Old 2nd September 2008, 10:27   #376

The offer you have given him is very generous; such a car would be a good pick for 8 lakhs. 8.5? Sure, since you know the owner and can vouch for the way he has maintained it. But not a penny above.
Old 2nd September 2008, 10:45   #377

Originally Posted by Car Fan View Post

Given this I have offered him Rs 8.5 lakh, a premium of Rs 50-75,000 over this price since I know that the car is not a lemon. He has come back with an indicative price of Rs 9.5 lakh.

Should I raise my offer to possibly seal the deal midway between these, or am I being foolish since I could get a car for less than Rs 8 lakh with only a little more effort in checking out its quality etc.?

Any thoughts are welcome!
You have already offered him more than the fair value of the car now it doesn't make any sense for him asking 9.5 lacks ,being a relative you don't have to pay more for the car which no one would buy for even 9 lacks let alone 9.5 ( that is the price of a pristine Honda Accord 2005 -06) ,To my surprise 9.5 lacks is even higher than what Honda,s auto terrace would ask you where they will offer you a certified car with additional warranty the real price for a car like this to me is not more than 8 lacks
Old 2nd September 2008, 10:59   #378

Land Cruiser "95

Hi Guys
Any idea how much Toyota Land Cruiser '95 model will cost which has clocked 1 lakh kilometers?? the car is non-turbo deisel.
Is it worth buying or it's better to jus keep it aside??
Old 2nd September 2008, 14:10   #379

Used 2006 Alto LXI chennai 28k for 2.30 lakhs , Is it a good buy ? Thanks
Old 2nd September 2008, 14:57   #380

Are used Alto prices inflated?

Originally Posted by 2theMax View Post
I was also looking for a used 2006-07 Alto Lxi last week. I feel Alto prices are inflated due to large popularity of this car.

Brand new Alto Lxi in Pune costs 3.05 to 3.15 lacs after discounts. At one Maruti Truevalue outlet they are quoting 2.78 lacs for Mar 07 Alto run for 20K Kms ! Damn no!! I can get brand new car for another 30-35 thousands.

As for the one you are looking, it will be 2 years old in another 3 months, is nearing 30K running which is almost 1/3rd life over, considering you won't use it post 90K-1 lac KMs. For another 75K or so you may get a brand new car. In short 2 lacs for that car seems fine to me. Just my take, you are better judge since you are seeing it in flesh.
Old 2nd September 2008, 15:04   #381

hey guy,
well, i know it'll be very sad for me, but i have to sell my vRs. The car was purchased in oct '04 and has clocked 18K till date. the car was mostly driven by my dad n the car hasn't crossed 150 kmph mark. no scratches/accidents at all. i just wanted to know how much shud i expect for the same. the car colour is black.
thnx
Kaustubh
Old 3rd September 2008, 10:25   #382

It's really a good buy if the condition is good.
Old 3rd September 2008, 11:16   #383

Originally Posted by kau_therock View Post
hey guy,
well, i know it'll be very sad for me, but i have to sell my vRs. The car was purchased in oct '04 and has clocked 18K till date. the car was mostly driven by my dad n the car hasn't crossed 150 kmph mark. no scratches/accidents at all. i just wanted to know how much shud i expect for the same. the car colour is black.
thnx
Kaustubh
Kauzy,

As i said you might need to check carwale value tool, it may give you a rough idea for the same though on the lower side. You might also want to put up on t-bhp classifieds.

EDIT: Done for the sake of beast

Delhi, Skoda vRS. Oct, 2004 Value

Individual Value
Car Condition Excellent Good Fair Car Value (Rs.) 7,14,000 6,86,200 6,41,500 Dealer Value
Car Condition Excellent Good Fair Car Value (Rs.) 6,45,000 6,17,200 5,72,500
Old 3rd September 2008, 12:02   #384

Thanks for all the replies.
Old 4th September 2008, 16:30   #385

How much for a 2000 BMW 318i?

After having looked at a Forester and then at a Skoda RS 1.8 Turbo to replace my 2004 Opel Vectra 2.2, the latest contender is a 2000 BMW 318i. I rcently looked at a well maintained 318i which has covered about 56k kms, single owner, registered in June 2000. What do you guys think?
I need suggestions, inputs on the right pricing and estimates of maintenance costs and I need them fast as I need to take a decision in the next 24 hours.
thanks in advance.
Peace
Old 6th September 2008, 16:37   #386

Ikon 1.6 Zxi Nxt ,2003 model ,run ~28k kms ,single owner.Company registered.

Have found in general the below for this car ,add if any
1.Discontinued model
2.High FE .
3.low resale value

Considering all these how much should the car be paid in blore?
Old 8th September 2008, 15:49   #387

Can any one throw more light on this car .Will be test driving it today .
Old 11th September 2008, 11:44   #388

Honda civic 2007 S cover 10K Km for 9.25 is this the good buy or shall I offer him less and he is second owner and I will become third. Considering this I feel 9.25 is too high for this car. What you say?
Old 11th September 2008, 11:51   #389

Ford Ikon CLXI 1.3 2002 July Model, done 75000 Kms, presently at a Ford dealership with a malfunctioning PCM which costs 41 K. I dont see value in investing so much on the car at this stage and would rather exchange it for a new one.

Im exploring the sell back option with Fors, what price do you think I should settle for?
Old 11th September 2008, 12:00   #390

Palio limited edition 1.6 Sport 2003 ..1.60 lakhs (55k run) Is it a good buy ?

Last edited by 2theMax : 11th September 2008 at 12:04. Reason: Added text