. I did not quite understand the sub box design. what kind of bass are you building. 4th order band pass? what do you mean putting the woofers in inverted form?

2. did you ask for this amp based on my recom? remember this amp requires the fans to be clear of all obstruction for atleast 6" preferbly 12". you cant put this sub under a car seat for example.
Old 31st August 2005, 09:57   #866

I will fix the amp. on the box itself so that it has a lot of breathing space..........but you still have to advice me on the design of the box........by inverted i mean is that the face of the woof will be towards the floor of the boot of the scorpio
Old 31st August 2005, 09:59   #867

but at 7K maybe the alpine 240 or 340 might become available and either of them would be smoother than the sony. I have not heard teh clarion so i cant say about that for sure. going by reputation if i got an alpine amp and the clarion at 7K i would take the alpine. hope this clears things.
Hmmmm.... Grrrrrr... Its definitely going to take a while before I decide on an amp and them some more while before I purchase one....

I have a price catelog for Alpine products and the cost for the amps ... are:

240: 11400
340: 19950

dono amps budget se bahar nahi, dhoooor hai....
Old 31st August 2005, 10:10   #868

So which Sony amp are you saying is the best to support my 100rms ovals and 55rms compos???

Is it this amp??

XM-504Z

• MOSFET Power Supply
• Maximum Output Power:
4 Ch x 100W at 4 ohm
2 Ch x 125W + 1 Ch x 250W at 4 ohm
4 Ch x 125W at 2 ohm
• Rated Output Power:
4 Ch x 50W at 4 ohm (0.04% THD)
2 Ch x 50W + 1 Ch x 120W at 4 ohm (0.1% THD)
4 Ch x 60W at 2 ohm (0.1% THD)
• High Pass Filter (Selectable) : 80Hz, -12dB/oct
• Low Pass Filter (Selectable): 80Hz, -18dB/oct
• Frequency Response: 5Hz-50kHz
• Signal-to-Noise Ratio: 100dB
• Dimensions (W x H x D in mm): 350 x 55 x 233

The price quoted on the Sony Xplod India website is 5990/- for this one...

Or is it this amp????

XM-SD46X
• MOSFET Power Supply & Output Stage
• Maximum Output Power:
4 Ch x 120W at 4 ohm
2 Ch x 120W + 1 Ch x 300W at 4 ohm
4 Ch x 150WE at 2 ohm
• Rated Output Power:
4 Ch x 60W at 4 ohm (0.08% THD)
2 Ch x 60W + 1 Ch x 150W at 4 ohm (0.1% THD)
4 Ch X 75W at 2 ohm (0.1% THD)
• High Pass Filter (Selectable): 50Hz-300Hz,-12dB/oct
• Low Pass Filter(selectable):50Hz-300Hz, -12dB/oct
• Frequency Response :5Hz-300Hz
• Signal-to-Noise Ratio: 100dB
• Dimensions (W x H x D in mm): 403x 55 x 277

The price for this amp is NA on the website, but it definitely be around 12-13k, as the XM-SD51X, 1 channel mono amp costs 11,990/-....
Old 31st August 2005, 10:53   #869

Originally Posted by moodswings
but you still have to advice me on the design of the box........by inverted i mean is that the face of the woof will be towards the floor of the boot of the scorpio
if the woofers are facing the floor there will have to be spacer between them and the floor.

also i do not advice using 12" and larger woofers that way. the cone of these woofers is often heavy and cn cause cone sag which will affect the LF capability over time.

12" and larger woofers should be front or rear facing not up or down facing. there are exceptions ofcourse but since it is not possible for me to even know the list of woofers that can be excluded I would prefer to play safe. I do know that the Audio Concepts SV12 can be used this way for example.
Old 31st August 2005, 10:57   #870

So which Sony amp are you saying is the best to support my 100rms ovals and 55rms compos???

Is it this amp??
XM-504Z
4 Ch x 50W at 4 ohm (0.04% THD)
The price quoted on the Sony Xplod India website is 5990/- for this one...

Or is it this amp????
XM-SD46X
4 Ch x 60W at 4 ohm (0.08% THD)
The price for this amp is NA on the website, but it definitely be around 12-13k, as the XM-SD51X, 1 channel mono amp costs 11,990/-....
the 504Z will be enough. 10W wont make a significant difference to the SPLs but I would guess the second sony amp is (a) smoother sounding although i have never heard it and (b) also outside your budget :-(