Team-BHP > Modifications & Accessories

Old 22nd July 2008, 18:57   #1936

Originally Posted by recshenoy View Post
Should i have ceramic holders inplace if changing 55/60 to 90/100 ?
Thank You
You can go in for 100/90 or even 130/100, you need separate wiring done and a relay has to be included.

My Zen is having 130/100 and its been there for 4+ years now.
For me the holder has not melted and there are no problems yet.

I've driven it at night for 6+ hours flat, but yes ceramic holder is a good idea.
Old 22nd July 2008, 22:50   #1937

Try to get roots relay. It costs 700rs(as opposed to 400rs for other brands), but the advantage is that you get
1. Cermic holders
2. 130/110W capability.
3. Entire wiring harness
You need a good electrician to wire it up in a way that the entire current load is taken off the OEM wiring, and routed externally via the relay.

Relays come with wiring diagrams painted on them, and any electrician worth his salt should be able to wire them fine.
Thanks tsk ji for the valuable info.I didnt know that the Roots set-up has diagrams with them.I myself got the entire wiring harness with two separate relays from a company called Anmol ( allegedly they are suppliers to Mahindra cars ). I have the 130/100 W Philips Rally fitted on my Zen Estilo for almost 3 months now, and have driven in extensive rain. Touch wood no problems till date.But,when I asked my installer later-on whether it had ceramic holders,his head-nodding wasnt very convincing !
Should I have a look and change the entire set-up to Roots?
Or let it be as it is?
Old 23rd July 2008, 01:23   #1938

Try to get roots relay. It costs 700rs(as opposed to 400rs for other brands), but the advantage is that you get
1. Cermic holders
2. 130/110W capability.
Originally Posted by ultimatechamp View Post
But,when I asked my installer later-on whether it had ceramic holders,his head-nodding wasnt very convincing !
Should I have a look and change the entire set-up to Roots?
Or let it be as it is?
Tsk1979 / ultimatechamp - A ROOTS wiring kit does not come pre-equipped with ceramic holders but the holders are made of Backalite, which is a strong industry strength material.

The ROOTS kit says they are good for 100/130 wattage power.

Last edited by ankitahuja : 23rd July 2008 at 01:25.
Old 23rd July 2008, 03:24   #1939

Originally Posted by Chevy_lover View Post
Hey Leadfoot, I have installed Hella Projectors in my Tavera. Don't go for yellow lights. Hella 550 will be more than sufficient for you. It has 60W bright white bulbs. As soon as I switch on my projectors, I get a lot of respect from morons with high-beams!

You will need a seperate relay and wiring. The total cost will not exceed Rs. 2500. I have fixed the projectors on my crash guard. So there was no need for drilling. If you want to do it from Pune, let me know.

I own a Palio stile and seriouly looking for an upgrade in fog lamps. I need serious help in doing so. can shell some money for getting better light during nihgt. Hella's is looks good from your quote. Please help me with this and YES I stay in Pune.
Old 23rd July 2008, 08:40   #1940

Originally Posted by ankitahuja View Post
Tsk1979 / ultimatechamp - A ROOTS wiring kit does not come pre-equipped with ceramic holders but the holders are made of Backalite, which is a strong industry strength material.

The ROOTS kit says they are good for 100/130 wattage power.
Yup its bakelite, but it the point is that it won't melt like stock holders. Ultimatechamp, its better to change to holders rated for the wattage you are using
Old 23rd July 2008, 09:32   #1941

Originally Posted by RajeshK View Post
Here is the one which I recently purchase from JC Rd, Banglaore
--
Roots Dual Headlamp relay : Product code : 953947. Rs.148/. + 12.5% tax
Roots Headlamp Wiring Harness : Product code: 953982 (130/90W). Rs.406/. + 12.5% tax
--
could you give the shop name/ contact details from where you bought this?
Old 23rd July 2008, 09:49   #1942

Here is the one which I recently purchase from JC Rd, Banglaore
--
Roots Dual Headlamp relay : Product code : 953947. Rs.148/. + 12.5% tax
Roots Headlamp Wiring Harness : Product code: 953982 (130/90W). Rs.406/. + 12.5% tax
--
RajeshK,would you be kind enough to tell us your net expense regarding this matter.

Ultimatechamp, its better to change to holders rated for the wattage you are using
Point noted Sir. Will do ASAP.
Old 23rd July 2008, 10:16   #1943

Hi ad75,
Here is the shop and contact details
--
Car Automobiles Pvt. Ltd, JC Road, Bangalore (this is actually in the back side lane of JC road, opp to corp parking bldg). Contact Person : Shyby, ph: 080 26706487 / 26702124.
--
Hi ultimatechamp, I used Osram nighbreaker series bulb (Rs.1400/.) and the total cost was Rs.2000/. Including Relay+Wiring kit (Rs.166 + Rs.456)

Rajesh
Old 23rd July 2008, 13:10   #1944

Hi ultimatechamp, I used Osram nighbreaker series bulb (Rs.1400/.) and the total cost was Rs.2000/. Including Relay+Wiring kit (Rs.166 + Rs.456)

Rajesh
Thanks RajeshK for the information.Neat price and a neat set-up.
Old 23rd July 2008, 13:57   #1945

Originally Posted by dinoo82 View Post
I own a Palio stile and seriouly looking for an upgrade in fog lamps. I need serious help in doing so. can shell some money for getting better light during nihgt. Hella's is looks good from your quote. Please help me with this and YES I stay in Pune.
@ Dinoo, Hella 450 or 550 will be the best option for you. PM me if you need more details.
Old 23rd July 2008, 17:03   #1946

Yup its bakelite, but it the point is that it won't melt like stock holders. Ultimatechamp, its better to change to holders rated for the wattage you are using
Oh definately Tanveer, your point is 100% correct. These holders can withstand 100/130 rather well.
Old 23rd July 2008, 17:45   #1947

According to murphy's law, and what I have seen in the indica and M800, for some strange reason the LHS high beam conks out first.
its happened to me in my Nissan too!!

my present setup is 12V 55/60W can I upgrade to 12V 90/100W with NO change to existing wiring. if change is required then advise of suitable wattage wherein I can run on existing setup.

Last edited by Jr Godzilla : 23rd July 2008 at 17:57.
Old 23rd July 2008, 18:02   #1948

Running higher wattage on current setup is not recommended. Its built for 65/55W. Atmost you can go for 80/75W. I think bosch makes such bulbs
Old 27th July 2008, 15:19   #1949

Experts,

I have the following questions/doubts. Kindly clear my doubts. MY car is suzuki swift.

1. I saw OSRAM H4 HID Kit (igniter/fuse/ballast). The HID bulb was having a H4 type. So the quesiton is can I just buy that fit it in my swift. This way i will get both High beam and low beam in the HID.
2. Is a projector setup must?
3. I saw in the thread that if the reflector is of D2S type then HID bulb can be put without projector. Does swift have this kind of projector setup.

Many thanks in advance for answers
Old 27th July 2008, 15:35   #1950

Originally Posted by pshyamsundar View Post
Experts,

I have the following questions/doubts. Kindly clear my doubts. MY car is suzuki swift.

1. I saw OSRAM H4 HID Kit (igniter/fuse/ballast). The HID bulb was having a H4 type. So the quesiton is can I just buy that fit it in my swift. This way i will get both High beam and low beam in the HID.
2. Is a projector setup must?
3. I saw in the thread that if the reflector is of D2S type then HID bulb can be put without projector. Does swift have this kind of projector setup.

Many thanks in advance for answers
1.Well H4 is the right bulb size for the Swift. You can buy any good quality aftermarket HID hi/low kits for the same. But ive been told that the Bosch, Siemens, Hella, Osram kits available in the market are as fake as fake can be and they have no relations with the parent company whose name is mentioned on the box. I suggest you go in for Philips, P4 etc. Since you are in Bangalore, i am sure Blueraven (satya) will be able to help you out on various brands depending on your budget.

Secondly, a projector system is not a must by any sense but its desirable!