Team-BHP > Modifications & Accessories

Old 23rd June 2008, 21:26   #1831

Hey guys,

Just got my headlamp bulbs changed.

Put in Philips Rally 100/90 normal yellow lamp bulbs with roots relay and ceramic holder kit.

Total cost - 1000/- incl. labour.

Place done- "Choksi Motors" at Milan Subway, Mumbai

Pic of the headlight bulb packet. (Could not get the pic of the roots packets as they had thrown it already.

Attachment 23477

Review - Light throw is excellent, its got much better brightness and spread than the stock headlamps and is very very effective for night driving. Gives me more confidence now. .

Would definitly recommend it to others.
Old 24th June 2008, 16:39   #1832

Originally Posted by funkydevil View Post
Hey guys,

Just got my headlamp bulbs changed.

Put in Philips Rally 100/90 normal yellow lamp bulbs with roots relay and ceramic holder kit.

Total cost - 1000/- incl. labour.

Place done- "Choksi Motors" at Milan Subway, Mumbai

Pic of the headlight bulb packet. (Could not get the pic of the roots packets as they had thrown it already.

Attachment 23477

Review - Light throw is excellent, its got much better brightness and spread than the stock headlamps and is very very effective for night driving. Gives me more confidence now. .

Would definitly recommend it to others.
cannot view the attachment , can you upload the pic on imageshack/tinypic and post the link please ?
Old 25th June 2008, 13:51   #1833

Originally Posted by thirst4torque View Post
Not sure of the exact figure but it is in the range of 500-600rs.
thanks for the prompt response, pal!
Old 25th June 2008, 14:15   #1834

Hey Funky, in which did you do that? I have recently put in those H4 90/100 (white types) in my old esteem but light quality is even less than the original yellow bulbs. They are not Philips but some Japanese brand. What should i do to fix the issue? Do i need to put a relay?

Last edited by udit78 : 25th June 2008 at 14:25.
Old 25th June 2008, 18:30   #1835

Auto Lighting thread : Post all queries about automobile lighting here-230620081851.jpg

Hey guys,

Srry for the mistake about the pic earlier.

Hey udit,

Buddy the white halogen bulbs actually are not that good at illumination against the usual yellow bulbs. If you want good lightining around you with white light, then you should go in for xenons.

and yes putting in relay's is a must. Your cars wiring has the capacity to handle only up to 50/60w power consumption by the headlight, beyond that the electrical wiring will get fried due to the xtra load of power.
Old 26th June 2008, 11:46   #1836

New headlight bulbs in Corsa

Hi Friends,

Got new headlight bulbs in my Corsa.
Got all the things from Kashmere gate market.

Here's the setup:-

1. Bulbs :- GE 140/100. I doubt about the authenticity of these bulbs.
The shopkeep said they are GE , but the packing is damaged. Got them for Rs 150 for a pair.

2. Relay:- Dont exactly remember the name of the make. Its made in mumbai and costed me Rs 330. The relay has all the wirings etc already done up.

There is a huge difference in the lights. Would soon replicate the setup in my brother's OHC and friend's Wagon R .

Total cost = Bulbs + Relay + Labour
= 150 + 330 + 100
= Rs .580

I've been using this setup for almost a month now.
Old 28th June 2008, 22:40   #1837

Had been to Sion Koliwada was quoted a price of Rs1900/-(including labour) for the following- 2 H7 bulbs(90/100 philips),2 H1 bulbs,2 Bosch relays and the wiring kit.As funkydevil has got it done for Rs1000/-,was wondering are the prices different for H4 bulbs
Old 28th June 2008, 22:47   #1838

your wiring harness will be more complex since you will require 4 holders. Maybe 2 relays. also factor in cost of 4 BULBS.
AFAIK H7s come in single filament not double.
Old 29th June 2008, 00:44   #1839

So the prices are fine i think so
Old 30th June 2008, 00:51   #1840

I wanted 8000k hid kit for my OHC.So,went to Suri motors (Vashi) yesterday.But he didn't have 8000k kits instead he urged me to buy Siemens 25000K hid kit.He quoted rs.10,200 including warranty for the same.

I said to him that 25000k is too much for my car.He replied "Jyaada hai to accha hai".

I want to know whether ohc's headlamps could take so much heat or not?
Old 30th June 2008, 01:03   #1841

Any Fiesta owner's who have installed a 100/90 bulb,the guys installing the bulbs at Sion koliwada said it is not possible to install a 100/90 bulb is this true
Old 30th June 2008, 01:10   #1842

Originally Posted by ATRONIX View Post
Check earlier posts,Ohc can take H.I.D heat.
Old 30th June 2008, 01:13   #1843

Originally Posted by ATRONIX View Post
I wanted 8000k hid kit for my OHC.So,went to Suri motors (Vashi) yesterday.But he didn't have 8000k kits instead he urged me to buy Siemens 25000K hid kit.He quoted rs.10,200 including warranty for the same.

I said to him that 25000k is too much for my car.He replied "Jyaada hai to accha hai".

Dude firstly, stick to 6000k. They produce more white light and are brighter than others.

25000k will be super purple in colour with lesser intensity and there is no heat factor related to whether the HID is 4000k, 6000k or 25000k. 'K' stands for kelvin, which is used to measure the colour of the light, not power/heat.

Anyone please correct me if I'm wrong.

Edit: As NOIDABOY stated, OHC can take the HID heat, which is lesser compared to your halogen bulbs.

Last edited by ankitahuja : 30th June 2008 at 01:15.
Old 30th June 2008, 09:52   #1844

Originally Posted by yogi1771 View Post
Any Fiesta owner's who have installed a 100/90 bulb,the guys installing the bulbs at Sion koliwada said it is not possible to install a 100/90 bulb is this true
yogi,like i mentioned earlier fiesta has "hi-low" operation on TWO DIFFERENT bulbs. hence for you to do a conversion to brighter lighting you will have to buy 4 100W bulbs (2H1s and 2H7s) then you can either
1) Use TWO wiring harness.
2) build a harness to accomodate these 4 bulbs, 2 relays etc.
any reasonably competent electrician should be able to do this for you.
Old 30th June 2008, 12:32   #1845

Help me understand a few technical issues.
My apologies if it has been answered already.

I remember reading that if I "flash" by pulling the light control, both high beam and low beam are activated.
If I upgrade bulbs to 90/100 will this cause frequent bulb fuse out?

I am very much used to this practice. I use lights more than horn.

thanks.
Srikanth