26 - 50% -- I have a few stocks. 550 44.79%
51 - 75% -- I'm an active trader. 201 16.37%
76 - 100% -- Hey, I'm an i-banker!!! 81 6.60%
Voters: 1228. You may not vote on this poll

Search this Thread
Old 21st October 2021, 15:50   #4711
BHPian

Re: Do you play the stock market

Experts please advise on long term aspects for JK Tyre, Tata Motors and ITC. Are these worth to hold and accumulate for next 10 Years. Any chance on revival of YES Bank.
Old 21st October 2021, 15:55   #4712
Team-BHP Support

Quote:
Originally Posted by fordday View Post
In buyback, the company buys a proportion of shares from the share holders and extinguish it. This reduces the total number of shares. So the share price increases immediately in proportion.
Small correction. You cannot attribute share price action to buyback either. Share price movements before and after corporate announcements like buyback/bonus/share split/dividend/rights issue are just random.

However, buyback increases EPS (earnings per share). So this reduces PE ratio of the company thereby making the company more attractive in valuation. But this also reduces cash balance of the company, possibly affecting its future potential

Quote:
And if the share price increases after bonus, its because of secondary factors.
Right. Best to ignore all types of corporate action and focus on earnings/balance sheet.

In a bear market, all stocks including ones making fancy corporate announcements will fall. Conversely, in a bull market, all stocks including those NOT making any such corporate announcements will rise. Attributing long term stock price action to corporate announcement is just fallacy.

Last edited by SmartCat : 21st October 2021 at 16:08.
SmartCat is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 22nd October 2021, 21:33   #4713
BHPian

Quote:
Originally Posted by DDIS_RE650 View Post