Old 11th December 2014, 14:55   #8341

Re: Ford EcoSport : Official Review

Have done about 1300 kms thus far and have taken a couple of real nasty jolts going into hidden 'craters' at night. Will this affect the tyre alignment - or can it wait for the 2500 kms free service?
Also - my usual tyre alignment chappies tell me to keep the fifth tyre as spare (unused) and use it only at the time of changing tyres - buying only 3 new tyres at that time. Sound advice?
Old 11th December 2014, 17:23   #8342

Originally Posted by wilful View Post
Have done about 1300 kms thus far and have taken a couple of real nasty jolts going into hidden 'craters' at night. Will this affect the tyre alignment - or can it wait for the 2500 kms free service?
If you're not noticing any abnormal pulling to one side (on a flat straight road, take your hands off the steering), or vibrations that vary with speed, you should be fine for the remaining 1000 kilometres.

If in doubt, go to a wheel alignment/balancing centre and get a check done, and instruct your service advisor not to do this during your regular service.

I personally prefer going to specialists for wheel alignment and balancing (and not the dealer's service centre), so WA+WB is not tied to service intervals.

From personal experience, I can tell you that the EcoSport suspension makes quite a racket when you hit large potholes (a.k.a. craters) at speed - something to do with the way the suspension is set up (I think it bottoms out at times). The first time I heard this, I thought "That's it, vehicle's totalled!"

Tip - check that your headlight alignment is set to position '0' - this increases the throw of the low beam. Try using the fogs to also spot pot holes.

Originally Posted by wilful View Post
Also - my usual tyre alignment chappies tell me to keep the fifth tyre as spare (unused) and use it only at the time of changing tyres - buying only 3 new tyres at that time. Sound advice?
Don't. Just don't. Your car touches the road at just 4 patches, why mess with the quality of those patches.

Tyres wear out with use, and with age. The rubber will harden, which will worsen grip and make the tire more susceptible to punctures and damage (e.g. sidewall tears on impact).

So, some years down the line, your spare tire will be as old and hard as the other 4 tires, even though its treads are fresh and deep.

This is why we're asked to ensure that the manufacturing date of a tire isn't too old when we buy tires.
arunphilip is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 11th December 2014, 18:31   #8343

Originally Posted by arunphilip View Post
If you're not noticing any abnormal pulling to one side (on a flat straight road, take your hands off the steering), or vibrations that vary with speed, you should be fine for the remaining 1000 kilometres.

From personal experience, I can tell you that the EcoSport suspension makes quite a racket when you hit large potholes (a.k.a. craters) at speed - something to do with the way the suspension is set up (I think it bottoms out at times). The first time I heard this, I thought "That's it, vehicle's totalled!"

Tip - check that your headlight alignment is set to position '0' - this increases the throw of the low beam. Try using the fogs to also spot pot holes.

Don't. Just don't. Your car touches the road at just 4 patches, why mess with the quality of those patches.

Tyres wear out with use, and with age. The rubber will harden, which will worsen grip and make the tire more susceptible to punctures and damage (e.g. sidewall tears on impact).

So, some years down the line, your spare tire will be as old and hard as the other 4 tires, even though its treads are fresh and deep.

This is why we're asked to ensure that the manufacturing date of a tire isn't too old when we buy tires.
Thank you very much for those useful tips. Yes it made quite a crashing sound when we (actually my son was driving) hit that deep pit of a pothole last night. With visibility rendered worse by a slight drizzle he just didn't see it. And like you mentioned, I asked him to switch on the fog lamps right away. Spent the remainder of the evening brooding over it.
Old 11th December 2014, 21:08   #8344

Guys I am looking for a new vehicle. I am really confused between Ford Fiesta 2014 and Ford Ecosport. The price difference between Ecosport Trend and Fiesta Ambiente is very less. Now please help me as to which one should I go for. I am finding Fiesta better but still I need your opinion. Hope to hear soon.
Old 11th December 2014, 22:31   #8345

Originally Posted by HappyRoadie View Post
Guys I am looking for a new vehicle. I am really confused between Ford Fiesta 2014 and Ford Ecosport. The price difference between Ecosport Trend and Fiesta Ambiente is very less. Now please help me as to which one should I go for. I am finding Fiesta better but still I need your opinion. Hope to hear soon.
Fiesta IT IS... No doubts. Ecosport looks like contraption on road. It's neither here nor there.
Fiesta looks like well grown sedan, and with those Astin Martin looks, simply delicious.
Don't waste your money on ecosport.
harishpr is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th December 2014, 04:49   #8346

I am really confused between Ford Fiesta 2014 and Ford Ecosport.
While you've not mentioned what are the factors that are important to you, to decide between the two...

I am finding Fiesta better
... your heart has already decided what it wants. Go for the Fiesta
arunphilip is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th December 2014, 06:25   #8347

Thanks a lot guys for your help. I want that the car should have nice ride and handling. And it should carry 5 people in comfort. Mostly there will be 4 passengers but sometimes 5 passengers. The base variant of Fiesta is quite loaded with features. It has ABS with EBD, driver side airbag, all 4 power window, rear defogger etc. So now I think that my decision was right. I will either go with brown color or black.
Old 12th December 2014, 08:11   #8348

Ah, so here come the factors important to you.

I want that the car should have nice ride and handling.
Handling:
  • The EcoSport has good handling - for a compact SUV.
  • However, it just cannot be compared to the Fiesta's phenomenal handling and steering feel.
  • Advantage: Fiesta

Ride:
  • The EcoSport's ride is not the best, it is firm and tends towards the harsh.
  • The segment leader for compact SUVs is the Duster.
  • The Fiesta's ride, while firm and taut, is better than the EcoSport.
  • Advantage: Fiesta (when compared to the EcoSport)

And it should carry 5 people in comfort. Mostly there will be 4 passengers but sometimes 5 passengers.
Passenger Seating:
  • So we're now treading on territory that Fords struggle in, generally.
  • Neither the EcoSport nor Fiesta are comfortable for 5 people. These aren't Logans to take 3 in the rear seat comfortably.
  • 4 occupants - absolutely fine. 5 - manageable.
  • The EcoSport gives better visibility for the passengers. The Fiesta is a little more claustrophobic in the back seat due to the rising window line. This won't matter for kids, but elders would prefer better visibility.
  • Entry and egress are superb in the EcoSport - you just walk into it like a tallboy hatch, while you sit down/climb out of the Fiesta. Again, this depends on whether your passengers are primarily kids or elders.
  • Advantage: Let your test drive decide.

Conclusion:
  • If ride and handling are primary concerns, and the passengers are secondary, then its hands down the Fiesta.
  • If passenger seating is an equally important concern, then keep your options open and do a test drive with your passengers.
  • Don't rule out vehicles from outside the Ford stable too
arunphilip is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th December 2014, 10:11   #8349

Originally Posted by harishpr View Post
Fiesta IT IS... No doubts. Ecosport looks like contraption on road. It's neither here nor there.
Fiesta looks like well grown sedan, and with those Astin Martin looks, simply delicious.
Don't waste your money on ecosport.
Woo hoo! Strong words, and particularly on this thread. It's best to do this on some other thread.

Most owners here are extremely happy with the Ecosport and the car really hasn't too many niggles. At the same time, it delivers a great comprehensive package for those of us, who tend to look beyond words like low-slung, butch etc.
I would say that most people who have used the Ecosport have enjoyed the practicality it offers.
roy_libran is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 12th December 2014, 10:20   #8350

Originally Posted by roy_libran View Post
I would say that most people who have used the Ecosport have enjoyed the practicality it offers.
I think that's an excellent way of differentiating it - practicality vs. passion.

The features I like in the EcoSport are practical ones, like:
  • High seating position - for both visibility and reducing headlight glare
  • Ease of entry/egress
  • Compact dimensions
  • Safety kit

However, features that invoke passion in an enthusiast are handling, power, etc. which the EcoSport is weaker on in comparison to the Fiesta.

And yes, with respect to the post you quoted, looks are subjective and I like the looks of both the EcoSport and Fiesta
Old 12th December 2014, 11:59   #8351

Originally Posted by roy_libran View Post
Woo hoo! Strong words, and particularly on this thread. It's best to do this on some other thread.

Most owners here are extremely happy with the Ecosport and the car really hasn't too many niggles. At the same time, it delivers a great comprehensive package for those of us, who tend to look beyond words like low-slung, butch etc.
Hear hear! While 'beauty is in the eyes of the beholder' or 'one man's food...' and so on - methinks contraption (in its negative connotation) is a trifle too strong a word for Ecosport. Of course there are many who hate its looks and will disagree with me. And yes - I'm beginning to love the practicality it brings to the table.
wilful is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 12th December 2014, 12:11   #8352

Originally Posted by arunphilip View Post
I think that's an excellent way of differentiating it - practicality vs. passion.

The features I like in the EcoSport are practical ones, like:
  • High seating position - for both visibility and reducing headlight glare
  • Ease of entry/egress
  • Compact dimensions
  • Safety kit
However, features that invoke passion in an enthusiast are handling, power, etc. which the EcoSport is weaker on in comparison to the Fiesta.

And yes, with respect to the post you quoted, looks are subjective and I like the looks of both the EcoSport and Fiesta
Exactly. I have the same to point out. Wife saw the car and fell for it on the spot. I had no intention to change my car but on seeing the Ecosport I was drawn towards it. Selling my old car, booking the ecosport happened in couple of days. I should say it's more of a passion rather than practicality as Arun pointed out. Of course, there are better cars when compared to the Ecosport but many points ticked for me which I had in mind when upgrading my car. When compared to my Swift, I know I made the right move and I am totally in love with car. So it's basically a personal choice rather than public view. I am sure many will agree with me.
naveen.raju is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th December 2014, 12:30   #8353

Given a choice between these two variants, its better to choose Fiesta Ambiente as it has at least driver side airbag where Ecosport Trend variant has none.

If I were you, I would buy Ecosport Titanium eyes closed solely for the features and practicality it offers.
Old 12th December 2014, 14:18   #8354

Guys, need some help here.
Was out of station for a couple of days so a family member might have driven my Ecosport while i was gone. After returning yesterday i can see the "i" - info light on the ICE display is continuously glowing. After going to the system status option in the main menu i see the following message - " Key Outside Car".
This doesn't make sense as the car is working properly and i have the keys in my pocket as always.
Kindly shed some light on this.

Old 12th December 2014, 14:31   #8355

Originally Posted by sidenzo View Post
i can see the "i" - info light on the ICE display is continuously glowing. After going to the system status option in the main menu i see the following message - " Key Outside Car".This doesn't make sense as the car is working properly and i have the keys in my pocket as always.
The battery in your key fob seems to be weakening.

Firstly, try using your spare key fob. If the problem doesn't occur, then its almost certainly the battery that needs changing (instructions below).
Name:  EcoSport  Key Remote Battery.gif
Views: 2501
Size:  65.5 KB