Old 31st August 2013, 15:05   #7981

re: The "USED" Car Price Check Thread. (Online tool : Page 1)

Originally Posted by devilwearsprada View Post
I was looking for a used swift and found this on our sale section?
http://classifieds.team-bhp.com/buy-...ti/Swift.html/
Kms - 590000. Typo or a Horrendous mistake? :O
Its a typo for sure.
A Swift wont make it till 5.9L kms.

Last edited by akshay4587 : 31st August 2013 at 15:06.
Old 31st August 2013, 16:26   #7982

Just wanted to add, my Boss sold her Wagon-R, 2010 model, black, VXi, 17,000 kilometers on the clock, single owner, and serviced at MASS all the time for 3,00,000. The car was sold through Olx and she got plenty of calls from the moment the advertisement was placed. The highest quote she got was 3,10,000 and the lowest she got was 2,25,000
Old 31st August 2013, 20:23   #7983

My friend intends to sell his SX4 vxi , 2009 model registered in 2010 January which has run for 25000 Kms , single owner and used sparingly. Confused on how much it can listed at, any suggestions would be welcome.
Old 31st August 2013, 21:08   #7984

Originally Posted by mazda4life View Post
My friend intends to sell his SX4 vxi , 2009 model registered in 2010 January which has run for 25000 Kms , single owner and used sparingly. Confused on how much it can listed at, any suggestions would be welcome.
Please mention the place of registration of the vehicle. The resale value varies in different states accordingly.
Old 31st August 2013, 21:36   #7985
nmo

Originally Posted by HydroFuel View Post
Buyer please check the prices and availability Of spares first. I have heard a Baleno owner telling traffic hawaldar, that it's bumper costs 9000 rupees. Also on this very forum someone has mentioned that service Centre sometime try to put Esteems parts on Baleno.
One does not necessarily need to go to Maruti service centre for Baleno repairs. There are many competent independent workshops available in most cities that can do 90% of the repairs that a Baleno would require. I have owned an Esteem VXi since 2005 and till 2010, I used to go to Maruti authorized Service Centre for repairs. I realized that I was getting ripped for even minor repairs and small issues were not being taken care of. For example, I replaced winder mechanism of front left window thrice at a Maruti authorized service centre and the problem used to recur after couple of months. Ended up changing almost everything except the glass - motor, guides etc. I can cite at least 20 different issues that did not get fixed at the authorized service centre despite multiple visits and constant follow-ups. After that I identified specialists and most of the issues have been sorted out. My repair bills has reduced by half and the car is in much better shape than when it used to go to maruti authorized service centre. MGP parts are available in the market so maintaining any Maruti car is not such a big deal.

Baleno parts are more expensive than Esteem but compared to other cars in the short-list, Baleno would be cheaper to maintain. It is certainly one car that does not really require that many repairs anyway.

For body parts like bumpers, kabadiwalas are always an option.
Old 1st September 2013, 14:19   #7986

Getting a car for my Mom in Ranchi.

Have been offered a November 2010 Honda City S MT - White Color with 18,xxx kms on the odo.

The seller is quoting 4.75 Lakhs for the car after negotiation.

The car will only be used in the city and with 2/3 +1(driver)

I have managed to see the pictures and apart from a few minor scratches it looks clean.

The only issue is that it has been serviced only once.

Is it a good price and what all should we get checked/serviced if we buy it?

We plan to use the car for next 3 years maximum.
Old 1st September 2013, 17:06   #7987

Originally Posted by rd_maverick View Post

Getting a car for my Mom in Ranchi.

Have been offered a November 2010 Honda City S MT - White Color with 18,xxx kms on the odo.

The seller is quoting 4.75 Lakhs for the car after negotiation.

The car will only be used in the city and with 2/3 +1(driver)

I have managed to see the pictures and apart from a few minor scratches it looks clean.

The only issue is that it has been serviced only once.

Is it a good price and what all should we get checked/serviced if we buy it?

We plan to use the car for next 3 years maximum.

The price is excelllent comparable to Mumbai prices. Pick it up. The engine is bullet proof if its serviced timely. A general check up of suspension, leaks if any, electricals, clutch, brakes, corrosion and alignment.
Old 1st September 2013, 19:12   #7988

A cousin of mine and her husband were offered a 2012 Merc C Class CDI Kompressor by a Merc dealer for 25lacs. Its done about 12k kms and she said its in scratchless condition. There is still a 2yr unlimited warranty remaining is what she said. Though she mentions its a C220, i think its a C250 since am not sure Merc has a 220 CDI.

She asked me if its a good deal and given that a new one today costs around 35lacs ex-showroom, i'm inclined to saying yes. They are a small family of 2+1 and are sedate drivers. The car would be driven by my bro-in-law who is a doctor.

Can anyone help with:
1. If the C250 CDI is a good car to own in the long term. They dont switch cars often and don't do big miles (10k kms/year).
2. Given that they are not going to drive like crazy or go ever on long drive or have a driver, is it a good drive in the city for daily use?
3. Is 2yrs warranty enough for this car? Should they get extension?
4. Are there any white elephants hidden that they should know of? In terms of costs of ownership (but its only 1yr old).
5. What are typical merc service costs? Is the service frequent?

Thanks a ton!!
Old 1st September 2013, 21:56   #7989

Originally Posted by singleton View Post
Also how does that compare against Fgo ZXI petrol, 2010 model, run 22K kms. Asking price is 3.2lks. Going to see the car today afternoon.

ow does Figo ZXI compare against Swift LXI
Figo has come down to 3 lakhs. Took some test drives and the vehicle is decent and my mechanic also vouches for this.

But now there is a complication. The guy (Y) who is selling the car bought it from the original owner (X) 2 months back, but now wants to sell it as he(Y) is getting his family car (as told to me by him). The registration is still in the first owner's (X) name who has moved to US now.

I have seen the sale letters signed by the original owner, but now my question is this
1. Is there any problem that I should anticipate? If I am buying this car, on records I will be the 2nd owner. It will look like I have bought this car from a guy who has left for US 3 months back - if there was an accident or any other issue in that time frame, who will be responsible?

2. There is no Loan closure statements and the guy claims that there was no loan on the car. How do I check if the car had a loan ? Will RTO allow ownership transfers if the hypothecation is still on (My RTO is different from the first owners RTO)

Need urgent help on these please.
Old 1st September 2013, 22:05   #7990

Originally Posted by Nilesh5417 View Post
A cousin of mine and her husband were offered a 2012 Merc C Class CDI Kompressor by a Merc dealer for 25lacs. Its done about 12k kms and she said its in scratchless condition. There is still a 2yr unlimited warranty remaining is what she said. Though she mentions its a C220, i think its a C250 since am not sure Merc has a 220 CDI.

I don't think CDI and Kompressor badges come on the same variant. CDI is for diesel and the latter for petrol.
Also, Mercedes offers c220 cdi along with c200 cgi. The c250cdi got discontinued a while back (not completely sure on this though).

The buyer should definitely opt for extended warranty if possible.

Last edited by StrangeWizard : 1st September 2013 at 22:09.
Old 1st September 2013, 22:25   #7991

Originally Posted by singleton

Figo has come down to 3 lakhs. Took some test drives and the vehicle is decent and my mechanic also vouches for this.

But now there is a complication. The guy (Y) who is selling the car bought it from the original owner (X) 2 months back, but now wants to sell it as he(Y) is getting his family car (as told to me by him). The registration is still in the first owner's (X) name who has moved to US now.

I have seen the sale letters signed by the original owner, but now my question is this
1. Is there any problem that I should anticipate? If I am buying this car, on records I will be the 2nd owner. It will look like I have bought this car from a guy who has left for US 3 months back - if there was an accident or any other issue in that time frame, who will be responsible?

2. There is no Loan closure statements and the guy claims that there was no loan on the car. How do I check if the car had a loan ? Will RTO allow ownership transfers if the hypothecation is still on (My RTO is different from the first owners RTO)

Need urgent help on these please.
A lot of people don't transfer cars. And hence what you are facing is a common issue. Make sure you get delivery notes and an MOU signed that will hold as proof that you have bought the vehicle now and not three months back. Make sure you also get a copy of ID of Y.
Being the 2nd owner (instead of 3rd) on the RC will aid you whenever you resell this car.
Any Loan/Hyphothetication or Lease is usually mentioned on the RC. You could also use the Vahaan SMS service to check this out, if it is active in the particular area.
If there is a Hypo then you will have to get an NOC from the Financial Institution before transfer
Old 2nd September 2013, 07:37   #7992

I have been offered a I 20 diesel, 2012 model sports variant, which has run for 8k kms. I have seen the car and is in stock condition. There are no scratches or anything visible on the same. The owner is asking for 7 lakhs. Would this be a good deal
Old 2nd September 2013, 07:56   #7993

Originally Posted by mohandasnikhil View Post
Any Loan/Hyphothetication or Lease is usually mentioned on the RC. You could also use the Vahaan SMS service to check this out, if it is active in the particular area.
If there is a Hypo then you will have to get an NOC from the Financial Institution before transfer
Thanks. But since the RC is now a smart card, I have heard that the hypothecation details are not mentioned on the card (in Karnataka, K R Puram RTO). Also Vahan site is not working nowadays for this service. SO not sure how to go about this.
Old 2nd September 2013, 09:35   #7994

Originally Posted by singleton

Thanks. But since the RC is now a smart card, I have heard that the hypothecation details are not mentioned on the card (in Karnataka, K R Puram RTO). Also Vahan site is not working nowadays for this service. SO not sure how to go about this.
The RC even though a Smart Card, does show the hypo details. At least in Maharashtra it is clearly mentioned and I would think that it is standard across India. Maybe someone from KA can update us on this.
Old 2nd September 2013, 10:01   #7995

Originally Posted by mohandasnikhil View Post

The RC even though a Smart Card, does show the hypo details. At least in Maharashtra it is clearly mentioned and I would think that it is standard across India. Maybe someone from KA can update us on this.
Same is the case with Gujarat. RC card clearly mentions the hypo details. And once the loan is paid off you get a NOC kind of a letter from bank. And I am not 100% sure but I think one can get a new rc card by paying a small fee and submitting that letter from bank to thr RTO.