Old 13th May 2011, 09:35   #541

re: Review: 2nd-gen Hyundai Verna (2011)

Originally Posted by Pyrotek View Post
On another note, what will this car do to the SX4 Diesel? Just as Maruti was beginning to come good with its sedan, comes this knockout punch from its Korean rival.
Base Verna 1.6 is more than a match for the SX4 1.3 Zdi. If they want to continue sellng SX4, either they should spruce it up with many more features, bring 1.6 l multijet, while selling at the same price or offer a hefty discount of 50k or more (till yesterday, they were not offering any). Sorry about SX4. However, it still has the major advantage that IT IS A MARUTI.

Last edited by specialist1968 : 13th May 2011 at 09:37.
Old 13th May 2011, 09:50   #542

Originally Posted by specialist1968 View Post
Base Verna 1.6 is more than a match for the SX4 1.3 Zdi. If they want to continue sellng SX4, either they should spruce it up with many more features, bring 1.6 l multijet, while selling at the same price or offer a hefty discount of 50k or more (till yesterday, they were not offering any).
To add to this, the SX4 fit and finish quality leaves a lot to be desired. The competition is definitely miles ahead even in that department, apart from features.
Old 13th May 2011, 10:17   #543

Does anybody have the on road prices of all the verna petrol/diesel variants in Bangalore for easy reference instead of the top end Automatic On road price (13.60+ Lakh)that is putting everybody off. If the Ford guys can manage a killer pricing for the fiesta, they might aswell have the first laugh at sales
Old 13th May 2011, 11:01   #544

Originally Posted by muni View Post
Does anybody have the on road prices of all the verna petrol/diesel variants in Bangalore for easy reference instead of the top end Automatic On road price (13.60+ Lakh)that is putting everybody off. If the Ford guys can manage a killer pricing for the fiesta, they might aswell have the first laugh at sales
+1 Me too was checking if anyone has got OTR price of SX Crdi for Bangalore. All discussions are related to AT model only. Please share the info if any one has.
Old 13th May 2011, 11:05   #545

Yesterday i got a invite from Hyundai for the Verna Launching ceremony at Bangalore @ TAJ WESTEND hotel. I have been there with my friend and function started at 8.00 PM with welcome drink and starters.

It was a fantastic launching ceremony they displayed Stone biege & Pruple Fantasya color topend's.

Praveen saxena - Regional manager sales & Gangan Kohli gave the presentation about the technical features etc... After the lauching ceremony followed by cocktails and dinner.

During that time i had 10 minutes chat with Gangan Kohli (DGM - Product Planning). i have given some areas of improvement like...

1. Window knobs doesnt have the illumination light at night
2. Dissatisfaction about 4 speed automatic gears for such a premium segmnet
3.Rear seat tigh support not adequate
4. Still the New verna informations are not available in Hyundai official website.
5. Told him about the extra tax in Karnataka government above 10 lakh cars... ( For SX-O Diesel paying more 40 K as tax)

These above mentioned said points are discussed by our members. I just conveyed on-behalf of our members.

Naren

Originally Posted by mpksuhas View Post
+1 Me too was checking if anyone has got OTR price of SX Crdi for Bangalore. All discussions are related to AT model only. Please share the info if any one has.

I am buying the SX CRDI - on Road price is 10,36,000.

Last edited by Jaggu : 13th May 2011 at 11:14. Reason: Back to back posts, please use Multi Quote (Quite+) instead. Thanks
Old 13th May 2011, 11:13   #546

Originally Posted by Xehaust View Post
Went to the showroom today to have a look at the car & get the Mumbai pricelist & the brochure. Unfortunately, they ran out of brochures & gave me a xerox of the feature sheet of the brochure. Will post both soon.
The link for the full pdf brochure is there for download on page 31.

Originally Posted by muni View Post
Does anybody have the on road prices of all the verna petrol/diesel variants in Bangalore for easy reference instead of the top end Automatic
Originally Posted by mpksuhas View Post
Attached are the proformas for the most useful varients

Review: 2nd-gen Hyundai Verna (2011)-1.6-sx-crdi-o.jpg

Review: 2nd-gen Hyundai Verna (2011)-1.6-sx-crdi.jpg
optimist is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 13th May 2011, 11:16   #547

1st Impressions - Standing Still

Like i stated in my earlier post, checked out the car on display in the showroom. It was a white in colour SX(O) AT.
Here are a few observations & do forgive the blurry phonecam pics:
Review: 2nd-gen Hyundai Verna (2011)-anhv-front.jpg

STYLING:
Looks really good. The Fog lamps are the most eye-catching in terms of visual appeal. Personally, i also love the OVRM design.
Review: 2nd-gen Hyundai Verna (2011)-anhv-fog-lamps.jpg

The next are the meaty 16inch alloys which fill the wheel arches very well & are well designed as well. Someone even asked if it was an addon accessory!

Another point worth mentioning is the gap between the hood & the front bumper. As pointed out earlier, it does look kind of weird for it to be there. Though it isnt exactly a gap as it has been filled with a rubber lining so that there isnt actually any gap to speak off. But the black lining doesnt conceal the visual look of a gap. Again, darker colours will hide this very well but the white colour display car showed it in all its glory.
Again, when seen normally, this isnt such a big problem, but us BHPians tend to be ever so finicky More on this finickiness in a bit!
Review: 2nd-gen Hyundai Verna (2011)-anhv-bonnet-gap.jpg

Coming to the back, the dual barrel chrome exhaust tips are very neatly integrated & dont stick out. Subtle but look good at the same time.

INTERIOR:
The interiors are well appointed & fit & finish is really good.
LIKEABLE:
The adjustable front armrest (can be pulled forward for more support or pushed back if you think it's a hindrance). Guess Hyundai learnt this from certain cars offered by other companies wherein the armrest actually obstructs the arm while regular use.

I also quite liked the design of the front aircon vents. Notice the touch of chrome on the adjuster. Again, subtle, but adds to the appeal.
Name:  ANHV Front Aircon Vent Shapee.jpg
Views: 6015
Size:  70.0 KB

The dash has a nice texture to it & is pretty grippy. Looks sporty as well.
Review: 2nd-gen Hyundai Verna (2011)-anhv-dashboard-texturee.jpg

Love the instrument cluster, seems like its inspired from plane HUDs. Though being nitpicky, i would have loved the needles to be red.
Review: 2nd-gen Hyundai Verna (2011)-anhv-instrument-cluster.jpg

The electro-chromic IRVM is fabulous along with the reverse camera & guidance lines embedded. At the same time, i must say that it is a necessity as the rear view is very limited when you try to look out the back. Probably why Hyundai is offering the camera in SX & SX(O) variants & atleast the parking sensors even in the base 1.6.

Another very interesting fact (and i do think Hyundai should harp about this everywhere) is that the elctro-chromic IVRM is auto-dimming. Meaning that in the nights when someone behind you is driving in high beam, you dont require to flip the mirror to dim it, it will do so automatically & instantly, thus saving you the eye-strain. Again, this is available in more expensive cars since a long time now, but its a segment first to be offered at this pricepoint.

Finally, the leather upholstery on the seats & the door trims (only in the SX(O) variant) are perforated like most luxury cars (they are there in my C Class). Brownie points for this.

NOT SO LIKABLE:
Absolutely hated the fake wood inserts. Look more like paint applied in a texture form on plastic. Ugh. My 1st gen Verna wood inserts are sooo much better & dont take away from the interior (if you have to have them at all).
Review: 2nd-gen Hyundai Verna (2011)-anhv-wood-trim-switch.jpg

The power window switches look & feel cheap & arent even illuminated! Keep searching for them in the night in those fake wood inserts. Ugh again. Check picture above.
My 1st gen Verna switches feel so much better & are illuminated as well.

Another alerting fact it that there is no place for the rear passengers to keep their drinks. No cupholders in the flatbed armrest & not even drink cubbyholes in the rear doors. Again, my 1st gen Verna has cup holders in the armrest as well as space for bottles in the rear doors as well.

Speaking of the rear, yes, the rear seats are actually very lacking in under thigh support. Very, very easily felt as soon as you sit.

Coming back to the finickness, another small thing i didnt like are the ugly welds in the door frames. Not very noticeable & hardly anyone will realise these but it didnt gel too well with me. It is possible that these are the pre-production display models & perhaps the actual production cars may not have these.
Review: 2nd-gen Hyundai Verna (2011)-anhv-door-frame-weldse.jpg
Do some other cars also have them? Yes. Does it make much of a difference? No. But does it bug me to see these minute details? Yes.

Finally, the last thing worthy of mention here is that the interiors didnt feel very sturdy. Dont get me wrong here, the fit & finish, quality of materials, etc were all top notch. Felt very korean (youll understand if you own a hyundai - excellent everything but still doesnt give the same solid feeling that certain cars do, albeit from segments above this pricepoint). Just that i think after seeing the muscular exterior gives you a sense of sturdiness & i guess thats what played in my mind. They dont have the same feeling of say, a Vento or a Skoda. At the same time, i repeat, this is just nitpicking & everything is great. But after seeing the exterior, youd like to actually feel the sturdiness when you get in as well.

Thats all for now. Test Drives begin next week & will post 1st impressions of the 1.6 Diesel when the test drive materialises as thats the variant im interested in.

Originally Posted by vinu99@gmail.co View Post
While I was seated in the car with Smart Key inside and Engine OFF, music system refused to turn ON. It worked only when the car engine was running!
The display car had the music system working & i can assure you that the engine wasnt running. It was inside the showroom & i doubt anyone would dare turn it on, specially since to show the rear view camera, the reverse gear had to be selected

PRICE:
Finally, to end this post, lets talk about price.
Those who think its exorbitantly priced:
- You do realise that the prices youll are noticing are of the top of the line Automatic.
- Further, you do realise that this is a 1.6 Diesel mill & are comparing it to the Honda's petrol for price wherein diesels are always much more expensive.

Personally, i think Hyundai have done very well. They have given every type of buyer a variant for them to buy.

On a budget? Buy the 1.4 which will still give you:
- Fog lamps,
- Chrome tipped dual mufflers,
- LED turn indicators on the OVRMS which are electrically adjustable,
- Chrome front grill,
- Keyless Entry with a foldable key fob,
- 2 DIN MP3 player with Aux & USB along with 4 speakers & tweeters AND a hand remote!!! Phew!!!
And this is the bare minimum base variant!!!!

Price - 7.33 ex-showroom Mumbai for the Petrol (1.4)
The cheapest Honda Petrol is 8.61 in comparison & wont have the amount of kit either. (and before anyone gets offended, it is purely a price comparison along with the amount of kit. It is regardless of brand value, driving dynamics, car build quality, etc,etc. Im trying to be as neutral as possible here)

And go on to the 1.6 if you can spend more. Again very well equipped.
And if you want more - 1.6 SX which also has many more goodies including 16 inch alloys & the rear view camera.
Finally, if you are the no compromise type of buyer, you can get the SX(O) with everything that cars segments above offer (and even dont offer) and still be priced along with the comparitively bare bones Honda.
Still want more? Buy the AT & enjoy the convenience of not requiring to shift gears either.

Add to the above the Hyundai service network, and its a fabulous deal.

Coming to the diesel pricing which most people are stuck at. Heres a comparison (and again, before anyone gets offended, the following is purely a price comparison along with the amount of kit. It is regardless of brand value, driving dynamics, car build quality, etc,etc.):
Linea 1.3 Mjet Diesel Emotion Pk - 9.01 ex-showroom Mumbai
Verna 1.6 Diesel SX (As it is comparable in spec) - 9.80 ex-showroom Mumbai

Couple that with the extra kit you get with the Verna (16inch alloys, 1.6 litre engine with more power & torque, rear view camera with auto dimming IVRM, etc.) & the Hyundai service network & i think the pricing is about right. Perhaps higher than competitors, but not overpriced by any means.

Hope this long post is useful & ill post the Mumbai Pricelist & the Tech Sheet soon.

Last edited by Xehaust : 13th May 2011 at 11:46.
Xehaust is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 13th May 2011, 11:20   #548

Re: 1st Impressions - Standing Still

Like i stated in my earlier post, checked out the car on display in the showroom. It was a white in colour SX(O) AT.
Here are a few observations & do forgive the blurry phonecam pics:
Attachment 544038
Thanks for sharing those details. However not able to see the attachments. On clicking the links getting this message "Invalid Attachment specified. If you followed a valid link, please notify the administrator". Can you please reload the attachments?
Old 13th May 2011, 11:27   #549

Originally Posted by naren_kk View Post

I am buying the SX CRDI - on Road price is 10,36,000.
Naren, seems you also quoting OTR of SX Crdi at Bangalore but somehow but there is a diffrence from Trident Invoice uploaded by 'Optmist'. As per him for same model OTR is rs 1138043 .
Old 13th May 2011, 11:29   #550

Re: 1st Impressions - Standing Still

Linea 1.3 Tjet Diesel Emotion Pk - 9.01 ex-showroom Mumbai Verna 1.6 Diesel SX (As it is comparable in spec) - 9.80 ex-showroom Mumbai
Did you mean here Linea 1.3 Multijet Diesel Emotion Pk (cause if T-jet then you would be comparing petrol to a diesel)?
AutoIndian is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 13th May 2011, 11:30   #551

Hyundai has a full page ad for the new Verna in TOI today. The ad mentions the web page: http://www.hyundaiverna.co.in
However, if you visit this page it redirects automatically to the old Verna Transform!

How can Hyundai make such a major marketing goof up?! They don't have any webpage for their new car!
Old 13th May 2011, 11:32   #552

This has already been mentioned before and i agree, that the pricing of the top end diesel does not bode well for the pricing of the Elantra and Sonata though. The base petrol Elantra might well be priced very close to the top end Verna Diesel(say ~11-11.5 lakhs ex showroom). Now that will be an interesting fight to watch! And the same way the Sonata might well be priced at Accord levels this time. I think the current gen is at least two lakhs less than the Accord.

Originally Posted by Delta Wing View Post
A very smart choice of plonking the 1.4 engines and see the reduced cost. So with the same car, Hyundai has cut across through most of C segment. I See this variant eating into DZire, Manza, Linea sales while the 1.6 fights it out with the Vento and ANHC and the forthcoming Fiesta.
Attachment 543855
While the idea of plonking the 1.4 engines was smart, the pricing is definitely not! It dosent seem like the reduced cost has been passed on to the customer. They might as well have given the base models the 1.6 engines as well. This would probably have resulted in better economies of scale instead of producing two more engines (granted the 1.4 diesel is already produced for the i20 and the 1.4 petrol for the i20 auto, but that one is probably imported). I'll quote my earlier post on the difference in features

"After looking at the brochure i fail to see the point of either of the 1.4 variants. The base 1.6 variant is 66k more than the 1.4 and you get a more powerful engine, driver airbag, ABS, rear disc brakes, climate control, bluetooth and steering controls, cluster ioniser for the AC, rear defogger, rear parking sensors, front arm rest, height adjustable driver seat, and maybe another small thing or two that i missed out.

The amount of extra equipment you get over the 1.4 is HUGE! Its completely worth the 66k more you pay. I dont see why anyone should go for the base variants, it does not make sense at all! The pricing just does not make sense. The engine costs less, they get a 15k excise duty benefit on the 1.4 variants and even after cutting all the features out they priced it just 66k less. IMHO they really need to revise the pricing. The 1.4 variants need to be priced about a lakh lower than the 1.6 else i really dont see the point"

Originally Posted by sith_lord View Post
Hyundai's strategy of positioning Verna across a broad spectrum of entry level sedans can go either way IMO. While the strategy can work towards maximizing its sales, as there is an option for any budget, overlapping over multiple segments can create confusion - sort of it neither belongs here nor there.

For instance, won't the lower 1.4 variants, pitted against the likes of DZire, create a branding problem for the image-conscious prospective C segment (read 1.6 SX/SX(O)) kind of of buyers?
I dont think its an issue really. The old Verna used to start from ~6.6 lakhs ex showroom. By increasing the price to 7 lakhs ex-showroom they have actually increased the price and the top end has gone almost a lakh and a half higher. Therefore have actually increased the "premium-ness". And have a look at the Vento as well, it also starts off at 7 lakhs ex showroom but still has a premium image (of course this is also due to the image of VW itself)

The i20 faces a similar problem. For the same price you can pick up a number of entry level Sedans but it still manages to sell well. Also the fact that Hyundai has built up a slightly premium image with the i10 and i20 will also help to elevate the position of the Verna in the minds of the general populace.
Old 13th May 2011, 11:45   #553

Friends, let's get real and do not think about things which are not in our control like:
1) Why Hyundai is not providing 5-speed or 6-speed automatic?
2) Why they have priced it so high?

Can we control it? No, so let us not think on these parameters.

I personally consider 1.6 SX as a TOP end model with 1.6 SX(O) as an optional package which comes with price, just like ANHC V-MT Exclusive.
So for me there are only two models 1.6 & 1.6 SX pitching against Vento's Trendline & Highline (Petrol) and ANHC's E,S & V (MT) variants.
IMO, 'New Fluidic Verna' is an absolute winner. 'ANHC' is surely an overpriced car where as Vento Trendline does not even provides airbags, ABS-EBD nor Rear Disk Brakes.
I probably feel, 1.6 SX is a best bet as it has got good equipment levels and decently priced.

IMO, People, who have a capacity to go for 'ANHC' V-MT (10.30 Lacs, Pune-OTR) will surely consider 'New Fluidic Verna' -1.6 SX(O) (10.18 Lacs, Pune OTR) and may go for this new excellent looking car.

‘Thakur to gayo..’, Oh!, I mean, ‘Honda to gayo..’

Some comparison between 1.6 basic & 1.6 SX follows:
What comprises of ‘Supervision Cluster’ (point 6) and what does point no 8 means down here, how does it helps?

Saanil, I totally agree with you that we all are just looking at the top end models.
Review: 2nd-gen Hyundai Verna (2011)-comparison1.jpg  

Old 13th May 2011, 11:47   #554

Originally Posted by AutoIndian View Post
Thanks for sharing those details. However not able to see the attachments. On clicking the links getting this message "Invalid Attachment specified. If you followed a valid link, please notify the administrator". Can you please reload the attachments?
Done & fixed.

Originally Posted by AutoIndian View Post
Did you mean here Linea 1.3 Multijet Diesel Emotion Pk (cause if T-jet then you would be comparing petrol to a diesel)?
Oops. Yes, i was referring to the Multijet (Diesel) in trying to compare apples to apples. Thanks for that. Have fixed it as well.
The Linea Petrol comes only in 1.4 spec & doesnt have a 1.3. I guess the Tjet was playing in my head just like it does in the heads of all petrolheads

Another thing to mention is that apart from the lowest 1.4 variant, all the 1.6 variants have the Ionizer & all four disk brakes with ABS & EBD as standard

Originally Posted by ajaynaphade View Post
I personally consider 1.6 SX as a TOP end model with 1.6 SX(O) as an optional package which comes with price, just like ANHC V-MT Exclusive.
So for me there are only two models 1.6 & 1.6 SX pitching against Vento's Trendline & Highline (Petrol) and ANHC's E,S & V (MT) variants.

Some comparison between 1.6 basic & 1.6 SX follows:
What comprises of ‘Supervision Cluster’ (point 6) and what does point no 8 means down here, how does it helps?

Saanil, I totally agree with you that we all are just looking at the top end models.
Ajay, the ionizer is built into the air conditioning system to trap bacteria & prevent odours within the cabin of the car.
Very true about how you have put the variants into perspective.

Last edited by Xehaust : 13th May 2011 at 11:58.
Old 13th May 2011, 11:56   #555

Does any one has an idea about ground clearance of ANHV? I didn't come accross on this in this thread or probably missed.
Even its not mentioned in just updated Hyundai's site. US specs of Accent (Verna) has clearance of 147mm and do have 16" wheels. Grossly inadequate as per India's std if it is such!