Team-BHP > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
3,513,922 views Search this Thread
Old 28th January 2016, 16:45   #8551
BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: villupuram
Posts: 278
Thanked: 152 Times

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kool_Kid View Post
I guess i spoke too soon . My Iphone has Samsung chip so as per rumour it will have less battery backup compared to TMC chip.
I am thinking for returning it.

Would like to know if some one got the samsung chip and their experience with the same.
Even if that's the case, the difference in battery life is very very negligible and not worthy of exchanging the phone itself.
Refer http://arstechnica.com/apple/2015/10...two-apple-a9s/
Real life difference is almost next to nothing.
printh is offline  
Old 28th January 2016, 17:11   #8552
Team-BHP Support
 
Chetan_Rao's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 5,422
Thanked: 22,278 Times
Re: The iPhone Thread

Is it even possible to demand a phone with a specific set of components in such cases? How would a stockist/re-seller even know?
Chetan_Rao is offline  
Old 28th January 2016, 17:32   #8553
Team-BHP Support
 
Jaggu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 20,122
Thanked: 15,425 Times
Re: The iPhone Thread

Anyone knows a place where they can do chip level repair for iPhone in BLR, have a 5s stuck in DFU mode. It had lost cell signal and had a missing IMEI, so seems like a hardware issue.
Jaggu is offline  
Old 28th January 2016, 17:39   #8554
BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 538
Thanked: 683 Times
Re: The iPhone Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaggu View Post
Anyone knows a place where they can do chip level repair for iPhone in BLR, have a 5s stuck in DFU mode. It had lost cell signal and had a missing IMEI, so seems like a hardware issue.
With no experience or feedback of these guys, I found http://www.iservice.co.in/

Do a recce and approach them. I found them, when I was looking for someone in Mumbai .
riteshritesh is offline  
Old 28th January 2016, 17:41   #8555
Team-BHP Support
 
Jaggu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 20,122
Thanked: 15,425 Times
Re: The iPhone Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by riteshritesh View Post
With no experience or feedback of these guys, I found http://www.iservice.co.in/

Do a recce and approach them. I found them, when I was looking for someone in Mumbai .
Phone was given to them, though the service lady said she would give it a try, they called up after couple of hours and said no
Jaggu is offline  
Old 28th January 2016, 17:43   #8556
BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 538
Thanked: 683 Times
Re: The iPhone Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaggu View Post
Phone was given to them,

Hahahaha. So much for their chip level expertise.
riteshritesh is offline  
Old 28th January 2016, 19:01   #8557
BHPian
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: villupuram
Posts: 278
Thanked: 152 Times

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chetan_Rao View Post
Is it even possible to demand a phone with a specific set of components in such cases? How would a stockist/re-seller even know?

Unfortunately,the two chip units are mixed in stock and sole all over world. And as per tech savvy websites,it is a retrospective diagnosis only - only can ascertain after we buy them.
printh is offline  
Old 28th January 2016, 19:37   #8558
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Delhi Cantt
Posts: 545
Thanked: 197 Times
Re: The iPhone Thread

People,

Have recently bought a 5S. Always rush to this thread to clarify my stupid doubts.

I want to know if my 5S can connect to VoLTE?

Someone told me that only 6 and beyond can do this. Hope he is not right.
skdking is offline  
Old 29th January 2016, 06:55   #8559
BHPian
 
diyguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Chennai
Posts: 512
Thanked: 574 Times

Quote:
Originally Posted by skdking View Post
I want to know if my 5S can connect to VoLTE?
Just checked my daughters 5S and it supports LTE. She has a Bsnl number so cannot actually connect to it.
diyguy is offline  
Old 29th January 2016, 07:22   #8560
Senior - BHPian
 
IronH4WK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,468
Thanked: 4,142 Times

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chetan_Rao View Post
Is it even possible to demand a phone with a specific set of components in such cases? How would a stockist/re-seller even know?

No. Even the seller wouldn't know which one is which. You gotta buy it and then find out. There's a app called Lirum Info Lite; this gives you complete (almost) information about your phone. Go to Menu > CPU and scroll to the end and you can discover your luck.

The iPhone Thread-imageuploadedbyteambhp1454032314.370496.jpg
IronH4WK is offline  
Old 29th January 2016, 10:54   #8561
Distinguished - BHPian
 
ashis89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Bengaluru
Posts: 3,322
Thanked: 10,087 Times
Re: The iPhone Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by skdking View Post
People,

Have recently bought a 5S. Always rush to this thread to clarify my stupid doubts.

I want to know if my 5S can connect to VoLTE?

Someone told me that only 6 and beyond can do this. Hope he is not right.
I get LTE signal in my 5 in an Airtel sim. I am sure 5s would support the same.
ashis89 is offline  
Old 29th January 2016, 11:27   #8562
Senior - BHPian
 
IronH4WK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,468
Thanked: 4,142 Times
Re: The iPhone Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by skdking View Post
People,

Have recently bought a 5S. Always rush to this thread to clarify my stupid doubts.

I want to know if my 5S can connect to VoLTE?

Someone told me that only 6 and beyond can do this. Hope he is not right.
iPhone 5S purchased in India does support LTE (available in India). you can use it if you're an Airtel customer as they're the only ones having 4G band (correct me if i'm wrong). i had a iPhone 5S before and have used LTE on it.
IronH4WK is offline  
Old 29th January 2016, 13:21   #8563
BHPian
 
bhp_maniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Kochi, Kerala
Posts: 502
Thanked: 241 Times
Re: The iPhone Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by skdking View Post
People,

Have recently bought a 5S. Always rush to this thread to clarify my stupid doubts.

I want to know if my 5S can connect to VoLTE?

Someone told me that only 6 and beyond can do this. Hope he is not right.
No, 5S doesn't support VoLTE. It requires 6 or later as of now. However, as per experts the hardware supports it but Apple hasn't enabled it in the software.

Last edited by bhp_maniac : 29th January 2016 at 13:22. Reason: Adding some more info
bhp_maniac is offline  
Old 29th January 2016, 14:58   #8564
Team-BHP Support
 
Chetan_Rao's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 5,422
Thanked: 22,278 Times
Re: The iPhone Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by printh View Post
Unfortunately,the two chip units are mixed in stock and sole all over world. And as per tech savvy websites,it is a retrospective diagnosis only - only can ascertain after we buy them.
Quote:
Originally Posted by IronH4WK View Post
No. Even the seller wouldn't know which one is which. You gotta buy it and then find out......
Thanks!

Don't intend to buy one, was just curious reading comments online how people plan to return their phones and demand a specific model.
Chetan_Rao is offline  
Old 29th January 2016, 16:35   #8565
BHPian
 
1lokesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: MP-09, MH-01
Posts: 247
Thanked: 422 Times
Re: The iPhone Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by bhp_maniac View Post
No, 5S doesn't support VoLTE. It requires 6 or later as of now. However, as per experts the hardware supports it but Apple hasn't enabled it in the software.
There is no one offering VoLTE in India as of today, except for Jio which is only for their employees.

None of the Apple phones, including 6, 6s, 6+ or 6s+ support VoLTE in India.

The VoLTE band is 2300Mhz, also known as band40

Last edited by 1lokesh : 29th January 2016 at 16:38.
1lokesh is offline  
Reply

Most Viewed
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Copyright 2000 - 2023, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks