Old 5th December 2022, 17:13   #2011

Re: Mahindra Scorpio-N Review

Finally, a video of the Z4 variant:

Last edited by naru80 : 5th December 2022 at 17:23.
naru80 is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 5th December 2022, 17:18   #2012

My take on Scorpio N

Just out of curiosity I had logged on to the website of Mahindra Auto and saw the adverts of Scorpio N and I was curious to check about the vehicle. Hence read the review on this thread first and then contacted Ananth Cars on Bannerghatta Road and the dealership immediately despatched the petrol top end MT at my residence. Test drive the vehicle with my son and here are my observations:

Pros:
1. Absolute head turner. Everyone in my apartment was looking at the vehicle
2. Flows like a breeze on potholed or no roads. Took the vehicle to some desolate stretch on BG road and it drove like charm
3. Sitting stance is monster! You feel like owning the road. Coming from an MPV, I felt like sitting on top of a 20th floor apartment. Gives clear view of the road
4. Aircon during daytime sun was working absolutely awesome
5. Door closes with proper “thud” and not the “thuk” of Marutis or Toyotas.
6. Spacious front and middle seats. Rear seats are also practical.
7. Fat tyres on the car

Cons:
1. Funny waiting period of 10 months
2. I am not sure of driving this car at 110-120 kmph fearing it may not corner well
3. You need to climb on to all the seats
4. Captain seats not available in any trim except for Z8L
5. The car got stalled frequently in gear number 2. My existing Honda Jazz pulls through gear number 2 with ease while negotiating speed humps
6. After sales service and support seem to be a hit and miss considering the niggles reported by the owners in this thread.

My SA was very courteous and he knew about the vehicle in detail and was patiently answering all my queries.

Here are the few photographs taken.
Mahindra Scorpio-N Review-d2aeb22a646141b5817ea1ca216fc616.jpeg  

Mahindra Scorpio-N Review-855a73fdc447482487b39e23e151fc85.jpeg  

Mahindra Scorpio-N Review-107bafc1080b41f684ea8939236eac29.jpeg  

Mahindra Scorpio-N Review-4f9f1a8c83154942ba7eff43ca57c7e9.jpeg  

Mahindra Scorpio-N Review-12e3c1f8136446f794f1e87736ced66a.jpeg  

Mahindra Scorpio-N Review-b37ee1991ecb4bce8af1dc629b57335d.jpeg  

Mahindra Scorpio-N Review-b57bb1311a55440390d6c9f67521f7cf.jpeg  

Mahindra Scorpio-N Review-e854d67031c04d0192b64b4a78271026.jpeg  

Mahindra Scorpio-N Review-5ee6c1b34d0f4b14a8b50e1b371431ec.jpeg  

Mahindra Scorpio-N Review-938409d747494598b12c55f306e2200b.jpeg  

MDED is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 5th December 2022, 19:10   #2013

Hello everyone!
Today I received a call for the rubber bellow replacement in the bell housing. I want to enquire if anyone else has received the call for same and if they have, does anyone know what exactly would they replace and what’s the procedure involved? They want me to leave the car with them for a day and half. Doesn’t give me alot of confidence to let them rip apart a new transmission. Kindly pass any and all information available for this.
TIA

Shrey
Old 5th December 2022, 19:30   #2014

The booking details section is not showing up for me on Mahindra website. The one which displayed which stage your car is in. Is it just for me or others are also facing this issue?
Old 5th December 2022, 20:14   #2015

Originally Posted by Shrey1230 View Post
Doesn’t give me alot of confidence to let them rip apart a new transmission. Kindly pass any and all information available for this.
It is a routine work similar to removing the transmission for replacing the clutch plates \ slave cylinder etc.
Kosfactor is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th December 2022, 22:54   #2016

The recent accident photographs of Scorpio Classic available on social media are not confidence inspiring. The bonnet condition was almost like any Maruti Suzuki car. A pillar was also severely damaged and bent.

Scorpio N build quality will be more like the Scorpio classic or the Thar? Also, there was a fatal accident of a red Thar and the honeymoon couple didn't survive near Manali.
Old 5th December 2022, 23:27   #2017

Originally Posted by Kosfactor View Post
It is a routine work similar to removing the transmission for replacing the clutch plates \ slave cylinder etc.
Thank you for you reply.

I did some digging around and found the exact part that Mahindra has issued a recall for in the Scorpio N and the XUV700 MT. It is the Concentric Slave Cylinder (CSC) [Part No. 0802CAA07471N] which goes inside the transmission bell housing (the rear half) and has a rubber bellow in between which is responsible for the recoil action of the clutch pedal.
The recall can be in regards to a few Scorpio N’s which suffered the infamous Clutch Slave Cylinder failure which resulted in the clutch pedal being stuck at the bottom and not recoiling back. Although as mentioned by @Kosfactor that is a routine work, it surely is a bit disheartening to see someone’s new Scorpio N’s transaxle box being taken out along with the propeller shaft for something that would’ve been easily rectified with a stringent QC at the plant. But it is what it is.
I’m attaching photos of the part that is being changed along with the placement of the CSC. They all were garnered by me and belong to their respective owners.

Mahindra Scorpio-N Review-efc6d8caa7fe4fa6b542326499b76c92.png

Mahindra Scorpio-N Review-a59f4f28d58e4207a5591f73e06cd8e1.png

Mahindra Scorpio-N Review-12e6ab61af0c472482271ad8a3365c78.jpeg
Scorpio N’s CSC

Mahindra Scorpio-N Review-a3111687c9634a6c8736220cbcf7e9ca.jpeg
Placement of the CSC in the 2019 Scorpio

Shrey
Shrey1230 is online now   (5) Thanks
Old 5th December 2022, 23:49   #2018

Originally Posted by BangaloreCarrer View Post

However, a service package is definitely recommended considering the service cost escalation with ageing.
While I had enquired for a service pack, I understand that they don't have one for now.

Unlike luxury cars or cars known for having expensive and unreliable parts (Skoda, dsg VW, Jeep etc) it's not worth getting a service package for mass market cars. Not only do you have to pay extra money upfront, it also stops you from going to any 3rd party garage for any simple issues since you now have a service package and extended warranty on the line that they can void. To make it all worse, there is no guarantee that they will even do any of the items they bill to anyway and the service package is calculated on a "worse case" basis and you won't even need half the things on there.

Just pay for the service costs out of pocket till the warranty expires and then go outside for oil changes, alignment etc while only doing pms from the dealership.
Cresterk is online now   (3) Thanks
Old 6th December 2022, 19:09   #2019

Getting my Z8L G RWD in a week according to the dealer. Planning to get few accessories from dealer
1. PPF Self heal without roof - 1.35 lakhs
2. 7D floor mat - 10k

PPF looks expensive to me brand mentioned was UltraKool. Any thoughts?

Last edited by vinbie2019 : 6th December 2022 at 19:27.
Old 6th December 2022, 21:06   #2020

ESC available as optional in Z2 and Z4 MT variants as per brochure in Mahindra website.
VRSriram is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 7th December 2022, 10:42   #2021

Just received a call from the Team of Mahindra Engineers at Chakan Plant. They wanted feedback on my experience with vehicle and suggestion for improvement if any.

I had made a list of all the shortcomings in the vehicle, like Boot Space, 3rd Row Seat Folding Mechanism, Auto IVRM, Lack of Memory Function for Powered Driver Seat, Lack of space in the glovebox etc; gathered from my drive experience as well as from the experiences shared by other Team-BHP users. I provided them my feedback, hoping they will improve the Scorpio-N whenever there is a facelift! duh:
Rahkehs is online now   (3) Thanks
Old 7th December 2022, 11:52   #2022

Originally Posted by Rahkehs View Post
Just received a call from the Team of Mahindra Engineers at Chakan Plant. They wanted feedback on my experience with vehicle and suggestion for improvement if any.

I had made a list of all the shortcomings in the vehicle,
Why don't you share the list here? It might be helpful for others as well.
Old 7th December 2022, 13:42   #2023

Originally Posted by krinpit View Post
Why don't you share the list here? It might be helpful for others as well.
Some of my observations/suggestion shared with Mahindra Engineers not necessarily in this order:
1. Same power and Torque as XUV 700
2. Better folding mechanism for 3rd Row seat to release more space in the boot. Something similar to Fortuner.
3. Larger Glove Box
4. Memory function for powered seat which otherwise is a useless feature.
5. Electronic parking Brake
6. Auto dimming IVRM or if possible offer it as an accessory.
7. 360 degree camera
8. Sliding second row and more incline range
9. Rear Wiper Design which is currently in “L” Shape may be changed to cover whole glass area.
10. Telescopic Steering
11. Ambient Lighting
12. Mute button should pause the song being played like XUV 500.
13. Auto Boost Headlamp like XUV 700.
14. Hydraulic support for bonnet.
15. Front Height Adjustable Seat Belt and 3 point seat belt for middle row passenger in rear.
16. Positioning of mode selector switch and knob in 4WD variants and provision of some accessory to cover the knob, since kids inadvertently press the buttons.
17. Standard Tire sizes which are readily available in market, the manual as well as the AT are having weird tire sizes.
18. Availability of Second key and Apple Car Play
19. Mud Flaps should be provided as standard and not as accessory.
20. A larger Infotainment screen
Rahkehs is online now   (4) Thanks
Old 7th December 2022, 14:03   #2024

Can anyone please enlighten whether the MT Scorpio-N has a dead pedal? Also, if one fits a 12V socket in the front with a connection from the fuse box with a proper fuse tap, is it going to void the warranty?
Old 7th December 2022, 15:50   #2025

Originally Posted by ankan.m.blr View Post
Can anyone please enlighten whether the MT Scorpio-N has a dead pedal? Also, if one fits a 12V socket in the front with a connection from the fuse box with a proper fuse tap, is it going to void the warranty?
There is a dead pedal in MT variants. You can check out the recent photographs posted in the booking status thread. It is clearly visible.

For 12 VDC power socket, I guess lower variants like Z2 and Z4 have this in Central Console? Can someone please confirm.

Last edited by RijuC : 7th December 2022 at 15:51.
RijuC is offline   (1) Thanks