Old 16th August 2019, 17:05   #1636

Re: MG India's first SUV named Hector. Edit: Launched @ 12.18L

Why the owners of MG Hector is not understanding that parking the vehicle in the road and unnecessarily opening the bonnet is being captured by the competition and is being spread to defame the vehicle. If they have to show the engine compartment to some of their friends, why don't they do it at home?
Sreejith V is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 16th August 2019, 17:56   #1637

Originally Posted by Vinodh_Gowda View Post
Friend shared the below image of yet another MG Hector breaking down. His friend clicked the picture and it's reported that the family was left stranded in it at dusty, polluted and chaotic KR Puram, Bengaluru. The car is less than a month old as per 'mParivahan' application details.

Attachment 1905460
Apart from the car just standing there, is there anything else that we can make out from that picture?

Who knows who was driving it, how it was being driven, how it was handled, what was the exact problem (if at all there was a problem)? Total rubbish for us to call this a breakdown!

In such places where a metro or some construction is going on, I have seen some people parking their cars right at the end where the road does not go further! They will close all windows though!
Nalin1 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 16th August 2019, 18:16   #1638

Mr. Zac Hollis, Director, Skoda India visits MG and Kia showrooms, forms an opinion of his own.

MG India's first SUV named Hector. Edit: Launched @ 12.18L-1.jpg

MG India's first SUV named Hector. Edit: Launched @ 12.18L-2.jpg

Last edited by suhaas307 : 17th August 2019 at 07:15. Reason: Minor typo
volkman10 is offline   (14) Thanks
Old 16th August 2019, 18:25   #1639

Originally Posted by Reinhard View Post
What I also noticed though was, the LED brake lights - 2 side pieces and the HMSL up top - didn't work properly as a team. There was a miniscule time difference in them going out when brakes were released. So the right one went out, then the left and then the HMSL.

Just fraction of a second difference. But it was noticeable and I got to see it for good 5 minutes. Unfortunately I was alone and couldn't shoot a video of this.
Saw this on another Hector today! A red one this time.quite a coincidence I must say. Almost in the same area as the previous one. I almost thought I was imagining it!

Guys who have booked it & are expecting deliveries - please include this point in your PDI. Take someone along - or ask the sales advisor to sit in driver's seat and you stand at the back of the vehicle. Ask to press the brake pedal 4-5 times at 4 second intervals or so.

Do check from a 2 meter distance and ensure all brake lights are lighting up & going out together without any delay amongst themselves. I wonder why this would be happening though. Its simple wiring!

Does the Hector come with these progressive LED turn indicators on back as factory fitment? Or the cars that saw had some aftermarket thing installed? If aftermarket - that would easily explain the sub-optimal performance of the brake lights in the after market consoles.

Originally Posted by volkman10 View Post
Mr. Zac Hollis, Director, Skoda India visits MG and Kia showrooms, forms an opinion of his own.
We should check if this name is found in the waiting list of bookings for the Seltos already . Maybe he was shopping!

Last edited by suhaas307 : 17th August 2019 at 07:16. Reason: typo in quoted post
Reinhard is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th August 2019, 18:57   #1640

Skoda India Director checks out Kia Seltos and MG Hector. Interesting comments he has made. Not sure if this will have any backlash. Though the two main tweets, which started it all, have now been deleted.

What is interesting is that he has confirmed launch timeline of Skoda Karoq and Skoda's made in India SUV which will take on Hector as well as Seltos.

MG India's first SUV named Hector. Edit: Launched @ 12.18L-skodaindiadirectorkiaseltosmghectorshowroomvisit4.jpg  

MG India's first SUV named Hector. Edit: Launched @ 12.18L-skodaindiadirectorkiaseltosmghectorshowroomvisit6.jpg  

MG India's first SUV named Hector. Edit: Launched @ 12.18L-skodaindiadirectorkiaseltosmghectorshowroomvisit5.jpg  

MG India's first SUV named Hector. Edit: Launched @ 12.18L-skodaindiadirectorkiaseltosmghectorshowroomvisit1.jpg  

MG India's first SUV named Hector. Edit: Launched @ 12.18L-skodaindiadirectorkiaseltosmghectorshowroomvisit3.jpg  

MG India's first SUV named Hector. Edit: Launched @ 12.18L-skodaindiadirectorkiaseltosmghectorshowroomvisit2.jpg  

Last edited by mayanksabharwal : 16th August 2019 at 19:00. Reason: Forgot to mention source.
mayanksabharwal is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 16th August 2019, 19:06   #1641

Originally Posted by mayanksabharwal View Post
Skoda India Director checks out Kia Seltos and MG Hector. Interesting comments he has made. Not sure if this will have any backlash. Though the two main tweets, which started it all, have now been deleted.
I found this to be quite strange. Would anyone announce to the entire world before carrying out a competitive study and reveal their strategy? Unless he is doing it for fun or even trying to mislead the competition.
Guna is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 16th August 2019, 22:12   #1642

Originally Posted by Guna View Post
I found this to be quite strange. Would anyone announce to the entire world before carrying out a competitive study and reveal their strategy? Unless he is doing it for fun or even trying to mislead the competition.
Wish he had the time to visit Skoda service centres and found the real issues the Skoda customers are facing, and there by finding ways to mitigate those issues.
pavi is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 17th August 2019, 01:59   #1643

Originally Posted by Vinodh_Gowda View Post
Friend shared the below image of yet another MG Hector breaking down. His friend clicked the picture and it's reported that the family was left stranded in it at dusty, polluted and chaotic KR Puram, Bengaluru. The car is less than a month old as per 'mParivahan' application details.

Attachment 1905460
Hi Vinodh,

I am the "friend" of your friend, as the pic was taken by me and had shared in a closed group, so basically spotted by a Tbhpian only

Even though, I didn't stop by (not even possible in Bangalore traffic), clearly, it looked like, there was some issue with the vehicle and the folks were standing by the car with blinkers on and bonnet open.

Well friends, even I want the Hector and MG as a company, to succeed in Indian market, however, couldn't help, but ignore a situation like this.

Btw, I am related to MG and Hector in every possible way as a prospective buyer. I like the Hector, and hopefully would love to add it to my garage in the future.

arighna.dutta is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 17th August 2019, 11:53   #1644

Originally Posted by arighna.dutta View Post
Hi Vinodh,

I am the "friend" of your friend, as the pic was taken by me and had shared in a closed group, so basically spotted by a Tbhpian only

Kinda weird but awesome too to meet the 'friend of my friend' this way

Coming back to MG, I am now more interested in how their service teams are responding to these complaints as how is the experience of such customers like towing the vehicle, diagnosing and rectifying the issue.

Edit: Was away from my system for a couple of days and hence saw the responses now. Was wondering why the 'friend of my friend' had to post a clarification of sorts about mG in his post. Guys, I don't get anything dramatizing a situation like that and for me, a friend's friend is well just that. I do agree smear campaigns are a reality but judging that everyone does it isn't fair either. As for the way it is parked, barricaded talks - At least in my city people do help in moving the car to the side of the road in case of a breakdown.

Last edited by Vinodh_Gowda : 17th August 2019 at 12:09.
Vinodh_Gowda is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 17th August 2019, 12:51   #1645

One new entrant is being targeted, we can see so many Maruti cars stranded on roads, but no one talks about them. The question ia about genuinity of breakdown.
deehunk is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 17th August 2019, 14:41   #1646

Originally Posted by deehunk View Post
One new entrant is being targeted, we can see so many Maruti cars stranded on roads, but no one talks about them. The question ia about genuinity of breakdown.
Maruti solid atleast 15 million vehicles in india and you might therefore find breakdowns once a while

MG possibly has sold a teeny weeny fraction of that and yet news of so many breakdowns.
Even I am in the market for a MG and therefore I am worried.

I have no Second chance in raising another 20 lakhs if my bet with MG goes wrong.
realactivex is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 17th August 2019, 15:25   #1647

Solution for MG Hector screen hanging issue | MALAYALAM | HINDI | ENGLISH

::CMS:: is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th August 2019, 15:55   #1648

Someone a few posts before spoke about very few MG's delivered and still many, many breakdowns/complaints.

I find it most strange that so many of us BHPians are still contemplating buying the same car after reading so much negativity and problems. Why folks?

It would be prudent to step away from this car brand altogether for at least six months to a year to better gauge what's happening. Why on earth spend around 15-20 lacs and buy a possible headache.

For the record, I am not on the lookout for a new car and have nothing against or for MG, merely calling it as I see it.

Cyborg is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th August 2019, 17:00   #1649

Originally Posted by realactivex View Post
Maruti solid atleast 15 million vehicles in india and you might therefore find breakdowns once a while

MG possibly has sold a teeny weeny fraction of that and yet news of so many breakdowns.
I am still looking for credible evidence, even in this recent photo, how do you believe that passengers were stranded? Look at the distance from which this photo was taken, can you hear anything from that distance? There is nobody near the car. MG has probably sold more vehicles in Kerala, let us wait instead of jumping to conclusions. Please share this vehicle number, I will try to get more information from the car owner himself.

Last edited by deehunk : 17th August 2019 at 17:06.
deehunk is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th August 2019, 17:21   #1650

Quoting what another member had rightly said earlier -

Originally Posted by KK_HakunaMatata View Post
I don't see any issues in sharing it. If this was on the Harrier thread with same facts the 'sharing' would have been applauded enough already.
I thought this was supposed to be an unbiased forum? Then why do 'prospective buyers' expect only good news about the product to be featured in this thread and not posts that could point out it's possible flaws. Shouldn't prospective buyers be the most eager to know everything about the product they are going to purchase? Wouldn't posts such as the ones reporting the 'alleged' Hector breakdowns make one more cautious before they take the plunge? Isn't that actually a good thing?

Let's face it. This is not like any other ordinary facebook auto forum. Nobody is trying to fool anyone else here. I don't expect a single bhpian to blindly accept any accusation against any model without sufficient proof. If one sees a post which could be misleading, he has every right to call it out or present proof against the same.

Let us make team-bhp the 'right' place where people come to decide on what they might've heard from other media sources. And also, let us not dictate what others cannot or can post here - let the moderators decide that. They are more than capable to detect any kind of misleading activity. If there are any doubts, just check out GTO's latest post in the Kia Seltos thread.

A new member named MeghanaGondi registered on our forum in July and posted biased messages on this very thread on 13th August. Moderator Eddy caught it, and we came to know that she is affiliated to a Kia dealer.

The member has been banned & her posts have been deleted .

Last edited by jailbird_fynix : 17th August 2019 at 17:24.
jailbird_fynix is offline   (10) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com