Old 22nd November 2024, 20:59   #1771

Re: Mahindra Thar Roxx Review

Mahindra Thar 2nd generation sales cross 2 lakh units.

Thar has achieved this milestone in a little over 4 years following the Roxx’s launch in August.

Link:
sharmanova is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd November 2024, 21:12   #1772

Originally Posted by GautamJ View Post
We cancelled our booking for the AX7L 4WD Battleship Grey with Mocha Interiors, it was an unofficial booking.
Finally, I received the complete refund today (without any cancellation charges). I had a very poor experience with Randhawa Motors (Vikroli, Mumbai). The management is not responsive, and it was disappointing to see no one from Mahindra even attempt to listen to the concerns of a customer .
After such an experience, it is uncertain whether the after-sales service will be adequate to address the issues with their heavily loaded cars. Consequently, I have abandoned my plan to purchase the XUV 7OO as well.
Old 22nd November 2024, 21:15   #1773

Re: Mahindra Thar - The Tyre & Wheel upgrade thread

Originally Posted by vellatechie View Post
3. Checkout a reputed tyre shops near your place and see if you can get Roxx alloys from them. I have been quoted 35K for 4x18inch ROXX alloys.
35k for 18' genuine mahindra roxx alloys is a steal deal. Kindly share address once you get them installed.

Mahindra showroom is quoting 64k for the same alloys!!
Old 23rd November 2024, 01:04   #1774

Originally Posted by axlerod View Post
Took delivery of the vehicle yesterday. During the inspection noticed that the interiors were soiled in placed (handprints / smudges). Since many other BHPians here had reported similar experiences, I knew that there is nothing that can be done about it. Even though I asked the dealer to clean it, nothing much happened. Besides this the delivery experience was top notch

In a day or so I'll post my experience and feedback
Originally Posted by Laks View Post
Congratulations!! and the pics too please.
So here is my personal feedback. Photographs are due and I will post them subsequently they will follow the theme of my below review

A little background first: This is my fourth Mahindra BOF SUV. All three previous ones have been Scorpios. My immediate previous vehicle is a 4WD Scorpio with torsion bars up front (this will come in focus a little later). Going by the pattern I should have bought a new ScorpioN but at the risk of striking a fierce debate allow me to say that the ScorpioN does not belong in the same family even

I am going to express what difference I felt. For reference, I have never driven a monocoque vehicle. In fact I have never been on the steering wheel of a car which has an infotainment screen or any of the modern bells and whistles. So this one was a very interesting experience

The vehicle (AX7L 4WD D Manual) was delivered to me with 59 kilometres on the odometer. It was one of the first vehicles of its class delivered in our city and that made me very happy. I have driven it about 350 kms since then. On the day of delivery the interiors were very dirty. The driver's seat had all its plastic removed and there were hand prints on the roof. The driver's seat has a prominent bum print on it and it was very off putting. Considering my 25 year experience with Mahindra I knew that there is no point cribbing about it. I did bring it to the notice of the dealership and they promptly got one of their guys to try clean it all up. He was armed with a bottle of Collin and a dirty cloth. After a couple of his tries, I granted him relief and told him to go and work his magic elsewhere. Don't need to explicitly say that his efforts were all in vain

Besides this the car was in good shape. I believe that some social media enthusiasts had surely gotten their hands on it as the 'skyroof' also had lots of hand marks. The engine bay was clean and I check the vehicle from underneath. She had not been taken in any muck or such

Now comparing it with my everyday ride (Mahindra Scorpio VLX 4WD D MT)

What I don't like:
- The ride on the new car is bouncy. I am diligent about all small details so that includes the tyre pressure as well. They are inflated to the manufacturer recommended pressure. However considering my Scorpio with a torsion bar set up in the front, on the same road and with the same hand behind the wheel, the Thar is bouncier (not something which is the end of the world, but worth mentioning nonetheless)
- I do not like the automatic breaking assist at all. In our traffic it slams on the brakes and engages the parking brake. This could lead to someone rear ending our car. I've shifted it from normal to 'Late' today and will see how that fairs out. I could have switched it off altogether, however that gives a warning on the screen which is an eyesore and I don't like it. It's a gimmick which I've turned off. It's not a fault. Why show a warning?
- The 4L is a hit or miss exercise to engage. Should have been a smooth shift
- When engaging the third gear sometimes the finger toggles the terrain modes (the 4EXPLOR modes, not the Drive Modes as the 4WD Manual does not have drive modes)
- The wireless charging pad is a hit or miss at best for smaller form factor iPhones. It looks more designed for larger screen android phones and I keep getting a warning about how I should reposition my device in case I want it to charge
- There is no Apple Car Play available, wired or wireless. Dealership says it will be available after 2 months

What I like:
- There are so many bells and whistles. Oh, I'm smitten. It might be the end to me being a crude, rustic, outdoorsy buffoon. Although that's a long shot but my spouse has high hopes always!
- I like the cable operated gear box. I guess this is what a small car's gearbox feels like. The gears slot into place with such a click. Like when engaging third gear I don't even have to push all the way into the slot. I just have to show it the way and it eventually finds its own way into the right place. I know that's not best for the mechanics but still it's so satisfying on so many levels (however I have to confess at this point, when I start an SUV I, like every old Gen X fella here, keeps their hand on the gear lever, and I expect that gear lever to rattle the living daylights out of my fist. If I am wearing an automatic watch then I expect the gear lever to wind my automatic watch enough to last me the next 48 hours by God!! However that is not the case here. There is no reverse feedback on the gear shift at all)
- I like the connected car tech. There is so much potential with what they can do with this (privacy conscious people like me watch out)
- I was really impressed with the feature where there is the possibility of the two key fobs having their own infotainment profiles pre selected! Amazing

I will surely share more feedback as I drive the car more. I am planning to take it for a long drive (long drive by my standards is 7k - 8k kms). When I do that I will try my best to share more nuances that I come across

In earnest I feel that the vehicle is definitely a step forward. There are so many new things in it that the missing few old traits are not entirely missed. People like us who are even noticing those things are on the decline anyways! We must remember that there has never been a person younger than us on the face of this planet since the moment we were born!!
axlerod is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 23rd November 2024, 02:30   #1775

Originally Posted by himanshu_j View Post
Mind sharing where you have been servicing the past 3 years if not Koncept?

I actually follow Ayam Ibotomocha around, he's a genius. He was at Extra Edge which is where i was going, its a really great workshop, run by an ex-army chap only service, I would rate them 8/10. Its right behind Ardee Mall in GGN.

Ayam is at Malwa now near Britannia Factory so i guess my next visit is there.
shady_lawyer is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd November 2024, 08:02   #1776

Originally Posted by shady_lawyer View Post
I actually follow Ayam Ibotomocha around, he's a genius. He was at Extra Edge which is where i was going, its a really great workshop, run by an ex-army chap only service, I would rate them 8/10. Its right behind Ardee Mall in GGN.

Ayam is at Malwa now near Britannia Factory so i guess my next visit is there.
Are they an authorised service partner? Won't vehicle warranty be void if serviced outside of company workshops?
Old 23rd November 2024, 09:09   #1777

Originally Posted by LowRpmHighTorq View Post
35k for 18' genuine mahindra roxx alloys is a steal deal.
No way. These should be much cheaper. I have been offered a set of 5 for 30K which I am sure will drop even more.

The reason is that the number of people upgrading their 18/ 19 with aftermarket will be very high. You can look at any videos from Ludhiana only. So, all these OEM rims will be sold for peanuts. Very few will consider buying OE 18inch when the options in the market are much more better looking.

I am also in two minds, i.e go with BF that I have and downsize or find something better like Yoko etc in size 19. The problem is the lack of A/T tyres in size 19 currently in the market.

Last edited by Turbanator : 23rd November 2024 at 09:16.
Turbanator is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd November 2024, 13:19   #1778

Friends, thanks for your help regarding insurance premium. It’ll help me while closing the deal with dealer. The car is expected to reach them sometimes next week. Btw, online status still shows ‘Booked’.

Need another help .. dealer is asking me to deposit rs 2-3 lacs in their account and only then will they start the procurement and delivery process. And rest at the time of delivery.
Is it right way ?
Can esteemed members guide me through this important phase of getting the car delivered ? Thanks in advance
a023624a is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd November 2024, 14:58   #1779

No way. These should be much cheaper. I have been offered a set of 5 for 30K which I am sure will drop even more.
Are you sure you're getting 5 OE alloys for 30K from the ROXX and not of 3D Thar?

The reason I am skeptical is that all of ROXXs variants (that have 18 inch wheels) come with a steel spare wheel. So there is no incentive for the shop owners to ruin the set.
vellatechie is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd November 2024, 15:16   #1780

Originally Posted by vellatechie View Post
Are you sure you're getting 5 OE alloys for 30K from the ROXX and not of 3D Thar?
Interesting, this is what he offered. Does Thar get 18 inch wheels as standard? I went through the Thar thread and all I could see is 16 and 17 inch discussions so it never crossed my mind. But you are right, why will anyone offer 5 if manufacturer is not giving. Have dropped message to my supplier to crosscheck with his source.
Mahindra Thar Roxx Review-whatsapp-image-20241122-21.45.25.jpeg  

Old 23rd November 2024, 16:16   #1781

Originally Posted by a023624a View Post
Friends, thanks for your help regarding insurance premium. It’ll help me while closing the deal with dealer. The car is expected to reach them sometimes next week. Btw, online status still shows ‘Booked’.

Need another help .. dealer is asking me to deposit rs 2-3 lacs in their account and only then will they start the procurement and delivery process. And rest at the time of delivery.
Is it right way ?
Can esteemed members guide me through this important phase of getting the car delivered ? Thanks in advance
Yes, the dealer asked me too. They will give you receipt of the same so no harm in going ahead. They are just making sure that you will take the delivery.
Old 23rd November 2024, 16:22   #1782

Interesting, this is what he offered. Does Thar get 18 inch wheels as standard?
18inch is standard in LX variants. I believe AX variants of 3D Thar get smaller wheels.

For 5 set of 18inch 3D Thar alloys, don't pay more than 25-26K.
vellatechie is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 23rd November 2024, 16:30   #1783

Few comments after driving my Nebula Blue AX7L D 4x4 version.

1. The color is great and it appears differently at different angles and different environment ranging from greenish blue to blue and black.
2. Auto start stop troubles a little occasionally, car jumps to go once you start to move .
3. The car does an irritating vibration when one is near an obstacle or a car ahead. Similar thing happens if you try to move the vehicle without seat belt on .
4. I own a hycross and Lane change assist is switched on in it by default and that irritates some times. Thankfully in thar it's off by default.
5. White interiors look great esp as winters are approaching and sunroof is open . Looks very spacious from inside. But of course the cleaning part.
6. Road presence is amazing and it definitely is head turner.
7. The steering wheel is very light and you don't feel you are driving a heavy car like thar.
8. Its my first mahindra and the experience was amazing. Adrenox is also great for managing car from phone.
9. The Harmon kardon speaker system is good but will require tuning to personal preference.

Will update further to fellow bhpians as days pass
Mahindra Thar Roxx Review-screenshot_20241123_161740_gallery.jpg  

Mahindra Thar Roxx Review-20241123_161920.jpg  

Mahindra Thar Roxx Review-screenshot_20241123_161953_whatsapp.jpg  

avreen is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 23rd November 2024, 17:01   #1784

Originally Posted by himanshu_j View Post
Are they an authorised service partner? Won't vehicle warranty be void if serviced outside of company workshops?
Extra Edge is a Mahindra Authorised Workshop. I rate is quite highly

PS: DM me if you have further queries don't want to hijack this Roxxing Thread
shady_lawyer is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd November 2024, 17:12   #1785

Anybody has any experience how to reach to different equalizer modes as seen in diy youtube clip. All I see in mine is Flat and can't reach to Rock or anything else
Mahindra Thar Roxx Review-screenshot_20241123_170952_youtube.jpg  

avreen is offline   (1) Thanks