26 - 50% -- I have a few stocks. 550 44.79%
51 - 75% -- I'm an active trader. 201 16.37%
76 - 100% -- Hey, I'm an i-banker!!! 81 6.60%
Voters: 1228. You may not vote on this poll

Search this Thread
Old 3rd December 2021, 13:06   #4756
BHPian

Re: Do you play the stock market

Needed help regarding old shares held in physical format.

My mom has some old shares which are held by her (in her maiden name) and my grand father (in some cases mom and grand mother) with my mother being the primary holder on such physical share certificates. Both my grand father and grand mother are no more. We came to know of these shares some time back and are now wanting to get them dematerialised in mom's name. What I have understood of the process so far is that:
1) We write to registrar of the company and get the physical shares changed from joint holding (mothers maiden name and grand-parent) to single holding (in mother's married name). New physical shares would be issued with single holder and new name. Is this what is known as transmission of shares as well?
2) Submit the demterialisation request to get the newly issued shares in demat form

It would not be possible to do so in a single step.

Wanted to know if anyone has done a similar exercise and any specific points which need to be factored in?