Old 25th August 2010, 11:14   #2206

Originally Posted by Ravveendrra View Post
If this is rhe shop next to the temple, his dry mutton is awesome.
Yes Sir, Its next to Yelamma temple. His food is spicy and great vfm.

Originally Posted by mobike008 View Post
+1. We should continue to explore new restuarants. Wish we can form a sting unit with an agenda to " hunt down new restuarants" each week
Btw, the hotel name in my last post is " Deccan Spice"

Btw, you guys should check out a couple of more that opened in Himayathnagar

1. Pebbles ( Next to KFC, Himayathnagar)
2. Shahji Ka Dhaba ( St No. 7, Himayathnagar)

Both these places serve pretty good food at reasonable prices.
Yes, we need to find some new eateries asap.
I will check out Pebbles this weekend.

Betw: I had been to Mayabazaar last evening and ordered the following (SILVERWOOD +6)

1, Tandoori Chicken-Mild taste, no way near PAKVAAN.
2, Chicken 65-2 No's- Great taste
3, Paneer Tikka- No comments, i did not taste it.
4, Apollo Fish- Try this,will fire up your taste buds
5, Chicken Makhni- 2 No's-Taste was ok, bone less chicken, well cooked
6, Butter naan- 4 No's
7, Pudhina Parantha - Goes well with Chicken Makhni.
8, Egg fried rice-3 No's-I always love this.

Total Damages- Rs 1400 including tips.

Met the owner yesterday, his name is Shashank.
Old 25th August 2010, 11:27   #2207

I agree. Mayabazar Fried Rice is superb like i mentioned during my first visit there. Perfect in its true sense. Long grained rice and very light and fluffy. Almost like the Veg Pulao of Sholay. Perfect !

Btw, was Shashank a recognizable star? Never heard of any of his movies.
Old 25th August 2010, 11:41   #2208

Originally Posted by mobike008 View Post
Btw, was Shashank a recognizable star? Never heard of any of his movies.
Nahi yaar, not at all.

Betw- He also owns a red accent.
A Guide: Eating out in Hyderabad/Secunderabad/Cyberabad-newpganukokundaokaroju101.jpg  

Old 25th August 2010, 11:44   #2209

Originally Posted by SILVERWOOD View Post
Nahi yaar, not at all.

Betw- He also owns a red accent.
Never saw him before. Yes, i know. Its a Red Accent Viva CRDi
Old 25th August 2010, 19:23   #2210

Originally Posted by SILVERWOOD View Post
Yes Sir, Its next to Yelamma temple. His food is spicy and great vfm.
The name is Meghana's Spicy Foods. He is normally sold out by 8.00 p.m.
Old 26th August 2010, 09:25   #2211

Sandarshini Tiffins, Banjara Hills Road Number 1.

Last night I felt like eating a Masala Dosa.
Now you might ask what is so special about a masala dosa, that it warrants a post.
At 10:00 PM they served me fresh chutney. Not diluted stale left over chutney. But fresh. They get 5* for just that.

btw: Masala Dosa was Rs 24.

Last edited by bblost : 26th August 2010 at 09:30.
Old 26th August 2010, 11:23   #2212

Last evening dinner was haleem at "Cafe Bahar" at Hyderguda at around 11:30pm.

Haleem was fresh, hot, not too spicy, smooth and perfect in taste. The waiter serving us in car was generous with extra dosages of onions.

Between the 4 of us, we gobbled down 6 plates.

I really liked its taste yesterday. It gets 4.5/5
Old 26th August 2010, 11:39   #2213

Originally Posted by Ravveendrra View Post
The name is Meghana's Spicy Foods. He is normally sold out by 8.00 p.m.
Its Meghana's Spicy Foods.

His curries are to die for.
Old 26th August 2010, 13:09   #2214

Originally Posted by LonelyPlanet View Post
My boss(CIO) is here from US next week. I need to host a dinner for him at a fancy place.
Price no bar - nearer to hitec preferred but not a constraint.

Any recommendations except novotel ?
Finally went with bblost advice and ended up at Westin at their Prego (Italian restaurant)

1 Calamari
1 Brushetta
2 Fresh Limes
3 Pasta

with a 15% corp discount totalled 4K.

Calamari was OK but the pasta were really very well done.

Nice place for hosting 'gora' guests who are finnicky about the food they eat.

Last edited by bblost : 26th August 2010 at 13:33. Reason: Edited.
Old 27th August 2010, 12:12   #2215

Last evening, Ravveendra, Mobike008, Pulsar56, Rajesh.Rawal and Milecruncher met for dinner in Sholay.

We ordered :-

Non Veg Platter
Bathinde De Kukkad
Mutton Rara
Assorted Breads
Chicken Biryani
Fruit Punch
2 Small Pepsi

Total Damage was Rs. 1750 (Rs.350 per head) after the discount.

As usual, entire food was terrific and no complains for anything except that Mutton Rara was not as good as i had expected it to be. Also, i had a chicken biryani after a decade probably.

Followed by Paans from the store outside.

We did something there yesterday which only true hydeez tbhpians can do and i cannot outline that here else Milecruncher would be in trouble

Team-BHPians are stars in this place by the treatment that is meted out to us

I love SHOLAY
Old 27th August 2010, 14:28   #2216

Hi mobike008...were you guys sitting opposite the "Bar" at Sholay yesterday evening... I was also there for the first time, going by the consistent good reviews Sholay gets here. While i did notice a group of guys dining there and hazarded a guess that it could be a group of TBHpians, it seemed too much of a coincidence.

Cheers anyways.
Old 27th August 2010, 15:04   #2217

Originally Posted by mushy876 View Post
Hi mobike008...were you guys sitting opposite the "Bar" at Sholay yesterday evening... I was also there for the first time, going by the consistent good reviews Sholay gets here. While i did notice a group of guys dining there and hazarded a guess that it could be a group of TBHpians, it seemed too much of a coincidence.

Cheers anyways.
Yes, we sat opposite to bar counter. If you saw a group of 5 people hollering at each other to get their word in first at around 10:15pm, then it was us.

What stopped you to come by and check if we were tbhpian's?
Old 27th August 2010, 15:13   #2218

We were a bunch of 3 to the side of the bar counter. And well into an animated conversation ourselves to hear you guys hollering.

Thought it would be much too random to walk up to a group of guys and check for tbhpians!

maybe i'd try that the next time.

P.S.: Congratulations on the Cruze..like your signature too. Cheers.

Last edited by mushy876 : 27th August 2010 at 15:21. Reason: Adding content
Old 27th August 2010, 15:14   #2219

Missed Sholay dinner with the Hyd gang yesterday owing to my stomach getting full with Chana Bhatura at Ohris Jiva for lunch.

It was good to taste the combo pack that cost Rs 109 per head (had to take my daughter there as she did not repose enough faith on my culiniary skills).

I told my kid that we'd order a sundae like Midnight Special or Manhattan Madness after that, but both got filled to the brim by the Chole Bhature. Had to go for a long walk in the evening to digest it, and opted to have a simple curd rice n papad meal for dinner.

By the way, what are the best items for dessert at Ohri's? How much do they cost and are they so heavy that we can't have them after a full meal?
Old 27th August 2010, 15:46   #2220

Originally Posted by mushy876 View Post

Cheers anyways.
Hi Mushy876,

Welcome to the food thread.

TBHpians are entitled for a generous discount of 20% at Sholay, i hope you are aware of this.