Old 19th April 2015, 16:51   #9226

Wheel and tyre cleaning brushes

I ordered these two brushes - wheel and tyre cleaning ones from ResQtech Pune from their on line store. It cost me together Rs1000/. I am planning to put them to use on my Duster wheels/tyres in next couple of days and will update. The initial impressions; 1. The products were in a carton with the label BMW Group, Made in Spain 2. The bristles are nylon, and about 1 1/2" length 3. They are firm and flexible and appear to be good to agitate the rims and reaching in to the depths of wheels 4. The handles have a good grip and 5. Less expensive than bigger brand names in market and sturdier than cheaper products available in departmental stores.

A superb Car cleaning, polishing & detailing guide-img_0202.jpg  

Old 23rd April 2015, 20:42   #9227

Re: A superb Car cleaning, polishing & detailing guide

Bhpians,
I want to start detailing, Polishing,etc from scratch.
Which products should I use?
Our rides are 1) Elite i20 Star Dust bought on 18-3-15 (I know My Ownership Report is Pending) and 2) Xylo Gold Shimmer.
I want to do full detailing- Claying, Polishing, Waxing.
Also initially I dont want to spend much. I will increase my budget after 5-6months.

Please guide me.
Old 23rd April 2015, 21:09   #9228

Originally Posted by IndigoXLGrandDi View Post
Bhpians,
I want to start detailing, Polishing,etc from scratch.
Which products should I use?
Our rides are 1) Elite i20 Star Dust bought on 18-3-15 (I know My Ownership Report is Pending) and 2) Xylo Gold Shimmer.
I want to do full detailing- Claying, Polishing, Waxing.
Also initially I dont want to spend much. I will increase my budget after 5-6months.

Please guide me.
Which all products are you currently using for regular maintenance? I mean, do you already have Jopasu Duster, a Waterless Wash Concentrate, A decent car shampoo and a microfiber wash mitt? IMO its wise to go for regular maintenance products at first and then slowly building your inventory from there.

As your rides are relatively new, I'm assuming that there are minimal amount of swirls on the paint right now. So paint correction/polishing can be left out as of now.

Claying - Elastrofoam Sponge
Wax coating - Optimum Car Wax (OCW, 3 coats atleast)

Procedure :

1. Wash with 2 bucket wash method. Dry
2. Clean with Elastrofoam using a decent clay lube (if no clay lube, diluted car shampoo solution can be used). Dry
3. Apply 3 coats of OCW
Old 23rd April 2015, 22:35   #9229

Sorry for not being clear about Xylo.
Its Nov.2009 model that has covered 242Kkms.
So it definitely needs Claying and Waxing.
Currently I dont have any products- Car Shampoo, Polish, Wax. I dont have any Duster.
Just a Car Pressure Washer of Resqtech 28 ltr. It came with Spray Gun and two brushes (One of them has Water Sprinkler built-in), and Microfiber Cloth.You can check about it at Resqtech 28 ltr Car Washer
I am confused which Products to use to avoid attraction of Dust.

Last edited by IndigoXLGrandDi : 23rd April 2015 at 22:38.
Old 25th April 2015, 17:30   #9230

Hi guys,

Is it worth putting coating like Opti Coat or Cquartz? Will it really help in our conditions in keeping swirls off and making the car look better?

Have never used such coatings, so wanted opinions from the pros here, and people who have used them.
Old 26th April 2015, 12:15   #9231

i think along with car shine tire shine also plays a very important role, I found a wonderful product for tire shine called as "Armor all" for 82 bucks on amazon. com. This is one time use sachet which can be used for all 4 tires. The application is easy, just clean the tires and apply this solution with a cloth, It's similar to shampoo with jet Black shine which lasts for a week. It's definitely worth it and you can refer the images to see the end result.
A superb Car cleaning, polishing & detailing guide-1430030430948.jpg  

A superb Car cleaning, polishing & detailing guide-1430030449071.jpg  

A superb Car cleaning, polishing & detailing guide-1430030469233.jpg  

A superb Car cleaning, polishing & detailing guide-1430030487908.jpg  

Last edited by Slush_Traveller : 26th April 2015 at 12:19.
Old 26th April 2015, 15:25   #9232

I have seem professional detailing people use a white liquid to blacken the side mouldings and window rubber trim. What is this liquid called? I want to purchase a bottle of the same.
Old 26th April 2015, 16:37   #9233

Originally Posted by techiecal View Post
I have seem professional detailing people use a white liquid to blacken the side mouldings and window rubber trim. What is this liquid called? I want to purchase a bottle of the same.
I reckon that must be "STP Sun of a gun protectant". I've been using this for more than two years and it does the job well.
Pferdestarke is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th April 2015, 16:43   #9234

I tried a "Design Go" towel which I bought from BASE CAMP outlet from Ambience mall Gurgaon(small size costs around Rs 600, and the larger one I'm using for myself).

It is soft cotton fabric but feels quiet similar to chamois, I found it better than M/F towels in cleaning glass as well as paint.
Has anybody on this forum tried this?
An expert review would be helpful as I'm not a detailing expert.
I've used chamois, m/f clothes and synthetic chamois in the past but found this particular product useful for detailing enthusiasts.
A superb Car cleaning, polishing & detailing guide-20150426-16.37.14.jpg  

Old 26th April 2015, 21:45   #9235

Worked on a friends Linea today and the effort paid well.
A superb Car cleaning, polishing & detailing guide-1430064818961.jpg  

A superb Car cleaning, polishing & detailing guide-1430064844386.jpg  

A superb Car cleaning, polishing & detailing guide-1430064869048.jpg  

A superb Car cleaning, polishing & detailing guide-1430064903860.jpg  

pdma is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 27th April 2015, 02:14   #9236

This looks better than the new showroom car.
Brilliant effort and results. Can you please share the polishes used here
nikhil_pon is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 27th April 2015, 09:01   #9237

I have seen the Optimum Car Care India and Ultimate Detailerz Products at their websites.
I have some doubts-
1) If I use Optimum No Rinse Wash & Wax, can I skip Claying?If not, which Car Wash Shampoo and Wax should be used if I should Wash and apply Wax separately?
How are Megiuars Nxt Wash and Ultima Waterless Wash Plus Concentrate? What about Waxes?
2) How aggressive is the Optimum Opti-Eraser-Aggressive-Grade? Is it advisable to use on a new car (Our Elite Star Dust) or only on cars that are 3-5 years old (Xylo- Nov 2009, 242KKms)? Or should I use Elastrofoam? And which Lubricant to be used with it?

I want to use products that will attract less dust (Need Seldom Washing).

Please recommend VFM Products that have long lasting effect.

EDIT: -
I want that Wet Look and Deep Shine (If possible in my initial budget).

Last edited by IndigoXLGrandDi : 27th April 2015 at 09:12.
Old 28th April 2015, 19:13   #9238

Hello All,
Hats off to all of you for putting in so much information into 616 pages here!
I did good amount of skimming through most of these pages, spent some time on recent pages.

Now - We have decided to tell the daily-car-washing-guy to stop doing what he does to the car.
We are taking over

BUT, the current thing is - I cannot spend lot of time and/or money on detailing.
I am fine - doing 3/10 on effort to get 7/10 kinda output (as of now).
(translated- super lazy)

We have a Renault Duster.

Current equipment level : Kindergarten
1. Jopasu Duster
2. Chamois leather cloth
3. Microfiber cloth(s) x2 (have some life left in them)
4. El cheapo MF mitts

Planned schedule (every week):
Wednesday : 15-20 mins of quick "wipe"
Saturday or Sunday : 30 mins ~ 1 hour "wipe" + extra work as required.
Planned equipment:

1. ProKlear Rinseless wash PROKLEAR RAW Rinseless / Waterless Auto Wash 500gm @ 299 INR
OR
1. ONR wash and shine Optimum No Rinse Wash and Shine 8oz @ 648 INR

2. 3m Microfiber cloth 3m Microfiber @ 161 INR

Microfiber + Magic wipe comboJopasu Car Care Magic Wipe & Micro Fiber Set Combo @ 615 INR

3. Is some Quick-spray-type-detailer recommended ? If yes, please suggest a VFM product.

-------------------------------------------

Is above basic inventory & plan good to begin with?
Suggestions & inputs please.

Thanks a ton,

Ace.

Last edited by driverace : 28th April 2015 at 19:18.
Old 28th April 2015, 19:34   #9239

I am planning to buy this cleaning brush. Anyone have this - if yes, if it good? Are the bristles soft enough?

http://www.amazon.in/dp/B00QISBNLS
A superb Car cleaning, polishing & detailing guide-brush.jpg  

Old 29th April 2015, 12:06   #9240

Experts,

Need an urgent advice.

My car parking is open and under the trees. Hence the car is subjected to bird and insect droppings daily. What do I use/do to quick clean on everyday basis? Right now I use a spray of wash n wax concentrate which I prepare for weekly wash. And for windshields I use the soap solution concentrate.

Kindly advise.